Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby honda hoe » May 24th, 2010, 10:00 am

so when froyo comin out?

Postby M_2NR » May 24th, 2010, 7:28 pm

honda hoe wrote:so when froyo comin out?

hoe.. :?
Clicking previous would have led you to this:
viewtopic.php?p=4528708#p4528708

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » May 25th, 2010, 10:29 am

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 27th, 2010, 4:38 pm

Gizmodo's Android 2.2 'Froyo' Review - It's Sweet

Android 2.2 is the first version of Android that feels totally complete—it performs like it should and it has most of the features it should. It's not quite at the point my mother could use it without a precarious learning curve, but you can see how it's going to get better. It's safe to say that with Froyo, Android has become something that most people really can use—and love.

Considering again where Android was 6, 12 and 18 months ago, I can believe the promises Google has made: that Android will blow your mind in another 6 months. The future of Android really has never looked brighter.

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » May 27th, 2010, 7:32 pm

Can't wait for the OTA update.

Do any of you guys use Google Voice?
Is it all that they make it out to be?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » May 28th, 2010, 9:15 am

anyone with a G1 here?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 3rd, 2010, 12:49 pm

10 Things Android Does Better Than iPhone OS

Since its 2008 debut, Android has grown - not only meeting all of the functionalities of the iPhone, but besting it in nearly all aspects. Here is our list of the top 10 things Android does better than the iPhone.

1: Android can Run Multiple Apps at the Same Time

2: Android Keeps Information Visible on Your Home Screen

3: Android Has a Better App Market

4: Android Gives You Better Notifications

5: Android Lets You Choose Your Hardware

6: Android Lets You Choose Your Carrier

7: Android Lets You Install Custom ROMs

8: Android Lets You Change Your Settings Faster

9: Android Does Google and Social Integration

10: Android Gives You More Options to Fit Your Budget

Full Gizmodo Article

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 3rd, 2010, 12:52 pm

DoubleTwist's Android App Looks Like the Best Media Player Yet

DoubleTwist, that desktop media manager which syncs to a variety of phones and gadgets, has just added a very tidy Android app to the Marketplace. It looks like the best media player app for Android yet.

Compatible with both Windows and Mac, it also syncs photos and movies to your Android device (as well as music). Couple this with their desktop Android app manager, and you've got a really nice, almost Apple-eqsue experience there.

It's free, "for a limited time." Hop to it, folks.

doubleTwist

http://gizmodo.com/5554141/doubletwists ... player-yet

Postby RASC » June 3rd, 2010, 12:54 pm

Fellas got a chance to play with an HTC Incredible :D

It BAD!

I think CNET has this tied with the iPhone 3GS as the best phone they've ever reviewed!

http://reviews.cnet.com/smartphones/htc ... ml?tag=tpr

Postby stev » June 6th, 2010, 11:59 pm

i now see dis and lovin it already :D

i have the motorola Droid. froyo suppose to be released month end.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 11th, 2010, 8:52 am

achillies wrote:Is there anyone in here with a rooted device running rooted roms???

I have a rooted MyTouch3G running a super fast 2.1ROM called CaNNonComPlete EclairV2.0 at this minute.

Its fast, stable and lets me enjoy OS2.1 on my 'old' phone. Also I get wired and wireless tethering, app installation on SD, access to paid apps in market (Dont need it because I crack my apps anyway, but its good to see whats new), superuser permissions and a wicked cache cleaner....plus many more advantages over Official roms.

I have tried A LOT of the Hero roms, but they are never what they claim to be, so far I've had this Rom for 2 months and havent gotten bored of it yet. Maybe I'll change it soon.

Cheers.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 11th, 2010, 9:02 am

roam wrote:Thanks for the prompt response Patch.

Greypatch wrote:depends on how much you use it and what you have on...

I hear you, and I agree.

