Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to cope.

hong kong phooey

Re: Living with Cancer... my pain, trials, and learning to c

Postby hong kong phooey » October 15th, 2013, 12:32 am

Glad to hear about your results
At least you know who are your true friends

Postby DVSTT » October 15th, 2013, 1:14 am

I honestly don't know how you do it. You are definitely an inspiration to me, lord help me if I was in your situation because me and needles don't mix, still don't know my blood type lol.
Stay strong, and congrats on the positive test results!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 15th, 2013, 7:11 am

good news man....enjoy yuh bath there....

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 15th, 2013, 1:06 pm

great news :grouphug:

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 15th, 2013, 3:32 pm

my heartfelt appreciation for the encouragement guys...but the results only say that no tumours or re-emerging masses were detected...meanwhile it more or less rules out me having Lung Cancer...or Lymphoma in my abdomen and pelvis...it doesn't rule out me having Acute Leukemia. And that means tmrw we are getting an Ultrasound of my neck, to see if there are any nodules in my thyroid or throat. I was SHOCKED to hear the doc say that the scan showed no tumors...and am relieved to an extent....BUT, my neck is still bothering me, and I get really tired in the evening....then there's the tightness in my chest. I have always prided myself on being an optimist, but at the same time I am a serious REALIST....and cancer doh sleep So...we goin and dig til we find d bugger! I'll be continuing from where we left off later tonight. Be safe, be careful and be wise.

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2013, 3:38 pm

The more I read this, the more I can see that you are walking in God's hands.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » October 15th, 2013, 9:27 pm

a happy ending

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 15th, 2013, 10:54 pm

IvanTerrors wrote:a happy ending

actually Cous'...a happy ending would be when all suffering, pain, anguish and death are no more. When all of mankind, will awaken each morning, feeling better than the day before.

We still haven't found what is causing me the pains I've been getting recently...and tmrw I'm getting an ultrasound of my neck. So hopefully we'll know what's going on with me....soon.

Last week we were talking about what I've been doing since the chemo a year ago....so that's what I'll be talking about tonight.

Postby javishm » October 16th, 2013, 12:04 am

keep the fight going

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2013, 1:08 am

V8 Boys wrote:
IvanTerrors wrote:a happy ending

actually Cous'...a happy ending would be when all suffering, pain, anguish and death are no more. When all of mankind, will awaken each morning, feeling better than the day before.

We still haven't found what is causing me the pains I've been getting recently...and tmrw I'm getting an ultrasound of my neck. So hopefully we'll know what's going on with me....soon.

Last week we were talking about what I've been doing since the chemo a year ago....so that's what I'll be talking about tonight.

Stay strong man.

Your posts are encouraging every single day.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 17th, 2013, 4:17 pm

We've been back and forth to NRC and the Cancer Society these past few days.

As I was telling you guys, even though the Ct scan showed absolutely nothing...it didn't mean I was ok. In fact, I had an ultrasound done yesterday and unfortunately, it revealed an 11mm node on the left side of my neck. And the report stated that considering it's shape and size...it most likely is malignant and metastatic.

It means that the cancer may be back...but at least not from my neck down....so thank goodness its not LUNG Cancer.

So, we kinda expected something, and I'm not as worried or saddened as I was a few days ago. Now at least we KNOW something is there....and WHERE it is.

Now to get the bugger out! Where'd the butter knife I had here went?

Actually, we may need to get a Fine Needle Aspiration done...that's when they send a special needle...kinda thick one...straight into the node/lump...and SNIP a piece of it off and then pull it back up through the needle to test it under a microscope.

That will definitely tell us if the lump is cancerous...or not. But there is a risk of bleeding...but we still have some of those blood clotting agents.
Looks like it's gonna be me and Malcolm again.

Only then can we plan our line of attack.

I'll continue later tonight and fill you guys in on some of the things that goes through a cancer patient's mind...and how family and friends play an important part in acceptance, recovery, support and the reason to fight.

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 4:27 pm

wow man. stay strong
at anypoint did u want to give up?

