Why wasnt Sheldon Bissessar nomiated by TTASA for FCB sports

Re: Why wasnt Sheldon Bissessar nomiated by TTASA for FCB sp

Postby sMASH » January 20th, 2011, 4:26 pm

hurray!! trinis gettin pairs now! i would have liked to be part of this.

out of control

Postby out of control » January 20th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Vote them out now , Duane for President of TTASA

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2011, 9:59 pm

^ lol no thank you

I am honoured by the nomination but I simply do not have the credentials necessary for taking up such a position.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 20th, 2011, 10:20 pm

^^ Support Duane for President.

But then every conceivable claim will be made to show why he is ineligible.

And then they will send it to FCB for them to decide :drinking:

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » January 21st, 2011, 3:42 pm

^ LOL LOL ... Maybe that is when the silence will be broken ....

FASSBTT

Postby FASSBTT » January 22nd, 2011, 9:41 am

Excuse our ignorance here but wasnt the "official" response from TTASA supposed to be given yesterday? This is actually the second promised "official" response and NOTHING!

This cant be accepted and should not be accepted by all the supporters, enthusiasts and competitors of Motorsport! If they are allowed to once again get away with doing what they want thats all that will continue all the time and without dealing with this unacceptable behavior, they will beleive they could do anything they choose to anyone of our motorsport personnel.

With all due respect to every motosport competitor, thier friends and supporters, you need to voice your disgust more and louder once you agree that this is not correct.

Unfortunately THEIR NOMINEE looks like he's not going to ask for his nomination to be withdrawn although his success or lack of was publicly noted. A truly sad day in motorsports.

Again, TTASA feels we will just go away but we have only just begun. The FCB Sports Award is just the begining and WE WONT JUST FADE AWAY AND WONT STOP UNTIL JUSTICE IS SERVED

Postby SUPAstarr » January 22nd, 2011, 9:46 am

What time is the interview on I95 with Rawle?

Postby sMASH » January 22nd, 2011, 10:48 am

boi, i know real hard back racer, u could say, kissin up, to stay in their good graces because they so want the opportunity to race officially. the racing so enticing them, they don't want to jeopardize their chances.

but they have to realize that if they continue bending over, they relinquish all power to ttasa, and then we would remain with a banana republic racing system.

i not blaming the individual racers as much, because they can only challenge them to change by opposing them, the only way opposition would work is if the band together, and we all know how much brotherhood there is in this racing fraternity.

FASSBTT

Postby FASSBTT » January 22nd, 2011, 11:07 am

Great points sMASH but everyone, fellow supporters and competitors should sit and really think where we are, where we want to go and if what has been going on not only with the issue of the wrongful nomination fro the FCB Sports Awards but in the general conduct and handling of all the different motorsport types we all love will best be served by TTASA.

The answer is simply NO.

We beleive that if our fellow supporters and competitors of ALL types of Motosports really love and have a passion for their sport and want to have a future for all in Motorsport, they should get up and stand up for what is right and not stop until justice is served. We certainly wont.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2011, 12:21 pm

First thing, re Andre Baptiste I95.5 radio program, tonight Sat. 22nd , from approx 6:45pm – live, and then he heads off to Synergy TV to continue this discussion – maybe the elusive responses might be made by some anonymous representative of the distinguished body.

I clearly heard Roger Sant on CNC3 saying on Wed. night that having asked the president for a comment, it was indicated that an official statement will be made by Friday, was this the 21st?

But did the president also not say the same thing to his own membership last Wed. 12th ? And they are still waiting.

So the contempt for all and sundry continues. And again we ask if the FCB Awards committee should not also TAKE ACTION SINCE THEIR MISSION - AIMS AND OBJECTIVES CLEARLY STATE:

Mission (Aims & Objectives) 

The First Citizens Sports Foundation is a support agency for Sport in Trinidad and Tobago with the following aims and objectives:
1 To encourage participation in sport.
2. [u]To recognize and encourage [u]outstanding performances and good sportsmanship. 
[/u][/u]

And I understand that the objects of TTASA also clearly state…
“To stimulate and encourage the public’s support for Motor Sport activities.”

Have any of the above objectives by both parties been really achieved?

