Petrotrin / NiQuan plant - Mothballed

Re: Petrotrin / NiQuan plant - Mothballed

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2024, 3:33 pm

Let hope whoever buys it in the fire sale will do a better job.

I still remember hearing that explosion that morning a few years ago.

Postby bluefete » April 24th, 2024, 5:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:Let hope whoever buys it in the fire sale will do a better job.

I am like Sargeant Schulz - I knows nothingggggg.

And since you are in the belly of the balisier, you would know better than me.

I am hearing that one of the plans is to bundle Niquan and Petrotrin in a fire sale together.

After that will be - buying scrap iron, ole battery buying.

But that might change after I clean out the wax from my ears.

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2024, 5:40 pm

isn’t it financed by republic bank?
they would be controlling the asset liquidation
not a typical govt fire sale

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2024, 6:05 pm

bluefete wrote:

I am hearing that one of the plans is to bundle Niquan and Petrotrin in a fire sale together.

For the umpteenth time:
NIQUAN IS A PRIVATE COMPANY

How can the govt bundle a private company?

If what I am saying can be attributed to the “balisier” to what political entity can I attribute to allyuh filth?

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2024, 6:16 pm

bluefete wrote:Pressure for all creditors, especially Republic Bank.
Will a cabinet note be written to cover it, like they did for petrotrin?

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2024, 6:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

For the umpteenth time:

If what I am saying can be attributed to the “balisier” to what political entity can I attribute to allyuh filth?
If it private, how Rowley claim the fame for opening it?
Spared no expanse to get it producing after the series of start up incidents

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2024, 6:49 pm

Yes, Rowley was automatically placed on the board of executives because he held the giant scissors at the ribbon cutting ceremony.

wing

Postby wing » April 24th, 2024, 7:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yes, Rowley was automatically placed on the board of executives because he held the giant scissors at the ribbon cutting ceremony.
You shouldn't bother with these rumshop talkers. Their level of intelligence only extends as far as kick out the PNM Facebook comments. They can't get over the fact that what the UNC deemed as scrap, was able to be operationalized. Niquan's downfall was Gill's intransigence with NGC. Whoever gets the plant will be very lucky.

Postby zoom rader » April 24th, 2024, 8:02 pm

Hmmm all those 75 employees will continue to vote PNM

PNM Victory 2025

What a jackarse country

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2024, 8:06 pm

it must have some kind of inside link for that gill chap to be able to chain up investors and
big names so
esp with gas supply issues

Postby gastly369 » April 24th, 2024, 8:26 pm

Lol...

Postby Habit7 » April 24th, 2024, 9:02 pm

pugboy wrote:it must have some kind of inside link for that gill chap to be able to chain up investors and
big names so

Hence Rowley hired him as a lobbyist.

Postby sMASH » April 24th, 2024, 9:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:it must have some kind of inside link for that gill chap to be able to chain up investors and
big names so

Hence Rowley hired him as a lobbyist.
That's the one they paid 18 m for?

Postby nervewrecker » April 24th, 2024, 9:47 pm

wing wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Yes, Rowley was automatically placed on the board of executives because he held the giant scissors at the ribbon cutting ceremony.
You shouldn't bother with these rumshop talkers. Their level of intelligence only extends as far as kick out the PNM Facebook comments. They can't get over the fact that what the UNC deemed as scrap, was able to be operationalized. Niquan's downfall was Gill's intransigence with NGC. Whoever gets the plant will be very lucky.
Isn't gas curtailment squeezing a lot of the gas consumers? If I'm not mistaken Atlantic LNG is given preference for gas and gas is being rationed not only for export but for supply and demand to drive up prices and highest bidder is given preference.

Not sure how gas reserves looking but BP recently sold off some platforms to perenco, not sure if gas or oil as I know BP has more interests in gas. Sign of the times?