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 17th, 2013, 6:40 pm

cinco wrote:wow man. stay strong
at anypoint did u want to give up?

what a question boy Cinco...

for those of you that know me...you could buss all meh tires, drain d oil in meh coil, eat all d corn off meh cob and throw thumb tacks in my popcorn...I Eh GIVEN UP at all!

I've always been a fighter, not taking no for an answer....but that doesn't mean I haven't been so low, that I didn't think I'd make it through. There have been times, not just recently...when I've had to come from below>low. Empty isn't the word.

But I am only flesh and blood. And surely I am no stronger than the next person.

My parents from early taught me a valuable lesson. Always lean on your heavenly Father.

All through my childhood I was faced with life threatening injuries. There were times the doctors just stared at me in my mother's arms...not knowing if to even hold me.

The bible describes FAITH this way: Faith is assured expectation of things hoped for, the evident demonstration of realities not beheld. Hebrews 11:1. I know it by heart.
If we don't have something SOLID to hold onto, we become like a wave of the sea...driven about like the wind.

There are millions of sick people around the world...right now as I type this and your eyes absorb these words...about 18 children have died due to starvation. Just 1 minute, and 18 are gone. And by 12 tonight 25,000 would have perished. Just 1 day.

So what is that something SOLID that I hold onto?
First and foremost : My love for my God Jehovah. I view him as a real person...and as any real person He must have a name. I don't think I could have formed a strong bond with anyone without a name...and I have seen from the bible that he does have a name...after all....didn't Jesus teach us to pray : Our Father, hallowed (make holy) thy name.

Then there is the bond of union I share with my wife. I will fight with every sinew of my being to be with her til we either die or see the New World dawn.

There are some other things I enjoy doing, like building and restoring Old Cars, rescuing animals, and helping out my deaf friends. ( I am also versed in sign language)...and of course......helping my fellowman to come to know the Most High God.

Just a few nights ago, when I was having difficulty sleeping, because my chest was feeling tight...I lay there on my bed, imploring Him to just give me 5 more years....I had so much to do, so many things to do for people, so many animals to help...(like just now, I passed an abandoned dog lying in the rain earlier...and i'm going to pick him up now...soon as I come off here) and I really didn't want my wife facing all these tasks and worries by herself.

The human spirit is bound up with the yearning to live. And that is the reality of it all.
Man was made to live forever...and the place he was made to live forever upon, is this planet called earth. Dotish Adam & Eve (not Steve) messed it up temporarily, so we just have a likkle longer to wait before all is set straight again.

So lemme go see if I could rescue that dog...and we'll catch up later.

Oh BTW, I've been rescuing animals over25yrs and have a few that need homes...we re-home about 30 to 40 dogs and 20-40 cats and kittens a year. Feel free to message me if you'd like to adopt one.
1011222_644337892262004_1813267768_n.jpg
my first Tobago rescue.

Postby cinco » October 17th, 2013, 7:01 pm

it takes a certain kind of individual to go through what you are and to endure and fight to live thats why i asked
tbh faced with your situation not everyone can handle it

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 23rd, 2013, 8:02 am

cliff keep strong man.. have faith in god.. and you should consider opening a account for donations and stuff man! your story will touch many lives. in this season i decree that you shall live and not die, you are the head and not the tail, the lord preparest a table for you in the presence of your enemies.

have a blessed day in the mighty name of jesus

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 23rd, 2013, 11:11 am

That dog I went to rescue last week was killed by a car.

That day it rained all day and on my way home I had passed him curled up on the side of the road trying to stay warm...when I was at home posting updates on this story...I remembered him and ran out the house to see if I could have brought him home.

I was an hour too late.

As I turned the corner, there he was on the side of the road...dead.

I reached alongside him, he was still warm.
I was too late. I took him off the road and placed him in a lonely area behind some trees.

I couldn't stop myself from crying.
As I reached home, my wife met me by the gate. She held me like a crying baby.

