Hey, anybody using Nokia Messaging to receive their email?
i tryin to set it up to connect to my gmail but it jus hangs at connecting to server...
any email account i try to set up does that...
i know gmail has an app for symbian and it works fine... but the icon is terrible... its all pixelated and it looks terrible in the shortcut bar (yes it irritated me enough that i uninstalled it)
so i jus wonderin if anybody else gettin problems with their messaging set up.
if u dont have it installed, u can install it from the software updates section or from the ovi store.
Swype Inc. and Nokia are proud to introduce Swype Beta for Symbian.
Swype provides a faster and easier way to input text on any screen. With one continuous finger or stylus motion across the screen keyboard, the patented technology enables users to input words faster and easier than other data input methods—at over 40 words per minute. The application is designed to work across a variety of devices such as phones, tablets, game consoles, kiosks, televisions, virtual screens and more.
Swype has worked closely with Nokia to bring you the best text input experience on your S60 5th Edition handset. Swype plugs directly into the Symbian input method to ensure seamless integration with every application on the device.
Swype excels in language support, allowing users to Swype in many different languages. Swype Beta for Symbian includes support for English US, Spanish, Canadian French, and Brazilian Portuguese. The Swype keyboard will not be available unless you set the writing language to one of these four supported languages. Extensive language support is part of our ongoing development and more languages will be supported in the future.
Compatibility and system requirements
Swype for Symbian Beta is compatible with the following Nokia S60 5th Edition touch screen phones (for phone-specific details, see the More Info tab):
Nokia 5800 Nokia 5230 Nokia X6 (no portrait mini-qwerty for firmware v21.0.004 - see FAQ) Nokia N97 Nokia N97mini C6-00 Key features
Standard QWERTY keyboard layout makes Swype easy to learn Use a stylus or finger – Swype’s amazing input path analyzer allows you to go fast and sloppy. Just make a reasonable effort to trace through the word and Swype will do the rest Double Tap Editing – Make a mistake? Double tap on a word to bring up a list of other possible matches. Auto-Spacing Auto-Capitalization Auto Spelling Correction Automatic Help – Swype detects when you may be having trouble or might benefit from a particular feature and prompts you with helpful tips and instructions Instant access to Symbols, Numbers and Editing functions 65,000-word Learning Dictionary – Chances are the word you are typing is already in the Swype dictionary. If it isn’t, just tap it out once followed by a space and Swype will remember it for future use. Click on More Info for a Getting Started guide, demonstration videos, as well as a detailed FAQ.
Installation
You can install Swype via Nokia PC Suite or SD card. You will be prompted to reboot your device following installation. Swype will not function properly until the input method is properly reloaded via reboot. If you are upgrading from Alpha Labs/Backstage, please uninstall the old version completely and reboot before attempting to install the Beta.
If you do not see the Swype keyboard following installation, make sure your Writing Language is set to one of Swype's supported languages (English, Spanish, French, Portuguese). For help with activating Swype in portrait, check out the FAQ located under More Info.
Feedback
Swype is excited for this opportunity to have Nokia Beta Labs users road test the next generation of text input for Symbian. Swype for S60 5th Edition devices is feature complete and nearing it's final stages of development. We will not be making any major changes to Swype, but your feedback and bug reports are highly appreciated and useful.
Hey guys do you all know anyone that i can get the N900 LCD screen to buy? She park up few months now because ah meh stupidity putting phone and keys in same pocket. Touch screen working but nothing showing up. One powerseller can get it for me but i need to take the screen out and send the part number to him, i am looking really to just take somewhere and get it changed out one time.
It's happened. Former Microsoft exec and current Nokia CEO Stephen Elop has married his future and his past in the holy matrimony of a "strategic alliance." Windows Phone is becoming Nokia's "principal smartphone strategy"...
Exclusive: Nokia's Windows Phone 7 concept revealed!
Look what we've found! This is the first image you'll see anywhere of the early fruit of Microsoft and Nokia's budding new partnership. We have it on good authority that the technicolor phones on show are conceptual devices produced by the two companies. You shouldn't, therefore, go jumping to conclusions about retail hardware just yet, but hearts should be warmed by the familiarity of Nokia's new design -- the shape of these handsets is somewhere between its recent N8 and C7 Symbian devices and there is, as usual for Nokia, a choice of sprightly colors. The trio of keys adorning the new concept's bottom give away its Windows Phone 7 ties, but also remind us that the N8 and E7 are highly unlikely to receive any WP7 upgrade love. The best part about this whole discovery, however, might be that it confirms Steve Ballmer's assertion that the engineers of both companies have "spent a lot of time on this already."
I'm considering buying the E71, know its an older phone, but the prices and features still looking good, do you all think that's a good idea. I like the QWERTY keyboard and not too keen on the touchscreen of the newer phones...
Go for it.... I also use the E71 and its awesome..no complaints about it. Only thing i wish it had was an optical trackpad like the E72 but otherwise its a great phone
Since using the E71 ive really taken a liking to physical keyboards. I was looking at the N900 but after seeing that it's used in landscape mode that really turned me away. The N8 is really attractive in terms of features. Does anyone have any experience with this phone and the virtual keyboard? The E7 caught my attention for a while until i realized that it has no card slot and autofocus
i had an n95..bess phone..never thought i'd get a better phone til i got the E72...its truely a business phone with all the bess features....my bro have the N8....needless to say, it is a BESSSSSSSSSSS fone....when u have internet on it, its even more epic..with CNN news scrolling across the screen and live updates appearing on ur phone..its worth the money...
all im still looking for are a good place to get apps....anyone with links they can share?
Today i did a back up on my nokia 5320. It backed up everything on the memory card and the available memory was 7.6mb after the backup. When i restored it, it still says 7.6mb. Anyone knows how i can remove the backup data off of my phone?
N95 8 gig i can attest to that,bought one on tuner for $800 used but it works perfectly to this day..Think id get another phone with more memory..what sorta earbuds do you people use for your nokia mobile devices???