airuma

Re: Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby airuma » September 23rd, 2017, 11:09 am

No_Name wrote:
2ndchance wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
2ndchance wrote:Opening your home temporarily for your neighbours in their time of need while they get back on their feet is perhaps the best offer of generosity if you really can't afford to give them money or other material items. So putting aside all the xenophobia and political fears, this is probably one time that our prime minister has done good. I wonder how many of our current politicians who aspire to prime ministership would be so generous?

Boy. U real dotish yes...missing the whole picture...

What's the whole picture?

1) Illegal votes for PNM in the future as the Great Father of The Nation did back in the day...

2) Further depletion of our already low medical supplies by immigrants who don't pay NIS...

3) Negligence of yr Own House to see bout sbody else's to look good...

Well said..... if we continue along these lines, the cons of this "generosity" will significantly outweigh the pros. We are not even in a position to help our own nationals but we want to help Dominicans?
What happens when the Trinidadians are turned away at the hospitals because they made room for a Dominican citizen?
How much of the ones in support of this ever take a vagrant in their homes or offered any assistance to the thousands who lost their jobs over the last two years?
I am not saying that we should not help, but certainly we need to measure how much we help in the context of how much we can afford to help.
Isn't the National Security Minister responsible for immigration policies, how come he seems to be overridden by this? Looks like the PM is not genuine to me, he just wants to look good!
Why he didn't call AV to send some financial help and take in some Dominicans in their home?
I am willing to bet that Glenda, with all the B$ she wrote, will be the first on the boat/ plane to Trinidad, if she not here already..... maybe we should paint Dominicans with a broad brush as she is painting Trinidadians?

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 11:21 am

airuma wrote:
No_Name wrote:
2ndchance wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:
2ndchance wrote:Opening your home temporarily for your neighbours in their time of need while they get back on their feet is perhaps the best offer of generosity if you really can't afford to give them money or other material items. So putting aside all the xenophobia and political fears, this is probably one time that our prime minister has done good. I wonder how many of our current politicians who aspire to prime ministership would be so generous?

1) Illegal votes for PNM in the future as the Great Father of The Nation did back in the day...

2) Further depletion of our already low medical supplies by immigrants who don't pay NIS...

Well said..... if we continue along these lines, the cons of this "generosity" will significantly outweigh the pros. We are not even in a position to help our own nationals but we want to help Dominicans?
What happens when the Trinidadians are turned away at the hospitals because they made room for a Dominican citizen?
How much of the ones in support of this ever take a vagrant in their homes or offered any assistance to the thousands who lost their jobs over the last two years?
I am not saying that we should not help, but certainly we need to measure how much we help in the context of how much we can afford to help.
Isn't the National Security Minister responsible for immigration policies, how come he seems to be overridden by this? Looks like the PM is not genuine to me, he just wants to look good!
Why he didn't call AV to send some financial help and take in some Dominicans in their home?
I am willing to bet that Glenda, with all the B$ she wrote, will be the first on the boat/ plane to Trinidad, if she not here already..... maybe we should paint Dominicans with a broad brush as she is painting Trinidadians?
Dan are u comparing vagabonds 80% of them who are chemical junkies or choose to be on the streets or kicked out by their families for various reasons to middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters. This is the exact thing I talking about. The ones that come here will be screened and must have a sponsor either a friend family or concerned citizen/NGO....
Your argument about them taking our hospital space holds no water everyone who enters a sovereign nation has the right to health care. If u went to the US and a redneck talk that same filth u just spew u would feel discriminated against. To the others who talking about tax payers this and that u do realise everything a non citizen purchases has Vat attached to it right?
The ones who complaining about them coming to work is the same wok allyuh refusing to do gas station security services construction grocery manual labor.

The same way Trump supporters spew crap about foreigners taking their jobs is the same crap allyuh trying to push but cussing Trump on the side

Postby 88sins » September 23rd, 2017, 11:55 am

So boxy, which small island you from? You seem extremely defensive, claiming the Dominicans accepting the invitation to come here are "middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters". Just a few small facts for you to keeep in mind, as well as some questions for you.
It have a criminals, substance abusers & vagrants in Dominica, as well as your professionals. Neither you nor the GoRTT, nor the Dominican gov't can't guarantee some of their worst won't end up here. If you believe you can, you're a desifemlove.
How much VAT they gonna be paying on the USD they gonna buy & ship out of here?
How easy you feel it gonna be for a sponsor to support an additional family for 6 months while the visiting contingent is unemployed?
While they are here, let's say for the sake of discussion, they are unemployed & have to spend from their savings to survive here due to sponsors finances running low/out, where they getting the money from to rebuild when they go back home? your pocket?

