Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby Rooki3 » March 24th, 2012, 9:51 pm

interesting thread

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » March 25th, 2012, 10:11 am

the offshore job comes with that sacrifice...some spend a short time and get out to an office based post... some are lucky to find that balance with work and family life... those who stay accept and/or deal with the consequences...

I would advise newbies to know what they are getting into, its not made for everyone,get your experience but always look towards getting an office/land based post.

Postby sMASH » March 25th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Gladiator wrote:
sMASH wrote:hey, on a side note, we were told tha t BP is commissioning another rig to supply nat gas,is that so?

there were some shift change ups by us, and my super's asked that i go on-call in december, right after being on-call in november. i said no and there was a lil squabble, he tellin me that time will come that i would need a favor done, and no one will step up.
most times we off for weekends, i on call, so most times any body doin any ting, i outta the loop.

but ten years is the service of regular frequent night shifts taking its toll, and i eh want to do dat no more. just now is time for me to pelt out. those of u who spartan enough to keep u, power to u, but this roman getting out; cyar take on night shift no more.

Do eeet man... I left and will never turn back. Life is full of stuff that money cannot buy.

Honestly, it isn't all about the money. Some people like myself cannot be comfortable with a 8-4 job. I can't bear the thought of waking at the same time, coming to work for the same time,having lunch at the same time,leaving at the same time EVERY SINGLE working day. Besides 4 days off is plenty time to catch up on home/family/interests.

pam iz yuh famalay??? :lol:
hoss, e'ry body i know is monday-friday, weekends off.
a couple of times, for lil projects and trainings and what not, i got assigned to daylight 8hrs week day stints, and i hadda say, it was nice. the work did not feel like work (i not referin to the training sessions, although some were intense).

look what goin on now. my shift getting to be off on weekends now, and i not on-call... but i got re-assigned to the shift opposite me, so i still working weekends.

yeah, i bitchin a bit, but is really to show more sides and allow for a more detailed evaluation of a life step. some people made for it, some people not.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » March 25th, 2012, 1:47 pm

sMASH wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
sMASH wrote:hey, on a side note, we were told tha t BP is commissioning another rig to supply nat gas,is that so?

there were some shift change ups by us, and my super's asked that i go on-call in december, right after being on-call in november. i said no and there was a lil squabble, he tellin me that time will come that i would need a favor done, and no one will step up.
most times we off for weekends, i on call, so most times any body doin any ting, i outta the loop.

but ten years is the service of regular frequent night shifts taking its toll, and i eh want to do dat no more. just now is time for me to pelt out. those of u who spartan enough to keep u, power to u, but this roman getting out; cyar take on night shift no more.

Do eeet man... I left and will never turn back. Life is full of stuff that money cannot buy.

Honestly, it isn't all about the money. Some people like myself cannot be comfortable with a 8-4 job. I can't bear the thought of waking at the same time, coming to work for the same time,having lunch at the same time,leaving at the same time EVERY SINGLE working day. Besides 4 days off is plenty time to catch up on home/family/interests.

pam iz yuh famalay??? :lol:
hoss, e'ry body i know is monday-friday, weekends off.
a couple of times, for lil projects and trainings and what not, i got assigned to daylight 8hrs week day stints, and i hadda say, it was nice. the work did not feel like work (i not referin to the training sessions, although some were intense).

look what goin on now. my shift getting to be off on weekends now, and i not on-call... but i got re-assigned to the shift opposite me, so i still working weekends.

yeah, i bitchin a bit, but is really to show more sides and allow for a more detailed evaluation of a life step. some people made for it, some people not.

working shift in some plant cannot be compared to working offshore........offshore is 12 hrs shifts....everyday.

Postby sMASH » March 25th, 2012, 5:47 pm

so that even more depriving. all in all, can u deal with the social aspect?

geodude

Postby geodude » March 25th, 2012, 8:43 pm

i have been dealing with it for almost 5 years now, its has it ups and downs, i have spend more than 2 consecutive months on a rig already, right now i am on day 24th with about 10 more to go hopefully.
it really depends on the individual,
what i have realised is that it helps a lot if the person thinks they are doing this because they want to rather than because they need to do this, cause then it sort of like a jail sentence, in their minds

some pll ask me to link them up and i look at them and be like nah doh u ent go make it.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » March 25th, 2012, 11:48 pm

@ geodude and blitzmackenzie can u guys lend a hand,i'm not a 100% qualified but i do have the basics roustabout and roughnecks certificates etc .......honestly speaking i never expected the field to be so hard to land a job .. in my case i don't know anyone willing to at least "squeeze me in " an i could at least move from there,i wanna further my studies with some other courses but my current occupation denied me the time too so like they say i just want to get my foot in the door......anyone reading and cud assist me in anyway plzzzz do, not online often contact me on 308 8286 ( Mark ) they say prayers can be answered so i'M PRAYING FOR A RESPONSE

geodude

Postby geodude » March 26th, 2012, 2:09 am

U check Lennox and WellServices?

