COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus-it may have reached JAMAICA

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2020, 12:17 pm

Its so weird a large continent like Africa has no red dot(s)

Postby Ben_spanna » January 30th, 2020, 12:36 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Its so weird a large continent like Africa has no red dot(s)

Well i guess their contribution to world population reduction was already established with AIDS! :roll:

matix

Postby matix » January 30th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Where dumbass Dohplaydat

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 30th, 2020, 12:57 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

Well i guess their contribution to world population reduction was already established with AIDS! :roll:

wow

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2020, 1:33 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:

wow

I was more going for maybe international travel between African countries and China is low given the relative poverty of the continent, despite the enormous wealth Chinese firms are gaining through mineral extractions and infrastructure development there.

But whatever works for you I guess.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 30th, 2020, 2:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:why u doh drink some gasoline to kill all dem worm in your brain.

bring it nah and u take first shot. .
Last edited by screwbash on January 30th, 2020, 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 30th, 2020, 2:48 pm

rspann wrote:
aaron17 wrote:So whats the deal with the video of the 5 chinese nationals that sounding like 4 horsemen of the apocolypse from the bible?

Them an't know what they saying. Is the plane letting it go in the sky. The white line is the corona virus.

i tell allyuh was the man killing we out an it have arseholes here feel i talking sheit.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 30th, 2020, 2:48 pm

rspann wrote:
aaron17 wrote:So whats the deal with the video of the 5 chinese nationals that sounding like 4 horsemen of the apocolypse from the bible?

Them an't know what they saying. Is the plane letting it go in the sky. The white line is the corona virus.

i tell allyuh was the man killing we out an it have arseholes here feel i talking sheit.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 30th, 2020, 2:50 pm

matix wrote:Where dumbass Dohplaydat

Right here yo, u still want to cancel carnival bro?

Halfbreed12

Postby Halfbreed12 » January 30th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Cab­i­net has agreed to a trav­el re­stric­tion on any­one trav­el­ling from Chi­na to Trinidad and To­ba­go, in light of the spread of coro­n­avirus.

Health Min­is­ter Ter­rance Deyals­ingh says that with im­me­di­ate ef­fect - once nec­es­sary le­gal pro­vi­sions are put in place -"per­sons who are present­ly liv­ing in Chi­na or vis­it­ing Chi­na, re­gard­less of na­tion­al­i­ty, will not be al­lowed en­try in­to Trinidad and To­ba­go for 14 days af­ter leav­ing Chi­na."

Speak­ing at to­day's post-Cab­i­net news con­fer­ence, he added: "If you left Chi­na to­mor­row you will not be al­lowed in­to T&T un­til Feb­ru­ary 14."

He said the rea­son for the 14 days is that the in­cu­ba­tion pe­ri­od for coro­n­avirus lasts for that pe­ri­od.

He said it is now for the at­tor­ney gen­er­al's of­fice and the chief im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer to ef­fect the trav­el re­stric­tions.

The min­is­ter added that the Min­istry of Health, un­der the pub­lic health or­di­nance, will des­ig­nate coro­n­avirus as a dan­ger­ous in­fec­tious dis­ease as done with ebo­la in 2014.

He said that once that is done these mea­sure will be put in­to ef­fect al­most im­me­di­ate­ly.

The min­is­ter said that 18,588 peo­ple have been screened af­ter ar­riv­ing at Pi­ar­co and no one has so far been found with the virus

Postby Dizzy28 » January 30th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Halfbreed12 wrote:Cab­i­net has agreed to a trav­el re­stric­tion on any­one trav­el­ling from Chi­na to Trinidad and To­ba­go, in light of the spread of coro­n­avirus.

Health Min­is­ter Ter­rance Deyals­ingh says that with im­me­di­ate ef­fect - once nec­es­sary le­gal pro­vi­sions are put in place -"per­sons who are present­ly liv­ing in Chi­na or vis­it­ing Chi­na, re­gard­less of na­tion­al­i­ty, will not be al­lowed en­try in­to Trinidad and To­ba­go for 14 days af­ter leav­ing Chi­na."

Speak­ing at to­day's post-Cab­i­net news con­fer­ence, he added: "If you left Chi­na to­mor­row you will not be al­lowed in­to T&T un­til Feb­ru­ary 14."