I haven't quite figured out the right way to turn off, or exit an app yet. For instance, it seems that you have to hit the back, or home button to get out of the web browser when you're done with it. But does that really close it? It appears to be still running in the back ground... but probably on less resources.

So if the apps are never really closed, wouldn't they still be using power?

This is what i posted on another forum, it will help you out:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey if you are like me, you want your phone running as smooth as possible. Well all android users would know, there is no close button, or 'close' menu selection within applications with Android. the following article shows why we need not worry about 'closing' our apps.

Its written by: andjarnic.
Enjoy:

"1. Apps could possibly use battery life... (Why would I want to let that happen?)

Keep in mind Android phones can run mulitple apps at once. Because of this it is paramount that app developers use all possibilities to properly shut down their apps. One thing you have to remember, unlike any other phone you have used including iPhone, clicking on back, home, etc is NOT going to shut down the app. If you need to go back to the home screen, that app is still running most likely. There are ways a developer can "listen" for when a user does this and shut down their app to mimic how iPhone does it, for example. I am guessing most app developers don't do that tho. I've seen many apps with EXIT/QUIT options, and many without. This is sadly one of the few things I fear non-techie users are not going to understand or realize, especially coming over from iPhone. The home/back button doesn't exit an app if the developer doesn't program it that way. As you are seeing, many apps remain running. HOWEVER, what you should know is.. most apps are sort of suspended when this happens. While you can run multiple apps in the background, only services run continually in the background. All apps, while you can run several, only the FOREGROUND app is actually consuming resources, including cpu cycles and memory. What happens when you switch apps that are not services (services you can't see anyway as they do not have an user interface), they have several signals (hooks, intents, etc) sent to them to allow a developer to save the state of the application, release any resources not needed like DB connections, network, etc, so that while it is suspended, those resources are given back to Android for another app that becomes the foreground app, to use. However, this is both the greatest and worse feature of such an open system as Android. Because Java is the largest language choice right now and Android 2.0 is out, and more phones are coming, and tablets, etc.. you are going to see a plethora of java developers jump on this bandwagon. You are going to see a huge amount of apps hit the store. And you are going to find a LOT of those apps are inexperienced developers trying to mimic the iFart sensation to make millions and retire in 6 months, yet will completely ignore many of the requirements to be a good citizen in the android app world. So, many apps are NOT going to properly release resources, they wont save state, etc. So you will find more and more apps that are going to eat up memory and thus when you kill it using ATK, you'll see resources released and more memory for you to use.

Here is the thing to know tho.. Android is in control. Period. Android WILL KILL AN APPLICATION FOR YOU! In other words, if you start running out of memory, Android will send some signals to the app saying "Yo.. I really really need to use some of those resources you got tied up.. so I am shutting you down, completely. Here's your last chance to save any state..." and boom! Gone. Android thus will indeed handle memory as needed on the fly for you. Now.. what happens when you switch back to that app you left running but Android shut down? Well, it starts up again. If the app was built correctly, it will receive a bundle of info pertaining to state info that it should have saved when Android killed it. If done right, it will resume as if nothing happened. You will see a slightly longer delay than if it was still running, as it is now starting up a JVM again to run the app in, and the app may have to reload some state, screens, tiles, graphics, sounds, etc.

3. I don't use my phone for 45min.. And previously used App Killer to disable multiple items.. I come back.. I have things like Alarm Clock and others that have NO business being opened much less running... I kill them.. Jump from 65 to 104mb of memory..

This one does iritate me too.. I am not sure what controls alarm clock coming back to life. I suspect it is a SERVICE app with an interface tho. Service apps can run in the background.. so most likely the Alarm Clock app installed a service as well..that DOES run even when you shut down the alarm clock app. Every so often that service executes in the background and realizes alarm clock isn't running but it needs to, as the alarm clock app is the one that will make use of your ring tones that you selected in the alarm clock app to wake you up with, etc. That is my guess. I am not completely sure tho how this is done yet. I have only begun developing and got a lot to learn yet.

