Take Note: GATE - September 2017

widdyphuck

Re: Take Note: GATE - September 2017

Postby widdyphuck » August 16th, 2017, 10:45 am

Education=enslavement right now as everybody have what you have...

Drea

Postby Drea » August 16th, 2017, 10:55 am

sMASH wrote:
PapaC wrote:Other countries people have to take huge student loans to fund their education, then repay it after they complete.
Right here that was the norm before GATE, so i guess it's just back to the old way.

Yes. And in America, it's one of the biggest problems they have: student debt.

I agree the student debt in America is a serious issue, but then also look at their finance structure to ours. Americans are practically handed credit like its a freebie, whereas here just to borrow $5,000 you need a deed, the name of your great great grandfather and a guarantor.

Really not certain what things will look like for persons who don't have the necessary finances, for a young person it like committing to a life of debt, student loans followed by a car loan followed up with a mortgage. What's the solution?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 16th, 2017, 10:59 am

Drea wrote:
sMASH wrote:
PapaC wrote:Other countries people have to take huge student loans to fund their education, then repay it after they complete.
Right here that was the norm before GATE, so i guess it's just back to the old way.

I agree the student debt in America is a serious issue, but then also look at their finance structure to ours. Americans are practically handed credit like its a freebie, whereas here just to borrow $5,000 you need a deed, the name of your great great grandfather and a guarantor.

Really not certain what things will look like for persons who don't have the necessary finances, for a young person it like committing to a life of debt, student loans followed by a car loan followed up with a mortgage. What's the solution?

Student loan debt in America is worse..It passes on when you die. Its not guaranteed by the government.That is total enslavement.

The solution is to minimize debt..You cant have student loan debt, car debt and house debt.

Or you could just marry a rich fair indian gyal.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 16th, 2017, 11:05 am

wtf wrote:
Drea wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Student loan debt in America is worse..It passes on when you die. Its not guaranteed by the government.That is total enslavement.

The solution is to minimize debt..You cant have student loan debt, car debt and house debt.

Or you could just marry a rich fair indian gyal.

And this is my point, when you finish school what is your other option. Most people when they get a job of course you look for a lil car to ease the burden. And of course can't live with ma and pa for the rest of your life?

Postby teems1 » August 16th, 2017, 12:55 pm

sMASH wrote:
And people who thinking we have too many graduates, they, even the graduates need to focus internationally.

Probably the ones with experience could move out and allow the fresh to get opportunities locally.

That way, every body gets a different piece of the pie, instead of fighting up for the same pieces.

The job market for professionals is still quite difficult in the US/Canada/UK unless you have one of the high demand professions (nurse, doctor etc).

Even if you have the points and manage to obtain a decent office job, the hours are still long, the job security is low, bosses/supervisors are 10x more domineering, vacation is negligible, outsourcing, office relocation and department firings happen very frequently with no warning and little help to the employee.

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2017, 2:03 pm

And to rope back in my perspective:
If a person is able to qualify them self, they have a possibility of getting a job relative to that qualification, locally or foreign.

But if they don't Pursue further education, ALL they can do is operate in the low skilled sector, and continue to compete with those who have no potential to do otherwise.

I not saying to stay away from garden and doubles and only pursue high level education. I just saying afford those able to achieve at those level and sectors, the opportunity to do so, so that they would be able to capitalize on any openings if available. And not saturate an already overcrowded strata.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 16th, 2017, 7:01 pm

GATE would gave been better if they properly accessed the job market and determined what would be the growing professions and offered the appropriate incentive to prospective students.

That way you could ensure people studied things appropriate to the country. If no need for a profession then it doesn't get funded and tuition remains at an unsubsidized level. If it is needed then the tuition will be subsidized. This would encourage students to be a more prudent in their chooce of jobs/professions.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 16th, 2017, 7:30 pm

Why is it that if there are 13 institutions, all of them have a version of a degree...So 13 human resource managements, 13 health and safety, 13 PPO etc....there should be some difference and not all institutions offering the SAME DEGREES....
Where do you apply in such a case..

Postby sMASH » August 16th, 2017, 7:44 pm

It have three theological institutions....

Wham, we have a deficit of pastors?

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2017, 8:00 pm

CNC3 news - public poll tonight -:

80% of people said that private tertiary schools should get GATE!!!

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2017, 8:02 pm

sMASH wrote:It have three theological institutions....

Wham, we have a deficit of pastors?

:D :D Check Fazal Karim whose wife is a pastoress! He gave instructions for them to get insitutional accreditation.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » August 17th, 2017, 2:57 am

Daym was really hoping to do the MSc in network security from SAMS, but 60k now to do that is a bit high oh well.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 17th, 2017, 8:10 am

If 60k is too high for a MSc in your mind, then it's clearly not going to yield sufficient benefit, cost considered. Point is, this is a clear indicator that pulling gate from that program was a good idea.