He said the rea­son for the 14 days is that the in­cu­ba­tion pe­ri­od for coro­n­avirus lasts for that pe­ri­od.

He said it is now for the at­tor­ney gen­er­al's of­fice and the chief im­mi­gra­tion of­fi­cer to ef­fect the trav­el re­stric­tions.

The min­is­ter added that the Min­istry of Health, un­der the pub­lic health or­di­nance, will des­ig­nate coro­n­avirus as a dan­ger­ous in­fec­tious dis­ease as done with ebo­la in 2014.

He said that once that is done these mea­sure will be put in­to ef­fect al­most im­me­di­ate­ly.

The min­is­ter said that 18,588 peo­ple have been screened af­ter ar­riv­ing at Pi­ar­co and no one has so far been found with the virus
/?

Read in a newspaper article that UWI has 28 students in China now.
What happens to them? Also saw a former co-worker post up pics in Beijing last week. Guess she in some trouble as well if she hasn't come back yet.

Postby aaron17 » January 30th, 2020, 4:35 pm

UN declares global emergency...idk

Postby teems1 » January 30th, 2020, 4:50 pm

aaron17 wrote:UN declares global emergency...idk

The World Health Organization (WHO) which is a special agency of the UN declared the emergency.

This was a requirement which was needed for many countries to allow barring Chinese nationals or persons returning from China to pass through immigration.

I think Trinidad & Tobago already made some steps with respect to Chinese nationals and an amount of time which has to pass.

Postby redmanjp » January 30th, 2020, 5:39 pm

so the 14 days period where they staying? in a quarantine facility in immigration?

Postby bluefete » January 30th, 2020, 5:48 pm

I love it when tuners post facts. Let the others make sense of it.

Ben_spanna wrote:

Postby bluefete » January 30th, 2020, 5:52 pm

So Watson Duke was right this morning on Fazeer's show. He said that only after he speaks would the Minister of Health put things in place. So said, so done. He said Terrence did not do any research and did not know one fart about the coronavirus and how it is spread. he said the Minister did not even know the incubation period.

Halfbreed12 wrote:Cab­i­net has agreed to a trav­el re­stric­tion on any­one trav­el­ling from Chi­na to Trinidad and To­ba­go, in light of the spread of coro­n­avirus.

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2020, 6:41 pm

1st Person-To-Person Spread Of Coronavirus Has Occurred In U.S., CDC Says

The first human-to-human transmission of the deadly Wuhan coronavirus has occurred in the U.S., the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention announced Thursday.

The respiratory virus was spread from a woman who had recently traveled in China to her husband when she returned to Chicago, CDC Director Dr. Robert Redfield said at a press briefing.

It's the sixth confirmed case of the new coronavirus, or 2019-nCoV, in the U.S.

In addition to the Illinois cases, two have been confirmed in California, one in Arizona and one in Washington state. Worldwide, the Wuhan coronavirus has spread to at least 20 countries since it was identified last month, the CDC says.

https://www.npr.org/sections/health-sho ... D=ref_fark

We moving into the "managing a pandemic" stage.

Postby redmanjp » January 30th, 2020, 6:45 pm

https://www.wsj.com/articles/coronavirus-triggers-damage-control-from-governments-companies-11580396657

WHO Declares Coronavirus Outbreak a Global Public Health Emergency
The designation comes as the first person-to-person transmission of the virus is reported in the U.S.

In a news conference Thursday, the director-general of the World Health Organization called the coronavirus outbreak “unprecedented” and declared a global public-health emergency. Photo: Jean-Christophe Bott/EPA-EFE/Shutterstock
By Brianna Abbott, Katie Camero and Erin Mendell
Updated Jan. 30, 2020 5:13 pm ET

The World Health Organization declared the coronavirus outbreak in China a public health emergency of international concern, pointing to a significant increase in the number of cases and the disease’s spread to other countries.

The designation, issued Thursday, came as the first person-to-person transmission of the virus was reported in the U.S.

The WHO designation indicates that international public-health authorities now consider the respiratory virus a significant threat beyond, China where it originated last month. The move could further heighten the global response to the outbreak.

The agency made the declaration after the second meeting of its emergency committee, which previously declined to do so after meeting twice last week.

Since then, China, other governments and multinational businesses have taken emergency steps to limit the virus’s spread, including halting some travel to China.

