WTK...Nexen N2000 tires

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2009, 2:53 pm

eitech, for a daily driver economy car...the DZ101...should still be below 500.00 for 195/50/15

eitech

Postby eitech » January 18th, 2009, 5:10 pm

1800 fuh ah 1 firetruck tyre :shock: ..WDMC :shock: ..looking for 205/50/15, and maybe some decent rims as well

Postby bushwakka » January 18th, 2009, 9:14 pm

u will find the 205/50/15 at tyre clinic i think....for around the $500.....dz101....thas my recommendation

yea. unless u hav $ to bun etc......dont go the michelin/goodrich route.....there are tyres out there that will hit ur sweet spot.....i was in shock when i discovered the price as well

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2009, 8:42 am

x2 lol...afaik the only thing worse than nexxen is a tyre brand called triangle lol

No no.....like yuh forget about "Ling Long" tyres (no I'm not kidding....that IS a brand!)

what about d other brands like continental, bridgestone, goodrich?

Laughlin up to a few months ago had the Continental Premium Contact lineup in 15 and 16"....for like 700 or something so. A little higher than the DZ101, but the DZ101 is a sport tyre = harder sidewall. The Conti Premium Contact = verrrryyyyy smooth ride.

I'd also recommend the Kumho Ecsta KH11. Lovely tyre.

u will find the 205/50/15 at tyre clinic i think....for around the $500.....dz101....thas my recommendation

DZ101= also a very good option.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2009, 11:40 am

Bridgestone Potenza RE0-1Rs and nothing else :mrgreen:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2009, 11:55 am

Damien wrote:So wha alyuh think is some ah the best tyre's ?

Runnig Bridgestone Potenza RE750s on one car and Potenza RE040s on another....from my experiance...Potenzas are somewhat more noisy especially as they wear down to the performance level....but they have really stiff side walls so steering response is excellent....and once they heat up the traction is amazing.....very responsive tyres....but if you want quiet and luxury these are not for you.

They wear evenly...and track straight.....the RE750s can tramline a bit so you need to be careful on poorly surfaced roads and at high inflation.. 38+ psi...they will become unsettled on rough roads....but when it's smooth you can go flat out on them as they are W rated tyres

Oh....and the 750s have really good tread life...have 40000Kms on this set and still looking fresh.....trying to run through them to go to the RE0-1Rs

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 19th, 2009, 12:18 pm

ek4ever wrote:T...so you need to be careful on poorly surfaced roads and at high inflation.. 38+ psi...they will become unsettled on rough roads...

People inflate passenger car tyres to such a high pressure :?:

Postby tr1ad » January 19th, 2009, 12:41 pm

muss be truck tyre

wait dias like sayin shift from 5th to 1st

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2009, 12:51 pm

Runnig Bridgestone Potenza RE750s on one car and Potenza RE040s on another....from my experiance...Potenzas are somewhat more noisy especially as they wear down to the performance level....but they have really stiff side walls so steering response is excellent....and once they heat up the traction is amazing.....very responsive tyres....but if you want quiet and luxury these are not for you.

I agree more or less. Found the RE750 lacked in traction somewhat, but then again I was comparing it to lower treadwear(softer compound) tyres likethe Potenza S-03, and the RE-01R also.

RE-050's give surprising grip (OE on the legacy's) and ride REALLY well....even on a low profile. It's a pity that so many Legacy owners (the not too bright ones) swap them out for Nexens when they put their baddup chromes/whatever else rims.

They wear evenly...and track straight.....the RE750s can tramline a bit so you need to be careful on poorly surfaced roads and at high inflation.. 38+ psi...they will become unsettled on rough roads....but when it's smooth you can go flat out on them as they are W rated tyres

38 psi you say................. :shock:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2009, 12:53 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
ek4ever wrote:T...so you need to be careful on poorly surfaced roads and at high inflation.. 38+ psi...they will become unsettled on rough roads...

People inflate passenger car tyres to such a high pressure :?:

Max inflation is 51psi....I run 40 front and 38 on the rear.....higher inflation pressures reduces tyre sidewall deflection which is important for high speed driving especially with 40 series tyres....can be a bit uncomfortable but better stability at high speeds

Postby Hook » January 19th, 2009, 2:22 pm

^^^ how often u get up to those "high speeds" to warrant running those pressures all the time???

or is it that u plan in advance and hit a tyre shop/gas station first?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 19th, 2009, 2:28 pm

When I was buying rims, the guy at the store was trying to sell me on some nexens.. But I had never heard of the brand before.. was not sure if it was reputable.
Ended up not buying anything from that place because the guy was pushing the nexens too hard, and made me uncomfortable with the whole idea...