You personally don't see it as being worth the cost, but don't mind if taxpayers foot the bill.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 17th, 2017, 8:11 am

Fadakartel wrote:Daym was really hoping to do the MSc in network security from SAMS, but 60k now to do that is a bit high oh well.

In response to this ie

Postby sMASH » August 17th, 2017, 10:29 am

What if f. Kartel could do it and can't afford it?
What If that mind he is thinking about it, thought about it in the context of income vs expenditure, and it can't work out?

It may not be a matter of the course is over priced for content. But the cost is overpriced for the economics.

All is not lost. Those who can afford it, it will still be available to them at their leisure.

F. Kartel, what is ur vocation right now?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 17th, 2017, 10:56 am

sMASH wrote:What if f. Kartel could do it and can't afford it?
What If that mind he is thinking about it, thought about it in the context of income vs expenditure, and it can't work out?

It may not be a matter of the course is over priced for content. But the cost is overpriced for the economics.

All is not lost. Those who can afford it, it will still be available to them at their leisure.

Where there is a will there is a way. Tertiary Education didn't start with GATE and it would not end if GATE is completely removed.

And people need to stop looking at it as a cost and start looking at it as an investment as a first step in taking away the entitlement syndrome associated with GATE.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » August 17th, 2017, 12:00 pm

FullStop wrote:If 60k is too high for a MSc in your mind, then it's clearly not going to yield sufficient benefit, cost considered. Point is, this is a clear indicator that pulling gate from that program was a good idea.

You personally don't see it as being worth the cost, but don't mind if taxpayers foot the bill.

Wasting 60K for an MSc that wont get you hired unless you have strong links this time around...safest ting is to keep money.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » August 17th, 2017, 2:33 pm

sMASH wrote:What if f. Kartel could do it and can't afford it?

Oh I am already in the field of networking, just wanted to do the Msc to build my CV, but I already have the certs etc..

Also I work in Digicel. One day ill do it just not now as it does not seem ill get promoted etc with it so 60k would probably be wasted on it for now.

Postby The_Honourable » August 17th, 2017, 4:30 pm

CNC3's Akash Samaroo has been covering the GATE funding as it applies to accredited and non-accredited institutions. He clarifies some misconceptions with regards to non-accredited institutions.

Postby bluefete » August 18th, 2017, 6:43 pm

SITAL assures GATE restriction does not affect legitimacy of its qualifications
Date:
Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 16:00

Another privately run tertiary education institution is seeking to assure the nation that its GATE restriction does not affect the legitimacy of its qualifications.

SITAL College says it is unfortunate that due to the revised GATE policy, the qualifications of private institutions are now being called into question.

The new GATE policy only approved funding for locally accredited institutions.

However, SITAL College did not qualify as its tertiary programmes are transnational which means it was accredited by a foreign institution.

Despite no GATE funding now sital says their programmes originate from the United Kingdom and Australia and are not only accredited by the in their countries of origin but approved by the ACTT after extensive reviews.

SITAL College says despite the GATE cut-off it will continue to try to find ways to help students afford these international programmes and will continue to work towards developing local programmes to fill industry gaps.

SITAL College is also hoping that if the economy improves it will positively impact students who choose to study at private institutions as they believe their programmes have contributed to the development of this country.

The following is SITAL's full statement:

"SITAL College would like to reassure the public that all tertiary level programmes offered at their institution originate in the UK and Australia, are accredited in their countries of origin and have been approved by the ACTT, after extensive quality reviews.

Recent changes in the GATE policy do not affect the international acceptance, quality or relevance of these programmes. Such programmes which are developed in other countries and delivered in Trinidad and Tobago are termed transnational programmes, and the new GATE policy discontinues the funding of new students pursuing transnational programmes.

All the tertiary programmes offered by SITAL College are transnational, and therefore do not require the institution to be accredited. Our students prefer these transnationally accredited programmes as they are internationally recognised and serve as entry into further education.

SITAL College continues to strive to provide the best possible standard of education to our students. We are passionate about helping individuals from all sectors of society achieve their career goals, and so improve the human resource of the country in line with our nation’s development goals. We will continue to try to find ways to help students afford to pursue these transnational programmes, and we will continue to work toward developing local programmes to fill industry gaps.

We are hopeful that any changes in the fortunes of the country will positively impact students who choose to study at private institutions like ours. We also believe that we have contributed significantly to the human resource development and advancement of industry in this country, and have an important role to play in its education landscape."

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/sit ... ifications

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » August 18th, 2017, 6:46 pm

Hmm was planning to Go back to utt San do tec to finish my diploma hmm mite now have change my mind yes

Postby bluefete » August 19th, 2017, 9:08 pm

urbandilema wrote:Hmm was planning to Go back to utt San do tec to finish my diploma hmm mite now have change my mind yes

Why do you want to change your mind?

I think you should go back and finish your education - GATE or no GATE.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 19th, 2017, 9:34 pm

Isn't UTT GATE funded though?

Postby matr1x » August 20th, 2017, 7:10 am

Why are theological schools getting gate approvals?