I have a strong love for all living things... and despise people who mistreat them.

I felt so guilty for procrastinating that entire week, for not making the effort to save him.

Some fool, had just abandoned him there...and he stayed in that spot for the whole week thinking they would be back for him...and I would everyday take food and water for him, trying to win his trust.

Well, I am now at the Sangre Grande Hospital writing this...waiting to see Dr Capildeo...we've got to find out what that "new" lump is at the side of my neck.
We spent most of last week, going to the docs to get am answer as to what this lump might be...and how to get it out or treated before it spreads.

And of course the bills have started to increase again...the ultrasound was very reasonable just $260 at the Cancer Society...due to me being a patient at NRC...but the lung specialist at West Shore was $750....want to hear a joke...she barely touched me and I was outta there in 15min...and had to go back for a Walk Test on sat and a Lung Test on tues.

Aside from not having the $4500 for those two tests...we decided to first FIND OUT..exactly what this lump is..and then we would worry about the tightness in my lungs...so I'm here waiting at Dr Capildeo's clinic in Grande to plan our attack for next week.

It's gonna be a while...quite a few ahead of me..and the nurses here are really kind...

be back in a bit gonna get something to eat

crunch14

Postby crunch14 » October 23rd, 2013, 2:15 pm

I met this guy i believe in 2010 when that said v8 car was the door price at the V8 car show, ur story/real life experience has touched me indeed and im sure have impacted in the lives of many tuners here who have read thus far and for who knows you, sickness can happen to any1 at anytime. Your faith in God is Outstanding, keep the faith and Be as strong as you can. Hats off to ur wife who has been with you tru this, she is a strong woman.

-THANK GOD FOR LIFE-

Postby bluefete » October 25th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Waiting for the next installment.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 25th, 2013, 10:30 pm

It was at about 12.45pm when Dr Capildeo saw me...I had been with another doctor giving her all the details, as this was my first visit at this clinic.

After examining me thoroughly and going over my blood test results together with the ct and ultrasound (US) results he began to give me his thoughts on the way forward.

He said that on a purely statistical basis, the cancer markers ALL reading normal, the ct showing NO traces of residual tumours from my chest down...it SEEMS as though there is no RECURRENCE or RELAPSE of the cancer. But looking at radiologists report on the US, he said that because of me having HAD stage 3 metastatic semi-noma cancer, it was PROBABLE that I was having a relapse.

Now the lumps/nodules that the US showed in my neck although appearing metastatic and malignant....MAY be either of two types of node/lump: 1) the most noticeable node (11mm) may be a SEMINOMA, (cancer that has started somewhere else and has spread) OR
2) it may be a NON-SEMINOMA (cancer that is isolated and hasn't spread anywhere...yet)

and the 3rd possibility is that that 11mm lump/node may be BENIGN and not cancerous at all.

The only way to know for sure what that node in my neck is, is to do the FNAC..."fine needle aspiration cytology" (that's them sending a needle into the lump and taking a small piece of it out so that it can be tested)
imagesCA5P0J4F.jpg
imagesCA5P0J4F.jpg (9.34 KiB) Viewed 2796 times
pic_fna_nodule.jpg
pic_fna_nodule.jpg (14.14 KiB) Viewed 2796 times

But Dr Capildeo doesn't like the risks associated with me and FNACs...due to the possibility of me bleeding internally, especially around my neck, where it could block my windpipe.

So, he suggested we do all the non-invasive tests first to rule out the possibilities of it being cancerous...and then monitor the lumps for another week to see if there is a worsening or one coming up on the other side of my neck.

He did give it to me straight though...if it was just a non-seminoma the treatment would be just a few courses of iodine radiation and a drug called carboplatin. Minimal side effects and a good success rate.

However, if it was a seminoma, the treatment regimen would be a chemo regimen of 4mths called TIP....a MUCH stronger dose of chemicals that would destroy my already low platelet count, perhaps resulting in me needing transfusions just to survive the chemo. Needless to say...if you guys thought I was sick from the first chemo...this one could quite possibly kill me for sure.