Or just the opposite?

FASSBTT

Postby FASSBTT » January 22nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

Autosport, our group is also considering to include questions to the FCB Sports Award committee via the media as remaining silent on the issue is also unacceptable.

As you mentioned, their Mission (Aims & Objectives) # 2. To recognize and encourage [u]outstanding performances and good sportsmanship. 
[/u] speaks volumes but actions are louder than words and their action to date = to a big fat zero!

WHO HAD THE OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE - SHELDON BISSESSAR

WHO IS SHOWING GOOD SPORTSMANSHIP - NOT THEIR NOMINEE, NOT TTASA and theirs is under question!

We understand the topic has been discussed with some of the FCB Sports Award committee personel and their response has apparently been the nomination is up to the relevent authorities and in this case, unfortunately its TTASA.

A question then - if TTASA recommended someone who was a fisherman, conducting known illegal trade, would they have accepted this? We are sure not and every possible attempt to resolve the issue would have been taken but in this instance, where the performance between both of the competitors are as clear as they get, nothing has been done.

How can you nominate someone for an award when all they did was attend the races and not perform in any of the races they attended. Well, that would mean that I could train, enter and run against Bolt all year long and expect to be nominated although I would have dropped out the race half way, tounge hanging and gasping for breath. But, I will be smart and hold my head high as though I did great.

How is the public going to view the FCB Sports Awards concept after 2010 knowing the wrong doing, knowing that the FCB Sports Awards committee did nothing to correct the obvious mistake TTASA has made. As important, how will THEIR NOMINEE feel knowing that all of Trinidad & Tobago is fully aware of his lack of success for 2010 and they will compare it with Sheldon's incredible success. SHAME ON TTASA, SHAME ON the FCB Sports Award committee AND SHAME ON THEIR NOMINEE.

The awards presentation is in a few weeks and we will be getting louder and louder with our efforts for justice AND WONT JUST FADE AWAY

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2011, 1:47 pm

Slow down a lil bit…

With all that has been unearthed, and the facts:
(a) That cannot now be challenged as far as performances are concerned (oh unless what was presented is different to what we all know)
(b) It must be noted that the FCB committee are very much aware as to what the public knows and what THEY now know
(c) And then our little research showing their own established criteria that has NOT been met, that has obviously been breached by this body, and their, the nominating body, continued attempts to deceive the intelligent is just not working.

Can the FCB still adopt a hands-off approach and say they will address this after the Awards function, turn a blind eye, and simply adopt a position of accepting what was given to them, in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary?

Definitely not! If it is too late to have their nominee do the honourable thing and step down, and show true sportsmanship, then the FCB Awards committee should now do the correct thing and be decisive and withdraw that non-achieving nominee. Maybe some can turn up at the Awards function with nice placards showing…

4 0 0 0 0 = Best Driver in the World!

This will leave a decidedly nasty taste in the minds and mouths of all who have been seeking to establish the highest ethical standards in all forms of Sport, and certainly leave many wondering if there are many similar instances that may be existing among other nominees.

At least the Motor Sport fraternity is not allowing this disgraceful situation to be swept under any carpet.

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2011, 3:42 pm

AutoSport wrote:Slow down a lil bit…

With all that has been unearthed, and the facts:
(a) That cannot now be challenged as far as performances are concerned (oh unless what was presented is different to what we all know)
(b) It must be noted that the FCB committee are very much aware as to what the public knows and what THEY now know
(c) And then our little research showing their own established criteria that has NOT been met, that has obviously been breached by this body, and their, the nominating body, continued attempts to deceive the intelligent is just not working.

Can the FCB still adopt a hands-off approach and say they will address this after the Awards function, turn a blind eye, and simply adopt a position of accepting what was given to them, in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary?

Definitely not! If it is too late to have their nominee do the honourable thing and step down, and show true sportsmanship, then the FCB Awards committee should now do the correct thing and be decisive and withdraw that non-achieving nominee. Maybe some can turn up at the Awards function with nice placards showing…

4 0 0 0 0 = Best Driver in the World!

This will leave a decidedly nasty taste in the minds and mouths of all who have been seeking to establish the highest ethical standards in all forms of Sport, and certainly leave many wondering if there are many similar instances that may be existing among other nominees.