i would have thought that with the recent influx of rigs in to trini waters that all of you guys would have found jobs by now,

not promising anything but i will make a few calls and see what is available

Postby janfar » March 26th, 2012, 3:34 am

geodude wrote:U check Lennox and WellServices?

i would have thought that with the recent influx of rigs in to trini waters that all of you guys would have found jobs by now,

not promising anything but i will make a few calls and see what is available

All these companies hire employees thru Community unemployment groups in fear of reprisals, protests etc. If your are not part of one of these groups it is very difficult to get in as a starter level.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » March 26th, 2012, 7:29 am

@ geodude that will be appreciated ...i tried JSL International 3 times and no reply ...but people keep asking why i don"t think of another career ..i say i"m not giving up 4 of my friends gave up on searching and now they more miserable than ever ....but i"m hoping for a response soon from anyone who can assist .......thnxx

Postby crazybalhead » March 26th, 2012, 7:30 am

Janfar, you are slandering the Mayaro people sir. I have never heard of guys locking the door and threatening anybody for jobs "or else", while brandishing a cutlass. The very idea is preposterous sir!!!

Wait...wut???

Postby tr1ad » March 26th, 2012, 8:29 am

ask Rambo from LPSL about that incident nah

Postby janfar » March 26th, 2012, 8:39 am

My my... look Rob...***runs from redman brandishing cutlass***

Postby Sky » March 26th, 2012, 9:08 am

BlitzMekenzie wrote:kk cool...im on rig 2-bravo, recently started though..all the best

Hats off to you, sir.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » March 26th, 2012, 11:54 am

Sky wrote:
BlitzMekenzie wrote:kk cool...im on rig 2-bravo, recently started though..all the best

Hats off to you, sir.

Lol

REGISD

Postby REGISD » March 26th, 2012, 1:23 pm

I think i need a change of scenry and need to do something different to make money. always wanted to work offshore for a bit and save.Somebody link me with an offshore or oil company job .Am a hard, good and honest worker need a change.

Postby Rooki3 » March 26th, 2012, 2:54 pm

why everybody want "link"? get off yur asses & get

Postby S_2NR » March 26th, 2012, 3:24 pm

Rooki3 wrote:why everybody want "link"? get off yur asses & get

notsureifsrs

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 26th, 2012, 3:37 pm

Only a weak minded person would hide behind 'family life and social time'.

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » March 26th, 2012, 5:54 pm

whats the requirements for a roustabout position??

Postby crazybalhead » March 26th, 2012, 5:56 pm

Mercenary wrote:Only a weak minded person would hide behind 'family life and social time'.

A weak minded person will not see the value of family life.

Postby Gladiator » March 26th, 2012, 8:42 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Strangely, IMO offshore life was exactly as you described there.... for 1 maybe 2 months at a time, same routine, just on a rig, ship or barge with the same exact people...

4 days is plenty time for family?... if you married and have a family of your own, them 4 days will seem like 4 hours.

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » March 26th, 2012, 10:06 pm

nightwolf wrote:
BlitzMekenzie wrote:anyone working Galeota on bayfield rigs??

I do, currently on the Gorilla though.

M.V. Bywater Liberty here.... does that count?
Our vessel handles standby and supply services for Bayfield's platforms, I'm sure u guys would know us...

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » March 27th, 2012, 5:40 am

crazybalhead wrote:
Mercenary wrote:Only a weak minded person would hide behind 'family life and social time'.

A weak minded person will not see the value of family life.

He didn't say "no value in family time".....he said "hide behind it".....

As an offshore worker you have to make use of your time on the land with your family, but there are people who always have some issue at home and have to go home and changes in crew change because of some minor family issue.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 27th, 2012, 6:07 am

sure man,
oddly enough around the holidays man grandmother does dead every year and thing,

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » March 27th, 2012, 10:09 am

crazybalhead wrote:Janfar, you are slandering the Mayaro people sir. I have never heard of guys locking the door and threatening anybody for jobs "or else", while brandishing a cutlass. The very idea is preposterous sir!!!

Wait...wut???

one of my guys was followed once from Galeota to Rio Claro by a "clip".......

gencon

Postby gencon » March 27th, 2012, 12:37 pm

nil nil
Last edited by gencon on April 13th, 2012, 12:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » March 27th, 2012, 10:10 pm

for me since 2008 i was offshore and its all wat u guys said it was an more....its not easy...made my last an final hitch last week...finally on d hard now and im stayin ...lol

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2012, 11:38 am

Hey Any North Sea People here? I got a stint in a few months

trinilove4u

Postby trinilove4u » March 28th, 2012, 12:39 pm

janfar wrote:OP... relax yuh skunt and enjoy the scenery... you have plenty time that you could make up... i doing this same thing 4 yrs now and i aint sick of it...

1. You will soon get the opportunity to work in ops land based (im assuming you work in the D&E/MWD)
2. After 30 you can kick back and enjoy your spoils. When plenty people will still be working hard to make ends meet at age 40 and even 50... your friends complaining, you will then realise how much it was worth the sacrfice...

Cheers.

Not disgruntled career expat.

Best advice I read thus far!