Can you support my cousin's dreams of becoming a doctor?

Re: Can you support my cousin's dreams of becoming a doctor?

Postby Kenjo » November 12th, 2022, 6:02 am

Men just hating for hating sake . Not one of them could state what their alternative is and why they believe other people so happy versus their life. Worse yet money is their only metric and they not saying how hard some people working for their money versus born with it or getting some easy contract and getting real money. Hate hate IYKTYK!

Postby timelapse » November 12th, 2022, 6:41 am

Here's the issue with this.
This is an investment in a person with zero returns on the investment.
Is like onlyfans, except is a doctor.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2022, 6:53 am

depending upon what stage in your life, the definition of success changes eh

1 - when you young it is all about the material things to show off
2 - when you get older it is about asset base and power
3 - when you get old you just want to be happy and healthy

the first 2 are highly reliant on what others think of you

paid_influencer wrote:just pissing in the wind... but we need to change the definition of success in our society. the student in the OP going down a pathway that society telling them is 'success.' but i would say this, when you get put on a pedestal, you cannot move. you are trapped. you have to stay on that pedestal and if you fall you get broken. like me, I am broken. sometimes you make your own pedestal, decorate it with hopes and dreams, varnish it up to put on public display, filled it with pride once you sit yourself on the pedestal. everyone hails you, you get the applause, you feel good and get medals and go in the papers. but inside, the emptiness comes. deep down you want to fall. you want to feel a deep crack on the pedestal. you start hating the pedestal and then you have a choice; stay there, or fall, chant and be happy. Chant and be happy

Postby adnj » November 12th, 2022, 7:26 am

Seems like some Tuners and all Haters are stuck trying to achieve the bottom half of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs.

Who would have thought that they all simply lack the drive to become better, more mature human beings. /s

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2022, 8:28 am

please refer or merge this with sufferers thread

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 12th, 2022, 8:46 am

Most commenters are forgetting the purpose of this thread.
It was not to attack the teenager's dream of becoming a doctor..
We are discussing the most intelligent use of the funds needed to pay for her University Degree in London.

“In Leicester, it is actually 250,000 Great British pounds and that translates to 2.4 million TT dollars,” she said.

So Tuners lets get back to the original discussion...
Is it worth it spending taxpayers dollars to the tune of 2.4 million TT for a single person to study in London?
My take is that if you have 2.4 million in cash you rich already and dont need to work a day in your life again..
Why give it away to some University for a Doctor's Degree... :roll:

Postby Chimera » November 12th, 2022, 9:33 am

them specialist doctors does charge 1000 to 1500 a consult, and booked several months in advance

say 10-15 persons a day

atleast 300k a month (cash)

see how that 2.4mil is no kinda money when you look at it like that?

Postby Kenjo » November 12th, 2022, 9:54 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:them specialist doctors does charge 1000 to 1500 a consult, and booked several months in advance

say 10-15 persons a day

Woah this a bit off . This is why people go off when they see these kinds of numbers . It’s like comparing Bhagwansingh hardware to a small start up corner hardware .

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2022, 10:20 am

Nobody hating on the girl. If she and her family want to spend their money like that, fine. But don't be asking the public to fund your 'dream' when there are less expensive ways to achieve the same goal. i.e be a doctor.

If u involve the public, u have to expect some criticism.

Postby The_Honourable » November 12th, 2022, 11:11 am

If her whole degree is funded by taxpayers, i can understand the argument of using taxpayers' funds more wisely. The thing is, her whole degree is not funded by taxpayers. According to her original post, the partial scholarship represents 16% of her expenses. The remainder is via donations. If we want to argue if 16% of our taxpayers money should of went to a cheaper medical degree or better spent elsewhere, sure we can discuss that.

For the remaining 84% she is free to ask the public to fund it, and some from the public on their own free will decided to help her. You can start a gofundme right now to help fund a dream of yours whether it is sound or not, it's up to the public to donate to you or not.

Yes while it is true that there are less expensive ways to achieve her goal, she decided what she think is best which is more expensive. She asked the public for assistance, and she got said assistance.

Now she is in Year 2.

Postby adnj » November 12th, 2022, 11:18 am

AlphaMan wrote:Most commenters are forgetting the purpose of this thread.
It was not to attack the teenager's dream of becoming a doctor..
We are discussing the most intelligent use of the funds needed to pay for her University Degree in London.

“In Leicester, it is actually 250,000 Great British pounds and that translates to 2.4 million TT dollars,” she said.

So Tuners lets get back to the original discussion...
Is it worth it spending taxpayers dollars to the tune of 2.4 million TT for a single person to study in London?
My take is that if you have 2.4 million in cash you rich already and dont need to work a day in your life again..
Why give it away to some University for a Doctor's Degree... :roll:

TT$2.4 million invested is enough to draw an income of TT$8,000 per month plus increases adjusted for inflation, for 25 years.
You won't have to save for retirement, but you probably cannot live off of that amount exclusively.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2022, 11:47 am

you could get more like $10k income if invested wisely

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2022, 11:48 am

gate was really a godsend for many doctors locally
few places you could get that

The_Honourable wrote:If her whole degree is funded by taxpayers, i can understand the argument of using taxpayers' funds more wisely. The thing is, her whole degree is not funded by taxpayers. According to her original post, the partial scholarship represents 16% of her expenses. The remainder is via donations. If we want to argue if 16% of our taxpayers money should of went to a cheaper medical degree or better spent elsewhere, sure we can discuss that.

