Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

ESS

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby ESS » July 23rd, 2010, 9:08 am

In meh mother belly
Last edited by ESS on July 23rd, 2010, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby foss » July 23rd, 2010, 9:10 am

i haz rel unkle on tuner :D

i only remember the curfew part of the whole event, think I spent the time watching news *_*

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 23rd, 2010, 9:15 am

21 yrs old, big lime in Westmoorings... lasted a few days

Postby SR » July 23rd, 2010, 9:19 am

brushin a ting in kay donna

Postby teems1 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:19 am

4 years, was learning to swim in Langmore

didn't really understand all the fuss all the old people were making

Postby turbosingh » July 23rd, 2010, 9:22 am

Wuz 2yrs old but didnt really care what wuz goin on once it had food!

Postby cinco » July 23rd, 2010, 9:28 am

Post subject: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

doing your mother Image

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » July 23rd, 2010, 9:29 am

Deepthoughts wrote:
Were you in school?

umm since it was July 27, school was closed for the July/August vacation period so being in school is not a viable option...

I don’t remember the little mermaid showing, but I do remember Pinocchio…an trying to reach home before 6pm one evening with my family scared we’d be shot if we didn’t make it on time….

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 23rd, 2010, 9:35 am

tr1ad wrote:it ha real lil pickney pon d forum

If it have pickney??????? Man still in mudder belly an ting!

We was in Pointe-a-Pierre camp at the time, never see so much friends belt it to reach dey for 6pm. My mudder was buying nuff groceries cuz de house packed with friends and we limin whole night an wokin in de refinery whole day. No curfew fuh we back den!!!!!

Real good times, even my parent used to be limin till late in de night during de week.

urabus

Postby urabus » July 23rd, 2010, 9:36 am

i was too young to understand what was going on..all i knew my dad use to have to go to work still and we all at home use to be dead worried about him....

devrat

Postby devrat » July 23rd, 2010, 9:42 am

Bareback wrote:

If it have pickney??????? Man still in mudder belly an ting!

We was in Pointe-a-Pierre camp at the time, never see so much friends belt it to reach dey for 6pm. My mudder was buying nuff groceries cuz de house packed with friends and we limin whole night an wokin in de refinery whole day. No curfew fuh we back den!!!!!

Real good times, even my parent used to be limin till late in de night during de week.

Was 20 and living in Camp at the time also.....when they closed the gates at 6pm....party started, house to house all night.

Postby rollingstock » July 23rd, 2010, 9:58 am

Was 10 playing marble pitch in the front yard.

Chipz

Postby Chipz » July 23rd, 2010, 10:11 am

foss wrote:i haz rel unkle on tuner :D

i only remember the curfew part of the whole event, think I spent the time watching news *_*

Unkle is joke.....it have rell men on the forum who still was in supligen pack :|

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2010, 10:18 am

First day of operation for my parents bar
Business was goin good till somebody ran in bawlin 'ay allyuh, Bakar tek ova, tong bunnin dong'
the whole bar buss out laughin til we put on the tele
whole bar fell silent
I remember walking thru POS in the aftermath........could not believe this could happen in my country....remember looking at the burnt out streets, and the bullet holes in police headquarters.......still couldn't believe it.......
Anybody have a copy of the song emmett Hennesy did in tribute? Think it was called 'The Men In Blue and Grey' or summ so

devrat

Postby devrat » July 23rd, 2010, 10:27 am

^^^^Yeah MG you real friggin old boy.............wait.........steups Dammit

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2010, 10:27 am

I was 7 helping pops sell in the store, everyone was rushing to get groceries........

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 23rd, 2010, 10:40 am

I was 16 years old.... turned on the TV for my mom to watch her evening soap opera rerun and saw men with guns on TTT news set. Was some scary sheit :!:

Was really glad my Bro just filled the tank in his car and we went to the Grocery earlier that same week.

I think I established personal record on how many times I watched Batman for the next few days :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 10:42 am

Greypatch wrote:real snatty nose ppl here

YUHUNNASTAN?

