"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Re: "Official" GARY GRIFFITH & POLICE related matters thread ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 30th, 2019, 9:21 am

pugboy wrote:i want to see how far he willing to go with the illegal quarrying

it have real mafia in that starting from the govt top financiers all the way to the jamaat

Only 1 man milk this country wrt illegal quarrying...the man so bad he even sold the material back to the govt...on top ah dat, they tried to make a case against him and he get ah 10milli from the state instead...I know for a fact, it had ttps involved...from DCP to PC...

As per your question...laws are sheity....so nothing going to bother them men

VII

Postby VII » November 30th, 2019, 9:39 am

rspann wrote:The poleese wicked!

Look I say it fuh she.

And Casper is now a friendly ghost..

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/11/29/casper ... by-police/

Will somebody please update bandit shot/killed thread with these two new entries tenks.. :wink:

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2019, 11:12 am

aaah boi officers taking een d BF sales too - i wud like to hear d logical explanation for this , d photographer cuda find out for we but i guess he frighten to ask ....

Postby matr1x » November 30th, 2019, 11:31 am

Gary worse than Rowley

Postby The_Honourable » November 30th, 2019, 11:32 am

Rovin wrote:aaah boi officers taking een d BF sales too - i wud like to hear d logical explanation for this , d photographer cuda find out for we but i guess he frighten to ask ....

So police can't watch Family Feud in the station now? allyuh wicked.

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2019, 11:35 am

dise fuh dem to watch zander & marlon .... :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 30th, 2019, 11:58 am

New stocks for the stations in the west

antlind

Postby antlind » November 30th, 2019, 12:25 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:Has Gary reduced crime..? Do you feel safer..?
If not then he has failed thus far as COP...despite the rhetoric.

Gary is one man and he’s no magician. He’s been at this job less than a year. The crime situation has been an increasing problem for decades. We have to give him some time before we judge him. Of course if he would stop bumping his gums to the media people might be a little more patient with him. Just sayin’

Postby maj. tom » November 30th, 2019, 1:26 pm

But you're actually seeing Gary on the ground operations and doing work. What the last CoP ever did? Cleaning up the TTPS and then bringing it up to the standard that Gary wants is one thing. His hands are always going to be tied by the politicians in this country, and there is no way to reduce the murder count without the legal system being cleaned up and remodeled for modern issues. A duty entrusted to the Chief Justice. But we all know what he too busy doing and Mr. Rowley supporting his corruption.

SO no way one should expect the crime numbers to simply drop in a year. Plans have to be implemented over at least a term in office and requires much more support from the civil leaders than we are currently seeing. Which not going to happen because crime pays big time in this country's political support.

It's very lowbrow for anyone to say that crime hasn't been reduced, that one single man can absolutely make a difference in one year for such a vastly complex issue as the current state of crime that has been brewing and germinating over the last 30 years.

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2019, 2:15 pm

we have a serious gang problem now which is bigger than the general robbery and banditry.
it will be a tall order to stop that.
in many schools teachers cannot discipline children and are intimidated with threats by kids who are associated with gangs

its easily two or three generations who have grown up in this environment now and know no other way of life.

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2019, 2:52 pm

pugboy wrote:we have a serious gang problem now which is bigger than the general robbery and banditry.
in many schools teachers cannot discipline children and are intimidated with threats by kids who are associated with gangs

its easily two or three generations who have grown up in this environment now and know no other way of life.
It's not a gang problem but a PNM problem.

PNM supports gangs as the gangs win elections for them

Postby matr1x » November 30th, 2019, 3:02 pm

The problem is, the fines and power bestowed to the ttps, with all their illegal activities

Re:

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2019, 3:21 pm

For sure, Marlene is a prime example and that is just the tip of the iceberg

Not to mention Joan yuille Williams who is padnas with bakr

They well in bed with Rasta city and Muslim gangs

pugboy wrote:we have a serious gang problem now which is bigger than the general robbery and banditry.

It's not a gang problem but a PNM problem.

