the right to bear arms

rocknrolla

Re: Right to bear arms

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 11:25 am

Conrad wrote:Texas is still experiencing break ins with their right to bear arms legislation intact. Hell a burglar got shot earlier this week hahahahaaaaa.

Tazers, pepper spray and other defensive weapons before guns not to forget more effective/consistent policing.

u just touching the tip of the bigtoe of the iceberg. in fact ur statements seem to support fully arming citizens to protect their home, property and person.

i like this part especially: "burglar got shot"

sure beats, "house owner warded in critical condition after a burglar invaded his/her home"

texas wins.. and gun ownership for trinidad citizens wins too. i believe it is for these same reasons i post on this thread is why theyve considered allowing the police to take their weapons home. to have more plain clothes men toting to surprise would be criminals who time patrols, use radio scanners to listen in on dispatch etc. boy.. like allyuh eh know what out there atall nah.

u shoulda look up the texas gun homicide stats for past years in texas. considering the entire state house way more than trinidad.. and for a whole year each year they maintain a sub 50 homicide deaths.

explain that. is not the armed citizens that have monkey knowing what tree to climb? u will find that criminals will go out of state to areas where there is heavy gun restriction cuz then they know they have the upper hand.
Last edited by rocknrolla on February 23rd, 2013, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » February 23rd, 2013, 11:34 am

PROPER training and continuos assessments should be made by the authorities before issuing a firearm permit (what should be a final line of defense against those criminals).

if one were to ever shoot an intruder or an assailant a potential mountain of problems is created. one's actions would be legally evaluated not to mention the potential backlash from the "one is one" mentality of the monsters out there.

Some of these first world nations have a more mature gun culture than we do; it would be unwise if we adopt their widescale approach where everyone has a right to bear arms etc... Its embedded in their history.

However we should be more willing to facilitate proper issuing of concealed carry permits. It will most definitely shift the balance should a situation arise.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 23rd, 2013, 11:40 am

turbotusty wrote:
Conrad wrote:Texas is still experiencing break ins with their right to bear arms legislation intact. Hell a burglar got shot earlier this week hahahahaaaaa.

Tazers, pepper spray and other defensive weapons before guns not to forget more effective/consistent policing.

u just touching the tip of the bigtoe of the iceberg. in fact ur statements seem to support fully arming citizens to protect their home, property and person.

sure beats, "house owner warded in critical condition after a burglar invaded his/her home"

texas wins.. and gun ownership for trinidad citizens wins too. i believe it is for these same reasons i post on this thread is why theyve considered allowing the police to take their weapons home. to have more plain clothes men toting to surprise would be criminals who time patrols, use radio scanners to listen in on dispatch etc. boy.. like allyuh eh know what out there atall nah.

Im all for arming citizens with guns...just not now and at least not as widescale as it would seem youre suggesting.

I just dont think easier access to guns is the solution in T&T's current situation. I could already see someone getting shot in traffic for a bad drive or reprisal after a game of small goal.

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2013, 11:43 am

imho...anyone who sees the need to access guns for criminal activities, have no issue or problem with getting a gun....

its the person who wants a license to legally carry has a issue

whats the bribe rate these days to buy a license? 40k?

Siddique

Postby Siddique » February 23rd, 2013, 11:44 am

EXODUS wrote:in dis 4th world banana republic which have the largest natural asphalt deposit but ironically d worst roads in d world, yuh think that goin n happen... much less the mentality of trinis?

Lol

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 11:46 am

Conrad wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

Im all for arming citizens with guns...just not now and at least not as widescale as it would seem youre suggesting.

I just dont think easier access to guns is the solution in T&T's current situation. I could already see someone getting shot in traffic for a bad drive or reprisal after a game of small goal.

and then when they pull out the bullet and examine it and trace it back to the gun owner? u really going to shoot a man and go to jail for a bad drive?

sound like allyuh sayin trini ppl mad yes. thas what u saying? we have a culture of mentally unstable ppl? laawwwwdd

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 23rd, 2013, 11:49 am

turbotusty, where you getting your statistics?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 23rd, 2013, 11:51 am

turbotusty wrote:
Conrad wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

and then when they pull out the bullet and examine it and trace it back to the gun owner? u really going to shoot a man and go to jail for a bad drive?

sound like allyuh sayin trini ppl mad yes. thas what u saying? we have a culture of mentally unstable ppl? laawwwwdd

Have you been living Trinidad all your life, because your responses are displaying otherwise, Trinidad is a very angry society.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 12:00 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
turbotusty wrote:
Conrad wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

Have you been living Trinidad all your life, because your responses are displaying otherwise, Trinidad is a very angry society.

again tho.. to say that implicates every member of law enforcement and parliament and military personnel. because is from this same 'angry society' of ppl is where we select our officers from.

what is it u would say that makes those recruited to various law enforcement institutions different from the rest of the angry society? we not arming angry ppl anyway? or does becoming a recruit somehow calm them down?