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2024, 10:14 pm

sign of the times?
things scanty a while now
you ain’t know plenty plants shutdown years now?
they tried to aggregate and compress the dying wells but that could never work and even if it could those wells would suck dry fast

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 25th, 2024, 5:05 am

wing wrote:
That plant was never making 100% production. Sure failure.

Sent from my SM-A145M using TriniTuner mobile app

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 25th, 2024, 6:56 am

wing wrote:
Isn't gas curtailment squeezing a lot of the gas consumers? If I'm not mistaken Atlantic LNG is given preference for gas and gas is being rationed not only for export but for supply and demand to drive up prices and highest bidder is given preference.

Not sure how gas reserves looking but BP recently sold off some platforms to perenco, not sure if gas or oil as I know BP has more interests in gas. Sign of the times?

Do tell.

Last I saw, it was still being discussed:
https://www.reuters.com/business/energy ... 024-04-08/

But I suppose it may be already a done deal?

wing

Postby wing » April 25th, 2024, 6:59 am

Cantmis wrote:
wing wrote:

It wasn't given the chance to after the death, court judgement and the NGC bacchanal. It however, made on spec product and debottlenecking works were identified and carried out. As I said, whoever gets it will be able to carry out the capacity tests and run the plant.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2024, 7:46 am

wing wrote:
Cantmis wrote:
wing wrote:

It wasn't given the chance to after the death, court judgement and the NGC bacchanal. It however, made on spec product and debottlenecking works were identified and carried out. As I said, whoever gets it will be able to carry out the capacity tests and run the plant.
Who didn't give it the chance?

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2024, 8:25 am

A private company of all pnm bag carriers.

FB_IMG_1714047880594.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2024, 8:35 am

well they got a lil disappointment now that the project crashed
but he make plenty money privately from taxpayers so he not starving

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 12:51 pm

pugboy wrote:isn’t it financed by republic bank?
they would be controlling the asset liquidation
not a typical govt fire sale

That plant has a whole bunch of financiers but Republic is the lead.

"To fund its operations, NiQuan raised money on the international bond market, loans, and sums from local investors.

Local investors, according to the company’s filings dated June 5, 2023, include:

1. Banks–Republic Bank Limited and RBC Trust (Trinidad and Tobago) Limited and JMMB,

2. Insurance company–Beacon Insurance Company

3. Investment companies–Firstline Securities, Prime Capital Limited, JMMB Securities Limited, Waterloo Capital Advisors, KCL Capital Market Brokers Limited, Inshallah Investments.

4. Firms–Farm Chem Engineering Management Limited, GM Homes Limited, M&J Services Limited, Central Finance Facility Cooperative Society of Trinidad and Tobago Limited, Petrotrin and Washington DC registered, NiQuan Energy LLC (the company’s largest shareholder–10,702,216 ordinary shares)

5. Individual investors which include NiQuan’s board members and former permanent secretary in the Ministry of Finance, Alison Lewis, Nicholas Galt, and NiQuan’s chairman John Andrews."
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/niquan- ... e_vignette

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 12:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

For the umpteenth time:

Sometimes, I does really wonder about you!

"Last week, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley at a press briefing said that the battle between NiQuan and the State reminds him of the song ‘Maga Dog’ by Jamaican artist Peter Tosh, which touches on themes of ingratitude and treachery.

He said that NiQuan and the Government cooperated to introduce GTL into T&T’s economy as an element of economic expansion.

“That is the singular basis in which the Government was involved with NiQuan, a private business,” he said.

“And in so doing the Government would have assisted in every way possible to see that NiQuan becomes successful, that is the long and short of that, but at the end of the day, public interest and private interest may not converge,” Rowley added."
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/niquan- ... 6b92e6a828

I might add, including padding the Board with a whole bunch of known PNMites!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 1:05 pm

wing wrote:
Cantmis wrote:
wing wrote:

Long story short - Smartman Gill took everybody for a ride. If proper due diligence was done going all the way back to before he was hired as a "lobbyist" by Manning (in 2004), we would not be in this position.

He founded his company in 2004 and Manning gave him a big US$ contract in 2004.