Americans Evacuated From Coronavirus Epicenter Land in U.S.

A plane carrying more than 200 Americans arrived at March Air Force Base in Riverside County, Calif., on Wednesday. They have been screened multiple times and will be temporarily housed at the airbase. Photo: Matt Hartman/Agence France-Presse/Getty Images
In the U.S., a sixth person tested positive for the infection in the first case of human-to-human transmission. The patient is the husband of a Chicago woman infected with the virus whose case was reported last week. She had recently traveled to Wuhan, the central Chinese city where the coronavirus first emerged last month.

The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and state officials emphasized that the overall risk for people in the U.S. and in Illinois remains low.

“This person-to-person spread was between two very close contacts, a wife and husband,” said Ngozi Ezike, the director of the Illinois Department of Public Health. “It is not spreading in the wider community.”

A public health emergency of international concern is a situation that is serious, unusual or unexpected with international implications that potentially requires a coordinated, international response, according to the WHO.

Public-health authorities say the designation helps mobilize resources to contain the virus’s spread. The WHO’s director-general can make recommendations to the international community, though they aren’t legally binding.

WHO Director-General Tedros Ghebreyesus said he was confident in China’s capacity to control the outbreak, which has sickened more than 7,800 people and killed 170, mostly in the Hubei province in China surrounding Wuhan.

“Let me be clear. This declaration is not a vote of no confidence in China,” said Dr. Tedros. “I have never in my life seen this kind of mobilization.”

Since it got the power, in 2005, to declare an international emergency, WHO had applied the designation to just five prior situations. The first was in 2009 in response to the H1N1 swine flu, followed by polio in 2014 and the Ebola and Zika virus outbreaks in 2016.

The Economic Impact of Coronavirus, by the Numbers
Challenges for travel and leisure stocks, slower economic growth and a weaker Chinese yuan are among the new market implications investors are dealing with as the new coronavirus spreads rapidly. Photo: Bloomberg/Qilai Shen
At least 15 other countries or territories have also reported a small number of cases, with Finland, India and the Philippines now reporting cases in people who have traveled to Wuhan, according to WHO.

In response to the virus, Russia has tightened its border with China and the U.S. announced plans for a second evacuation of Americans from Wuhan. Companies including Tesla Inc. and IKEA temporarily halted operations in China.

The CDC has investigated 165 people for the virus, according to the numbers released Wednesday, and 68 have tested negative and been cleared. Over 90 cases are pending, and health authorities said that they expect additional cases.

The new Chicago patient lived with and was in consistent close contact with his wife. After returning to the U.S. on Jan. 13, she developed symptoms and was hospitalized in an isolated setting. Once her husband also started developing symptoms he was quickly taken to the hospital. The patient, who has underlying health issues, is in a stable condition, health authorities said.

“It is clear that this virus is highly transmittable, and this assumption is based on the rapid rate of spread of this infection in China,” said Eyal Leshem, director of the Institute for Travel and Tropical medicine at Sheba Medical Center in Israel.

“When there is a public health uncertainty, you always want to slightly overreact to make sure that you don’t miss a critical issue,” said Dr. Leshem. “Once you learn a little bit more about the risk and the effective steps, then you can scale back.”

Health authorities believe the virus was spread while the first patient was symptomatic, rather than before.

A transit worker takes the temperature of a passenger during a screening at a passenger ferry terminal in Shanghai, China, on Thursday. PHOTO: QILAI SHEN/BLOOMBERG NEWS

Officials said the man, who is in his 60s, didn’t attend any mass gatherings. There are currently 21 people under investigation in Illinois, Dr. Ezike said, and local and federal health authorities are working to monitor close contacts of the second Chicago patient.

“This is a very serious public health situation,” said Nancy Messonnier, the director for the National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases at the CDC. “We’re trying to spark a balance in our response right now.”

The CDC says that people who had recently traveled should be vigilant for symptoms and signs of the virus, which include fever, cough and shortness of breath.

White House spokesman Hogan Gidley said the risk coronavirus poses to Americans remains low and that he wasn’t aware of government plans to cancel flights to and from China. He said the U.S. is taking “all the precautions necessary and will continue to do so.”

Members of a House of Representatives panel briefed by federal medical officials Thursday said that traditional means of stopping infection are still the best guard against the virus’s spread.

