Re: Advice needed: 15" rims.

Postby Chimera » April 7th, 2013, 10:17 pm

loving these rims

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » April 24th, 2013, 6:46 pm

I need some advice on purchasing some new rims for my Toyota Avensis. The stock rims are 16" however this is a rather unusual size and tend to be more expensive than the normal 17" etc and are quite difficult to find with any sort of variety locally.

I was considering upgrading to 17" wheels however I don't know if/how it would affect the ride of the vehicle. Also I have relatively new 16" tyres that I would rather not have to change.

For those with more wisdom on the subject than me, is it wise to say to hell with my relatively new 16" tyres and get 17" wheels with most likely low quality tyres or should I just keep searching for a decent set of 16" rims? (Especially as the lock is already appalling)

Will using 17" wheels be detrimental to the ride of the vehicle as it came stock with 16"?

Where would be a good place to look for said wheels? Andy's in Arouca? I hear they are good.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Postby skylinechild » April 24th, 2013, 7:28 pm

trini_champ wrote: I need some advice on purchasing some new rims for my Toyota Avensis. The stock rims are 16" however this is a rather unusual size and tend to be more expensive than the normal 17" etc and are quite difficult to find with any sort of variety locally.

I was considering upgrading to 17" wheels however I don't know if/how it would affect the ride of the vehicle. Also I have relatively new 16" tyres that I would rather not have to change.

For those with more wisdom on the subject than me, is it wise to say to hell with my relatively new 16" tyres and get 17" wheels with most likely low quality tyres or should I just keep searching for a decent set of 16" rims? (Especially as the lock is already appalling)

Will using 17" wheels be detrimental to the ride of the vehicle as it came stock with 16"?

Where would be a good place to look for said wheels? Andy's in Arouca? I hear they are good.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

ride wise....there shouldnt be much difference- after all its just an inch.
16 inch tyres CAN be sourced locally you just have to look around - cant go to one tyre shop and say " i done look".

if you want to upgrade to 17inch why are you looking " for a decent set of 16" rims" given that you said they "are quite difficult to find" and to top it off you already have new 16" tyres...

my $0.02....keep your tyre and rim...it seems you just lookin for style rather than function...if is style you want why not just powdercoat your rims....will make it look a bit better - plus you can sell it when your tyres are old and need changing- then buy new 17 rims and tyres one time.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » April 24th, 2013, 7:42 pm

16 inch tyres CAN be sourced locally you just have to look around - cant go to one tyre shop and say " i done look".

I never said finding a 16" tyre was difficult. I got mine without much trouble but they are a lot more expensive than a more conventional size tyre.

if you want to upgrade to 17inch why are you looking " for a decent set of 16" rims" given that you said they "are quite difficult to find" and to top it off you already have new 16" tyres...

I don't *want* to upgrate to 17" wheels. I am considering it because it may be cheaper and more convenient in the long run as 17" tyres are cheaper and easier to find. Obviously I would only be looking for the 16" rims if i was not going to switch to the 17" wheels. As stated before I wasn't sure if I should change the stock size wheel and I came seeking advice as to whether I should switch or not.

it seems you just lookin for style rather than function.

Not sure how u got that idea but given the choice I wouldn't change the rims at all. I'm only changing them because they are rotting from the inside out given many years of dog pee. That having been said, if I'm going to change them I want something that looks good.

Thanks for the advice anyway. Any recommendations for a shop not located in South?

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » April 24th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Bump.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » April 25th, 2013, 5:21 pm

Bump.

Postby skylinechild » April 25th, 2013, 10:09 pm

trini_champ wrote:Thanks for the advice anyway. Any recommendations for a shop not located in South?

something NOT located in south yuh say... :lol: :lol: what wrong with south it have ALOT of rims and tyre place in barrackpore penal and debe....granted they sell mostly chrome and cater to rice boys.

but seriously if its tyres....shop around literally tons of places that sells- even pricesmart... :shock:
if you dont wanna drive around pounding pavement and asphalt let your fingers do the walking - phone directory....check the listing and make some calls...

if you want to import your stuff...check www.tirerack.com :|