I just curious about your possible solutions to these quite likely scenarios.

airuma

Postby airuma » September 23rd, 2017, 12:07 pm

boxy wrote:
airuma wrote:
No_Name wrote:
2ndchance wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

Dan are u comparing vagabonds 80% of them who are chemical junkies or choose to be on the streets or kicked out by their families for various reasons to middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters. This is the exact thing I talking about. The ones that come here will be screened and must have a sponsor either a friend family or concerned citizen/NGO....
Your argument about them taking our hospital space holds no water everyone who enters a sovereign nation has the right to health care. If u went to the US and a redneck talk that same filth u just spew u would feel discriminated against. To the others who talking about tax payers this and that u do realise everything a non citizen purchases has Vat attached to it right?
The ones who complaining about them coming to work is the same wok allyuh refusing to do gas station security services construction grocery manual labor.

The same way Trump supporters spew crap about foreigners taking their jobs is the same crap allyuh trying to push but cussing Trump on the side

Is this really part of a convincing argument in favor of opening our houses and pots to Dominicans?
If you see Vagabonds and chemical junkies..... I see people who are in need of help.... I will help them first if I can..... I firmly believe that charity should always begin at home!!
Early June this year, we were told that some 800 primary school students who sat the SEA do not have a place in secondary school, now we have place in second choice schools for Dominicans!
The GORTT needs to stop playing with the population and take the necessary measures to take us out of survival mode if they expect us to be more caring and understanding to our neighbouring countries!

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2017, 12:11 pm

So the ppl from jail coming here to? Maybe they might pretend to be innocent.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 12:19 pm

88sins wrote:So boxy, which small island you from? You seem extremely defensive, claiming the Dominicans accepting the invitation to come here are "middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters". Just a few small facts for you to keeep in mind, as well as some questions for you.
It have a criminals, substance abusers & vagrants in Dominica, as well as your professionals. Neither you nor the GoRTT, nor the Dominican gov't can't guarantee some of their worst won't end up here. If you believe you can, you're a desifemlove.
How easy you feel it gonna be for a sponsor to support an additional family for 6 months while the visiting contingent is unemployed?
While they are here, let's say for the sake of discussion, they are unemployed & have to spend from their savings to survive here due to sponsors finances running low/out, where they getting the money from to rebuild when they go back home? your pocket?

Ok first off why you hurling insults at me bro? (desifemlove dawg?) :(

To answer your questions
1 This isnt going to be a waltz into Trinidad situation you have to prove you have people to stay by or finances to stay here
Caricom and for that matter Interpol shares intelligence when it comes to known criminals lets assume you are right and a criminal known to the Dominica police shows up in the airport immigration scans his passport and all his information shows up on the computer.

2) The PM made it clear dont bother comming here if you have nowhere to go.

3) USD is hard to get from the banks as it is which the ration out to even citizens. (Your arguement holds no water as well due to the fact we are a tourist destination and when tourists leave they dont go with TTD meaning that the few Dominicans that come here isnt going to affect the US situation. Guyana has also offered an invitation so has Jamaica)

4)There are well off people in Trinidad some with alot of money and some whose religion calls out to them to help. There are also churches NGO's corporate citizens who have networks or chains up the islands whose employees they can help. This is strictly volunteering how many people u think going to volunteer anyway its mainly family and friends who will take this request with utmost seriousness

5) when they are ready to go back home most likely IMF the World bank or an entity of that nature will set up a fund where citizens can get a mortgage or refinance one to rebuild. You are forgetting an island was flattened bro things will be put in place all i saying is that the way people carrying on over on fb they seem to forget we have to go vacation up the islands in the near future they wont forget the idiotic few who spat on them when they were literally t their lowest.

I genuinely hope that the immigration does what they are paid to do. I wish this never turned into politics cause I thought Trinis were better than this.

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2017, 12:28 pm

Ok. Lets hope its like that.

Postby toyolink » September 23rd, 2017, 1:00 pm

What a mess/debacle this gesture has become.
Maybe the lesson here for the PM is....Don't make pronouncements unless you can provide a comprehensive well considered approach and if this is not ready for roll out because things have to be put in place say so.
Unfortunately, many comments of concern are so negatively toned that we appear mean spirited.

Postby Chimera » September 23rd, 2017, 1:10 pm

boxy wrote:

i see he change his mind

http://m.guardian.co.tt/sports/2017-09- ... icans-back

Published:
Saturday, September 23, 2017
If Dominican nationals enter this country with nowhere to stay, Government will meet its commitment under the United Nations Charter and accept them as refugees, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday.

“We are duty bound not to turn them back, they could become a ward of the state,” he said.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 1:14 pm

Hmm interesting Probably explains why the opposition has said nothing since this happened. I honestly didn't know that we are obligated to take them in as a ward of the state I will have to read up on this.

Postby Chimera » September 23rd, 2017, 1:25 pm

venezuela is part of that charter?

save the spanish!

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » September 23rd, 2017, 2:44 pm

Guys... a friend of mine is willing to let some homeless Dominican women, MILFs included, live by him...where do we sign up?

Alternative forms of payment for rent, food and English lessons are welcomed.
Last edited by fallen_angel on September 23rd, 2017, 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 23rd, 2017, 2:52 pm

First thing they need to introduce the purge

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 5:01 pm

fallen_angel wrote:Guys... a friend of mine is willing to let some homeless Dominican women, MILFs included, live by him...where do we sign up?

Alternative forms of payment for rent, food and English lessons are welcomed.

What friend ?

You mean you .. :roll:

Ole arse Gringo your days pass :roll:

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » September 23rd, 2017, 5:03 pm

Pm of Dominica meets with UN

Prime Minister of Dominica Roosevelt Skerrit today made a heartfelt plea to the United Nations General Assembly for emergency international humanitarian aid to be sent to the island, which was hammered by Hurricane Maria last Monday.

He said Dominica's 72,000 inhabitants were now living in a warzone.

He called on UN members states with “substantial military capabilities” to lend Dominica rescue and rebuilding equipment that “may be standing idle waiting for a war.”

“Let Dominica be that war, because currently, our landscape reflects a zone of war,” Skerrit appealed during his 17 minute long address to the 72nd UN General Assembly, held at the UN headquarters, New York.

“We need water, food and emergency shelter. We need roads, bridges and new infrastructure. But we also need capabilities of delivery,” he implored.

”The battle we face has brought us to our knees,” Skerrit lamented.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 5:11 pm

Damn the man who tailor that speech hammer it home dey

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 5:13 pm

If PNM Rowley was smart .. ( but he is a duncey duncey boy and prostrated )

He would have asked Puerto Rico people to come to Trini ..

Then Trump woulda make Trini the 52nd State ..

No more Forex problems etc.

But PNM is just made up of $#%*% :roll:

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 5:16 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Pm of Dominica meets with UN

Prime Minister of Dominica Roosevelt Skerrit today made a heartfelt plea to the United Nations General Assembly for emergency international humanitarian aid to be sent to the island, which was hammered by Hurricane Maria last Monday.

He called on UN members states with “substantial military capabilities” to lend Dominica rescue and rebuilding equipment that “may be standing idle waiting for a war.”

“Let Dominica be that war, because currently, our landscape reflects a zone of war,” Skerrit appealed during his 17 minute long address to the 72nd UN General Assembly, held at the UN headquarters, New York.

“We need water, food and emergency shelter. We need roads, bridges and new infrastructure. But we also need capabilities of delivery,” he implored.

What Skerrit need is an ATM machine ...

Postby SR » September 23rd, 2017, 6:10 pm

Lol at plenty comments.....now yuh unnerstand why US does deny visa and want to stop mexicans from crossing the border

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2017, 6:32 pm

Could send a skid mounted desal unit. And fuel to run it

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 7:20 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
wickedtuna wrote:Pm of Dominica meets with UN

What Skerrit need is an ATM machine ...
Kamla say not a f*ck ah dat bai

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 8:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
boxy wrote:

i see he change his mind

http://m.guardian.co.tt/sports/2017-09- ... icans-back

Published:
Saturday, September 23, 2017
If Dominican nationals enter this country with nowhere to stay, Government will meet its commitment under the United Nations Charter and accept them as refugees, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday.

“We are duty bound not to turn them back, they could become a ward of the state,” he said.

Rowley talking BS ... He have to stop his 3 times a day prostate self-exam .

The other day he say Trini cannot take refugees ..

So what happen to the Vene and all the other Caribbean islands that Hurricane damage ?

And the Chinese who help build all of Port-of-Spain and all the HDC black people house ..

Eh ?

boxy

Postby boxy » September 23rd, 2017, 8:35 pm

When zoom raider making more sense than the others they really say the world was ending today :/

Postby zoom rader » September 24th, 2017, 2:57 am

boxy wrote:When zoom raider making more sense than the others they really say the world was ending today :/

Too much overreaction to this issue all about nothing. Again how many Domicians have family or friends in trini and are willing to come here. As I said before if I was a Domician I would stay and hope to sort out my home, if I had kids and links to trini I would try I send them over until I sort out my home.

Trini have been programed this way and it shows that they don't trust this government when it comes to immigration issues.