And if it didn't work...well, there are no other drugs that would stop the cancer. They would then be giving me a "time frame" to live....6mths, 2yrs, 2weeks, 4yrs etc.

back in a few

Postby bluefete » October 25th, 2013, 10:39 pm

We do not know how long our time is on this earth. You sharing this experience has reinforced the value and blessedness of each day that we are permitted to live.

It is a roller coaster ride reading this but continue in the faith that you are not alone in your battle.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 25th, 2013, 11:35 pm

My throat has been sore since the day before, because the docs were "feeling" the area to see whether they could feel the lumps...but today I went back to West Shore to make that appointment for those lung function tests.

Dr Capildeo wants to rule out the possibility of my lungs having something to do with my throat...I don't know, maybe an infection of something...but what they are looking for in my lungs is something called Bleomycin Toxicity...where the lungs don't process the oxygen properly due the damage from the bleomycin that I took for the cancer.

We don't have the money to pay for it, so we are trying to see whether my wife's insurance will pay "up front" for it...actually they'd pay 80% and we the balance.

To tell you how cancer has been a MONEY MAKING disease hear this: when we were told last week that the 2 tests were $3500 and $1000...we weren't told that that was a cash price...and guess what? Now that they know that we are tryin to get my wife's insurance to pay for it...the price jump up another $1000.

You know how many people in Trinidad and Tobago....have NO CHOICE but to wait for MONTHS> up to a year, for ct scans, MRIs and surgeries at the public hospitals because the PRIVATE ONES ARE OUT OF THEIR REACH?!

Does get me vex yuih hear?!

Well, we hoping that Guardian Life says yes...it'll be a little easier...but knowin cancer...the spendin now start back.

But enough sad stories...guess what I did this weekend gone?

THIS!!!

5842_704524706243322_1265980547_n.jpg

I GOT SOME OF THE V8 GUYS TOGETHER AND WE WENT AND TOOK IN A LIME AT THE MEGUIARS CAR CRAZY SHOW!
1374278_704524696243323_400133336_n.jpg

I TOOK THAT OLD TRUCK I WAS TELLIN YOU GUYS ABOUT, LOADED UP THE BBQ PIT AND WE HAD A BLAST.
1381594_10200816610320071_1373019886_n.jpg

I even helped give away a prize to the best lookin V8 there...the guy's girlfriend received his prize....I had the crowd choose the winner, by holding the prize over each car and letting them shout who they wanted....it WAS FUN!
1378053_184252738430369_1183473930_n.jpg
1004987_184252751763701_225197789_n.jpg

Ken's beautiful Caprice was the crowd favourite...no contest!
1380569_184234868432156_1256763111_n.jpg

right, time to go and sleep....long day tmrw, have to WORK!
1385993_10150328893859981_1836847624_n.jpg
Last edited by V8 Boys on October 31st, 2013, 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2013, 5:17 am

West shore really is a expensive place but very professional. My dad had a burst vein in his head. Two actually. That costed nearly 200k

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 30th, 2013, 7:52 pm

I got some results from another ultrasound I got at the Sangre Grande Hosp' yesterday and will share them with you guys in a few...I also just got back from that Lung Function test at West Shore Hosp'.

The traffic was horrendous coming back home.

Back in a few...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 30th, 2013, 9:55 pm

I'd gotten up early yesterday and after dropping my wife to work, headed up to Grande to get that 2nd ultrasound Dr Capildeo wanted...as well as a full list of blood tests.

When I got to the ward, and gave them my card, it wasn't too long before they called me. I was quite surprised how efficient they were for such a small facility.
The same sonographer who did the first US (ultrasound) of my neck just 2weeks ago was there...Dr Rampersad. He is one of the best in the country....and a really cool guy.

He was surprised to see me with the request from Dr Capildeo for the US...and he asked "why? You had one done only 15days ago...you wouldn't see any change so soon."

