Budget 2014/15 Sept 9th

Re: Budget 2014/15 Sept 9th

Postby tr1ad » September 9th, 2013, 8:58 pm

nemesis wrote:There goes driving anything over 4-cyl.
Such a stupid move though. Achieves nothing.

How exactly is it a stupid move? You want big engine pay for it ... Just like with anything else.. You want it buy it

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 9:00 pm

I see ah man on fb bawl tax everything over 1799cc

Yuh does know yaris and tiida drivers eh

Postby SR » September 9th, 2013, 9:01 pm

Cal may move like spirit ticket price remains the same but then you pay for your seat and price goes up for prime seats in economy class and you pay for each bag you carry

Postby TRAE » September 9th, 2013, 9:05 pm

this budget just shows that they ran outta ideas on how to make money

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 9th, 2013, 9:06 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
property tax on agricultural land coming.. make a wild guess what following that? hint.. these are the people that supply food for the country.

Property tax on agricultural land; could have some positives. While I agree it will increase food production cost; it may also force persons who own/lease agricultural land that is not being cultivated to sell/give up the lease to other farmers who is willing to cultivate the land.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 9th, 2013, 9:06 pm

TRAE wrote:this budget just shows that they ran outta ideas

8-)

Postby Redman » September 9th, 2013, 9:09 pm

TRAE wrote:this budget just shows that they ran outta ideas on how to make money

Uh their first budget showed that.

Postby Redman » September 9th, 2013, 9:12 pm

zoom rader wrote:For years PNM strategy was to keep ppl dependant on the them and not get involved with investments and savings.
Here we have a government that is paving the way for citizens to invest by buying into state companies like FCB and others to come. But you have some clowns that can't see that, tuners worried about duties on cars when they should be finding ways to make money work for them. Government should sell off more state companies but you have ppl that are opposed to this move cause some will can't continue eating they food and may have to do real work. If only they can sell off the public service.

Unit Trust make your statement inaccurate.

What is NEL?

Postby pugboy » September 9th, 2013, 9:12 pm

That would be unconstitutional, citizens have a right to own property,
You cannot force somebody out of their own property, besides farmers have enough problems with labour.
They should have made provisions to morph cepep into farm labour.

francis1979 wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:
property tax on agricultural land coming.. make a wild guess what following that? hint.. these are the people that supply food for the country.

Property tax on agricultural land; could have some positives. While I agree it will increase food production cost; it may also force persons who own/lease agricultural land that is not being cultivated to sell/give up the lease to other farmers who is willing to cultivate the land.

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Well the thing about living in a country is that you never really "own" the land you live on, you just have legal permission to do so.

If the state wants it back, they can get it.

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2013, 9:31 pm

pioneer wrote:I find CAL should start chargin people based on weight

Baggage weight? Or fat belly weight?

Postby javishm » September 9th, 2013, 9:38 pm

Well done tantie kamala u have successfully given the ppl of trinidad and tobago a pack of sheit for a budget

speedist

Postby speedist » September 9th, 2013, 9:48 pm

pioneer wrote:Well the thing about living in a country is that you never really "own" the land you live on, you just have legal permission to do so.

What? How's that? Even after you pay off your mortgage?

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 9:52 pm

mampie weight...fedup sit on a plane next to these lard arses and they occupy 1/2 of your seat too and elbowing you to go arong

charge them extra

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2013, 9:53 pm

speedist wrote:
pioneer wrote:Well the thing about living in a country is that you never really "own" the land you live on, you just have legal permission to do so.

What? How's that? Even after you pay off your mortgage?

Ask aranguez residents, oropune, mondisir etc...the land is never really "yours"...it belongs to the state

Kinda like how all water in trinidad belongs to wasa

konartis

Postby konartis » September 10th, 2013, 1:28 am

rocknrolla wrote:if my statement is racist, please mention who in government having to do with this budget is afro-trinidadian.

all i hear is budget deficit spending with the payback period extended to 2017? like pp sure they getting vote back in. but next year they will do more deficit spending and promise to pay back by 2018. and keep goin just like that.

y? because our decision makers have book sense and no sense.

the template is so simple. increase food production to decrease food import. gravitate towards implementing alternative energy solutions to reduce our usage of oil and gas for energy making more available for export, design and market more export in goods and services for international customers, market the country's tourism sector which may also require a general aesthetics upgrade for relevant areas, reduce crime by providing jobs out of the aforementioned new implementations killing 2 birds with one stone as job holders can get off welfare.

and that is just a start for the things i would look at.

regarding CAL, i do not know all the details ministers in gov't. might know. but based on what factors i am aware of, then without a proper product to market, cal is doomed to failure. someone will let me know if they raise ticket prices to cover for the expenses accrued from removal of the fuel subsidy.

best thing in the budget is the increase in penalties for illegal quarrying. it seemed rounded well. the problem will still be about monitoring and actual enforcement of the penalties.

legitimate benefit to quality of life of the average working man and the poor..
ZERO

if ever we were to use deficit spending in a meaningful way, we would use the borrowed cash to implement value producing jobs with an aim of breaking even so that those people can maintain permanent jobs while providing useful products for the country. one of such areas is certainly agriculture. government could easily reserve state lands for agriculture and hire unemployed, uneducated people to work in those fields. reducing food cost due to increase in supply, providing jobs and reducing import bill in one fell swoop.

too late now. i tell allyuh this government gonna shaft u to the end. they know they not winning another election.

you should be incharge of government business!!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 10th, 2013, 1:55 am

It is very "interesting" that after increasing the price of Premium Gasoline last budget by over 55% - causing hardship to untold thousands of trinis in a bid to reduce the fuel subsidy, the Honourable Minister did not take time mention HOW MUCH MONEY this punitive measure has saved the government...