But what do I know?

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 1:30 pm

The [GTL plant] project is a win-win for everyone involved. NiQuan is able to offer investors an attractive return on investment. Trinidad and Tobago will get a return on its original investment in terms of revenue from gas sales, taxes and other fees, and the country will benefit from the creation of skilled jobs and the access to cleaner energy products.

Ainsley GILL
Group CEO and Director

NIQUAN ENERGY
IN FIGURES

Investment in GTL plant:
USD 450 million

Length of GTL plant construction phase:
18-24 months

Economic life of project:
25 years

New investment expected to be generated through GTL plant:
About USD 120 million

GTL potential
Trinidad and Tobago
May 13, 2016

TOGY talks to Ainsley Gill, CEO and director of NiQuan Energy Trinidad, about the company's plant in Trinidad and Tobago and future gas-to-liquids (GTL) opportunities.

NiQuan Energy Trinidad is a subsidiary of US company NiQuan Energy. NiQuan Energy Trinidad was established in 2012 to acquire the World GTL charged assets in receivership.

Could you give us an update on NiQuan Energy’s GTL plant project?

We have concluded all of our negotiations with the receiver. NiQuan was not interested in a scrap deal and we are working with both NGC [National Gas Company] and Petrotrin to create a living, vibrant, business that creates enterprise value.

Could you tell us more about the bidding process?

The bidding process was a transparent process agreed between the receiver and the bidding parties beforehand.

Throughout the process, NiQuan’s focus was on how to create a business and deliver on the value of the original project. Trinidad and Tobago put hundreds of millions of dollars into that project and the real prize lies in gas revenues, tax revenues, jobs, investment and the environmental benefits of GTL products.

Everyone else wanted to scrap the plant and leave all that value on the table. NiQuan said, “No, there’s a better way if we complete the plant and build a business.” We showed everyone how we would deliver on that vision and that’s why NiQuan won the bid.

What are the benefits of your project?

The project is a win-win for everyone involved.

NiQuan is able to offer investors an attractive return on investment. Trinidad and Tobago will get a return on its original investment in terms of revenue from gas sales, taxes and other fees, and the country will benefit from the creation of skilled jobs and the access to cleaner energy products.

In specific terms, the benefits will include a return to Trinidad and Tobago on its USD 450-million investment without any further cash investment by the government; revenues to NGC for natural gas purchases for the plant over the economic life of the project, [which is 25 years]; remittances, tax and other statutory dues over the economic life of the project; about TTD 800 million [USD 120 million] of new inward investment into Trinidad and Tobago; about 700 jobs created during the [18 to 24-month] construction phase; and about 65 skilled permanent jobs, plus about 10 supply chain jobs for every permanent onsite job.

In addition, Petrotrin, as the offtaker, will benefit from a high-quality premium blendstock, increasing the value of its product slate.

Trinidad and Tobago will be one of only a handful of gas-producing countries in the world with an advanced and commercial-scale GTL production facility that allows gas owners to diversify their target markets and produce high-quality fuels directly for the lucrative transport fuels market. No other gas product has the range, flexibility or value of GTL’s product slate.

What are the key challenges in promoting the benefits of your project?

The main challenge was gas availability and the commercial capability to commercialise GTL at a relatively small scale. Small GTL has always been the biggest challenge in the GTL sector because you’re working with small margins. Many organisations have tried to make it work, but NiQuan Energy is the company building the world’s first small-scale commercial plant.

We also have a major education challenge. GTL products deliver higher performance with lower emissions and GTL fuel is essentially zero-sulphur. The challenge is to educate regulators about what our products can deliver in terms of environmental benefits and improved air quality, while at the same time, making consumers aware of the performance benefits.

The energy space rarely produces a win-win [situation] for both the environment and the consumer, but GTL is one of those rare examples and we need to tell people about it.

Can the issue of a lack of financing in the country be mitigated?

