Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Samo

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 10:17 am

hear wat.....you're right...

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 10:25 am

dan....all i saying is that vdj is a more powerful prog. an all it takes is a lil time to set it up.
but once u do,u cant go wrong......as for ur efx....u can set it to keyboard... i did this on my laptop.
i understand the fact u jus load an play....but i guess tha other progs need a lil tweeting. but as i said...
i spent the time an have no regrets :D

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:28 am

Samo wrote:dan....all i saying is that vdj is a more powerful prog. an all it takes is a lil time to set it up.
but once u do,u cant go wrong......as for ur efx....u can set it to keyboard... i did this on my laptop.
i understand the fact u jus load an play....but i guess tha other progs need a lil tweeting. but as i said...
i spent the time an have no regrets :D

so what about the decks are the two decks always active or 1 at a time? eg. can y press play to activate the both decks at the same time?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 10:32 am

nah...u can configure tha. also while one is playing; the same key can be used to activate play on the other deck.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:38 am

Samo wrote:nah...u can configure tha. also while one is playing; the same key can be used to activate play on the other deck.

thats what i know while in vtt i have on ...
deck 1 - Q > PLAY W > STOP
deck 2 - A > PLAY S > STOP

So once the fader on the middle you if you press both Q and A and the both sides will start and u can stop either when u ready,there is no activation of decks the two is always active on vtt.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 10:42 am

oh i see..yes this can be done on vdj...
never worked with vtt....neva heard abt it even....

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:51 am

Samo wrote:oh i see..yes this can be done on vdj...
never worked with vtt....neva heard abt it even....

because the site closed down and only a few of the lucky ones like myself got the software in time.ah parthner from 96.1 gave me that some years ago and till this day i have not come across andy other program even close to that and believe me i have tried alot of the other dj softwares out there. Vdj being the most common.numark has a decent dj software but i cant remember the name but it was alos better than vdj.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 10:58 am

1 more thing that i am sure u cant do with vdj is set your own customized background.well you can also customize your own personalized bcakground with vtt.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 11:00 am

sweet...well it have trackor..numark cue..
would have liked to dabble with vtt...

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 11:04 am

i think it was automix or something u ever use that?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 11:14 am

automix was the beginning of vdj.
actually ..is Automix virtual dj. same mekker :!:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 12th, 2011, 11:25 am

^Atomix not Automix

But D.S.S. just proved my point. Everybody just fancy's that their program is better because you're accustomed to it. I used PCDJ for about 1 day and hated it. Did not like the interface on Traktor. Haven't used Serato as yet. I like the default Skin for VDJ as opposed to Samo.

If you like your software or equipment, then use it. But I have a problem with people bashing other things. Real DJs respect other DJs... once you sounding good, you in a gear. Else it just becomes a pissing competition.

HOWEVER, I know that the fact is that the quality of the scratching on Serato is far superior to any other (kinda like the motor on a 1200 is top of the line). Even in that case, how many people in the crowd standing up to listen for the digital sounds in a scratch?

Spin your music and make people wine to the ground and done the story!

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 12th, 2011, 11:30 am

DJ Q wrote:^Atomix not Automix

But D.S.S. just proved my point. Everybody just fancy's that their program is better because you're accustomed to it. I used PCDJ for about 1 day and hated it. Did not like the interface on Traktor. Haven't used Serato as yet. I like the default Skin for VDJ as opposed to Samo.

If you like your software or equipment, then use it. But I have a problem with people bashing other things. Real DJs respect other DJs... once you sounding good, you in a gear. Else it just becomes a pissing competition.

HOWEVER, I know that the fact is that the quality of the scratching on Serato is far superior to any other (kinda like the motor on a 1200 is top of the line). Even in that case, how many people in the crowd standing up to listen for the digital sounds in a scratch?

Agreed! never used serato doh.

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 11:35 am

DJ Q wrote:^Atomix not Automix

DONE TALK!

Samo

Postby Samo » July 12th, 2011, 11:41 am

i open to all....will like to know a lil abt wat it have out there..
but i use vdj an serato..
scratching for me is nice....but baby scratch...it have time an place...
radio IMO is a gd place to "show off" skillls.... but as Q say...mash up crowd.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 12th, 2011, 11:50 am

I remember years ago in a George's party... the DJ did a crab scratch with an Elephant Man tune. Everybody stop wining to applaud yes... man was rel good.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 12th, 2011, 4:33 pm

guys go easy! doh mess up teh thread.

as for DJ software, i've used them all!
VTT back in the '90's,
Tracktor from version 1 up (was better than the original virtual DJ imo)
Virtual DJ - I use that now, makes everything easier
Serato - really nice if you have the right equipment, ttm57sl + pioneers = dream setup
PCDJ, not one of my favourites but it works
Deckadance..it allright

anyone wanting to learn real DJ-ing without buying equipment can check this out
Deejaysystem - http://www.deejaysystem.com/
Pros:
Rock solid. cannot crash. used best with two sound cards and a mixer. layout based on old school Numark cd players. very fast and responsive, uses the least amount of resources when compared to other software. It has no beatmatching, you have to do some real DJ-ing here..
Cons: no scratching, no keylock.

I grew up old school on 1200's and moved on to Denon cd-200f etc... I don't consider myself a turntablist, i never learnt them crab scratch an stuff.
Last edited by SmokeyGTi on July 12th, 2011, 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » July 12th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Just wondering if any of you guys Key your music. I used to only play in Key. Music sounds more harmonic but I a not sure how other genres of music respond to this.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 12th, 2011, 5:26 pm

^^ unsure of what you mean by that

Postby gt4tified » July 12th, 2011, 6:34 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:^^ unsure of what you mean by that

x2. :?

I mentioned Torq by M-Audio. Anyone else tried it...there's a free 30 day trial. I like the layout and effects section.

Smokey, I like that v-player you posted. I was gonna say it reminded me of my first dual cd player a Denon DN-2000, when I saw you said it looked like the ole skool Numark players....quite true!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 12th, 2011, 7:06 pm

never tried the torq but i heard that it works well.

ah yes, i had meant to say denon dn2000 in my previous post. but then again all dual cd players kinda used to look the same back then... play/pause, cue, pitch bend, nudge/frame seek, pitch slider and eject button....that was it!

Samo

Postby Samo » July 13th, 2011, 7:59 am

sooo can we post where our sound system playing out?
i play for my cuz....full crown amps micro tech series...12x12 sys. subs with PACrim from natty..RCF bass and tops.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 13th, 2011, 8:49 am

The Deejay system you posted there reminds me of PCDJ Silver

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 13th, 2011, 8:51 am

I don't think you could even make a playlist on that. Ahh yes... windows 95...

Samo

Postby Samo » July 13th, 2011, 9:00 am

any tuners workin on radio?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 13th, 2011, 4:15 pm

^^yea I wa ah radio wok.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 13th, 2011, 10:31 pm

I am a beginner, is this a good buy?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 14th, 2011, 9:43 am

it kool for vdj starters..had it...works pretty for bedroom dj.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 14th, 2011, 9:44 am

what u guys think of the idj 2 by numark?

Samo

Postby Samo » July 14th, 2011, 9:59 am

hmmm.....havent yet seen or read abt tha.
only controller i fiddle round from numark was the Ns7....an it was/is grt!!!
gettin the Ns6 in aug/sept.....if money is well.