Trinidad has be burnt before by the immigrants that was brought in by the PNM to offset the electorate. We are still paying for this price as these people have yet to integrate into a peaceful trin society. Nearly all the crimes are a product of small islanders eg Laventill & Beetham. This is why trins don't trust immigration especially Afro immigrants.

Trini society s moving away from a pure " Afroness" as we have seen Trinis seems to accept Venes immigrants more that any other.

All In all don't blame Trini people for showing fears of Afro immigrants. Trini know how much damage that has been cause to them in past and still continues.

What we must remember is that Domicians are not immigrants but will be given " A 6 MONTHS STAY AND THEN HEAD BACK TO THEIR HOME"

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 24th, 2017, 6:56 am

Stuart young said there was a breakdown in law and order in Dominica... How exactly does that differ from here??? He said people are homeless and hungry...am we have that here as well...common sense not so common any more

Postby pete » September 24th, 2017, 7:45 am

Thing is that during the rebuilding process, if the vulnerable can go somewhere else and the ones who will be doing the work of rebuilding stay, it would mean less resources need to be sent to the island to sustain them.

If the elderly, sick and parents with children come here where it would be safer for their population.

There is going to be a lot of work needed to fix the country as well so the locals able to do this will not leave as they will want to provide the labor.

Also comparing this to the flooding in South, the people affected by the flooding could do just like this and go stay with family or friends not affected by flooding somewhere else in Trinidad.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 9:12 am

"Dear Dominica,

You are our Caribbean counterparts.... you are one of us. We should be there to help you uplift yourselves in this time of adversity. TT has true humanitarians. I have always felt that we are one of the most hospitable society.

Don't get us wrong, we want to help you and I'm sure we will but understand how we feel... we recently were affected by Hurricane Bret, the disaster we faced was negligible compared to what you went through. After many calls for the PM to visit the Affected areas, I had the opportunity to speak with him and his first question was "Where is this?"
I informed him that we the people are resilient and driven to help ourselves because we couldn't depend on Central Government to assist. We helped ourselves. People were quite generous and we coordinated a non-political and in my view, an excellent relief effort.

Dominica, this was way back in June and three months later the PM and Government did absolutely nothing to assist its very own people. Instead, the PM told the victims that he didn't tell them to build their homes in lagoons. Can you believe that? The people who he is responsible for?

So imagine how hurt and disappointed we would feel that he cares more about you than he cares about us. So don't feel hurt that our population is quite divisive in accepting his decision to invite you.

We have an Treaty Agreement that enables you to live in our country for three (3) months afterwhich provisions will be made for you to stay for an additional three months.

While you are here, please be safe. The crime here is more destructive than Maria. The PM is an ill tempered man that lacks decency in behavior and speech. I'm not sure if you want your children exposed to such a immoral man and his rule.

But putting that aside you can make an honest living here. Just be careful you don't get robbed. Some of TT prefer to rob you than to earn a legal dollar. Though it maybe an easy solution for you too, I implore you don't.

Also, in TT we have Guyanese, Chinese, Indians (Expo type), Syrians, Venezuelans (They actually have their own state named Cedros) so you won't feel displaced. We are the America of the Caribbean.

When you come, just behave. Earn an honest living and return to your country. Be patriotic and rebuild your nation. Be resilient. Be Brave."
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 0224167439

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 24th, 2017, 9:37 am

21686458_131805414226786_6451157587085967931_n.jpg

Postby De Dragon » September 24th, 2017, 10:01 am

88sins wrote:So boxy, which small island you from? You seem extremely defensive, claiming the Dominicans accepting the invitation to come here are "middle class upper middle class people Doctors lawyers nurses engineers chefs mail men police firefighters". Just a few small facts for you to keeep in mind, as well as some questions for you.

Most likely boxy, or any of these Johnny come lately "humanitarians" are NOT inviting, or accommodating any Dominicans. It is fashionable to talk like this, is all. There are other ways to help with resources we already have (like idle housing developments to temporarily house them) than to talk sheit like Scarfy about "open your homes". Collect money, send food aid, but don't seem surprised when a crisis of the GORTT's own making, has people keeping their doors closed.
Oh, and before the "yuh heartless" crew run in, I've been collecting thousands of dollars worth of money/groceries etc, since Irma.

kstt

Postby kstt » September 24th, 2017, 10:09 am

kstt wrote:WE OFFER ALL THIS RELIEF AND SUPPORT TIME AND TIME AGAIN AND ARE STILL DESPISED BY THE CARICOM COUNTRIES.

Curtms wrote:Image

Oh dear!

Blindfold yourselves PNM fanatics. #fakenews