Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Postby redmanjp » August 28th, 2020, 12:42 pm

j.o.e wrote:Saw Iworld in C3 closed. Not sure if related but Covid19 probably didn’t help

ironically Apple is now worth 2 trillion US dollars

Postby Kenjo » August 28th, 2020, 12:50 pm

j.o.e wrote:Saw Iworld in C3 closed. Not sure if related but Covid19 probably didn’t help

Demand definitely Down and their dependability for warranties left a lot to be desired compared to American based Apple stores

Postby Chimera » August 28th, 2020, 1:01 pm

Customs must be start to jam them.

Those customs issues are freaking up alot of businesses. When usually you could order something on monday and have it for your customer by friday....now its 3 to 4 weeks or more waiting time.

So instantly you lose that customer.

Postby toyolink » August 28th, 2020, 2:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Customs must be start to jam them.

Those customs issues are freaking up alot of businesses. When usually you could order something on monday and have it for your customer by friday....now its 3 to 4 weeks or more waiting time.

So instantly you lose that customer.

Presently in the midst of a clearance of a shipment of commercial cargo and the process has been painfully slow.
Issues include reduced staff levels , quota system for cargo to be cleared and early shutdown times.
To be fair problems have been experienced right through the supply chain, it dont even make sense using courier or air-freight at this time.
Everything just seems 'out-of-wack'.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 29th, 2020, 1:08 am

As I mentioned in the skybox thread, Aeropost closed its Diego Martin and Couva branches. It's just Fernandez and Marabella for T&T now.

Postby MaxPower » August 29th, 2020, 1:41 am

De Dragon wrote:Caxxos "minimarts" and "bars", wait........do imaginary, figment of a pea sized brain businesses count? :lol: :lol:

De Fagon School of Domestic Abuse counts?

Thats your new name, Soda.

Postby RedVEVO » August 29th, 2020, 2:08 am

Radio Shack in Valpark - CLOSED

Cost Plus in Valpark - CLOSED

Numerous food businesses in Valpark Food Court and Falls Malls - CLOSED

Ultimate Appliances - Grand Bazaar - CLOSED

It's like about 20% of business closed in Trinidad - CLOSED

Postby De Dragon » August 29th, 2020, 2:11 am

De Dragon wrote:Caxxos "minimarts" and "bars", wait........do imaginary, figment of a pea sized brain businesses count? :lol: :lol:

De Fagon School of Domestic Abuse counts?

Thats your new name, Soda.

Slow and stupid as usual.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 29th, 2020, 2:43 am

What about TrinCity Mall?

sharadu2

Postby sharadu2 » August 29th, 2020, 8:48 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Are these businesses closed permanently or just temporarily. due to operational costs over just paying rent and opening back in a month or two hoping business picks up. In gulf city mall some stores are closed and opening Thursday to Saturday or Sunday because beginning of the week have no business and they have workers to pay.

Postby Rovin » August 29th, 2020, 6:38 pm

ent d bar owners association say 40something of their members close down shop too ....

Postby RedVEVO » August 30th, 2020, 2:11 am

sharadu2 wrote:

Are these businesses closed permanently or just temporarily. due to operational costs over just paying rent and opening back in a month or two hoping business picks up. In gulf city mall some stores are closed and opening Thursday to Saturday or Sunday because beginning of the week have no business and they have workers to pay.

Closed temp or close permanently is still closed .

No demand for these businesses renders them useless :roll:

Postby De Dragon » August 30th, 2020, 3:14 am

Remember when people that drank at home were automatically branded as alcoholics? :lol:
Real alcoholics in T&T now!

Postby RedVEVO » August 30th, 2020, 3:26 am

You stay home .

You close your business .

You grab and drink with ice included .

Wow how do we come up with these excellent solutions ?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 30th, 2020, 4:31 am

RedVEVO wrote:
sharadu2 wrote:

Closed temp or close permanently is still closed .

No demand for these businesses renders them useless :roll:

cost plus closed or closing down since last year, i remember thinking them open since the mall was in existence. since valpark had the cinema, even after the kidnapping they remained opened and last year i saw they selling out everything an moving out stuff also, so i dont think them fall into covid closures. It was them, marios, the bakery i think them around since the mall opened.

Postby K74T » August 30th, 2020, 9:23 am

FB_IMG_1598793072327.jpeg

Postby RedVEVO » August 30th, 2020, 12:51 pm

Central Athletic Club - West Mall - CLOSED

It's passing strange that ONLY the Trinidad managed businesses are closing .

Chinese business are intact .

And Venezuelan businesses are opening :D :D

Postby sMASH » August 30th, 2020, 2:44 pm

chiny always had the profit margin maxed out, so this lil contraction still have them well into the black. the most expensive chiny vehicle i ever see was b2600 or a wingroad.

Postby SR » August 30th, 2020, 3:41 pm

Cost plus 10 was closing down before covid

Owner said it was time to retire
The hairdressing salon that still looked like it was from the 70s closed.
Smacks closed before covid

Video club reduced it size by half

Flower shop closed
Hallmark closed

New flower shop going where hallmark was

Thats just some places in valpark

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2020, 3:48 pm

That new driving arrangement by valpark kinda firetruck them up too.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 30th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Central Athletic Club - West Mall - CLOSED

It's passing strange that ONLY the Trinidad managed businesses are closing .

Chinese business are intact .

And Venezuelan businesses are opening :D :D

jus now muduro will get the refinery and he done position 16000 vene to be employed there.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 30th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:That new driving arrangement by valpark kinda firetruck them up too.

Totally the interchange killed valpark not Covid

Postby Kenjo » August 30th, 2020, 5:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:That new driving arrangement by valpark kinda firetruck them up too.

Totally the interchange killed valpark not Covid

It had a significant impact but shouldn’t the same effect occur on Superpharm? Valpark dropping for more than a decade now. Probably ever since trincity improved in the early 2000s

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2020, 5:55 pm

Nah....if yuh hadda go superpharm yuh hadda go superpharm.

But if u going valpark you might as well go curepe main road or grand bazaar for anything

Postby K74T » September 2nd, 2020, 9:02 pm

FB_IMG_1599094847067.jpeg

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2020, 7:24 am

BPtt sending home 25% of their staff!

:(

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 7th, 2020, 8:09 am

They will have to hold a strain until patriotic is at 100%. Roget will grab up all lost energy jobs so eventual net effect will be zero.

Postby 88sins » September 7th, 2020, 12:27 pm

agent007 wrote:They will have to hold a strain until patriotic is at 100%. Roget will grab up all lost energy jobs so eventual net effect will be zero.

I would not bank on that if I were you.
Remember, they eh want to get into this business because they care about workers, the objective is to turn a profit. One surefire way to help reach that goal is hiring as few workers as possible.

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 7th, 2020, 1:36 pm

Sure noted but not to derail this thread since we already have a petrotrin thread, all I can say to that is, it completely goes against Roget's rhetoric towards the former entity since day 1. In other words, efficiency and profitability was not important then but now that you own a company, these 2 pillars become priority all of a sudden? But I hear you....

Postby 88sins » September 7th, 2020, 2:14 pm

agent007 wrote:Sure noted but not to derail this thread since we already have a petrotrin thread, all I can say to that is, it completely goes against Roget's rhetoric towards the former entity since day 1. In other words, efficiency and profitability was not important then but now that you own a company, these 2 pillars become priority all of a sudden? But I hear you....

ironic, isn't it?