3%
Pack up and Leave
3%

Total votes: 277

Re: Hangings

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 17th, 2013, 9:21 pm

marlener wrote:Is hanging a deterrent,answer how many crime has Dole Chadee commited since.We doh fraid to dead then take yuh hanging like ah badman doh appeal.

Problem is they can't find the new Dole Chadees to charge and convict nowadays.

ingalook

Re: Hangings

Postby ingalook » August 18th, 2013, 5:14 am

If you think hangings are a deterrent to crime you know NOTHING about basic human (and animal) psychology...

For hangings to be effective there needs to be little or no lapse between the crime and the punishment i.e. you commit murder in the morning, you are found guilty in the evening - you are hanged the next morning... you see this happening?

From a morality standpoint:

What if our "infallible" justice system makes a mistake? What if if gets it right 20 times and fails once, what is an acceptable margin of error? 1 in 100, 1 in 1000??? Even if it is 1 in 10,000 We the citizens of TnT would have just been part of putting an innocent person to death... I'm not cool with this.

What if that 1 in 10,000 happened to be you, or one of your family. As a moral and developed society, if we can manage to imprison a person for the duration of their life, rather than just kill them, we have a duty to do so. I know it is a strain on the economy etc. and I agree it is better than they deserve usually (though trini prison is no picnic) we just don't get to make that call IMHO

BRZ

Death Penalty used when convenient.

Postby BRZ » March 1st, 2016, 8:03 am

How convenient it is that daily killings are now a part of Sweet Trinidad, yet there is no mention of death penalty when offenders are actually Caught, Yet now when a Prisons officer and Police officer are gunned down the talk about support for the Death Penalty is now brought back to the forefront.

So will this current govt finally reintroduce the death penalty, and further more, actually sentence someone to it and CARRY out the sentencing without the usual Human rights B.S ?

Criminals want to operate as if they cannot be stopped - then lets put a stop to them for good.

Re: Death Penalty used when convenient.

Postby Spitfir3 » March 1st, 2016, 10:36 am

this is going to turn into a death penalty vs detection rate thread real fast

Postby nemisis » March 1st, 2016, 11:07 am

Spitfir3 wrote:this is going to turn into a death penalty vs detection rate thread real fast
because as stated before it makes no sense if you can't reliably CATCH and convict

Postby zoom rader » March 1st, 2016, 11:53 am

Crime is always up with this regime

Postby K74T » March 1st, 2016, 12:08 pm

zoom rader wrote:Crime is always up with this regime

Ent, blasted UNC opposition again!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 1st, 2016, 12:19 pm

when 1 side ready d other side not or finding some fault to make d other look bad , politicking

just pass d damn laws & make some space in d jails ..... :|

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » March 1st, 2016, 12:42 pm

It appears that criminals and gang leaders are the only ones with the expertise and judgement to determine who lives or dies

The courts and state do not have the knowledge or power to decide this

Postby timelapse » March 1st, 2016, 3:28 pm

Give me a katana, I'll gladly execute for the state

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2016, 12:16 am

Didn't the AG announce his intention recently to resume hangings as they were the law?

Postby RASC » March 2nd, 2016, 6:07 am

Social Justice Warrior groups will be out in their hundreds protesting against this.
..and if any indication as to what Womantra has achieved by their FEELINGS being hurt it'll get struck down for sure.

Postby De Dragon » March 2nd, 2016, 6:32 am

RASC wrote:Social Justice Warrior groups will be out in their hundreds protesting against this.
..and if any indication as to what Womantra has achieved by their FEELINGS being hurt it'll get struck down for sure.

Struck down? What? The death penalty law?

Postby zoom rader » March 2nd, 2016, 8:17 am

De Dragon wrote:Didn't the AG announce his intention recently to resume hangings as they were the law?

That was to mislead PNM ppl as he misled ppl thinking he was a Muslim and turns out to be a Christian.

Postby pugboy » March 2nd, 2016, 8:45 am

What amusing is when one govt raise the issue
The opp will oppose
Lewwe see what go happen now

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2016, 8:55 am

1-capital punishment has always been law, & is still so today, you can't bring back what was never removed.

