Triniricers Ched

FullStop

Re: Kia Cerato vs Mazda 3

Postby FullStop » March 26th, 2014, 8:17 am

so does the focus come with the ecoboost engine locally?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 8:34 am

Unfortunately no ecoboost here yet in local focus.

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2014, 8:37 am

The Kuga comes with ecoboost. Pretty nifty little engine

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 26th, 2014, 8:49 am

yeah, drove the kuga, its very nice with the intelligent 4wd. The ecoboost and DCT in a focus would be great.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 26th, 2014, 8:50 am

MG Man wrote:The Kuga comes with ecoboost. Pretty nifty little engine

Still a bit doubtful about a 1.6 displacement in such a huge vehicle though

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 26th, 2014, 8:58 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

its very responsive and the i-awd is great. It doesn't ever feel underpowered.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 26th, 2014, 10:08 am

A172 wrote:lol bro u this sensitive irl too?? i being srs doe

next drag event everybody could enter and line up the vehicles mentioned to test speed/acceleration because it's a major point ITT

see who faster and wha alyuh doing on paper

Calling out dr.chaos & cinco

Racing fuh certified copy :|

Postby cinco » March 26th, 2014, 10:10 am

good ting meen have a CC

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2014, 12:04 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:

I wouldn't call it huge tho. Pulls surprisingly well. Not a bad little van

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 12:09 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:

Boost is your friend. That 1.6 on boost pulling better than a 2.5 non turbo.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 26th, 2014, 1:33 pm

All dis talk about car, juss buy ah ad wagon and done nah

It cheap, parts easy to find an reliable

:evilbat:

Postby gastly369 » March 26th, 2014, 4:02 pm

sorry not interested in bull cart with AC :|

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2014, 5:11 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:

Boost is your friend. That 1.6 on boost pulling better than a 2.5 non turbo.

Boosted yes. Not at stock boost.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 5:13 pm

The 1.6 comes boosted stock and this is enough to perform better than a 2.5 NA.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 26th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The 1.6 comes boosted stock and this is enough to perform better than a 2.5 NA.

How does that translate to real world fuel consumption?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 5:34 pm

If you drive it in a non aggressive manner you will burn less fuel than the 2.5. By non aggressive I mean if you drive both at the speed limit on highway and moderate acceleration and within city driving you would burn less fuel with the 1.6 ecoboost vs a naturally aspirated 2.5.

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2014, 6:17 pm

Correct. The Kuga is very good on gas

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 26th, 2014, 9:55 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The 1.6 comes boosted stock and this is enough to perform better than a 2.5 NA.

when fitted in a heavy SUV then yes eg. X-Trail T31 2.5 however when fitted in a car eg. Mazda 6 2.5 Skyactiv then good bye Kuga.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 10:04 pm

acesinghit wrote:

when fitted in a heavy SUV then yes eg. X-Trail T31 2.5 however when fitted in a car eg. Mazda 6 2.5 Skyactiv then good bye Kuga.

Well I thought this was understood we comparing like for like. Why would anyone compare performance of a car to an SUV?

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2014, 10:08 pm

All dem fyaahz comparison and navara still cuttin dey arse lol

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 26th, 2014, 10:24 pm

acesinghit wrote:

Well I thought this was understood we comparing like for like. Why would anyone compare performance of a car to an SUV?

I should mention I am making specific reference to output. Despite the turbo, the 1.6 Ford still does not put out the HP and torque of the skyactiv 2.5 but yes you are right, comparing the sedan to the crossover isn't fair since the Kuga is significantly heavier than said mazda.

So lets ring up some crossovers then, the 2.5 CX5, 2.5 Forester and 2.5 RAV4 the latter being available in TT is still faster to 100kmph than the boosted Kuga. :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2014, 10:30 pm

So wey ollor fellas does meet up to race and discuss HP and tobo output etc?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 10:58 pm

acesinghit wrote:

I should mention I am making specific reference to output. Despite the turbo, the 1.6 Ford still does not put out the HP and torque of the skyactiv 2.5 but yes you are right, comparing the sedan to the crossover isn't fair since the Kuga is significantly heavier than said mazda.

So lets ring up some crossovers then, the 2.5 CX5, 2.5 Forester and 2.5 RAV4 the latter being available in TT is still faster to 100kmph than the boosted Kuga. :lol:

The kuga locally gets the 180hp 1.6 ecoboost with about 244 Nm torque which isn't drastically lower than the skyactiv 2.5 so it's not a wrap.

Also you of all people should know the torque curve shape on boosted engines is different and makes a big difference to performance so I don't agree that it's as straight forward amongst those SUVs you mentioned. Also considering both the rav4 and forester 2.5 put out less hp and torque makes the debate even less simple nevermind the shape of their torque curves.

Hopefully people like pioneer can buy one and test it in drags.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » March 26th, 2014, 11:04 pm

pioneer wrote:So wey ollor fellas does meet up to race and discuss HP and tobo output etc?

In d cerato vs mazda ched.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 26th, 2014, 11:36 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:
pioneer wrote:So wey ollor fellas does meet up to race and discuss HP and tobo output etc?

In d cerato vs mazda ched.

say what?

scotty_buttons

Re: Triniricers Ched

Postby scotty_buttons » March 26th, 2014, 11:41 pm

Triniricers oui :lol:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 26th, 2014, 11:42 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 27th, 2014, 12:43 am

Wa time allyuh meeting price plaza?

Now pull een piaco gas station tuh full premium #fyahz

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » March 27th, 2014, 12:55 am

What's up with the rename?

I'm very interested to find out how the Mazda 3 that SSSL is bringing in seems to be the only version in the world (that I can find online) using the MZR 1.6 engine and a 4 speed auto transmission. This configuation is not found in any other market and I've been researching quite a lot. Strange.

Thoughts?

Sidenote:
I realize that the segment of the cars we're talking about in here are not performance cars, but seeing that they cost $200k+ it's nice to know what type of performance you're getting for spending your money.

Postby j.o.e » March 27th, 2014, 6:12 am

jsm1985 ent you choose the car already? Don't think so hard...its the new car with the old engine. That's all.