At least the Motor Sport fraternity is not allowing this disgraceful situation to be swept under any carpet.

rawle, when? where?
drinks before / during / after?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2011, 5:00 pm

Aye Wagon, Slow down a lil bit…

drinks before / during / after right trough , no stopping,

4 0 0 0 0 drinks being made available

4 0 0 0 0 placards being made available

4 0 0 0 0 motor sport lovers will make themselves available to cheer on this nominee

4 0 0 0 0 .... you continue

Rallypeong

Postby Rallypeong » January 23rd, 2011, 10:51 am

Well done to Robbie, Narend and Rawle on the radio yesterday
YOu guys are my heroes.
Well, more robbie, as I am already in his fan club.

Rallypeong

Postby Rallypeong » January 24th, 2011, 9:24 am

Any response from TTASA?

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » January 24th, 2011, 12:25 pm

Ok guys, we have heard and said a lot from one end of this story, some light has been shed from the other:

A few facts regarding TTASA's nomination and how this is viewed considering the system of FIA governance:

• TTASA will/is supposed to only entertain/consider racers with an FIA license. They are bound by their code/agreement with the FIA regarding this.

I found a link which outlines this:
http://www.fia.com/sport/regulations/co ... l_doc.html

• Sheldon has an IHRA license which is accepted at NHRA. NHRA is now in charge of FIA's Drag Racing arm. While this will allow him to race in the US it does not apply to Trinidad & Tobago, since we have an officially recognised (by FIA) organisation (ASN) here.

As a result, they will not recognize Sheldon's performance. Sheldon has been invited to speak to the FIA Caribbean representative to regularize his FIA licensing and thus put him in a position to have ACCUS, the Automobile Competition Committee for the United States certify his performance, i.e. measure the track, check systems, witness runs etc.

Here's the link to ACCUS:
http://www.accusfia.us/
http://www.accusfia.us/member_clubs.html

ACCUS is the FIA Group for the USA, they are made up of Grand-Am, IMSA, USAC, NASCAR, NHRA, SCCA, IndyCar and WKA. If ACCUS could have certified Sheldon's runs at least at the last meet then there would have been something to consider. Although the NHRA is part of ACCUS and in charge of FIA's Drag Racing, they are viewed as a company that does drag racing events, as AutoSport would have done in T&T.

So from the TTASA side, lots of things were not in place to recognize Sheldon's performance - late membership fees, no locally certified FIA license (as per required procedure) and no ACCUS certification.

There will be an official response this week on the FCB nomination from TTASA.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » January 24th, 2011, 12:28 pm

More facts:
• Daniel Ramoutarsingh has his FIA license and all necessary documents at the level of ACCUS to be recognised.

Question/Opinion:
What about Ravi Singh?

Postby SUPAstarr » January 24th, 2011, 12:34 pm

Question/Opinion:
What has Daniel Ramoutarsingh done to deserve nomination, if there is no suitable candidate do you jus send up anybody with an FIA license???? IS IT BECAUSE HE IS A TRINI OUTSIDE RACING??? IS THERE ANYBODY ELSE OUT THERE RACING??? If what you posted above was the case then TTASA SHOULD HAVE SENT NOBODY!!!! SINCE SHELDON DOES NOT QUALIFY, DANIEL DID NOT DO OUTSTANDINGLY WELL, (an well sombody find out if ravi is FIA licensed, if yes the he shud be the nominee if no, the above stands)

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2011, 12:41 pm

[devil's advocate]is it fair to expect to be nominated by a body to which you pay your fees late / owe fees to or do not belong to altogether - or follow the process to be recognized by said body?[/devil's advocate]

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » January 24th, 2011, 12:44 pm

TTASA nominated winners of the SFGP to receive awards....i wonder if that track...eh hem roadway was FIA certified.............oh and this award was for Rallying when actually rallying was not even a criteria for winning a rally award.

Sorry come again TTASA....