B-capital punishment is a poor deterrent to homicide at best. at worst, it has no effect

III-while I neither support nor oppose capital punishment, I consider it a waste of resources. someone hadda get something back from them for all the trouble & expense they cause before they dead. to feed & house them for years before execution is a monumental waste of resources with zero tangible roi from the exercise.

set up work camps & wuk dem till they too old/mash up to keep going, then string them up. if they feel they shouldnt wuk & nobody could make them do it, they could be easily motivated.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 2nd, 2016, 12:09 pm

Isn't the problem the appeal process and the last port of call the Privy Council?
Isnt the CCJ supposed to fix that?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 2nd, 2016, 12:15 pm

Death Row is a figment of imagination, like AIDS.

Just ask Shango.

Postby 88sins » March 2nd, 2016, 1:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Isn't the problem the appeal process and the last port of call the Privy Council?
Isnt the CCJ supposed to fix that?

& d irony is the sheep still think T&T is "independent" :roll:

Re: HANGings (YAY or NEY)

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2017, 12:28 am

So when we popping necks? :?

Is the Death Penalty Ever Moral?

Postby matr1x » August 9th, 2017, 12:41 am

I say hang them...then set them ablaze

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 9th, 2017, 12:46 am

Well it says here:
Anand Baboolal will suffer death by hanging for the murder of a mother and her baby in Mayaro twelve years ago.

The death sentence was read twice to Baboolal in the San Fernando Supreme Court on Wednesday afternoon by the judge, after the jury returned with a verdict within two hours.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170412/news/baboolal-to-hang-for-killing-mom-baby

But to answer your question, no, death penalty is stupid.
People should be made to pay for their actions. Death penalty is just an easy way out for them while the victims have to deal with their sh1t for the rest of their lives. They worth far more alive. Just make sure they pay their own housing/meals/etc

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 9th, 2017, 12:59 am

Social media has exposed just how corrupt the prison system is.. so keeping them only means they inside... all their vices seems to be met once they have the money/connections

Postby Ben_spanna » August 9th, 2017, 7:45 am

HAnging is too easy for them..... time for our jails to have proper SWEAT boxes- stick them in a holding "box" outside in the sun no bigger than 7foot tall x 2 feet wide x 2 feet - leave them in there for 5 days at a time, almost no sunlight, then stick them back into normal holding cells for a day then stick em back in the "box" for 5 days.
Let them live what jail is supposed to be- a frigging nightmare for the rest of their lives.

Imrany

Postby Imrany » August 9th, 2017, 7:58 am

I say yay and they should have it for repeat offenders like 3rd strikers even if it's for petty theft. People do their crime n say oh their going for a lil vacation.

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2017, 8:13 am

Im all for the death penalty. But more torturous measures are needed.

A gruesome message must be sent out, the only people that should be heartless is the law. Murderes and rapists and their bloodlines must be extinguished.

We need more violent beatings, hanging from the waist and burn, crocodile ponds, gas chambers etc etc...

Harsh? Inhumane? Yeh okay, ask yourself if atrocious acts committed by some criminals are humane. Time to put our foot down...we are at war.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » August 9th, 2017, 8:31 am

Yep n d ones who come wit human rights crap,line dem up n execute dem 1st.....

Postby Dave » August 9th, 2017, 8:38 am

They probably never had someone taken from them due to unnatural circumstances at the hands of another human being

Postby 88sins » August 9th, 2017, 9:22 am

Ben_spanna wrote:HAnging is too easy for them.....

ever seen somebody hang?
trust when I tell you, it ain't pretty, & sure as hell aint easy at all. depending on who & how, it could take anywhere from 2-5 minutes to die if the cervical vertebrae & spinal cord remain intact.
Meanwhile, everything in the head becomes engorged with blood & swells up & turns blue, to the point where eyes can pop out, eardrums burst & blood flows out the ears, tongue swells till it can no longer fit in the mouth so it sticks out, etc. Then there's the noises, the smells & the dancing of the jig the executioner has to hear, smell & watch.
not easy at all. not for the executioner, or the condemned.

Postby MaxPower » August 9th, 2017, 10:21 am

^ noted my good lad.

But 2-5 mins only?

Some victims went through torture for days.