Re: Who here is afraid of Spiders?

Postby joker » February 11th, 2014, 8:34 pm

What prices do allyuh pay?

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » February 12th, 2014, 7:36 am

Depending on the specimen.
If it's rare species I will be willing to pay some cash.
I might put out a few $ for the chevrons or pink toes.
I will break the bank for a Goliath bird Eater. ..

Postby dougla_boy » February 12th, 2014, 8:19 am

xpider_G wrote:Depending on the specimen.
If it's rare species I will be willing to pay some cash.
I might put out a few $ for the chevrons or pink toes.
I will break the bank for a Goliath bird Eater. ..

:shocked!:

:skurry: :skurry: :skurry:

:stalk: :stalk: :stalk:

Postby joker » February 12th, 2014, 9:28 am

Ball park figure for pink toe?

Cuz I normally kill them wen the hiding above my head in camp

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » February 14th, 2014, 12:59 am

Anywhere from 50-200$ depending on size.. and health.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 17th, 2014, 9:23 am

i killed a chevron in moka heights about 2 years ago it appeared to be wild just liming on my porch so if you really want one perhaps you could go and hunt one there. just a suggestion.

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » February 18th, 2014, 10:04 am

I gotta take a hunt around this country...

Postby gastly369 » February 18th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Postby SMc » February 18th, 2014, 5:13 pm

jm3 wrote:i killed a chevron in moka heights about 2 years ago it appeared to be wild just liming on my porch so if you really want one perhaps you could go and hunt one there. just a suggestion.

We used to have a chevron that used to live by my mothers house in (old) Moka, we named her Mutsey and she was quite sociable and would make an apperareance whenever we were liming in the porch...she disappeared one day, left her nest an all, she is missed.

BTW we DONT have endemic and soon to be endangered yellow-throated frogs (Trinidadian stream frogs) living in the garden in case someone wants to kill them for no reason.

fanks

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2014, 5:23 pm

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 6th, 2014, 2:49 pm

That is an awesome specimen.
Goliaths are rare here but they do come across when the amazon washes down..

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 12th, 2014, 6:16 pm

My new T Serena grabbing a bite.

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 14th, 2014, 1:02 am

nick639 wrote:That's cool... Does it wrap up it's kill in webbing after??

No. They dont. The house spiders do that.
Most Tarantulas only kill when the hungry.
When they are done the meal looks like a black ball of bones and muck..

Postby joker » March 14th, 2014, 9:32 pm

I need pricing ....for pink toed...
Normally I kill them ....

Postby gastly369 » March 17th, 2014, 8:12 pm

eerrrr what kind of spider is this..
its about 1/2 inch and chalk white
catch tail with camera phone best shot i could get "safely"

no i didn't kill it and now it lives somewhere in my car now :skurry: :skurry:

Postby stev » March 17th, 2014, 9:42 pm

looks really tiny....thats not the same little gray ones that always running around d place (didnt see one in a while though)

btw...thread needs renaming?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 17th, 2014, 9:54 pm

Was passing thru las lomas sometime to bypass some accident on highway and I kid you not, I saw a huge frickkng spider.. At least the size of my 17inch rim with 225/65 rav4 wheel, cross the effing road normal normal. I slowed down and wanted to take a pic of it but all the girls in vehicle were screaming and crying and lashing me violently.. So.. :? *shrug*
The sheer size of the thing though.. Didn't know those existed.

Postby stev » March 17th, 2014, 9:59 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Was passing thru las lomas sometime to bypass some accident on highway and I kid you not, I saw a huge frickkng spider.. At least the size of my 17inch rim with 225/65 rav4 wheel, cross the effing road normal normal. I slowed down and wanted to take a pic of it but all the girls in vehicle were screaming and crying and lashing me violently.. So.. :? *shrug*

u sure it wasnt a coconut crab? :lol:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 17th, 2014, 10:03 pm

stev wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:Was passing thru las lomas sometime to bypass some accident on highway and I kid you not, I saw a huge frickkng spider.. At least the size of my 17inch rim with 225/65 rav4 wheel, cross the effing road normal normal. I slowed down and wanted to take a pic of it but all the girls in vehicle were screaming and crying and lashing me violently.. So.. :? *shrug*

Pretty sure it wasn't. It was a big, black, hairy @$$ spider

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2014, 11:04 pm

gastly369 wrote:eerrrr what kind of spider is this..

RIP bro

put me down in d will for dem rims pls

Postby Spitfir3 » March 17th, 2014, 11:45 pm

stev wrote:

coconut crabs exist in trinidad?
i highly doubt that's a spider you saw dude i mean if its as remotely big as you say then that's way to big for a spider not to mention im sure some one would have killed it because that area busy

Postby shogun » March 17th, 2014, 11:50 pm

gastly369 wrote:eerrrr what kind of spider is this..

Looks like one of those lil jumping spiders gastly. Harmless.

Postby shogun » March 17th, 2014, 11:55 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Iz that crawl...

Why can't they learn to walk less creepily?.

I'd rather find a good size snake in my house than one of those things... serious.

xpider_G wrote:My new T Serena grabbing a bite.

Beautiful spider. Would still collect bellars if found in my house though.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 18th, 2014, 12:03 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
stev wrote:

coconut crabs exist in trinidad?
i highly doubt that's a spider you saw dude i mean if its as remotely big as you say then that's way to big for a spider not to mention im sure some one would have killed it because that area busy

Nah it wasn't a busy area. Lonely bushy area I was passing thru.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » March 18th, 2014, 2:14 am

Yeah. Right. A spider 17inches leg span? The world is coming to an end.

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 22nd, 2014, 9:07 am

joker wrote:I need pricing ....for pink toed...
Normally I kill them ....

Pink toe.
Juvenile to pre-adult 40$-80$.
Adult 100$

Sun-tiger
Juvenile to pre-adult 60$-100$.
Adult 150$

Goliath
Juvenile to pre-adult 80$-150$.
Adult 175-200$

Serious ting.....

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » March 23rd, 2014, 4:17 am

So where will you get them to buy? Are they easy to maintain? And how aggressive are they?

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 23rd, 2014, 12:39 pm

As for where... there are a few areas in Trinidad that have them in the wild.
Maintenance is easy once you have a good supply of small insects and or vertebrates.
And aggression is based on the species and temperament some are docile like some here but some are easily aggravated, like the Orange baboon Tarantula or Ornamental Blue Tarantula..

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » March 23rd, 2014, 12:44 pm

Neverr seen blue or orange here in tnt. Just wolfs and pink toed. I swear I came across a few goliath looking at that pic but im not sure. Frim my exp the pink toed are very easy to maintain aand not aggressive.

xpider_G

Postby xpider_G » March 23rd, 2014, 1:58 pm

Google them they are quite lovely..

Id LOVE to get one for my collection..