$5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Re: $5000.00 Fine for non-inspected cars !

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:40 am

rofl.....san fernando still out of stickers...lol.....have a copy of my inspection sheet with me

Postby Stephon. » February 17th, 2012, 7:45 am

I got an inspection sheet with my vehicle but no sticker, and I was registered in town.

And I dunno what happens in The San Fernando Hills Have Eyes wrt police catching drunk drivers but I was just speaking on what I personally see, just yesterday I went to pick up my cousin from a fete in Toco and didn't see any effort to catch any drunk drivers.

Postby S_2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:49 am

Stephon. wrote:This law is gonna be a fad just like all the other laws we have in the country anyways.

exactly, just like any other "laws" in this country.
remember the law that was passed that prohibited cell phone use while driving (without a headset)?
Everybody was stressing about buying bluetooth headset, car kit, etc and watch now :lol:
..i give this a month or two.

Postby Stephon. » February 17th, 2012, 7:55 am

Not to mention that talking on the phone with a headset on is just as dangerous as holding a phone to your ear, so that's just another pointless law. :lol:

Postby Hook » February 17th, 2012, 8:23 am

*puts on bluetooth headset...checks bbm messages while driving anyway*

Postby wagon r » February 17th, 2012, 9:34 am

^ your avatar could be a bluetooth headset.... :neutral: ...

Postby SR » February 17th, 2012, 12:55 pm

but it nuh blu

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2012, 1:29 pm

I called two inspection stations to make an appointment and they telling me I doh need to get inspected. My car is 1 yr old. :? :?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I called two inspection stations to make an appointment and they telling me I doh need to get inspected. My car is 1 yr old. :? :?

older cars bro...

silver racer

Postby silver racer » February 17th, 2012, 2:42 pm

A Guy reversed and cracked my headlight yesterday. I was planning to go in tmrw to get my car inspected.

As how it is cracked (small hole) will that cause an issue?

Postby wagonrunner » February 17th, 2012, 2:44 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I called two inspection stations to make an appointment and they telling me I doh need to get inspected. My car is 1 yr old. :? :?

what exactly didn't you understand?

Postby Stephon. » February 17th, 2012, 3:52 pm

Well according to Aaron, even new vehicles need to be inspected. Please clarity :wink:

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » February 17th, 2012, 6:56 pm

i got my sticker today,after checking the inspection station for the last 2 weeks,good till february 2014 8-)

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 17th, 2012, 7:44 pm

Stephon. wrote:Well according to Aaron, even new vehicles need to be inspected. Please clarity :wink:

I believe it is 5yrs after vehicle manufacture for P cars and T vehicles get the sticker during licensing, could be wrong.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:46 pm

Stephon. wrote:Well according to Aaron, even new vehicles need to be inspected. Please clarity :wink:

where did I say that??? Please read thread

Postby De Dragon » February 18th, 2012, 1:27 am

Went to inspect today,but only got an appointment for next Friday

Postby Stephon. » February 18th, 2012, 7:12 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

Stephon. wrote:PCU here, I will remain unaffected by this law Image

apparently you didn't read the law....you still need your documents and sticker

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 18th, 2012, 9:25 am

I would just like to inform you that the Licensing Office in conjunction with the Police Service and Traffic Wardens are issuing tickets for vehicles that have not been inspected. The fine for non-inspection or expired inspection stickers is $5,000.00.

The safety inspection fee is TT$165.00 for a vehicle tested at an authorised inspection station and TT$300.00 for vehicles tested at a Transport Division office.

Those of us driving T vehicles MUST have them be inspected on a yearly basis from the date of purchase, and this could ONLY be done at the Port of Spain, San Fernando and Tobago branches of the Licensing Office. Owners of private cars can have their inspection done at authorised inspection stations across the country.

Owners of new passenger cars for private use - sticker valid for five years. Passenger cars for private use over five years old - sticker valid for two years.

You must take your vehicle in to be inspected before your sticker expires. It is illegal to drive a vehicle without a valid inspection sticker. The original certified copy and a current certificate of insurance must be presented at the time of inspection.

Vehicles must in proper working order (lights, wipers, horn, tyres), and should be washed, including engine and underneath.

Postby Stephon. » February 18th, 2012, 9:30 am

Oh, thanks for clearing that up, cringing at the fact that I gotta put one of those ugly stickers on my car now :(

Postby pete » February 18th, 2012, 9:44 am

But where you getting them?

From what that says, the car is allegedly supposed to come with it when its licensed. If it doesn't have it then do you have to go back to LO to get it?

I could understand that they are doing it to make it easier to determine if the car has reached 5 years by just looking at the sticker but all the people who have bought cars for the last <5 years wouldn't have it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 18th, 2012, 10:47 am

Stephon. wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:

Stephon. wrote:PCU here, I will remain unaffected by this law Image

apparently you didn't read the law....you still need your documents and sticker

if you read the law you will see a new vehicle is issued a sticker when registered..hence it was already inspected when it was registered....

if it's P it is valid for 5 years
T is every year....

hope that clears it up.....read and understand before asking questions that need not to be asked

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 18th, 2012, 10:51 am

Stephon. wrote:Oh, thanks for clearing that up, cringing at the fact that I gotta put one of those ugly stickers on my car now :(

is it your car or your father's???

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=422942&p=6004267#p6004267

Postby Stephon. » February 18th, 2012, 11:19 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Oh, thanks for clearing that up, cringing at the fact that I gotta put one of those ugly stickers on my car now :(

Lol I don't see how you could come to that conclusion, are we now allowed one car per household? Lol just wondering, and It's my car that I'm inquiring about.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 18th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

man get makeout oui. nex ting aaron buss the "S" on he gyul that is his pops car he really jivin... :D

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 18th, 2012, 5:00 pm

Got inspected but no stickas... when are they going to be available... dont want the headache of pulling over and having to explain mih self

Postby bushwakka » February 19th, 2012, 12:03 pm

ok, so jes to confirm....Police can charge u as well? not only licensing and traffic wardens?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 19th, 2012, 3:42 pm

Image0991.jpg

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2012, 5:29 pm

pete wrote:But where you getting them?

From what that says, the car is allegedly supposed to come with it when its licensed. If it doesn't have it then do you have to go back to LO to get it?

I could understand that they are doing it to make it easier to determine if the car has reached 5 years by just looking at the sticker but all the people who have bought cars for the last <5 years wouldn't have it.

hmmm might be better mih moms take off d 2007 sticker she have and go without one till it get inspected oui :mrgreen:

Terran

Postby Terran » February 29th, 2012, 4:00 pm

I just learned that a special task force is in place to perform checks around the country for inspected cars, starting from tomorrow. Lines at inspection stations are all out on the roads.

Postby S_2NR » February 29th, 2012, 4:30 pm

:skurry: :skurry: