High paying jobs in TT

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 7:06 am

gunsmoke wrote:......woking for $400k+, have real cars, and phoqing real bess oman

Ammm.... no, no and YES! :D

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » February 25th, 2010, 7:06 am

my advice to all aspiring home owners and anyone who wants to make a start in life , 1.you don't have to be a millionaire to live like one.
2. stay away from credit cards
3. loans from banks or any financial institution can help you make easy money -
eg. borrow money , re-invest and pay off loan in the shortest time.
i know someone personally who made himself a millionaire by doing this and he was making only 6k a month
4. have a supportive wife or husband for your future achievements

now i don't or will not post my salary , but my PAYE every month starts at 5k and thats just minimum.
my tax alone last year hit 100k +

labgirl

Postby labgirl » February 25th, 2010, 7:11 am

rebel sounds wrote:my advice to all aspiring home owners and anyone who wants to make a start in life , 1.you don't have to be a millionaire to live like one.
2. stay away from credit cards
3. loans from banks or any financial institution can help you make easy money -
eg. borrow money , re-invest and pay off loan in the shortest time.
i know someone personally who made himself a millionaire by doing this and he was making only 6k a month
4. have a supportive wife or husband for your future achievements

now i don't or will not post my salary , but my PAYE every month starts at 5k and thats just minimum.
my tax alone last year hit 100k +

the best advice so far!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 7:16 am

rebel sounds wrote:2. stay away from credit cards

Nah man.... my gold card bail me out plenty times... just don't abuse them!

Smokey

Postby Smokey » February 25th, 2010, 7:41 am

Just say avoid going into credit card debit rather than avoiding them totally.

Anyway as for how I reached where I am, well i won't go into detail but here's some general advice.

1. Experience is more important than qualifications (once you have the minimum qualifications i.e.). Therefore, if you start your career among people you cannot learn from leave. I started my career with a boss who was possibly the best in the caribbean at what he does. That 1.5 years I stayed with him had reach a level that was on par or higher with men with 10 years experience or more in my field.

2. It helps greatly to stay ontop of your field by reading online blogs, magazines etc.

3. Learn the most popular software used in your field inside out!

4. Network! talk to as much people in your industry as you can and put yourself out there, the only reason my salary is 24K is because my current employer did not want to lose me to a competitor.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 7:54 am

Smokey wrote:1. Experience is more important than qualifications

That is so true. When I first started cleaning up ppl s#it, I only knew one way... but I quickly learned from more experienced ppl the proper methods for cleaning up different types of s#it.

Smokey wrote:2. It helps greatly to stay ontop of your field by reading online blogs, magazines etc.

Yes, there is tons of information on s#it out there if you know where to look.

Smokey wrote:3. Learn the most popular software used in your field inside out!
Well they were using Microsoft products when I started... still using it today... that softare was s#it from day one! I don't use that s#it at home though.

Smokey wrote:4. Network!
Best advice this! I know real ppl in this s#it... an everyone have s#itty stories to tell!
Last edited by Computerman on February 25th, 2010, 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » February 25th, 2010, 7:55 am

d spike wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:
250kTT/month

dais Calder hart

Yuh boy could try he hand in agriculture...
it have dat kinda money dey...

why boi :?

i feelin fuh a piece ah

lemme not get d ppl ched lock eh :lol:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 8:10 am

buzz wrote:
d spike wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:[quote]
250kTT/month

dais Calder hart

i feelin fuh a piece ah

lemme not get d ppl ched lock eh :lol:[/quote]
Well dem bess be careful how dem cultivatin dat... WASA police guh charge dem if dey waterin wit hose!

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 25th, 2010, 8:53 am

Smokey wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:Smokey, I must say you are very brave for posting yur earning here

May god be with you, when the men knock @ your door later

Me nuh worried...no body here know me (at least not on this profile :D )

Hope you sure about that eh Mr. R

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 25th, 2010, 9:07 am

Smokey wrote:2. It helps greatly to stay ontop of your field by reading online blogs, magazines etc.

Thanks for saying this. ALOT of folks do not read and keep abreast with their own field let alone the wider local and international markets. This is especially important for those wanting to be their own entrepreneurs or businessmen. You can't reach your potential if you don't read, take courses here and there, and just keep up-to-date with the latest happenings.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 25th, 2010, 9:50 am

I think a lot of you in this thread take a short term view of things especially your careers and paths to wealth.Everybody wants to be rich and they want it now but they have no long term plan or foundation.

To the OP your friend included has a very short term view of things.The finance industry is taking a beating at the moment but moving back to Trinidad is moving away from the money.

Ask him how a move from wherever he is now to CL Financial(jus saying) going to look on his CV when he gets bored of Trinidad and wants to get back in the money?

If he really is serious about his career why doesn't he try to move to Asia?

ravi4001

Postby ravi4001 » February 25th, 2010, 11:14 am

He has a 1st degree from Penn State and MBA from Wharton's in the area of finance and about 3 yrs work experience

most he will get is 20K with that experience

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 25th, 2010, 11:16 am

RASC just to clear up a bit....the 3 yrs work experience is prior to his MBA i.e. somewhere between his Bachelors and the MBA he was working....so it's cumulative. So yeah it's strange that he's paid so little now...I don't know....maybe he took the first job offer but a year ago things were really bad .... companies were laying off people with more experience and maybe equal or better qualifications than him....timing was unfortunate the economic crisis in the US hit just as he was looking to 'make a name for himself'

devrat

Postby devrat » February 25th, 2010, 12:51 pm

tr1ad wrote:ah fine it have certain men in this thread that does rate up themselves

They are working for "big money" and they are proud of it....nothing wrong with that.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 25th, 2010, 1:24 pm

Sky wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Sky wrote:1st, I never said the jobs were secure. I said you can get capital to move onto better things.

It have no second nah. Since the beginning of time there were hustlers. And your opinion can't stop them.

I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?

I wonder if the majority send their children to McGill, McMaster, Queens Mary and Oxford?

I wonder if the majority have shares in major conglomerates within and outside the Caribbean or do they prefer to stuff their earnings in brassieres and under mattresses?

I wonder if all they have to show of their hard earnings is the squandering on fancy cars, bling jewelry and material possessions ?

I wonder?

Success is a mindset. Though quantifiably attainable it is often less maintainable by the mind/vision/goal that can only see so far ahead.

So what is this now? A generalization?
Please speak about what you know. If you don't know anyone (and evidently you don't) that took this route and made it to that status, then don't judge. Living that kind of life doesn't mean you won't put the money in a bank :?
It doesn't mean they won't give their kids a good education :?
I know someone who just came back from Canada with a Bach in earth science, and their father drives a maxi.
Your colours are showing. Hide them.

Clearly you've missed the point.

My point is many hustlers do not have the discernment to invest in their future and break that cycle of "hustling" by teaching their children, from small, what they have learnt. How come most of those hustlers are making so much but have little to show for it, be it in the form of collateral or investing in a child's education? It's not always about JUST having liquid cash and money in the bank for one to claim they "have reached". Nor is it about driving a fancy car if you can't say for certain you have enough of a cushion to retire at an early age.

My argument has nothing to do with the ability of a hustler to pay for a good education or having bank in the bank. Anyone can do that if they have the will, determination and vision.

But what's the point of it all if your children and your children's children will have to resort to the same "hustle" game to succeed?

This is my point. Not only thinking of your own success but laying the foundation and molding a mindset that will guarantee success for your future generation. Majority of hustlers aren't doing that and can only see so far ahead. Often times their success begins and ends with them.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » February 25th, 2010, 1:40 pm

boball

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 25th, 2010, 2:10 pm

i'm curious to know what avg income is here /mth

devrat

Postby devrat » February 25th, 2010, 2:13 pm

10 - 15K ?????