For the remaining 84% she is free to ask the public to fund it, and some from the public on their own free will decided to help her. You can start a gofundme right now to help fund a dream of yours whether it is sound or not, it's up to the public to donate to you or not.

Yes while it is true that there are less expensive ways to achieve her goal, she decided what she think is best which is more expensive. She asked the public for assistance, and she got said assistance.

Now she is in Year 2.

Postby adnj » November 12th, 2022, 12:03 pm

pugboy wrote:you could get more like $10k income if invested wisely
That should have been 30 years. I typed 25. My comment was based on The Rule of 25.

Postby gastly369 » November 12th, 2022, 12:17 pm

Forget bout gofundme
Onlyfans and the simps will sponsor your life...

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 12th, 2022, 12:44 pm

The imagined prestige of the medical professional really went out the door with COVID-19. It really lost its' luster and opened a lot of folks' eyes to the underbelly of the "medical experts".

Postby Kenjo » November 12th, 2022, 2:10 pm

triniterribletim wrote:The imagined prestige of the medical professional really went out the door with COVID-19. It really lost its' luster and opened a lot of folks' eyes to the underbelly of the "medical experts".

This is as vague as vague could be though . One minute people in here hating on people income and the next time we deviate to COVID ?

Can you support my cousin's dreams of becoming a doctor?

Postby MaxPower » November 12th, 2022, 2:15 pm

Kenjo wrote:This is as vague as vague could be though . One minute people in here hating on people income and the next time we deviate to COVID ?

Ken,

To each, must be his own.

Trinis like to fight down others too much.

Simple simple question the OP ask. Just say NO you won’t be supporting. But no, we reach the counting pocket stage. SMH!

Postby paid_influencer » November 12th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:them specialist doctors does charge 1000 to 1500 a consult, and booked several months in advance

say 10-15 persons a day

counterpoint: my cardiologist does charge like 400.

he also did his undergraduate (MBBS) in India and probably paid in literal rupees

Postby Kenjo » November 12th, 2022, 3:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

say 10-15 persons a day

he also did his undergraduate (MBBS) in India and probably paid in literal rupees

For a specialist that’s a fair end which might be a little lower but if any tests are to be done it surely will be more and disposables as well as the initial equipment isn’t cheap.

Postby adnj » November 12th, 2022, 5:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

say 10-15 persons a day

Can you spot your doc in this photo?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 12th, 2022, 8:30 pm

Being a doctor is a long time way of showing your family and society "you bright" and worth something..
But the cost of being a doctor.....Aint worth it IMHO.... :roll:

Postby Kenjo » November 12th, 2022, 8:39 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Being a doctor is a long time way of showing your family and society "you bright" and worth something..

The cost to educate or the toll it takes on the persons life ?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 12th, 2022, 8:41 pm

Kenjo wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:Being a doctor is a long time way of showing your family and society "you bright" and worth something..

The cost to educate or the toll it takes on the persons life ?

You could say both...
I know some doctors that regret taking that path..Not what they expected for a career.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 12th, 2022, 11:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

say 10-15 persons a day

I feel this is Dr. Bathin from Gulf View medical

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 13th, 2022, 3:59 am

what wrong with studying doctoring in mt hope? wtf i hadda support a go fund me so someone else can go england an i might never see england. sell BBQ or BJ if you want money to go england, at least i getting something for my money that i work hard for. only idiots give something for nothing. i remember i liming in a bar in curepe in my youth and a lady come in with 2 children about 6 years asking for help or begging or something to buy food for the children. everybody vex when i ask she if i was in that 5 minutes when she leg was skin open how to get money from me to buy food for your children at least i want a BJ an everyone vex with me for that.

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2022, 9:16 am

daring dragoon wrote:what wrong with studying doctoring in mt hope? wtf i hadda support a go fund me so someone else can go england an i might never see england. sell BBQ or BJ if you want money to go england, at least i getting something for my money that i work hard for. only idiots give something for nothing. i remember i liming in a bar in curepe in my youth and a lady come in with 2 children about 6 years asking for help or begging or something to buy food for the children. everybody vex when i ask she if i was in that 5 minutes when she leg was skin open how to get money from me to buy food for your children at least i want a BJ an everyone vex with me for that.

I feel same. When beggers come and tell me them have x number of children and want a help, I does get tizzick. them enjoying and getting the benefits of x number of children while i am cutting my cloth to suit so I do not have thar number of children running around that I cannot mind. you have more than me but want my help. that does get me so forking bitter eh
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 13th, 2022, 9:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby The_Honourable » November 13th, 2022, 9:21 am

daring dragoon wrote:what wrong with studying doctoring in mt hope? wtf i hadda support a go fund me so someone else can go england an i might never see england. sell BBQ or BJ if you want money to go england, at least i getting something for my money that i work hard for. only idiots give something for nothing. i remember i liming in a bar in curepe in my youth and a lady come in with 2 children about 6 years asking for help or begging or something to buy food for the children. everybody vex when i ask she if i was in that 5 minutes when she leg was skin open how to get money from me to buy food for your children at least i want a BJ an everyone vex with me for that.

You don't have to support her gofundme and that's ok. Other people did... and she got thru.

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2022, 9:30 am

the man entitled to at least ask for the bj

Postby MaxPower » November 13th, 2022, 10:09 am

Juhhh allyuh top dogs savage boi weyyyy sah!

I would’ve just said no i can’t help and full stop.

But i guess some men does want back something in return.

But DD, you gt with the BJ? What she said?