PNM supports gangs as the gangs win elections for them

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2019, 5:53 pm

imo Gibbs & ewatski were doing a good job , u used to see them around with officers all over normal normal but we all know d presha they got from all d negative nancys & they probably say man if T&T eh like we then fork this job i gone

gary needs time to even make a lil dent in decades old problems , he needs to put dong he foot & demand closed borders but we all know d 1% will not agree to that so gary hadda bat within d crease they allow him ..... all these bailable offenses need to be stopped too but then dat go pose a problem of serious prison overcrowding
Last edited by Rovin on November 30th, 2019, 6:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby rspann » November 30th, 2019, 6:02 pm

At least he getting a handle on the human trafficking and freeing all the exploited women. 8-)

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » December 3rd, 2019, 10:27 am

So while he on the ground playing best operational COP who assessing and approving FUL for the average applicant?

Once a government have the balls to go against the status quo and implement a Firearms application assessment committee and start accelerating the approval/denial process all of them could get my middle finger at the polls yes.
This 'who know you' process sheit have to stop. Tighten up on the laws governing holders of FUL to include stricter and more frequent psychometric testing and range time and give the average man ah fighting chance. We really expecting about 6000 officers with various different agendas to make any impact on how things going these days?

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 11:21 am

When 1% start to get lock up then we know police working.

Until then police is for plebs .

Ryan197912

Re:

Postby Ryan197912 » December 3rd, 2019, 11:23 am

zoom rader wrote:When 1% start to get lock up then we know police working.

Until then police is for plebs .

Exactly

Postby MaxPower » December 3rd, 2019, 12:11 pm

Keyser Soze wrote:So while he on the ground playing best operational COP who assessing and approving FUL for the average applicant?

Once a government have the balls to go against the status quo and implement a Firearms application assessment committee and start accelerating the approval/denial process all of them could get my middle finger at the polls yes.
This 'who know you' process sheit have to stop. Tighten up on the laws governing holders of FUL to include stricter and more frequent psychometric testing and range time and give the average man ah fighting chance. We really expecting about 6000 officers with various different agendas to make any impact on how things going these days?

Hello Keyser,

The average Trini is irresponsible. Psychometric testing and range time cannot prevent the average dumb loser liming Trini after he head bad and want to play jackass.

Leave the procedure as it is until we can see a marked improvement in responsible behavior. So in other words, never.

Sorry to bring reality to your table. Unfortunately the honest hard working small man has to suffer.

Postby 16 cycles » December 3rd, 2019, 2:10 pm

Keyser Soze wrote:So while he on the ground playing best operational COP who assessing and approving FUL for the average applicant?

think it is a part of colonialism that all governments that transitioned peacefully to Independence thought it best to keep the status quo...no right to bear arms..

USA fought for theirs and saw the importance of having it enshrined in their constitution.

FUL ownership process not changing anytime soon - animal farm vibes...

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2019, 2:18 pm

Ah hear the retirement fund figure is around $50k now

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 2:42 pm

pugboy wrote:Ah hear the retirement fund figure is around $50k now
Dogs cheaper

Keyser Soze

Re:

Postby Keyser Soze » December 3rd, 2019, 2:56 pm

Hello Keyser,

The average Trini is irresponsible. Psychometric testing and range time cannot prevent the average dumb loser liming Trini after he head bad and want to play jackass.

Leave the procedure as it is until we can see a marked improvement in responsible behavior. So in other words, never.

Sorry to bring reality to your table. Unfortunately the honest hard working small man has to suffer.

Well i didn't mean just handing it out willy nilly, but if you are comfortable with one person deciding yes or no for you to be on a level playing field with the criminals then thats your choice and your right.
Its easy to talk about the average Trini being irresponsible while the same average Trini holding the sheitty end of the stick being innocent targets while going about their business. Time to approach the issue from a different angle; Free up the process but stricter penalties for negligent discharges and enforced mandatory tests.
Will there people abusing the privilege? of course... no system is perfect. People are abusing it as we speak and are getting away with it because of fear of reporting it and having a confidential report come back to bite them in the a$$.
I can run out of fingers easily counting how many police officers turned weapons on family members then themselves... and they are supposed to be protecting us. Should we stop giving them keep and carry too?
The only hope for a marked improvement in responsible behavior is leveling the playing field.

Re:

Postby Redman » December 3rd, 2019, 4:40 pm

Hello Keyser,

This isn’t supported by facts.