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » February 25th, 2010, 2:17 pm

from what's posted here....there is no such thing as an AVERAGE income

Postby tr1ad » February 25th, 2010, 2:26 pm

devrat wrote:
tr1ad wrote:ah fine it have certain men in this thread that does rate up themselves

They are working for "big money" and they are proud of it....nothing wrong with that.

my bad my bad

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 4:04 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:i'm curious to know what avg income is here /mth
Well I can't speak for the other ppl here, but I make $1,600.00 a month!! Yeah, I know that's alot... but that's before tips!! If I factor that in I could take home as much as $1650, or in a really good month $1670!! Don't be jealous, you too can make that kinda dough! You just got to stick with your job! I been with the same company now for over 14 years... and I started at $1200 and worked my way up. I have no formal education to speak of and my grasp of the english language is minuscule at best. Don't worry... one day you can get here too!! Oh, I havn't mentioned the best part... what I do... I clean up other ppls s#it!
:P

d spike

Postby d spike » February 25th, 2010, 4:05 pm

Computerman wrote:
buzz wrote:
d spike wrote:[quote="Rooki3"][quote]
250kTT/month

dais Calder hart

i feelin fuh a piece ah

lemme not get d ppl ched lock eh :lol:[/quote]
Well dem bess be careful how dem cultivatin dat... WASA police guh charge dem if dey waterin wit hose![/quote]

Nah boy, not hose. dem too expensive, yuh ha' tuh pay dem by de hour, an' dey cyah take sun. A spranger/piper cheaper dan ah ho anytime - yuh jus' ha tuh promise him ah big money when de time come, an' when time reach, jus' gi' he ah small bag an' tell him, "hold dat"... by de time he smoke dem 3 leaf out, he cyah remember how much (if any) yuh owe him... an' half de time he done find a police bullet coming de other way before yuh pay him.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 25th, 2010, 4:07 pm

Computerman wrote:
Well I can't speak for the other ppl here, but I make $1,600.00 a month!! Yeah, I know that's alot... but that's before tips!! If I factor that in I could take home as much as $1650, or in a really good month $1670!! Don't be jealous, you too can make that kinda dough! You just got to stick with your job! I been with the same company now for over 14 years... and I started at $1200 and worked my way up. I have no formal education to speak of and my grasp of the english language is minuscule at best. Don't worry... one day you can get here too!! Oh, I havn't mentioned the best part... what I do... I clean up other ppls s#it!

Low pay... cleans up other people's sheit... I get it, you're an OJT in a primary school!

Postby tr1ad » February 25th, 2010, 4:09 pm

d spike wrote:
Computerman wrote:

Low pay... cleans up other people's sheit... I get it, you're an OJT in a primary school!

either that or he has a garage for HONDA

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 25th, 2010, 4:09 pm

d spike wrote:
Computerman wrote:

Nah... dais meh wifey wok!

Postby Rooki3 » February 25th, 2010, 5:07 pm

I wonder if the majority of those hustlers live in gated communities or have maids in their gated homes?

AbstractPoetic, so having a maid & living in a gated community means waht exactly?

Your colours are showing. Hide them.

Postby Sky » February 25th, 2010, 5:51 pm

It means you were successful in your life. I dunno why I get caught up in this nah.
She talk about sending kids to school, then saying it's not about that.
Well this is news to me. Properly raising a child has nothing to do with properly raising a child. Only if you're wealthy you can raise them right and teach them good values.
You don't need wealth to be great. If wealth is what you want, a good education and willingness to be a slave to money is the easiest way, but it's certainly not the best way to be great or have a great life.
This kid doesn't know what she's talking about, but she believes being educated gives her an automatic right.

Postby eliteauto » February 25th, 2010, 6:35 pm

I'm always amused when persons who have leveraged their future against their education talk as though they alone have great plans and make myopic statements such as their degrees allow them more latitude than an entrepreneur, or ask about job-security, paid vacations etc. Worse they talk about buying a house and CODs as investments..typical employee thinking,
read between the lines and what you're seeing are armchair analysts and intellectual snobs
I'll give a real world example, I have 2 friends "M" works in the energy sector for around $30K a month he is married has no children bought a home in a gated community in Arima had an Audi A4, recently bought a new Honda Accord and has both his mortgage and car loan being partially paid for by his employer, he dines at fine restaurants, vacations in Europe and is a member of QPCC-this is what many ppl aspire to as the good life