4. Please tell me how killing UNEEDED items is a waste...lol

It is indeed a waste. I am telling you now as a developer, albeit a new one, but one who has been doing java for over a decade and understands the basics of how all this works. Android WILL shut down apps (as I explained above in detail) when it needs to in order to reclaim resources so that the top app (foreground) might have resources to do something with. Even if the foreground app doesn't need them, Android will kill apps if need be as necessary. As I said above, even tho it actually shuts the app down, it goes thru steps to allow an app to cleanly shut down AND recover from the shutdown as if it was never shut down. The app developer just has to write the code correctly to handle this situation.

So, essentially, killing apps becuase you are afraid you are running out of memory is not needed. There is ONE possibility tho.. an app could run out of memory itself! It could load a very large dataset into memory and not have enough. I haven't found/read anything about how Android itself handles swapping memory to disk.. as I don't think you can set up swap memory to the SD card. It would be VERY nice if you could do this, it would allow more robust apps to at least use more memory than 128MB or 256MB the phone comes with. It would also see minor bumps in performance when it was time to swap some memory to the SD card to free up memory, or bring it back in. Windows, Linux, OSX, they all do this for you. I suspect the underlying linux OS handles this, but not quite sure if it does so or not.

Hope this wasn't too technical and helps some of you understand the killing app stuff in more detail."

Postby Greypatch » June 11th, 2010, 9:24 am

I am getting jumpy...still waiting for the auto 2.2 update

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » June 15th, 2010, 1:05 am

Thanks for that hoverauto.
It was very informative.

There's a rumour that the official Froyo release date may be out later this week.
Can't wait.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 15th, 2010, 6:55 am

allyuh really still waiting on an OTA update?

doing it manually isnt exactly rocket science u know...

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » June 15th, 2010, 8:36 am

roam wrote:Thanks for that hoverauto.
It was very informative.

There's a rumour that the official Froyo release date may be out later this week.
Can't wait.

Yeah, heard that as well, however there is no way in hell they going to release Froyo for my phone, so I'll just have to wait for a custom rom and then happy flashing times again :mrgreen: Sweet!

Postby Greypatch » June 15th, 2010, 8:47 am

mitch wrote:allyuh really still waiting on an OTA update?

doing it manually isnt exactly rocket science u know...

On google forums they keep saying that the manual updates are not the final version and all N1's will get the update.

Postby DFC » June 19th, 2010, 12:47 am

o hai guz...i'm getting the tmobile mytouch3g slide in a few weeks...i cant wait..
waka waka.

its a biiig upgrade from my moto razr and my nokia 1100.

i had a blackberry bold 8900 before......was aite..and...well the anticipation of this android phone have me all moist in my pantz. :oops:

well anyways...i paid $230 USD for the handset inclusive of taxes...unlocked too.
what u think...good buy? my loverboy working tmobile and he get it from the employee reserve stock because all the public stuff sold out.

General 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 19003G Network HSDPA 900 / 1700 / 2100 Announced 2010, April
Status Coming soon. Exp. release 2010, June
Size Dimensions 115.6 x 60.2 x 15.2 mm
Weight 164.4
Display Type TFT capacitive touchscreen, 65K colors

Size 320 x 480 pixels, 3.4 inches
- QWERTY keyboard
- Accelerometer sensor for UI auto-rotate

Sound Alert types Vibration, MP3, WAV ringtones
Speakerphone Yes
- 3.5 mm audio jack
Memory Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Practically unlimited
Card slot microSD, up to 16GB, 8GB included