Postby Chimera » February 23rd, 2013, 12:07 pm

idk na

plenty of my friends/customers have gun licenses

it have a 3 brothers and their dad....real real violent people....watch them hard and they wanna mash up yuh face

they all got gun licenses a few years ago...went through training for their guns and since then they real mellow down...they avoid confrontation, if people want to play vex with them they just walk away....because they know at the end of the day, if they choose to get vex it gonna end up with someone dead and them either going to jail or going through a lot of senseless problems

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 12:08 pm

trini ppl not stupid.. they does only play mad. lol

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 23rd, 2013, 12:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:idk na

plenty of my friends/customers have gun licenses

it have a 3 brothers and their dad....real real violent people....watch them hard and they wanna mash up yuh face

they all got gun licenses a few years ago...went through training for their guns and since then they real mellow down...they avoid confrontation, if people want to play vex with them they just walk away....because they know at the end of the day, if they choose to get vex it gonna end up with someone dead and them either going to jail or going through a lot of senseless problems

Not everyone has that self control, we even see it here on tuner where e-bullets fly :lol:

tusty, don't you see how emotions run high in Parliament. Don't ever pray to cross an angry police or soldier eh and yes, don't you hear how some police officers and soldiers speak, is like they angry at the world. On another note, Thursday I was in a car heading to work, a jackarse decides to come out of a (left) side street and attempt to cut into gridlock traffic in the westbound lane blocking all eastbound traffic, he is totally pissed off and starts the most epic beatup cursing and ranting and threatening the driver who is eastbound and wants to proceed. Simple things like that people get seriously enraged for

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 23rd, 2013, 12:27 pm

We have been robbed 8 times in the past, and 1 kidnapping....

6 out of the 8 times plus the kidnapping all assailants were armed. In each of these, police never reached in time. NO air support was given, nothing

If I could get a fire arm to protect myself and my family I will, It is unfair that criminals must have weapons and we the law abiding citizens have to struggle to get

Have anyone here against gun control watch a man walk into your place take your son put him in a car and drive off???

I have seen this, I have seen how brazen criminals are, I have seen first hand how slow the police force can be, but some do try.

You all here against right to bear arms are describing a place where there is efficiency, but here it is not so, we the majority of the public does not have friends in government. Yes Trinidad is not perfect, and maybe some drunken idiot will shoot his wife, but that same idiot can chop her to death today. But citizens are helpless.

Its like we the law-abiding citizens are a rhino with its horn cut off doing battle with a rhino with a big one.

Level the playing field, when criminals realize they are more at risk, crime will decrease.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 23rd, 2013, 12:28 pm

turbotusty wrote:
Conrad wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

Examine bullet and actually give proper forensic report EVERYTIME?

Hahahahahaaaaa

No time fo' that.

Postby j.o.e » February 23rd, 2013, 12:52 pm

slightly unrelated question..when a licensed gun owner dies..whats the procedure? Gun has to be given to police?idk..jus curious.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 1:13 pm

i think, and hope that parliament will be able to iron out the details of such a trivial question. in a free society it gets transferred to the next of kin just as anything else in their will etc. we could tailor the details to suit our society and culture. have the gun resold to an authorized buyer/dealer in the case of no eligible next of kin to legally possess it being available. or just corner the issues that would allow for an unlicensed/unregistered person to possess or carry. there is a business aspect to it all. and as it may seem.. there is a high demand.. so a real good question is .. who supplying?