The unfortunate reality is that Trinidad as a financing market has not participated in the front end of energy projects. It participated in operational capital, but not from the risk point of view.

My assessment is that it doesn’t have the adequate resources to assess and accept that risk, and that is a challenge.

How do you view the optimisation of efficiency and asset integrity?

There are great asset integrity companies here that can maintain service, do the pipes and everything to maintain the assets. At NiQuan, we look at this plant as a small one for us. It is the first [small-scale] GTL company to be fully commercial. There is no other small-scale, commercial [GTL] company.

Success builds success, and believing builds believing. We can certainly see ourselves building on success and establishing a second plant here in Trinidad.

We are going to turn this into a major business here.

We are the key to diversification. Trinidad and Tobago has very linear markets: methanol, ammonia, LNG – the traditional sectors. GTL is going to be vertical. It’s innovation. We will develop a horizontal market for it, but this is absolutely diversification in the energy market.

We are making transport fuel, and the beauty of this fuel is that we don’t need to build additional infrastructure for the customer to use it. The infrastructure exists globally. That is a huge advantage.

https://theenergyyear.com/interviews/gtl-potential/

Postby Habit7 » April 25th, 2024, 1:34 pm

[quote ="bluefete"]
Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

For the umpteenth time:

Sometimes, I does really wonder about you!

"Last week, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley at a press briefing said that the battle between NiQuan and the State reminds him of the song ‘Maga Dog’ by Jamaican artist Peter Tosh, which touches on themes of ingratitude and treachery.

He said that NiQuan and the Government cooperated to introduce GTL into T&T’s economy as an element of economic expansion.

“That is the singular basis in which the Government was involved with NiQuan, a private business,” he said.

“And in so doing the Government would have assisted in every way possible to see that NiQuan becomes successful, that is the long and short of that, but at the end of the day, public interest and private interest may not converge,” Rowley added."
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/niquan- ... 6b92e6a828

I might add, including padding the Board with a whole bunch of known PNMites!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/quote]

How does any of this justify your asinine claim that the govt will bundle the private assets of Niquan with Petrotrin?

bluefete wrote:
wing wrote:
Cantmis wrote:
wing wrote:

Long story short - Smartman Gill took everybody for a ride. If proper due diligence was done going all the way back to before he was hired as a "lobbyist" by Manning (in 2004), we would not be in this position.

He founded his company in 2004 and Manning gave him a big US$ contract in 2004.

But what do I know?
What due diligence? The PP came in and proclaimed the plant as scrap and sold it for a song. Gill got his investors and their expertise and run the plant into the ground. There aren’t much ppl with experience with plants like this esp in this part of the world. Hopefully the mistakes made can be documented so that whoever follows can do better.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 1:49 pm

Real Talk With Saieed Ali
April 6, 2021
·
Wealthy businessman Ainsley Gill and his wife are now on the radar of T&T Police Service for alleged land grabbing, fraud and collusion after Minister of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries Clarence Rambharat wrote to Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith early last month about sprawling beachfront property owned by the State at Damian Bay the businessman is now claiming as his own after removing several occupants who were living there for decades and allegedly demolishing their homes.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 1:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:How does any of this justify your asinine claim that the govt will bundle the private assets of Niquan with Petrotrin?

Go ask Uncle Keith. You very well know that what happens in politics is not what is supposed to happen on the surface. In a very, very long time from now, we will all find out.

What due diligence? The PP came in and proclaimed the plant as scrap and sold it for a song. Gill got his investors and their expertise and run the plant into the ground. There aren’t much ppl with experience with plants like this esp in this part of the world. Hopefully the mistakes made can be documented so that whoever follows can do better.

There was a Q&A with him in 2016 (posted above somewhere) in which he outlined some of the concerns. But as you said, he ran the plant into the ground by playing smart with foolishness. Maybe, that was his plan all along.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 1:57 pm

CHAIRMAN
Ainsley Gill
Ainsley Gill is the Chairman of Leadership Global. An energy industry veteran and seasoned entrepreneur with more than 20 years’ experience in international government relations, financing, business development, information technology and management consulting, Ainsley is the founding member, Group Chief Executive Officer and Director of the NiQuan Energy Group, and also serves on the NiQuan Energy Trinidad Limited Board of Directors.