I was 16 and heading over the Lady Young to go collect a car from painter in Santa Cruzwith my old man.
Saw the smoke from there and we though nothing of it.Reached by the painter in time to hear this sheit and then....Well, the next 2 weeks was a blur for obvious reasons.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 23rd, 2010, 10:53 am

Hmm I was home in the yard pelting stones on the ppl house... Moms came outside caught me and didn't care she said " you and your brother come inside fast!! " Thinking it was a cut arse going to share she locked up the house and ran back to the tv.. There is where I saw the news reporter speaking about some the happenings in parliment and the group of muslims stormed the station... All I remember after that was looking at Pac man cartoon cause the tv station went off air for a while.

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2010, 11:21 am

lola.308 wrote:15?? Jeebus you're old MG. I was 7.....
I was by my friend Leiya waiting for my mom to pick me up after riding bike whole day.

dat doh mean we cya still bull eh :mrgreen:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 23rd, 2010, 11:23 am

Not sure where everyone is located, but in South life was like normal during the curfew, except for the curfew. Life went on, wok in de oil, stop by the rumshop to fill before 6, gone home, bath, eat, an go an lime again in de Camp. Even off the camp a lot of my friends would have all nite house lime and just go straight to work de nex day.

I have to admit is was a crazy time, but we made some life long friendships during that time. To this day we still talk about the crazy things that happened during that time.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 11:25 am

Picasso wrote:Hmm I was home in the yard pelting meh stones on the ppl

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » July 23rd, 2010, 12:01 pm

I was in a ramayan with d family....8 yrs old....everybody just get up and started to rush out.....I didnt know what was going on until I reach home and put on the tv......I still vex to this day....all I wanted to do was eat ah lil channa and allou...

Jason45

Postby Jason45 » July 23rd, 2010, 12:12 pm

i was 7 yrs old and was in august vacation bible school,and my mother came and grabbed me out of the class and shoved me in the car.Didnt know what was going on until i saw gunmen on TTT.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 12:12 pm

i was eatin a bongo and ridin mih metallic red bmx bike with training wheels, when every parent start runnin out dey houses in towel and hair curlers to pull me an mih pardners inside we houses tryin to explain what a "coo" was.

"Mamee, d pijuns really take ova?"

trouble

Postby trouble » July 23rd, 2010, 12:26 pm

I was 5, didn't really remember much, think I just heard everybody talking about 'coup' but didn't really understand it back then

d spike

Postby d spike » July 23rd, 2010, 12:27 pm

If??? I feelin’ real ol’ now... and MG was a teen? (What it is he been doing to look so old now?)
We had finished harvesting and preparing a load of patchoi for the market. The Land Rover was loaded to the gunnels when a call came on the CB, warning us that Muslimeen had taken over. Now the guy who made the call was the only fellah within range during the day (we didn’t have sidebands then, so it was “payol” Spanish right through), and he was a legendary drinker who only came on the air when his liver was well lubricated. When he realized that we weren’t understanding/believing him, he managed to make one message very clear: “If yuh don’t believe me, turn on yuh radio!” (At the time, FM stations weren’t strong enough to reach us, so we lived off 610 and SW (BBC mostly).

All I can tell you (without resorting to coarse language) is that we sold what patchoi we could in the village... and the rest, we ate. The only thing we didn’t do was roast or barbeque the damned things. For the rest of the coup, it was patchoi and... I refuse to eat it now. Just seeing that blasted chinese cabbage makes my stomach churn.

The only problem we had were two little girls, a darling little cousin and her friend, who came to stay for a few weeks "in the forest". Their parents couldn't come and pick them up at first, and later decided they were a lot safer where they were. When their snacks and stores ran out, they had to eat what we ate - and they didn't eat "veg'tables"... they didn't eat cute bunny rabbits... so each dinner was preceded by the sounds of weeping from the guest room...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 12:29 pm

lola.308 wrote:15?? Jeebus you're old MG. I was 7.....
I was by my friend Leiya waiting for my mom to pick me up after riding bike whole day.

dat doh mean we cya still bull eh :mrgreen:

cause yuh know she has the experience... :lol:

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » July 23rd, 2010, 12:37 pm

was in a beach house -mayaro with the family and relatives and tho i was quite young, i remember the army was on the shore and telling everyone they should pack up and go home for their own safety....because we were not aware of what was taking place....that killed a really good lime ...lol...