By comparison my friend "S" is a mechanic, he drives an old model Accord, rents a house, I've never seen him travel, has 2 daughters and a girlfriend his income from his shop is probably $20K a month, he has excellent credit (banks call him to state he's been pre-qualified for loans in excess of 50K) he has a $30K Credit Card limit, mind you his shop is not a specialist one it's just a notch above mango-tree status, in addition to his shop he owns 18 cars (avg econoboxes no newer than PBR) that he rents to average ppl like himself ( short term , weekends etc) these cars net him on average $54K a month with over $30K being saved monthly

M gets up every day and leaves home @5:30 and returns after night fall, S gets to work as he feels around 8:30 wraps up by 5:30 ( usually earlier) can close the shop for a few days if he wants...M's lifestyle is tied to his employment, S determines what his lifestyle is, guess who stands a better chance of leaving a legacy behind for their children?
Last edited by eliteauto on February 25th, 2010, 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 25th, 2010, 7:13 pm

Sky wrote:It means you were successful in your life. I dunno why I get caught up in this nah.
She talk about sending kids to school, then saying it's not about that.

Huh??? Where was such ever said?

Let's clarify (again): It's about teaching your children the importance of a higher education and cultivating a mindset that prepares them for success. Are they being spoilt or do they have to work for their eearnings? Do you teach them the importance of savings? Do they have their own bank account that they have control over? Are you teaching them the importance of investments?

Sky wrote:Only if you're wealthy you can raise them right and teach them good values.

And you haven't any grounds to justify where that comment came from. It surely was not from me.

Sky wrote:You don't need wealth to be great. If wealth is what you want, a good education and willingness to be a slave to money is the easiest way, but it's certainly not the best way to be great or have a great life.

Well that depends on one's own personal definition of "great" and "great life", doesn't it?

Sky wrote:but she believes being educated gives her an automatic right.

It certainly does and certainly has. An education is a privilege and its become even more expensive just to obtain it. In my field you need it, as is the same for many other fields out there. Most powerhouse businessmen have at least a college degree (Bill Gates, included--YES, he's recently obtained his college degree even after he's obtained his billions) or more.

But not every college degree is the same nor is every professional degree. Wherever you go, name matters, and with that name comes privilege and a feeling of entitlement. Such graduates certainly have worked hard to get it, and the market continues to show a bias treatment for certain degrees from certain schools. It is what it is.

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2010, 7:20 pm

You make some good observations here, however you should realize that not everybody is the same or can take the same road in life.

Some can make it on their own like your mechanic, others choose a road via education and get lost in the bureaucracy of a big organization.

There is nothing wrong with either but it is true that the educated tend to look down on the lesser educated.

One thing for sure though is that in north america it is an easier road to be an employee.

A very good book to read is called "The Millionaire Next Door"
it highlights a lot of what you observe.

eliteauto wrote:I'm always amused when persons who have leveraged their future against their education talk as though they alone have great plans and make myopic statements such as their degrees allow them more latitude than an entrepreneur, or ask about job-security, paid vacations etc. Worse they talk about buying a house and CODs as investments..typical employee thinking,
read between the lines and what you're seeing are armchair analysts and intellectual snobs
I'll give a real world example, I have 2 friends "M" works in the energy sector for around $30K a month he is married has no children bought a home in a gated community in Arima had an Audi A4, recently bought a new Honda Accord and has both his mortgage and car loan being partially paid for by his employer, he dines at fine restaurants, vacations in Europe and is a member of QPCC-this is what many ppl aspire to as the good life

By comparison my friend "S" is a mechanic, he drives an old model Accord, rents a house, I've never seen him travel, has 2 daughters and a girlfriend his income from his shop is probably $20K a month, he has excellent credit (banks call him to state he's been pre-qualified for loans in excess of 50K) he has a $30K Credit Card limit, mind you his shop is not a specialist one it's just a notch above mango-tree status, in addition to his shop he owns 18 cars (avg econoboxes no newer than PBR) that he rents to average ppl like himself ( short term , weekends etc) these cars net him on average $54K a month with over $30K being saved monthly

M gets up every day and leaves home @5:30 and returns after night fall, S gets to work as he feels around 8:30 wraps up by 5:30 ( usually earlier) can close the shop for a few days if he wants...M's lifestyle is tied to his employment, S determines what his lifestyle is, guess who stands a better chance of leaving a legacy behind for their children?