2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Numb3r4

Re: 2015/2016 Budget predictions.

Postby Numb3r4 » October 4th, 2015, 7:30 pm

The_Honourable wrote:And the line up at gas stations begins

Got a full tank and 30psi in all four tyres.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 4th, 2015, 7:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Seeing hints of rapid rail on the newspapers.

You serious? this is great news. As little as they may be able to do I hope they still do it and not scrap the rail idea at all.

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2015, 10:33 pm

raise taxes on all vices, alcohol, tobacco, play whe etc

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 4th, 2015, 11:24 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

At this point once it comes to Fyzabad then I'm happy.

Yet even before that what is the state of the Highway project?
Is there going to be any attempt to salvage it?
What about those whose lands were commandeered for the highway and paid what will happen?
Will they be allowed to buyback the land or must they stay where they are?

Think the concept showed the rail reaching as far south as San Fernando. Hard luck for everybody else past there.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » October 4th, 2015, 11:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

You serious? this is great news. As little as they may be able to do I hope they still do it and not scrap the rail idea at all.

What significance will a rapid rail be to such a small country? Where are they gonna lay down the railway? Seeing a next 300 day hunger strike from Kubs if it'll ever be.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 4th, 2015, 11:42 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

At this point once it comes to Fyzabad then I'm happy.

Yet even before that what is the state of the Highway project?
Is there going to be any attempt to salvage it?
What about those whose lands were commandeered for the highway and paid what will happen?
Will they be allowed to buyback the land or must they stay where they are?

Think the concept showed the rail reaching as far south as San Fernando. Hard luck for everybody else past there.

I would like to think that part of the plan is a parking garage?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 12:24 am

Richard Marshall wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

What significance will a rapid rail be to such a small country? Where are they gonna lay down the railway? Seeing a next 300 day hunger strike from Kubs if it'll ever be.

Since when is Trinidad considered small? This country is 4,768 km square. In stark contrast Barbados is 430 km square. Trini is very large and deserving of a rapid rail. As a matter of fact its going to take a whopping 25 minutes from Sando to POS on a rapid rail. 25 minutes is quite a long ride, I have been playing Arma 3 these days and Altis the fictional island is 273 square KM and having experience how long it takes to get from one end to the next in a vehicle with top speed, most times requiring a helicopter to reach anywhere in a decent time frame. It just shows how huge Trinidad really is. And we have not even gotten to the part with massive traffic in this place.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2015, 1:27 am

POS is 30 mins from San'do by car (without traffic), and actually 30 mins from San'do by water taxi, the water Taxis are not allowed to work at full tilt because their wake damages fishing boats etc.

AFAIK the rapid rail was meant to run east to west, not north to south... an expansion of the water taxi service could handle North to south - don't talk to me about the cost of this service since you are talking about spending 10+ billion just to build that rapid rail east to west, not to mention that the damn FEASIBILITY STUDY has already cost us $650 Million!

I really doubt the water taxi service has cost anywhere near what this feasibility study has cost us, yet it has helped thousands of people over the last 6 years or so

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2015, 2:13 am

Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) - solves ALL the problems that RAPID RAIL seeks to solve at a fraction of the price

But... you see that is the problem with it, it is cheap, how will ministers and party financiers "eat-ah-food" with something so cheap?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 3:28 am

What Trinidad need is a real bullet train.

What would be the cost of something like that compared to rapid rail?

Postby pete » October 5th, 2015, 5:47 am

Bullet train used in places with 500km between stops you want here?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 5th, 2015, 6:27 am

pete wrote:Bullet train used in places with 500km between stops you want here?

This sense that you speak...it is not common amongst the rest of the populace

Budget "predictions" - increase in the price of super gasolene, programs for "at-risk" communities,property tax, plenty picong
Last edited by TriniAutoMart on October 5th, 2015, 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 5th, 2015, 6:29 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:
pete wrote:Bullet train used in places with 500km between stops you want here?

This sense that you speak...it is not common amongst the rest of the populace

I doubt the rest of the populace agrees with the drivel that is posted by ED.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 5th, 2015, 6:36 am

ingalook, where exactly are wee putting those new roads for buses to run on? The PBR was supposed to serve that purpose however its been overtaken with cars and illegal users and state vehicles joyriding.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... -gas-cards

People’s National Movement (PNM) officials yesterday also hinted of the possibility of a “small” gas price hike for super gasoline, but expected the diesel price to remain the same.

This is one to keep an eye on. They should hike diesel instead especially for all those who don't have commercial vehicles and are instead clogging up the road with pickups for private use.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 5th, 2015, 6:49 am

I expect Super to go to $4.00/L.

The United States is a gasoline-dominant motor fuels market. Approximately 98% of passenger vehicles in the United States are powered by gasoline, with fewer than 2% powered by diesel fuel. Consequently, the refining infrastructure is designed for optimum efficiency in producing gasoline. From a typical 42-gallon barrel of oil, the refining process delivers around 18 to 21 gallons of gasoline and 10 to 12 gallons of distillate, plus some other refined products. Refinery yields can somewhat be tweaked, but to produce significantly more distillate, they would need to undergo significant upgrades costing billions of dollars.

