speedmelter wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:meccalli wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:speedmelter wrote:It good.. hope this covid 19 made the population realize how much money we waste daily behind random snacks, play whey, beer, Soft drink.. fast food etc without keeping check.
When it first happened apart from buying groceries and paying bills initially, I didn’t touch my wallet for a while. That was so amazing
Get off your high horse and let people spend money where they want. At least spending on many of these things keeps thousands employed.
Yeah, it also keeps one enslaved to their palate and all those meds they take for metabolic syndrome so you can continue to eat crap, and burden the healthcare system with expenses related to obesity, diabetes and heart disease. Let's continue to to pay for the self imposed lifestyle diseases of others, because they can't control what they put in their mouth.
But hey, the more sick people we have, more employment opportunities right?
It's their choice, they have enough education and knowledge to know its bad. And for that matter, you can't pick and choose the bad like what speedmelter is doing.
Was I wasting money on healthy foods if I bought? I've often found it just as expensive to cook food vs buying food.
Saving is good, but it isn't always good for the economy, especially in a time like this when almost all businesses have been hit hard.
Food for thought as I had to explain this to several people who just you speedmetler, was bad talking people's spending habits and boasting about saving.
Let's say 25% of the population decides that their extraneous entertainment budgets for restaurants, bars, movies etc were 'wastage'. That means all these businesses immediately see a decline of 25% revenue. It's obvious now that Covid-19 has also scared some people from these activities as well.
So most businesses instead of making profit, might barely break even. Who wants to break even? Am I setting up a business to make NET zero profit or loss? Am i running a charity? Nope. So now imagine if 10-20% of these businesses close down within a year.
That results in thousands of job losses. Who is hiring them? If they're out of work, they can't pay basic bills, groceries etc. So now all revenues from businesses drop. Now these businesses may lay off workers and close branches too as demand across the board falls.
So consequently you buffing up people telling them to stop buying fast food has resulted in you getting laid off at your so called 'safe' job.
Congrats, we now have a recession and an even larger dependent population.
So now your taxes go into supporting them rather than developing the country.
This isn't meant to bad talk saving, saving helps the economy at other times, especially when it can lead to a boom in investment and construction. But that is couple years away, right now we all need to do our part to support the economy.
Your logic is there but it only goes so far,
NO, most of the population are not educated about healthy eating,
i understand your ramble but if you develop an economic structure based on needing a population to be living a festive lifestyle, eating junk and the population having to spend 25 percent of their income on these activities just to sustain the economy, then that is failure from the get go, there is not going to be any real development from there go forward.
In trinidad we party for nonsense, i am guilty of it myself despite knowing the stupidity of it,
In a developed world people celebrate special occasions or the achievement of something good,
In trinidad we just wait for the weekend to drink a set of rum and be all over the place liming because its the weekend, and thats the stupid culture put into all the youths there are now. Its the men behind the curtain at the top who carefully crafted this society into this business model btw and they laugh at us so much.
maj. tom wrote:i'm not praising you though and you're not trolling. You need to get help.
Dohplaydat wrote:speedmelter wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:meccalli wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:speedmelter wrote:It good.. hope this covid 19 made the population realize how much money we waste daily behind random snacks, play whey, beer, Soft drink.. fast food etc without keeping check.
When it first happened apart from buying groceries and paying bills initially, I didn’t touch my wallet for a while. That was so amazing
Get off your high horse and let people spend money where they want. At least spending on many of these things keeps thousands employed.
Yeah, it also keeps one enslaved to their palate and all those meds they take for metabolic syndrome so you can continue to eat crap, and burden the healthcare system with expenses related to obesity, diabetes and heart disease. Let's continue to to pay for the self imposed lifestyle diseases of others, because they can't control what they put in their mouth.
It's their choice, they have enough education and knowledge to know its bad. And for that matter, you can't pick and choose the bad like what speedmelter is doing.
Was I wasting money on healthy foods if I bought? I've often found it just as expensive to cook food vs buying food.
Saving is good, but it isn't always good for the economy, especially in a time like this when almost all businesses have been hit hard.
Food for thought as I had to explain this to several people who just you speedmetler, was bad talking people's spending habits and boasting about saving.
Let's say 25% of the population decides that their extraneous entertainment budgets for restaurants, bars, movies etc were 'wastage'. That means all these businesses immediately see a decline of 25% revenue. It's obvious now that Covid-19 has also scared some people from these activities as well.
So most businesses instead of making profit, might barely break even. Who wants to break even? Am I setting up a business to make NET zero profit or loss? Am i running a charity? Nope. So now imagine if 10-20% of these businesses close down within a year.
That results in thousands of job losses. Who is hiring them? If they're out of work, they can't pay basic bills, groceries etc. So now all revenues from businesses drop. Now these businesses may lay off workers and close branches too as demand across the board falls.