Doesn't the citizenry deserve to know how awesome you are Mr. Minister?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 10th, 2013, 6:58 am

mampie weight...fedup sit on a plane next to these lard arses and they occupy 1/2 of your seat too and elbowing you to go arong

charge them extra

Fly first class and end your worries.

Postby zoom rader » September 10th, 2013, 7:19 am

javishm wrote:Well done tantie kamala u have successfully given the ppl of trinidad and tobago a pack of sheit for a budget

Do tell us what makes a good budget for yourself

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 10th, 2013, 8:23 am

ingalook wrote:It is very "interesting" that after increasing the price of Premium Gasoline last budget by over 55% - causing hardship to untold thousands of trinis in a bid to reduce the fuel subsidy, the Honourable Minister did not take time mention HOW MUCH MONEY this punitive measure has saved the government...

Doesn't the citizenry deserve to know how awesome you are Mr. Minister?

^^ THIS :!: :!:

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2013, 8:37 am

i find the budget to be acceptable, not the best, but acceptable. Kindda disappointed not much was allocated to agriculture, but its a give and take. Happy that they reintroducing the property tax in a phased basis and not immediate. Glad they left out tobago and old age pension increase both are parasitic on our treasury, yea fcuk ollur.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » September 10th, 2013, 8:58 am

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 10th, 2013, 9:21 am

AllTrac wrote:i find the budget to be acceptable, not the best, but acceptable. Kindda disappointed not much was allocated to agriculture, but its a give and take. Happy that they reintroducing the property tax in a phased basis and not immediate. Glad they left out tobago and old age pension increase both are parasitic on our treasury, yea fcuk ollur.

Successive governments mention Agriculture as a catch-phrase... and then proceed to give it a paltry allocation... more of the same I guess, just disappointing for people who elected them thinking they would be different...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 10th, 2013, 9:23 am

Kamla: Hanging bill coming back
By NEWSDAY STAFF Tuesday, April 9 2013

Earlier in her address, the Prime Minister announced that Cabinet has decided to make it possible for citizens earning less than $8,000 a month, to buy their first home with zero down payment at a two percent interest rate for homes costing up to $450,000.

“This means affordable housing for first time home owners. It means every individual who has a dream of owning a home for their family...that dream can now be realised. It means security and peace of mind knowing that your Government is working for you. We are working to help you achieve your goals,” she said.

Code: Select all

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,175988.html

I'm still trying to figure out where one can find a home for less than $450K?
And what happens to the people who make above $8k and still can afford a home?

Nothing was done to address the real housing problem in this country.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2013, 9:44 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:

Earlier in her address, the Prime Minister announced that Cabinet has decided to make it possible for citizens earning less than $8,000 a month, to buy their first home with zero down payment at a two percent interest rate for homes costing up to $450,000.

“This means affordable housing for first time home owners. It means every individual who has a dream of owning a home for their family...that dream can now be realised. It means security and peace of mind knowing that your Government is working for you. We are working to help you achieve your goals,” she said.

Makes me think that everyone in government(both sides) has investments in the real estate market and don't really want to see prices fall.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 10th, 2013, 9:48 am

^^^ Such initiatives keep prices at a certain level

If property values fall by 30%:

-less property tax to be collected
-massive implications for the banking sector

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 10th, 2013, 9:59 am

pete wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:

Makes me think that everyone in government(both sides) has investments in the real estate market and don't really want to see prices fall.

Definitely has a big part to play in it.

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2013, 10:12 am

TriniAutoMart wrote:

the real problem is young middle class retards who insist in paying a mil and more for chinky little 3 bedroom flats.............same for cars...........ever see how some people does screw up their face when u tell them u just buy ah local used car?
Sorry eh but if ppl insist on overpaying for shitbox houses and shitbox cars, then they really need to stop complaining :-/

Anton

Postby Anton » September 10th, 2013, 10:18 am

I may be misunderstanding what was said, but as far as I can make out, the 2% Mortgages are available to anyone having access to residential lands valuated at less than $450k (meaning they have land already), and have an income of under $8000.

I stand open to correction if I'm wrong.

Anton

Postby Anton » September 10th, 2013, 10:21 am

the 2.0 percent mortgage programme is being extended to
all citizens
with access to residential service lots whose incomes do not exceed $8,000 per month and the value of whose property does not exceed $450,000