So he told me he'd get with Dr Capildeo and they'd decide when I should come back. I was a bit disappointed and figured they must know what they were doing...so I went over to the Blood Lab and had my blood drawn for the long list of tests that Dr Capildeo had requested.
This would be the first time I would be doing a blood test out here in Grande and you guys know how much I detest needles...but it had to be done...its just that I've become so accustomed to the nurses at NRC, and their methods at drawing blood from us cancer patients is so very professional and compassionate at the same time.

Trust me, if you're going to be stuck almost every day and several times a day for 2years (some for 10yrs) you really need a nurse who understands how tough it can be for us patients.
I've seen people get stuck several times before the nurse "finds" the vein...and I even see some inexperienced nurses BEND and even BREAK a needle in some ones arm.

Me....when my platelets are low I feel every millimetre of that needle and my arm has at times swollen up nearly twice its size when they miss of puncture the vein by going too deep.
Anyhow, the NEW STICKER LADY was friendly and super fast....wasn't too bad.

I decided I'd go back to the US lab and see if I could talk to Dr Rampersad again, but he had left already and 2 other sonographers were there getting the ultrasounds done. BUT by now the place was packed.

The nurses recognised me and called me to see the technician...

"Buh how he could just come een here and jus so allyuh take he before me?!" barked a very agitated lady, another threatened to "kick dong d door".

I went into the room and Dr Naila got to probing my neck with the paddle.

A few quiet moments passed before she asked : "Dr Rampersad did the ones before?"
"Yes" I said. More silence and then "hmmmm", 'It was on the left side right?"

"Yes, why?" I was starting to get nervous again...I was preparing for her to tell me that the 11mm nodule that Dr Rampersad saw was now TWICE the size.

She put down the probe and then told me she was going to see if she could find Dr Rampersad.

Good Lord! The things that were now going through my mind!

She came back in and again went to the area that showed WHERE the nodes were a few days ago. Again more "hmmms and okays".

I'm not seeing the node. I checked and the lymph looks normal and so does your thyroid...but I'm NOT seeing the nodes that were there 2 weeks ago....

"Well I didn't move them" I said.
I almost couldn't believe it, and wondered if the machine was broken or something.

Now we were really confused!

I'm sleepin on myself guys, i'll finish tmrw.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 11:16 pm

Is God about to give you a "bligh"?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 31st, 2013, 7:00 am

.....*awaits in anticipation*.....

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 31st, 2013, 11:23 pm

Just yesterday we went to West Shore to get that Lung Test...and while waiting saw Dr Samuel. I told him about the WEIRD NEW RESULTS from the latest ultrasound and he said:- "Once your markers are negative (normal) I really don't think you have anything to worry about...you're fine."

"But how come there was an 11mm node there 2weeks ago and now it's gone?" I asked.

He said that it just showed up as an ordinary node probably "due to a virus or something"

Well, I'll tell you all this, ever since I found out I have cancer....nothing has been the same.

I'll explain in a moment. But the fact that the results are not showing that ANYTHING is THERE....doesn't comfort me when I'm feeling totally lousy....something HAS TO BE CAUSING THESE BAD FEELINGS.

"but you look so good! You sure you sick?" Quite a few tell me....I can be feeling so bad that I might be on the verge of blacking out...and you'll NEVER KNOW IT...why?

Because I try never to allow people to see my pain. I dread making those I love worry or feel helpless.
Since I came off of chemo last June, in the back of my mind has been the thought that one day it (cancer) would be back...and over the past few months my body would give me some really strange feelings....my back would hurt so much when I got up in the morning, or I would be fine at breakfast and then time to go downstairs to get some work done...I am flat out tired....JUST SO. Even now while I sit up on my bed to write this...my back is KILLIN ME...but here's the good part> remember I got the results from the ct scan done 4 weeks ago? They were perfect....no lumps anywhere, lungs clear, pelvic area clear, EVEN THE LUMP I had right in the center of my chest, just above my solar plexus...was GONE! And that one used to really play on my mind, because it was right next to my heart.....BUT what's been giving me the back pain is a 5cm benign cyst in my right kidney that's been there since 2011 and hasn't grown but has actually gotten smaller...so IN A WAY, I am happy to not have the lumps come back...and now don't fuss when my back is hurting me...its just that stupid cyst that I have to live with.