Bought some 19' Nankang instead. Not that I know the Nankang is better but I know the name and they have been around a long time, plus the guy didnt try to shove them down my throat.

Plus I was coming off of 16" michelin...so It's not like I could make a fair comparison on the ride given between the mich and the nankang.. since the rim size gone up and amount of tyre wall gone down

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2009, 2:50 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ how often u get up to those "high speeds" to warrant running those pressures all the time???

well I hit 160km/h mostly everyday....but the added pressure also makes it easier on the power steering plus even at low speeds the steering is more responsive ... which helps for example when someone pulls out on you and you have to avoid them.....I've run this setup since I got these tyres and I enjoy the responsiveness.....don't care much for quiet and luxury....looks like I'll get at least 60,000kms off them....or even more

eitech

Postby eitech » January 19th, 2009, 3:27 pm

so i went and got my tyres dis mornin. i end up gettin d dunlop 205/50/15 @ $475 each.. I must say the ride and handling feels better than the nexens, and speed balancing wasn't a problem. This was d first time i had no balancin problems..oh, and they kwiet as firetruck too :wink:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 19th, 2009, 4:18 pm

ek4ever wrote:
Hook wrote:^^^ how often u get up to those "high speeds" to warrant running those pressures all the time???

well I hit 160km/h mostly everyday....but the added pressure also makes it easier on the power steering plus even at low speeds the steering is more responsive ... which helps for example when someone pulls out on you and you have to avoid them.....I've run this setup since I got these tyres and I enjoy the responsiveness.....don't care much for quiet and luxury....looks like I'll get at least 60,000kms off them....or even more

:? :? :?

60,000 km?
:? :? :? :? :?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2009, 4:50 pm

looks like I'll get at least 60,000kms off them....or even more

Those tyres must be hard as stone! Sure those are RE-01R tyres?

My current set of 220 tread tyres isn't gonna last me more than 30-35000km at best.....and RE-01R's are 140 tread R compound tyres......

:shock: :shock:

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2009, 5:14 pm

my opinion on the RE-01R's is that they grip like hell but its wet traction isnt all that good...hydroplanes easily but i guess that because of the "slick" like thread pattern which makes it probably not the choice of an everyday road tyre

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2009, 5:22 pm

^Well the RE-01R is a dry traction tyre first and foremost....so that sounds about right.

And it only has a single A traction as well, meaning that it suffers in the rain compared to other Potenzas......like the RE050 for example.

The RE-01R is a tyre that's wasted on public roads IMHO....and best reserved for track/solodex...WOT runs and hard cornering only.

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2009, 5:28 pm

^^ i should sell my set then because ur right..i am wasting them on public roads...lol..and they are still new

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 19th, 2009, 5:32 pm

^^^Hmmmmmm.............those tyres are like gold man......keep them if ever you wanna take a spin at dex or something.

You'll miss the *dry* handling once you sell them.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 19th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Knight1.....these are the RE750s....yeah..they're hard...340 treadwear

rodfarva...I've done almost 40,000kms so far and lots of treadlife left....so I'm estimating 60,000kms.....not miles btw...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 20th, 2009, 6:34 am

Yep, those B/stones last really long as its a very hard rubber. Traction is excellent for hard rubber but they are one of the best in this industry so I guess they have alot of great reviews. BTW what ever happened to Hankook.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » February 3rd, 2009, 11:36 am

Just an update......I put approx 9300 miles since I purchased them and had zero issues with them. They run through H2o excellent but cornering isn't all that great due to the soft side walls.

Tire noise is mimimum and $1600 for the 2 pairs, well you really can't go wrong there buddies.

Adios.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 3rd, 2009, 12:38 pm

Jon Gill wrote:Just an update......I put approx 9300 miles since I purchased them...

In just over 2 weeks you put 9300 miles (almost 15 000km) on a set of tyres :shock:

You runnin' taxi round the world or what :?:

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » February 3rd, 2009, 5:09 pm

Sorry....its 4300 km, & yes I drive very very far to work but this car is fitted with CNG so I fill @ bp galeota.