Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 10:33 am

80k is too slow, I will get bored, I get bored at 100.

When the SoE happened, I spoke out against it cause it is not a good way to achieve long term crime prevention. I still complied.
Just like this speed limit. As they now seek to enforce it with fervour, I will comply, but I would like it changed, updated.

And how does a three lane highway encourage 'keep left except when overtaking' ?
Is like u saying u don't want people to drink rum, but u have the best advertisements and at least three on every stretch of road. I don't want people to gamble but u televise gambling 4 times a day.

If u on the right and going the same speed ad the man on the left then ur not overtaking. So of a man could get charge for speeding cause 85 is not 80, then the far right lane is unnecessary and encourages not keeping left.

Get rid of the far right third lane.

pinks

Postby pinks » May 8th, 2016, 11:11 am

^^^what they need to do is remove the signs cuz everybody gona be driving 80 and under..btw..whats d word on this petition?anyting commin out of it?

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 11:42 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

You should probably go see a doctor then. Sounds like you have a vitamin deficiency or something.

Working 14 hour shifts can take its toll....then having to drive 80 km for an hour and a half in a turbo charged vehicle .is a receipe for disaster

U go see yuh doctor for stupidity k ....

Who tell you to work a 14 hour shift ? And who tell you to drive a turbo charged vehicle ? You need to talk to your union. You cant be working them hours if you endangering everyone else.

They have your employment/vehicle situation on one hand and the laws of the nation on the other. And you suggesting that the one that should be changed is the law that has been existing for decades ? Talk about entitlement.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 8th, 2016, 11:51 am

pinks wrote:^^^what they need to do is remove the signs cuz everybody gona be driving 80 and under..btw..whats d word on this petition?anyting commin out of it?

Not one fcuk coming outa that...$$$ has to be made bro..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2016, 12:35 pm

EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

You should probably go see a doctor then. Sounds like you have a vitamin deficiency or something.

Working 14 hour shifts can take its toll....then having to drive 80 km for an hour and a half in a turbo charged vehicle .is a receipe for disaster

Who tell you to work a 14 hour shift ? And who tell you to drive a turbo charged vehicle ? You need to talk to your union. You cant be working them hours if you endangering everyone else.

They have your employment/vehicle situation on one hand and the laws of the nation on the other. And you suggesting that the one that should be changed is the law that has been existing for decades ? Talk about entitlement.

Don't beat up...I have bills to pay and mouths to feed...
Yes the law is outdated and it should be reviewed and changed to reflect modern day society.....the limit in first world countries is 113kmhr

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 12:44 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Don't beat up...I have bills to pay and mouths to feed...
Yes the law is outdated and it should be reviewed and changed to reflect modern day society.....the limit in first world countries is 113kmhr

So you could kill somebody with your sleepy self at 113kph LOL Entitlement for so.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2016, 1:46 pm

Bro u don't get.....I'm not gonna argue with u....
In my opinion driving at 80 is very laid back and depends on the person.and the situation it may be challenging to keep it at thAt pace on long stretches

But I will have to adapt...so cheers Emilio....:)

Computerman

Postby Computerman » May 8th, 2016, 3:18 pm

Postby Morpheus » May 8th, 2016, 3:31 pm

Hmmm.....

Re: RE: Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 3:35 pm

EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

When they is 8 hour shift system, and they have to double, u have people who are working for 16 hours continuous. Would I prefer that kind of people on the roadways?
Imagine when they had to handle a personal situation before they work, as life often dictate. U then have a person who is awake nearing 20 hrs.

Ur government think this is reasonable. Then lull u to sleep on some boring arse road.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 3:51 pm

sMASH wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:I am worried about the high chances of falling asleep doing 80 on the SHH

When they is 8 hour shift system, and they have to double, u have people who are working for 16 hours continuous. Would I prefer that kind of people on the roadways?
Imagine when they had to handle a personal situation before they work, as life often dictate. U then have a person who is awake nearing 20 hrs.