So consequently you buffing up people telling them to stop buying fast food has resulted in you getting laid off at your so called 'safe' job.
This isn't meant to bad talk saving, saving helps the economy at other times, especially when it can lead to a boom in investment and construction. But that is couple years away, right now we all need to do our part to support the economy.
i understand your ramble but if you develop an economic structure based on needing a population to be living a festive lifestyle, eating junk and the population having to spend 25 percent of their income on these activities just to sustain the economy, then that is failure from the get go, there is not going to be any real development from there go forward.
In trinidad we party for nonsense, i am guilty of it myself despite knowing the stupidity of it,
In a developed world people celebrate special occasions or the achievement of something good,
In trinidad we just wait for the weekend to drink a set of rum and be all over the place liming because its the weekend, and thats the stupid culture put into all the youths there are now. Its the men behind the curtain at the top who carefully crafted this society into this business model btw and they laugh at us so much.
Yea so it's only Trinidad we like to drink? For better or worse economies depend on frivolous spending.
Hawaii just went from 3% to 30%+ unemployment and probably might settle at that rate for the next year or two.
The rest of Caribbean will experience similar falls including Tobago.
Economic disaster will be worse in the long run for everyone leading to more deaths.
speedmelter wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:speedmelter wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:meccalli wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:speedmelter wrote:It good.. hope this covid 19 made the population realize how much money we waste daily behind random snacks, play whey, beer, Soft drink.. fast food etc without keeping check.
Yea so it's only Trinidad we like to drink? For better or worse economies depend on frivolous spending.
Hawaii just went from 3% to 30%+ unemployment and probably might settle at that rate for the next year or two.
The rest of Caribbean will experience similar falls including Tobago.
Economic disaster will be worse in the long run for everyone leading to more deaths.
Ok now you are a complete jackarse, you are comparing two different things;
1) an economy properly designed to facilitate and earn revenue from external sources using partying, entertainment etc as the means
2)an economy poorly designed represented by farces of 1) where the local population indulges in celebration of imaginary wealth, while those at the top suck the real substance of what there is....
well you go buy your fried chicken everyday and teach your children to do the same because it is essential to provide jobs for the average folk to prop the economy lol. By your logic if prestige ask for a government bailout it should be granted, because of how pivotal they are in the upkeep of the economy.
Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
NR8 wrote:Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
USA currently at 30% according to CNN a couple days ago so that number is not unbelievable at all.
NR8 wrote:Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
USA currently at 30% according to CNN a couple days ago so that number is not unbelievable at all.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:NR8 wrote:Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
Do you have a link to that CNN report?
US Department of Labour reports the current unemployment level in the US is around 15%, which is astronomical but no where near 30%.
maj. tom wrote::lol:allyuh really trying to have a real discussion with Trinituner's "The Pretender" Daran? The worst compulsive pathological liar in Trinidad?
Just now he will make a new account and claim he is a cardiology-specialist (making $100k a day with several imaginary women around the world) and "eating doubles and KFC is ackshully healthy."
Penguin wrote:NR8 wrote:Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
is no one alarmed by this? reaching 40% is like 1 in 2 of people currently employed getting laid off.
redmanjp wrote:Penguin wrote:NR8 wrote:Penguin wrote:I'm seeing local economists predict up to 40% unemployed.
is no one alarmed by this? reaching 40% is like 1 in 2 of people currently employed getting laid off.
can businesses not cut salaries or have no pay leave but still keep their employees on for when they open back up? is getting laid off always the ONLY option?
pugboy wrote:well govt say they not cutting cepep
so everybody could go and apply to cepep
Dizzy28 wrote:pugboy wrote:well govt say they not cutting cepep
Cthulu could rise up from the Gulf of Paria before this Govnt cut Cepep in an election year
Ben_spanna wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:pugboy wrote:well govt say they not cutting cepep
Cthulu could rise up from the Gulf of Paria before this Govnt cut Cepep in an election year
So yet again we continue to pay people for not working or aspiring to make themselves better ..
rspann wrote:No . We just paying them to vote us back in , for the next election . What so hard about that to understand?
elec2020 wrote:Nice survey on the potential economic inpact of covid 19 restrictions on the average household in TnT... still note that this survey only included around 900 households... i think i saw somewhere that TnT has over 30k households... so this is a very tiny sample size... still worth a read though
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/14/more-t ... f-covid19/
redmanjp wrote:elec2020 wrote:Nice survey on the potential economic inpact of covid 19 restrictions on the average household in TnT... still note that this survey only included around 900 households... i think i saw somewhere that TnT has over 30k households... so this is a very tiny sample size... still worth a read though
https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/14/more-t ... f-covid19/
survey was done online- so we can assume that things could be worst off as some ppl who lost their job cyah pay for internet so would not have been able to do the survey