Some of the things that have changed for me are like: tingling in my feet and feet...like walking on needles after I take my feet out of my shoes, or the lack of strength in my arms THAT gets me down sometimes...that I sometimes drop things just like that....(its due to my muscles, nerve endings and equilibrium messed up by those chemicals I was taking for 8mths. And I used to have REAL strength in my arms and hands eh.... Also some memory loss, i'll forget stuff really easily....like...i'll go downstairs to get something and TOTALLY forget what I went down there for! And also my energy levels....I was a god-horse when it came to stamina...dem young boys in the Aranguez Savannah used to BAWL whenever I ran ball with them....I coulda RUN!!!

But what keeps me positive is REALISING that I am ALIVE!
Many who fought alongside me are GONE....and I am still here...as my Mom says " Jehovah has given you a lease" an extension you might say...because if Sharon and I didn't see that lump on my neck those yrs ago.....I would have been DEAD by now. So I have MUCH to be thankful for.

I'll let you guys in on something the strongest, most inspiring woman EVER told me....her name is Hazel Grant Ettiene Bain
557945_10151605730166477_2128845782_a.jpg
557945_10151605730166477_2128845782_a.jpg (4.68 KiB) Viewed 2536 times

Hazel's cancer has spread to her lungs and her bones...the doctors didn't know if to give her 2 months or 2 years...and she ENCOURAGES me!

Imagine that....she is many times in excruciating pain, and will LIFT me up with her words....here are some of the things that she has told me that inspires me to fight>

I had just found out about the cancer in 2011 and wasn't all that close to Hazel...till she told me she had it too. I would tell her how afraid I was....and later when I was on chemo and feeling sooooo sick that I thought I was going to die...she would tell me:

Lemme tell you something Cliff, you're not going to die today...and I eh letting you die tmrw...but if you think you're sick, you're going to FEEL sick, she told me that even when I was flat out in bed at the hospital...DO SOMETHING...get a book, grab a pencil...write something>talk to the person next to you, help them cope too and also this just recently: your worrying over what could happen a few months down the road will NOT change a thing, you cant torture yourself about what might never happen"

So as Dr Samuel said...don't worry too much and I will be getting the results back from those tests I did in Grande soon....lets hope that things are not as bad as I think them to be.

In my next post i'll share some of the things I've found very helpful in my battle so far...like foods, supplements, herbal products, the mindset...the friends I've made along the way.

G'night guys.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 1st, 2013, 9:08 am

just took the morning and read your thread, very very moving, a MUST read......

on many levels i understand u cause believe me when i say i know what you went thru...

cause i did to....not to the extent as you, but too was diagnosed with testicular cancer in 2003-2004 and also did my share of chemo at the NRC......used to be called the infirmary.....the place alone made me feel sick....

and just like u, 3 doctors have been nothing but good to me, my GP-Dr Marsh Jaggernauth, my surgeon/urologist Dr. Micheal Rampaul and last but not least, my most fave Oncologist Dr Peter Bovell

this thread is nothing but inspiration to me, you are truly a fighter man.........

chunkymama

Postby chunkymama » November 1st, 2013, 2:37 pm

So why you making me out so boy? Didn't even get to put on a pretty face self! Its been a pleasure to help you Cliff. You help me out a lot more than you know as well. Looking forward to reading about your journey and successes. :D

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » November 1st, 2013, 4:45 pm

chunkymama wrote:So why you making me out so boy? Didn't even get to put on a pretty face self! Its been a pleasure to help you Cliff. You help me out a lot more than you know as well. Looking forward to reading about your journey and successes. :D

ahhh..my CHUNKYMAMA Princess has arrived! Greetings fellow battle-axe!

Good to have you on here...with your amazing courage and insight we can help many together.