Postby j.o.e » February 23rd, 2013, 1:16 pm

I'm not talking about in your gun toting heaven...I'm talkin about right now. What happens when a licensed gun owner dies? What is the correct thing to do with the weapon. Is it legal to keep it but not discharge it? sell it to a another licensed gun owner? can it be sold? or only gifted?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 23rd, 2013, 1:20 pm

ive read tru all of this and being someone who grew up with criminals/guntas, from experience, hardcore criminals very seldom commit armed robbery etc. while its true that most bandits are cats inside, if they are coming to rob your place of business or you and they know you are armed, they WILL shoot you (and steal your gun as well). in fact them being the nookie that they are would faster make them shoot you. in that case you better see them coming from really early. what do you plan on doing after you get your gun? practise to quick draw and shoot? life in reality isn't like the movies, its far from that... ive seen men with loaded guns get beat the firetruck down really quickly from little guntas and have their weapon taken.

chances are you would most likely never get enough time to use your little gun for defence and besides... you'd have to be watching your back always. even more than before.

while it is true that there is a volume of the society who can maybe afford the licence for a firearm and are responsible enough to possess it, its not for the vast majority. we would have alot of duels along with possibly irreversible effects.

the police service isn't even capable of simple things, adding more guns to the mix is not going to help their effort.

Postby Redman » February 23rd, 2013, 1:24 pm

Great Thread.

Guns are A mechanism to protect oneself.
I believe that I should have the right in the right scenario to defend my house and family.
If some one breaks it to my home with intent then he chooses to take a risk of being hurt/caught and killed.If he is in my bedroom area when I find him he will be shot.

Carrying a fire arm is not an easy choice to make. You are required (morally and legally) to have control
of this item 24/7 365. no change
Its like having a new born that you cant palm off.

The system we have now has FAILED.

No police force in the world can protect you from somebody that intends to commit a crime in your home.

I think that :

we should certify prospective users via the ranges in Tdad-and semi annual re cert is mandatory.
Cert of Character

Medical/Drug? Visual Physc and Physical exams annually -if your exams were done more than a year ago the range cant re cert you.

Gun owner is required to place a performance bond -against loss,theft negligence or general arsehole behavior.
See Ken Gordons issue as an PRIME example of arsehole behavior.

properly installed safe at home.-Insurance company carries financial risk and adjusts premium to suit the circumstances at home.
I subject myself to random inspection/testing for drugs etc by an established body under the authority of the fire arm Bureau

six month cool off period.

90% of the people that say 'they want a gun" will be 'to lazy to go thru all ah fakin dat man'

The people that do gain possession would have submitted all the above to a TTPS fire arm bureau, and they have the 6 months(cooling off period) within which to notify the Range that you are declined license.
If they say nothing then you good for the year.

The ranges have an incentive to establish graduating courses that improve skill handling and safety.Graduation and certification will qualify you for full time carry.

We have a better educated and armed citizenry that now can protect their family and homes.

The dumb house breakers will be shot.
The smart ones will change their crime of choice.

No real increase in dependence on the TTPS admin system which sucks balls at this time.

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2013, 1:25 pm

sorry to hear that src1983, but it wud actually be harder for u to get a firearm now, bess u buy an illegal, when dey come shoot dem in the face, have yur relatives say that u fought one & took his gun

Postby Redman » February 23rd, 2013, 1:29 pm

j.o.e wrote:I'm not talking about in your gun toting heaven...I'm talkin about right now. What happens when a licensed gun owner dies? What is the correct thing to do with the weapon. Is it legal to keep it but not discharge it? sell it to a another licensed gun owner? can it be sold? or only gifted?

Good Question

AFAIK the survivor of the owner should inform the TTPS that he dead and they come and collect it-I guess its a choice of whether its sold(by the estate of the deceased) or destroyed.

Ive hear members of Ranges dealing with TTPS with that for the spouse.

I will find out formally and post

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 23rd, 2013, 1:30 pm

Well said speedmelter, everybody wants guns but in the heat of the moment a lot of people won't get a shot off and is another gun in a criminal's hand

TonyM

Postby TonyM » February 23rd, 2013, 1:36 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:turbotusty, where you getting your statistics?
clearly this guy is smarter than all of us :lol:
turbotusty wrote:ive been debating it with various political affiliates and law enforcement for some time now. ive studied criminal psychology casually and came quickly to the same conclusion as many experts.
turbotusty wrote:the thing is u all dont know the capabilities of tech like i do obviously. and that is where u fall short.
turbotusty wrote:I'm speaking with some foreign experts now.
turbotusty wrote:i am what u can call an underutilized member of society

He claimed he completed a "feasibility study" for a free island wide wireless network that he invented when all he did was find a WIFI repeater that wouldn't work anyway.

