Ole SChool Challenge....

netsket

Postby netsket » April 18th, 2010, 8:58 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:dey still sellin these? looks like yuh was smokin a cigarette

i believe they stopped selling these with the stringent regulations on smoking

milo and ovaltine tablets/sweety
penna cool/sucka bag/ cutlass cool
rice cake
chilli bibbi
nougart and ice jems....not as before
joe gum

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2010, 9:01 pm

^^^ they don't have the tom & jerry ones, but i believe i saw the popeye ones still around

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2010, 9:13 pm

Tamarind balls, penna cool (called Freezies), Hola Cola lollies, sip sacs, home made ice cubes, Lolita, Flavorite ice cream, Smilk, Quik (with the Nesquik Bunny ads), Tunnocks, Ovalteenies (Ovaltine chewable candy), Ping Pong, Corn Curls, Charles chocolate, Highgate chocolate (and the debates about which was better - Charles or Highgate), Dark 'n Gold lollies, Dairy Queen ice cream, Toloum, Sugar cake, Chip-Chip, Chips Ahoy, Mopsy, Shirley biscuits, Hotte Shoppe roti, Sunday Basket chicken, Pizza Boys, Sno-cones with guava syrup and condensed milk, pholourie from around the QPS before it turned into a drag strip, and Honey Roasted Peanuts, straight from the cart of the vendors located all over Port-of-Spain. Royal Castle and KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN (not KFC) were considered a treat on occassions like birthdays, passing tests (not EXAMS), and getting a gold star from your teacher. Those were things to which we looked forward; and not commonplace as they are now.

Tetramiel

Postby Tetramiel » April 18th, 2010, 9:15 pm

hoss, joe gum and rice cake was the bomb.
5 cent and 10 cent sweetie!
i remember when one dollar made you rich.
i also remember buying 2 doubles and a soft drink with $4...good days

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2010, 9:20 pm

How could I forget Joe Gum, Double Mint, Bubblicious, Tidal Wave????

And the Milo staff that rolled in once in a while with the richest tasting cold Milo in their green plastic cups? Milo is tasteless now compared to what it was. We also had Richmond Valley Cocoa back then, not Cadbury and... whatever.

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2010, 9:22 pm

Ramsaran Peanut punch and orange juice.

Terran

Postby Terran » April 18th, 2010, 9:25 pm

I remember rice cakes and nut cakes. There was also Catch, Nuggle, KC Butter Scotch, Malta Heineken.

glennj

Postby glennj » April 18th, 2010, 9:25 pm

u know some of the snacks i seeing some of u guys calling are from recent times.
old time snacks will be stuff like
peanut balls-something like cheese balls
ovaltinies -ovaltine candies
the green catch-i think was mint flavoured
powder lollipop
tambran balls
sucker bags
ice blocks
tunnocks caramel-remember the space ship commercial?
tattoo chewing gum
joe gum-hard as hell
the real jumbie biscuits
toolum
tambran sauce
fried channa wrapped in conical shaped paper
rice cakes

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2010, 9:29 pm

Snax Stix
Cornado (that's how it was spelled?),
Mustang FTW...

brickman

Postby brickman » April 18th, 2010, 9:38 pm

You have to look hard but those cigarette sweets still around. :lol:

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » April 18th, 2010, 9:51 pm

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/8mENPL8KpNc&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/8mENPL8KpNc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 18th, 2010, 10:01 pm

None ah allyuh used to go off on these like I used to or?! :mrgreen:

Bess concoction was Big Red and milk!! (before I learn how to mix scotch and soda!)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 18th, 2010, 10:04 pm

chicklets....snak stix (sour cream and bbq)

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 18th, 2010, 10:15 pm

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 18th, 2010, 10:19 pm

allyuh remember these small cookies that had like a twist of frosting on top of it?

who know wha ah talking 'bout?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 18th, 2010, 10:21 pm

Ice Gems..
Somebody already posted that.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 18th, 2010, 10:24 pm

oh my bad...didn't know the name

them Bermudez vanilla cookies...yum

disco biscuit

Postby disco biscuit » April 18th, 2010, 10:42 pm

Groovemaster wrote:<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/8mENPL8KpNc&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/8mENPL8KpNc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Haha! Nah hoss. I remember this.
Used to go off on the Ovalteenies too and the Joe gum.

But my favorite was Old school Bourbon. Not the new sheit they selling now.

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » April 18th, 2010, 10:45 pm

red tongue and joe gum was the boss and u get a lil tatoo with it :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 10:57 pm

pumpu.................er.............never mind............

disco biscuit

Postby disco biscuit » April 18th, 2010, 10:59 pm

MG Man wrote:pumpu.................er.............never mind............

I think that used to come with a tattoo as well. Some of them though. Not all

Postby MG Man » April 18th, 2010, 11:03 pm

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2010, 11:03 pm

It had something Hilo use to sell...Mellow or mello, it was like two slices of marshmallows with a marshmallow center filling.

Tasted great, but they stopped making it or Hilo stopped selling it, havent seen it for years.

Anyone know what i talking about?

disco biscuit

Postby disco biscuit » April 18th, 2010, 11:05 pm

Yeah. Used to be Chocolate, Yellow and I can't really remember, but Pink?
In America they call it a Moon Pie I think.

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2010, 11:05 pm

Chocolate and yellow I remember yeah, cant remember the pink

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2010, 11:06 pm

yup thats it

Anyone know anywhere in Trinidad still selling it?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 18th, 2010, 11:18 pm

ovalteenies wAs BEST.......

What was it one had to buy and to get the zero heroes collectable cards??? Had me quite a collection which somehow I can't seem to find

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
Last edited by ~Vēġó~ on April 19th, 2010, 12:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 18th, 2010, 11:29 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:It had something Hilo use to sell...Mellow or mello, it was like two slices of marshmallows with a marshmallow center filling.

Tasted great, but they stopped making it or Hilo stopped selling it, havent seen it for years.

Anyone know what i talking about?

^ last i saw that was in price club, closest thing you can get to that down here is this...

but the whole thing is soft, only the filling and makes quite a mess :?

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » April 18th, 2010, 11:35 pm

boy MOPSY BISCUIT and a 1.00 American Classic cola!!!