While the U.S. remains predominantly reliant on gasoline, other countries throughout the world are more heavily reliant on diesel fuel. Diesel fuel is used in the majority of new passenger vehicles in Europe. Strong international demand for diesel fuel for both passenger vehicles and for industrial machinery in the rapidly growing developing countries like China and India has placed a premium on diesel fuel imports.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 5th, 2015, 7:14 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:ingalook, where exactly are wee putting those new roads for buses to run on? The PBR was supposed to serve that purpose however its been overtaken with cars and illegal users and state vehicles joyriding.

People’s National Movement (PNM) officials yesterday also hinted of the possibility of a “small” gas price hike for super gasoline, but expected the diesel price to remain the same.

This is one to keep an eye on. They should hike diesel instead especially for all those who don't have commercial vehicles and are instead clogging up the road with pickups for private use.

You don't need new roads... just minor changes to the PBR... like I said, too cheap a solution

scotty_buttons

2015/2016 Budget predictions.

Postby scotty_buttons » October 5th, 2015, 7:16 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:ingalook, where exactly are wee putting those new roads for buses to run on? The PBR was supposed to serve that purpose however its been overtaken with cars and illegal users and state vehicles joyriding.

Agreed. But implementing raised diesel prices for everyone else other than commercial vehicles is a next story.. That and people won't take raised diesel prices likely..
They'll probably raise diesel after the ultra low sulphur plant is finished. If at all...
Probably half of all personal vehicles here are diesel yes. Steups

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 5th, 2015, 7:37 am

Chemical wrote:I expect Super to go to $4.00/L.

The United States is a gasoline-dominant motor fuels market. Approximately 98% of passenger vehicles in the United States are powered by gasoline, with fewer than 2% powered by diesel fuel. Consequently, the refining infrastructure is designed for optimum efficiency in producing gasoline. From a typical 42-gallon barrel of oil, the refining process delivers around 18 to 21 gallons of gasoline and 10 to 12 gallons of distillate, plus some other refined products. Refinery yields can somewhat be tweaked, but to produce significantly more distillate, they would need to undergo significant upgrades costing billions of dollars.

While the U.S. remains predominantly reliant on gasoline, other countries throughout the world are more heavily reliant on diesel fuel. Diesel fuel is used in the majority of new passenger vehicles in Europe. Strong international demand for diesel fuel for both passenger vehicles and for industrial machinery in the rapidly growing developing countries like China and India has placed a premium on diesel fuel imports.

I don't understand the relevance of posting about the US in this instance. What is it in relation to the subsidy on local fuels?

Postby Rainman » October 5th, 2015, 8:03 am

I use a diesel vehicle for person/private use and I fully support a raise in diesel price for non-commercial entities.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 5th, 2015, 8:18 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I don't understand the relevance of posting about the US in this instance. What is it in relation to the subsidy on local fuels?

The reason why I threw that out is I can't find info on litres of diesel or gas produced by Petrotrin for 2014 to figure its optimum efficiency. I already am aware they are no where near break even yet alone the plant's OE.

My point, super will increase from this afternoon, however it's very unfair that it costs the state oil company more to produce diesel, yet gas owners still have to pay to subsidize diesel.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 5th, 2015, 8:27 am

Rainman wrote:I use a diesel vehicle for person/private use and I fully support a raise in diesel price for non-commercial entities.

Seconded

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 5th, 2015, 8:33 am

Chemical wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

The reason why I threw that out is I can't find info on litres of diesel or gas produced by Petrotrin for 2014 to figure its optimum efficiency. I already am aware they are no where near break even yet alone the plant's OE.

My point, super will increase from this afternoon, however it's very unfair that it costs the state oil company more to produce diesel, yet gas owners still have to pay to subsidize diesel.

Ah ok understood. Yeah diesel subsidy stink.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 5th, 2015, 8:41 am

I would definitely need to do something if super prices raise. Hell if cigarettes raise is problems

Postby Redman » October 5th, 2015, 8:41 am

Chemical wrote:

http://www.energy.gov.tt/wp-content/upl ... 7-2015.pdf

Dont know if this is what you are looking for...
Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 8.38.03 AM.png

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » October 5th, 2015, 9:05 am

At the end of the day the country is not oil rich any more and the loss of revenue from that has to be recovered from somewhere to keep the country afloat.Gas prices could not always be subsidized, all good things must come to an end

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 5th, 2015, 9:23 am

Today @1:30pm. Looking forward to it.

Postby toyolink » October 5th, 2015, 9:40 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:
Rainman wrote:I use a diesel vehicle for person/private use and I fully support a raise in diesel price for non-commercial entities.

Seconded

This is the kind of thinking which needs to be applauded.

Postby 16 cycles » October 5th, 2015, 9:52 am

what time is the budget presentation due to start?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 5th, 2015, 10:06 am

toyolink wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Seconded

This is the kind of thinking which needs to be applauded.

Need more ppl like allyuh

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 5th, 2015, 10:44 am

Let us not forget the local oil service companies that fill up their large boats with subsidized diesel and do survey/ seismic and RIG POSITIONING etc for oil companies in Trinidad / Venezuela/ Caribbean and pocket big time.

These companies also do a lot of marine work e.g sunk ship recovery etc @ tax payers expense.