Postby pete » January 24th, 2011, 2:27 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Question/Opinion:
What has Daniel Ramoutarsingh done to deserve nomination, if there is no suitable candidate do you jus send up anybody with an FIA license???? IS IT BECAUSE HE IS A TRINI OUTSIDE RACING??? IS THERE ANYBODY ELSE OUT THERE RACING??? If what you posted above was the case then TTASA SHOULD HAVE SENT NOBODY!!!! SINCE SHELDON DOES NOT QUALIFY, DANIEL DID NOT DO OUTSTANDINGLY WELL, (an well sombody find out if ravi is FIA licensed, if yes the he shud be the nominee if no, the above stands)

Have to disagree with you. Should always send someone, even if they didn't win a bunch of races.

Do TTKA members have FIA licenses and are they TTASA members? If so then I find that they should promote the sport by putting the youth up for the award in the event that nobody who qualifies otherwise has excelled.

Postby SUPAstarr » January 24th, 2011, 3:19 pm

TTKA affiliated with MATT so forget that suggestion, but i must disagree with you pete, go back to where tuners quoted what the FCB awards seeks to do, think to your self if it is right to send someone who has not excelled for the award. If no one excels/qualifies then you might as well put names in a hat an pick one. When someone asks, well what did you do to get nominated yuh cant even say yuh win any thing or did better than anybody, the awards is for ppl who are deserving of recognition for their performances.

Postby pete » January 24th, 2011, 3:50 pm

I guess for auto racing it's difficult to gauge someone's success as compared to other sports where there are local competitions year round.

Interestingly Sheldon was nominated in 2008 and 2009 so surely he would know what needs to be done to get nominated.. unless TTASA just used a loophole this year?

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2011, 4:09 pm

pete wrote:I guess for auto racing it's difficult to gauge someone's success as compared to other sports where there are local competitions year round.

Interestingly Sheldon was nominated in 2008 and 2009 so surely he would know what needs to be done to get nominated.. unless TTASA just used a loophole this year?

Then that should attract some swift attention. Can it be shown whether or not Sheldon filed those documents, in those years?

Postby SR » January 24th, 2011, 5:56 pm

nice to know that ttasa expects you to keep them up to date with your achievements rather than they keep up to date themsleves

i say booshit on ttasa's response and its just a loophole thy are using to justify thier decision

ttasa has NEVER given a rats arse to drag racing PERIOD
and unless you are onboard with the way they want things run SALT fuh yuh

the last 20 years speaks for itself with how ttasa handles anything to do with drag racing in this country

Postby sMASH » January 24th, 2011, 8:57 pm

damn, the russians should have said that nasa did not register with the russian space agency so their claim to the first lunar landing is nullified.

if the logistics of ttasa bureaucracy say is so, then is so. it just goes to prove that what they say is good isn't good enough, and they need an overhaul of their policies, and mission statement.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » January 25th, 2011, 9:58 am

sMASH wrote:damn, the russians should have said that nasa did not register with the russian space agency so their claim to the first lunar landing is nullified.

if the logistics of ttasa bureaucracy say is so, then is so. it just goes to prove that what they say is good isn't good enough, and they need an overhaul of their policies, and mission statement.

Genius comment....haha

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2011, 7:17 pm

the following is the official release from TTASA regarding this matter:

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » January 26th, 2011, 8:04 pm

ACCUS - The Automobile Competition Committee of the Unites States (ACCUS) is the National Sporting Authority (ASN) of the FIA for the US

ACCUS is comprised of the seven major motor sports sanctioning organizations (known as member clubs): Grand Am, IMSA, Indy Car, NASCAR, NHRA, SCCA, and USAC, each nominating two directors to its board. Additionally, a number of independents are elected annually. The World Karting Association (WKA) is an Associate Member

I have to read a lot more in detail as to the response and take some time to check my facts but this immediately stood out as very interesting to me. This is exactly what we have been trying to do with local motorsport. We have even asked TTASA to accept our organizations (TTRC, TTKA, CARS, AS, TTMF, TORMATT) in the exact same manner - i.e. 2 directors/board members whichever, and for quite a while now this is seemingly impossible. We have even suggested to them to keep the name TTASA and we will simply re-organize the top to suit equal representation much like ACCUS. Guess we don't need to take an example from the not so popular motorsporting region of the US.

I am going to check my facts and will respond shortly