Ur government think this is reasonable. Then lull u to sleep on some boring arse road.

Sorry, are you saying the govt making u work double shift and giving u 4 hours of personal issues?

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 4:04 pm

Company dictates that, and it is lawful. When they have work to do, they would rather give the same workers more hours, than hire more people and spend to train, then give perks.
All legal.

Even when it is illegal, like the max continuous work stretch is 16 hrs, hear about security making 24 hrs frequently and regularly. And the law does nothing to the employers.

Yes, The workers can not accept it, but u not going to feed their children. So they take it.
Then the law clean act on their behalf, then allow them to drive on the road at a soothing, calming, uneventful, pacifying rate.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 4:22 pm

sMASH wrote:Company dictates that, and it is lawful. When they have work to do, they would rather give the same workers more hours, than hire more people and spend to train, then give perks.
All legal.

Even when it is illegal, like the max continuous work stretch is 16 hrs, hear about security making 24 hrs frequently and regularly. And the law does nothing to the employers.

Yes, The workers can not accept it, but u not going to feed their children. So they take it.
Then the law clean act on their behalf, then allow them to drive on the road at a soothing, calming, uneventful, pacifying rate.

.........so anybody make a complaint to the Min of Labour or to the Union? Or u expecting things to happen just so by telepathy?

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 4:32 pm

I check mins of labor already, they say u union should handle it.
But, union could only help u if they're established in that firm. And security firms change names very few years. Plus,,, who going to feed them when they get let go?

80 is too slow, its meant for fuel saving in the ww2 period.

Be progressive a bit and have some confidence in the improved safety systems of the modern technological era.
And take the back roads if u want to drive slow. Let a faster road way be used by people brave enough to use it.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 8th, 2016, 5:23 pm

sMASH wrote:I check mins of labor already, they say u union should handle it.
But, union could only help u if they're established in that firm. And security firms change names very few years. Plus,,, who going to feed them when they get let go?

80 is too slow, its meant for fuel saving in the ww2 period.

Be progressive a bit and have some confidence in the improved safety systems of the modern technological era.
And take the back roads if u want to drive slow. Let a faster road way be used by people brave enough to use it.

1. I love that you the admitted lawbreaker and criminal want the law abiding citizena to step aside for you.

2 Check a diff union. I know for a fact they have unions relresenting employees before the Tribunal even without majority participation.

Postby sMASH » May 8th, 2016, 7:46 pm

That is illegal. The union can only represent a member of good standing. Which means a person needs to be a member for some time with dues paid up.

I didn't work for a security company, I just know the stories and how unions operate, as I tried to start one, but people still feel massah whip and fraid to start it. I was a field slave working inside the house.

Me the admitted law breaker was doing so because that law needs adjustments, the general populace didn't stick to it, the law enforcement officers disregarded it, the law makers disregarded it , and it wasn't enforced.

It is being enforced now, and I will abide by it. But all the while it wasn't enforced, hardly any body stuck to it, which means it is out of favor with most people.

What I want is that it be updated to something more reasonable and appropriate to a carriageway intended for speedy progression of vehicular traffic.

If the minor speed increase is too much to handle, u can take a back road... like the other elderly people

Postby DVSTT » May 8th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Uwi engineering faculty intends to approach the ministry for a change in the speed limit. I really do hope that get through cuz its an hour to get to UWI from San Fernando vs 25 mins at 120.

So it takes you 58.3 % less time to reach uwi if you travel 50% faster than the speed limit?

Yes. As it is now I travel at 70-75km/h.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 9:04 pm

DVSTT wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Uwi engineering faculty intends to approach the ministry for a change in the speed limit. I really do hope that get through cuz its an hour to get to UWI from San Fernando vs 25 mins at 120.

So it takes you 58.3 % less time to reach uwi if you travel 50% faster than the speed limit?

Also it's basically 80 km from San Fernando to uwi according to what you're saying?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 8th, 2016, 11:09 pm

At least 50 grand in a week....no why would they change that 80

Postby tr1ad » May 8th, 2016, 11:43 pm

DVSTT wrote:

Also it's basically 80 km from San Fernando to uwi according to what you're saying?