The process today is basically only psychometric and a little range time

And the process isn’t particularly relevant to whether X or Y can carry a fire arm.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 8th, 2019, 6:22 am

As murder toll passes 500, Griffith concerned

FOR a second consecutive year the murder toll has crossed the 500 mark, days before the end of 2019.

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith yesterday acknowledged he was concerned by the high murder toll.

But he also laid blame on members of the legal fraternity and said that the country should also share the worry about homicides in T&T.

Last night the murder toll stood at 501.

The latest killings involved a 35-year-old father and his 12-year-old son whose bodies were found Friday night at Lady Chancellor Hill in Port of Spain.

Both had been shot in the head.

“It should (also) be a matter of concern to the nation for the 499 (murders) before that; as for every person killed, the nation has lost a citizen,” Griffith said in response to questions from the Sunday Express.

He said the T&T Police Service (TTPS) was doing all it could to combat crime in the country.

However, he suggested that instead of asking the police if they were concerned, other stakeholders should be consulted.

“To those who defend as their jobs the cold-blooded murderers to get them back on the streets as quickly as possible, you should ask them that question; to those in the criminal justice system who grant bail to criminal elements, where bail is granted easier than getting doubles on a Saturday morning, who try to justify that, you should ask them their view; to those who when the police do our job and arrest people with firearms who are on their way to kill people, and we have persons with the authority to amend the laws stating that these individuals have a right to be back out on the streets, to get another firearm to finish their job. You should ask them the same question,” Griffith said.

The country’s top cop also referenced a recent terrorist attack in London where an attacker killed two persons with a knife.

“If this is the perception in the UK with a knife, imagine if someone has a firearm. Likewise, there is little or nothing police can do before someone is about to commit an act, the best way to minimise such homicides is to implement policies prior to the action, which is what we have been doing. We have been arresting persons in possession of firearms. However, it becomes more difficult if not impossible when persons are held, they are simply given a ‘red carpet’ to go back to the streets to finish the job they started,” Griffith said.

President of the TTPS Social and Welfare association, Inspector Gideon Dickson expressed similar sentiments yesterday.

He said the Association was calling on all stakeholders to work together in the fight against crime.

“It is not something that the police can do by itself. It’s something we all have to work towards. All arms. Citizens need to come forward and tell us what’s wrong and when they see anything illegal. The State needs to continue to invest in our young persons and lead them away from crime. The courts need to be more efficient and work with us. And the police need to continue to do their duties and to protect and serve this country with pride,” Dickson said.

In his opinion, the majority of serious crimes were committed by repeat offenders.

“Special attention should be placed on these individuals. And not just from a policing perspective, but even from a human one, with reform and other things in mind. We cannot continue with the same system. It’s basically a catch and release system and it is clearly not working. So we need a new approach,” Dickson said.

He also commended the Government’s decision to introduce new $100 bills, as he said from a policing perspective, it would reduce criminal activities such as money laundering.

Furthermore, it could potentially limit the ability of criminals to purchase drugs and firearms for some time.

Postby hydroep » December 8th, 2019, 6:25 am

^Man playing the blame game yes. Sh!tkicker has taught him well...:|

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2019, 9:51 am

^^ How would the new bills stop money laundering when they have never prosecuted anyone for money laundering. I went to an FIU presentation in June of this and that's what their Director said - that no one has ever been successfully prosecuted for the crime of money laundering.

Seems if the criminals smart with the old bills they will be so with new bills

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 10:15 am

A pest lost is a citizen lost?

Come on Garylal get with the times.

Postby Rovin » December 10th, 2019, 10:30 am

why gary dont open he mouth & demand to stewy & rowdy d borders be secured

police take out 1000 guns & 1000s of bullets for d yr so far & more n more keep coming in ....

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2019, 3:03 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^^ How would the new bills stop money laundering when they have never prosecuted anyone for money laundering. I went to an FIU presentation in June of this and that's what their Director said - that no one has ever been successfully prosecuted for the crime of money laundering.

Seems if the criminals smart with the old bills they will be so with new bills

the new bills wont stop money laundering- but this exchange of old for new could flush them out. it's a one-off thing though. the new bills would stop counterfeiting.