*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:Increased prices would affect all citizens.....4yr old cars are really expensive from Japan.....this foreign used market would barely survive
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Wait, the current wetman Tiida is only up to 2011.
So new model wetman from now on?
AYSN wrote:from looking at sbt japan and other sites
4 year old cars are only 1000-2000 us more expensive than 6 year old....for the cars like tiida,note sometimes its only 500 us more!
Habit7 wrote:Country_Bookie wrote:This move has the potential to worsen our forex situation.
RORO prices will increase, since they forced to import 4 yrs and newer vehicles. For the lower middle class, they don’t have much of an alternative so they’ll continue to buy, provided we don’t start seeing large job cuts /layoffs. The upper middle class will move to buying new cars since the price gap is lower. In both cases, they’ll be paying higher prices, either for the newer RORO or the new car.
Higher prices = higher import bills = Greater demand for forex.
How this worsening our forex situation? How policy in TT affecting the USD price in Japan?
Habit7 wrote:I dont know how ppl could say this policy helps the new car dealers.
If someone was in the market for a 4-6 year old car before, they werent going by the new car dealers anyway.
Rather than looking to the foriegn used market and using up more foreign exchange, now the will have to choose from the local used market and use local currency.
Betcha if our number plate system didn't encourage the new plates syndrome plenty people would gladly buy a local used car.
Ted_v2 wrote:Not affected, was planning to buy a tiida or a k12 march before june.
but ill manage
src1983 wrote:We in Trinidad do not manufacturer cars your comment states that the those looking for used cars will be forced to the local market, but does this mean those folks selling their cars buying local used also.
Habit7 wrote:src1983 wrote:We in Trinidad do not manufacturer cars your comment states that the those looking for used cars will be forced to the local market, but does this mean those folks selling their cars buying local used also.
I dont know whether ppl selling their cars would either buy a used car with the depreciated value or use it as a downpayment for a new car loan. The point is the local used car market (which eventually new car and RORO will eventually find themselves) now has less competition with foreign markets. The one time forex capital of bringing a new car here, ideally would not repeat further forex by satisfying the need of another buyer who would have otherwise used forex capital to buy a used car like what we already have here.
src1983 wrote:Why can't the government make it easier to sell you car on the export market then? Thus opening up your selling options
A172 wrote:returning res is fyaz eh
doh touch dat
Sent from my E6883 using Tapatalk
acesinghit wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Wait, the current wetman Tiida is only up to 2011.
So new model wetman from now on?
actually the original wetman have some YOM 2012's but still it won't be long until they're replaced fully with the Latio
acesinghit wrote:The following 2012 YOM vehicles if chosen to be self imported will cost you:
March 1.2 - $50k
Cube 1.5 - $55k
Note 1.5 - $58k
Demio 1.3 - $62k
Swift 1.2 - $64k
Fit 1.3 - $67k
Note 1.5 (new model) - $67k
Tiida Latio 1.5 - $69k
Belta 1.0 - $74k
Tiida 1.5 - $75k
Impreza 1.6 (new model) - $79k
Latio 1.2 - $80k
Fielder 1.5 - $80k
Fielder 1.5 (new model) - $81k
Axio 1.5 - $86k
Axio 1.3 (new model) - $87k
Axela 1.5 - $87k
Axio 1.5 (new model) - $91k
Fielder 1.8 (new model) - $95k
Auris 1.5 - $103k
Premacy 2.0 - $105k
Juke 1.5 - $106k
Bluebird Sylphy 2.0 - $116k
Impreza 2.0 (new model) - $125k
Sylphy 1.8 - $133k
Auris 1.8 - $133k
Stream 1.8 - $151k
X-Trail 2.0 - $153k
Teana 2.5 - $172k
Accord 2.4 - $177k
X-Trail 2.5 - $179k
CR-V 2.0 2wd - $207k
CR-V 2.4 4wd - $233k
Estima 2.4 - $276k
GT-R 3.8 - $857k
Note: these are approximations and to be used as a guide only.
AYSN wrote:from looking at sbt japan and other sites
4 year old cars are only 1000-2000 us more expensive than 6 year old....for the cars like tiida,note sometimes its only 500 us more!
Morpheus wrote:I rather pay my money for a RORO with genuine 60,000kms than one for 25,000kms and you eh sure
Never heard those dealers address that eh...
Coppershot wrote:
Also i notice a trend where wagons and panel vans mileage usually very high