Lololololol

Also, by the OSHA Act, the maximum hours for a worker are 16
So yes it's legal, also anything after 8 hrs is optional to the employee, he or she can opt out of it after 8 hrs

scotty_buttons

Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby scotty_buttons » May 9th, 2016, 12:28 am

Hospital Doctors work 24hrs "on call" (which is basically working in hospital; not what "on call" means for most other jobs) plus normal 8hours the next day. OSH doh business. Imagine driving home after that!
And best part is those hours not optional for us. It's stated in contract.
Last edited by scotty_buttons on May 9th, 2016, 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 9th, 2016, 12:40 am

Computerman wrote:

Yup... they assume that the 20-30% of drivers who were doing 80km were driving that speed because it is what they were comfortable with - but believe it or not some trinis did that speed BECAUSE IT IS THE LAW

This created a problem - a bunch of cars where the drivers were doing their civic duty - driving 80km and then even more drivers doing 120 - 140km because they felt comfortable at that speed

A massive speed differential of 40 - 60km resulted, and inevitably, accidents and deaths

Will there be reduced carnage on the roads with the enforcement of the 80km speed limit?? Probably - but with notable negatives:

1. Reduced capacity on the roads
2. longer commute times
3. People are so afraid that they are slowing to 60km when they see blue lights
4. Potentially greater speed differentials
5. Monotonous driving experience
6. People are now being distracted by having to watch their Speedometer more than the road

With an enforced 110km limit?? Probably as well - negatives

1. When accidents occur they may be worse (or may not due to likely reduced speed difference)
2. Less potential revenue for government

If 110km is the new legal limit I'd wager that many of those 80km people would speed up to at least 100km

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 9th, 2016, 12:44 am

6. People are now being distracted by having to watch their Speedometer more than the road

you see that statement?

it could win a f0kkin award.....

Postby DVSTT » May 9th, 2016, 8:12 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Hospital Doctors work 24hrs "on call" (which is basically working in hospital; not what "on call" means for most other jobs) plus normal 8hours the next day. OSH doh business. Imagine driving home after that!
And best part is those hours not optional for us. It's stated in contract.

Actually, it can be more that just 24 hours, especially when surgeries are involved.

Postby DVSTT » May 9th, 2016, 8:14 am

tr1ad wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

Lololololol

Also, by the OSHA Act, the maximum hours for a worker are 16
So yes it's legal, also anything after 8 hrs is optional to the employee, he or she can opt out of it after 8 hrs

????

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 8:18 am

Chiney wrote:

you see that statement?

it could win a f0kkin award.....

This is the reason u need to have a grace range, or to be safe people will just go really slow

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 9th, 2016, 8:48 am

Well that's why I aim for 70 and literally give myself 10kph of leeway

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 9th, 2016, 11:58 am

hearing that they are in fact reviewing the speed limit for PRIVATE vehicles BUT that Pickups will still have to maintain the maximum of 65kms. Good luck to all you who driving fancy Pickups........

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 9th, 2016, 11:59 am

speed iymc.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 9th, 2016, 12:06 pm

sMASH wrote:That is illegal. The union can only represent a member of good standing. Which means a person needs to be a member for some time with dues paid up.

There may be some legal loophole I dont know about but it is happening.

I didn't work for a security company, I just know the stories and how unions operate, as I tried to start one, but people still feel massah whip and fraid to start it. I was a field slave working inside the house.

Me the admitted law breaker was doing so because that law needs adjustments, the general populace didn't stick to it, the law enforcement officers disregarded it, the law makers disregarded it , and it wasn't enforced.

It is being enforced now, and I will abide by it. But all the while it wasn't enforced, hardly any body stuck to it, which means it is out of favor with most people.

Hmmmm. Apply that logic to thieving and murder and see where it takes you . The law not being enforced so i could break it !!!