I'm sure he is just 16 or 17.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 23rd, 2013, 1:45 pm

the crime situation would only get worse. national security can only attempt day to day tasks of protection but it doesn't take away the crime.

i believe more effort is needs to be given by the ministry of social development, to get people to stop making so much kids who are incapable of minimally raising them to be respectable and have basic values. i really don't see anything wrong with laws for this being put in place. this society we live in is such a pot hound society where women just go firetruck all over the place and make kids for different men vice versa and cant raise a half decent kid.

the other essential part of working towards eradicating crime would require huge input from the ministry of education.
almost all citizens we have go/went to school. sadly a huge percentage doesn't use the education system to better themselves. the dangerous thing is that kids/youths along a developing stage of their lives(in school) are so easily influenced. its amazing to just observe how many ills of society can come about due to one or two individuals influencing them from a young age. from then on it becomes exponential.
my view to combat this is to have a strict education system where each child is accounted for (this is not hard) when ill discipline arises, he/she should be separated and moved depending on the degree of offence, and placed with others of his/her kind. the ministry should modify a few schools to house such kids. have a different sort of learning for them. teach them to think logically. and if all fails send them to prison for stabbing each other, fighting etc. whatever the offence may be. in that way there would be far less bandits for both society and the police service to deal with. we would be much more developed and productive after about one generation and things would change.

sadly ministry of social development as far as i know, their role seems to be throwing family days or a training session teaching people to knit

i have seen improvement in the ministry of education but i really believe a stricter system needs to be installed.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » February 23rd, 2013, 6:57 pm

TonyM wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:turbotusty, where you getting your statistics?
clearly this guy is smarter than all of us :lol:
turbotusty wrote:ive been debating it with various political affiliates and law enforcement for some time now. ive studied criminal psychology casually and came quickly to the same conclusion as many experts.
turbotusty wrote:the thing is u all dont know the capabilities of tech like i do obviously. and that is where u fall short.
turbotusty wrote:I'm speaking with some foreign experts now.
turbotusty wrote:i am what u can call an underutilized member of society

He claimed he completed a "feasibility study" for a free island wide wireless network that he invented when all he did was find a WIFI repeater that wouldn't work anyway.

I'm sure he is just 16 or 17.

y allyuh so bai? i never said i invented anything. just that i thought it up a good few years ago and it seemed feasible. anyone can go read the thread and can see i was just brainstorming. despite the obstacles im looking into it for fun and proof of concept. at the end of the day the only thing im guilty of is thinking and trying to find outside the box methods of solving problems in an economical way. keep it on topic pls.

about the statistics, the texas one came from a quick google. but ive been following gun debate news reports on statistics for a while now and all round the world the reports suggest that more homicides occur in gun restricted areas than in areas where there is concealed carry etc.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 23rd, 2013, 7:38 pm

Lol @ all the checks and balances suggestions.

Y'all forget that this is T&T. They dont call us Trickidadians for nothing. The land of smart-men where you dont even have to be present to get your personal items in order once you pass enough money.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 23rd, 2013, 7:45 pm

I'll say it again

Then the bandits will get bigger guns and before you know it we walking around with rocket launchers in our car to protect ourselves.

Gun control and enforcement is what is needed.

Postby Redman » February 23rd, 2013, 8:01 pm

Conrad wrote:Lol @ all the checks and balances suggestions.

Y'all forget that this is T&T. They dont call us Trickidadians for nothing. The land of smart-men where you dont even have to be present to get your personal items in order once you pass enough money.

Yet you would admit that once outside the country we conform.
So we can conform to systems if in place and enforced.

To keep saying x cant work or y cant work because we in Trinidad is senseless.

Postby bluesteel29 » February 23rd, 2013, 8:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'll say it again

Then the bandits will get bigger guns and before you know it we walking around with rocket launchers in our car to protect ourselves.

as it stands civilians dont have guns n bandits have bigger guns than police/army..

i aint mind ah rpg sidong in d chunk

Postby Rooki3 » February 23rd, 2013, 8:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'll say it again

they already hv big guns

" gun control" not gonna bind a bandit's trigger finger