Ainsley served as the Foreign Registered Agent for the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (GORTT) in the United States, promoting foreign relations, national security, trade, energy, business development and investments. He was the principal consultant to GORTT in negotiations to leverage the country’s membership in the Gas Exporting Countries Forum and was also engaged by the GORTT for the initial conceptualization, strategy development and rollout of the implementation plan for the Trinidad and Tobago International Financial Center.

Other assignments included working as principal development consultant to state-owned gas company, Songagas, G.E. of Equatorial Guinea, where he advised on the collection, transformation and commercialization of all of its liquefied natural gas (LNG) interests and led negotiations to increase Sonagas’ equity interest in the Alba field and the establishment of the 3G consortium, which included Union Fenosa, Eon Ruhrgas and Mitsumi. He also served as the lead development consultant to RWE Supply and Trading and Excelerate Energy in the development of a major Natural Gas downstream facility and as principal consultant to BPTT in the promotion of the Trinidad and Tobago/ U.S.A. strategic energy interest.

Ainsley has founded several highly successful companies, one of which, CompSpa Inc., provided services to the US Government, including the IRS and NASA.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2024, 2:09 pm

2006 - Registered Lobbyists for TT Government in USA - US Attorney General Report

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Ainsley Gill & Associates, LLC #5600

1627 K Street, N.W.
Suite 901
Washington, DC 20006
89Government of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago

Nature of Services: Lobbying

The registrant attended fund raisers, conferences and receptions on behalf of the foreign principal. The registrant
also met with U.S. Government officials to discuss energy and trade issues, US-Trinidad and Tobago bilateral
relations, and other issues of interest to the foreign principal.

In addition the registrant engaged the public relations firm of Edelman to promote and enhance public perception regarding the Trinidad and Tobago energy industry.

Furthermore, the registrant arranged meetings on behalf of the foreign principal with members of Congress and
congressional staffers to discuss issues of interest to the foreign principal.

$697,324.90 for the six month period ending February 28, 2006

Daniel J. Edelman, Inc. #3634
1875 - I Street, N.W.
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20006
89Government of Trinidad and Tobago (through Ainsley Gill & Associates) (t)
Nature of Services: Public Relations

The registrant drafted and distributed a press release regarding the foreign principal's donation of two million dollars
to Aid Katrina Recovery.

$10,000.00 for the six month period ending January 31, 2006

Federalist Group, an Ogilvy PR Worldwide Company #5628
1331 H Street, N.W.
12th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
89Republic of Trinidad and Tobago through Ainsley Gill and Associates

The registrant met with members of Congress, Administration officials, and U.S. Government officials in order to
educate policymakers on the importance of the relationship between the U.S. and Trinidad and Tobago with
particular interest in energy security.
The registrant also assisted in coordinating meetings between officials of both
countries.

$70,000.00 for the six month period ending June 30, 2006

Printed as of: June 06, 2007 Page 235 of 252 TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Patton Boggs, L.L.P. #2165
2550 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20037-1350
89Government of Trinidad and Tobago

The registrant through Ainsley Gill and Associates advised the foreign principal with respect to its relationship with
the U.S. Government regarding trade, energy and security issues.

The registrant contacted members of Congress, congressional staffers, executive branch officials, and U.S. Government officials regarding bilateral relations.

$10,439.91 for the six month period ending June 30, 2006

Steptoe & Johnson, L.L.P. #3975
1330 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20036-1795
89Government of Trinidad & Tobago (t)
Nature of Services: Legal and Other Services/Lobbying
Activities: None Reported
Finances: None Reported
Printed as of: June 06, 2007 Page 236 of 252 TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

https://www.fara.gov/reports/June30-2006.pdf