Members of the subcommittee said federal officials appear to have the situation in hand and that there isn’t any need for a coronavirus “czar,” as occurred with the Ebola virus epidemic in West Africa during the Obama administration.

Authorities in Russia, meanwhile, said they would temporarily restrict passage through 16 road, rail and river checkpoints along its 2,670-mile border with China. Though Russia’s national carrier Aeroflot hasn’t stopped flying to China smaller Russian airlines have canceled flights.

A number of countries have pushed ahead with efforts to extract their citizens from central China.

The State Department on Thursday said it is planning a second evacuation flight from Wuhan for the hundreds of American citizens still believed to be in the city.

The Indian government is seeking permission from Chinese authorities to operate two flights to repatriate citizens from Hubei province, and will quarantine them for 14 days.

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2020, 8:18 pm

well it has just been pointed out to me that we are calculating mortality figures wrong. We took the number of deaths and divided by the number of cases.

But.. a 'case' can only end in two ways: either the person dies or the person recovers. The current ratio is 1:1 recovery or death.

Also the John Hopkins map now shows a red dot in Toronto. Carnivalllllll

https://gisanddata.maps.arcgis.com/apps ... 7b48e9ecf6

Postby Ben_spanna » January 30th, 2020, 8:44 pm

A postponement of carnival 2020 looking more and more realistic..... :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » January 30th, 2020, 8:59 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:A postponement of carnival 2020 looking more and more realistic..... :roll:

God is ah Trini :drinking:

Postby sMASH » January 30th, 2020, 8:59 pm

we hadda buss all them container to make sure we catch all the chinee that smuggling in.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 30th, 2020, 9:23 pm

There is a whatsapp msg going around about a boat being docked at a Plipdeco with three dead Chinese nationals on board. Also included was a Pic with three hearse at the location removing the bodies as well as a Pic of the Manifest. Boat came from China through Brazil.

This could all be BS so take it with a grain of salt.

Not to scare anyone but we are worried about the airport and not the other ports of entry.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 30th, 2020, 9:46 pm

The declaration — officially called a Public Health Emergency of International Concern — serves notice to all United Nations member states that the world’s top health advisory body rates the situation as serious.

Countries can then decide whether to close their borders, cancel flights, screen people arriving at airports or take other measures.

The decision came as cases have begun to appear in people who had not traveled to China during the outbreak.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/01/30/worl ... china.html

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 30th, 2020, 9:46 pm

snypaz wrote:There is a whatsapp msg going around about a boat being docked at a Plipdeco with three dead Chinese nationals on board. Also included was a Pic with three hearse at the location removing the bodies as well as a Pic of the Manifest. Boat came from China through Brazil.

Not to scare anyone but we are worried about the airport and not the other ports of entry.

Alt reports indicate dead venes

Halfbreed12

Postby Halfbreed12 » January 30th, 2020, 10:03 pm

Made it on cnn lol
1B5F7C11-5460-4A44-B1BB-064DA11B910C.png

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 30th, 2020, 10:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
snypaz wrote:There is a whatsapp msg going around about a boat being docked at a Plipdeco with three dead Chinese nationals on board. Also included was a Pic with three hearse at the location removing the bodies as well as a Pic of the Manifest. Boat came from China through Brazil.

bodies are 3 venezuelans that customs wanted scan before they are shipped back to venezuela. The bodies came from land side...not a vessel.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 31st, 2020, 9:11 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

bodies are 3 venezuelans that customs wanted scan before they are shipped back to venezuela. The bodies came from land side...not a vessel.

This is so messed up that you become cargo upon death that they send your body to the port to get scanned and not a hospital where I assume full body scanners are available or even Forensic Science Centre (I hoping they have full body scanners)

killercow

Postby killercow » January 31st, 2020, 9:18 am

Yes the MTM Shanghai is currently docked at Point Lisas. Yes it originates from Singapore. But that vessel hasn't been to China in months. Last ports of call were Brazil, US, Ireland and Israel.

Re: Coronavirus - Wuhan, China strain

Postby Ben_spanna » January 31st, 2020, 12:14 pm

Italy has issued a state of emergency for the next 6 months!

and we have people stating that they stand too much to lose to postpone a national party.... we Really do have a population of dumbaar5e5 oui!