Data GPRS Class 10 (4+1/3+2 slots), 32 - 48 kbps

EDGE Class 10, 236.8 kbps
3G HSDPA, 7.2 Mbps; HSUPA, 2 Mbps
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g
Bluetooth Yes v2.1 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes, v2.0
Camera Primary 5 MP, 2592 x 1944 pixels, autofocus, LED flash
Video Yes
Secondary No
Features OS Android OS, v2.1 (Eclair)
Messaging SMS(threaded view), MMS, Email, Push Email, IM
Browser HTML
Radio No
Games Yes
Colors White, Black, Red
GPS Yes, with A-GPS support
Java Via third party application
- MP4/H.264/H.263 player
- MP3/WAV/eAAC+ player
- Organizer
- Document viewer (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF)
- Google Search, Maps, Gmail,
YouTube, Calendar, Google Talk, Picasa integration
- Voice memo
- T9
Battery Standard battery, Li-Ion 1300 mAh

Postby DFC » June 19th, 2010, 12:51 am

oh by the way....it coming with android 2.1 eclair....and oh lawd i tryna get froyo for it!!!

Postby Greypatch » June 19th, 2010, 8:00 am

is it on the update list ?

Postby DFC » June 19th, 2010, 12:39 pm

they said that it will come with froyo...but tmobile site still says 2.1
so i just hoping....

Postby DFC » June 23rd, 2010, 11:25 pm

i got the fone....but the froyo update will come out in december....
but it got Andriod 2.1

what cool apps anybody got ??

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » June 24th, 2010, 3:32 pm

DFC wrote:what cool apps anybody got ??

The Obvious Apps that come with most phones:
Gmail
Google Talk
Calendar
Facebook
Google Maps
News & Weather
Power Control Widget

Excellent Apps that I’ve come across:
Google Sky Maps
Google Earth
Google Goggles
Google Translate
Barcode Scanner
Fancy Widget
Shazam
Color Flashlight
Aldiko
Compass
ConvertPad – Unit Convertor
Currency Converter
Dictionary.com
Paint Pro
PicSay
StopWatch
Gesture Search
SongDNA

Other Great Apps if you’re in the US:
Google Voice
Layar
Scanner Radio

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2010, 10:02 pm

just got an OTA update for my N1...FRF85B

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 28th, 2010, 10:11 pm

Mario live wallpaper for Android: better than a Tanooki Suit in the summer

Seriously, words cannot describe how incredibly entertained we are by this Mario Live wallpaper for Android 2.1 and above devices. All across the home and locked screen, our favorite Italian faux-plumber protagonist runs through randomly-generated levels across various themes like outside, underground, and castle. It's very customizable, allowing you to change the level's difficulty, see the alternate paths Mario's AI has plotted, and rendering the background (all at a cost to CPUs and battery life, of course). Free download -- donations suggested, of course -- and if you're looking for a way to stare at your phone even longer, well, look no further. Videos through which you can live vicariously are after the break.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/06/28/mari ... i-suit-in/

Postby honda hoe » June 28th, 2010, 10:57 pm

Just installed d mario wallpaper it bad lol

I ain't get no froyo update tho

Mitch can I manually search and download it?

roam
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby roam » June 28th, 2010, 11:08 pm

Mitch, when updating is all your data kept, or do you have to reinstall all your apps?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 29th, 2010, 6:50 am

honda hoe wrote:Just installed d mario wallpaper it bad lol

I ain't get no froyo update tho

Mitch can I manually search and download it?

only know how to dwl it from google servers and install manually. but just hold out a lil while longer to see if u get the OTA update since it went official for Nexus One phones...

Monday, June 28, 2010
New Android 2.2 Software Update for Nexus One phones

Starting today, Nexus One users will begin to receive the Android 2.2 (codenamed Froyo) over-the-air software update on their phones. This update provides some great new features including support for making your handset a portable hotspot and support for Adobe Flash within the browser. For a complete list of everything we’ve included in Android 2.2, please see the Android 2.2 Platform Highlights.

In order to access the update, you will receive a message on your phone's notification bar. Just download the update, wait for it to install, and you should be all set. This update will be rolled out gradually to phones - and most users will receive the notification by the end of the week . We hope you enjoy these new features.

http://googlenexusoneboard.blogspot.com ... e-for.html