Honda Civic beats Mazda RX8 senseless WTMC????????

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 14th, 2008, 8:43 am

Shouldn't all this "greatness" be backed up with great sales, resale value and reviews Not to mention titles in major forms of autoracing.

Hmmm seems to me only Honda and Toyota out of JDM land can lay claim to that ALL the aforementioned.

Not Mitsubishi, Nor Subaru, No Mazda, definitely not Nissan

Food for thought

now i dont think your international friends would like your answer, so use google.tt and type mazda racing records and use required lens incase u cant see good. Each brand u mentioned there does have records and racing accolades actually more than Honda and Toyota. common man your international friends have speedvision on dish network.

wait nah, on checking several 'international' magazines like Road and Track, Car and Driver, Automobile and Motor Trend, I see Hondas and Toyotas getting whooped by the other brands you mentioned? Ent these international viewers would have access to these mags as well? whats up with ur comments?

Postby honda hoe » August 14th, 2008, 8:56 am

RASC wrote:Shouldn't all this "greatness" be backed up with great sales, resale value and reviews :?: Not to mention titles in major forms of autoracing.

Hmmm seems to me only Honda and Toyota out of JDM land can lay claim to that ALL the aforementioned.

:arrow: :|

Food for thought :wink:

rene boy doh study dese morons

i mean ole talk is one ting but dis fellas postin REAL sh!t

its a FACT dat toyotas and hondas are the best in terms of craftmanship, reliabilty and performance

imagine in JAPAN nissan is bleh

nissan only claim to fame is godzilla

why u feel SR's and RB's so cheap

dem ting kickin dog over there :lol: :lol:

Postby RASC » August 14th, 2008, 8:58 am

x2floor wrote:
Shouldn't all this "greatness" be backed up with great sales, resale value and reviews Not to mention titles in major forms of autoracing.

Food for thought

now i dont think your international friends would like your answer, so use google.tt and type mazda racing records and use required lens incase u cant see good. Each brand u mentioned there does have records and racing accolades actually more than Honda and Toyota. common man your international friends have speedvision on dish network.

wait nah, on checking several 'international' magazines like Road and Track, Car and Driver, Automobile and Motor Trend, I see Hondas and Toyotas getting whooped by the other brands you mentioned? Ent these international viewers would have access to these mags as well? whats up with ur comments?

Did you read what I said?

Food for thought

Resale Value?
Great Sales?
Consistent Excellent reviews?

You really want to compare Mazda, Mitsu, Subaru et al to Honda and Toyota in those two departments on the world stage?

:?

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » August 14th, 2008, 9:04 am

honda hoe wrote:
RASC wrote:Shouldn't all this "greatness" be backed up with great sales, resale value and reviews :?: Not to mention titles in major forms of autoracing.

:arrow: :|

Food for thought :wink:

rene boy doh study dese morons

i mean ole talk is one ting but dis fellas postin REAL sh!t

its a FACT dat toyotas and hondas are the best in terms of craftmanship, reliabilty and performance

imagine in JAPAN nissan is bleh

nissan only claim to fame is godzilla

why u feel SR's and RB's so cheap

dem ting kickin dog over there :lol: :lol:

^^^^ true even in trinidad dais why we have this amount of nissan and sr18-20 engines floating around. the technical term for us gettin these used cars is called "dumping." in Japan the sr was made infamous bcuz of the silvia and its cheap price

Postby RASC » August 14th, 2008, 9:09 am

Are you guys blind? Seriously...You're comparing Honda and Toyota to the other JDM marquees?

Nissan NOW getting their act together, Subaru was gobbled up by Toyota, Mitsu almost went under-barely surviving, Mazda pushes out less cars than even Suzuki :roll:

I could go on and on.

The ONLY two consistent brands out of Japan are Honda and Toyota. FULL STOP :!:
Everyone else is playing catch up.

Who's breaking into Nascar?
Who has F1 programs?
Who is breaking sales records nearly every year?
Who is consistently at the very top of consumer reports in terms of reliability and resale value?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 14th, 2008, 9:27 am

ghostbusters wrote:vtec is a cam profile that induces longer durations of 'lift', lift is simply the period of time in the cam cycle that the intake and exhaust valves are open simultaneously

LOOK WTF THIS SCIENTIST SAY VTEC IS
NO BETTER THAN THE MAN WHO SAID TURBO = VTEC

*insert hoe people laugh here*

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 14th, 2008, 10:42 am

RASC now don't get me wrong nothing is wrong with Honda but the same way Nissan is kicking dog in Japan it's the same for Honda in the Western World. In Japan Honda gains very little respect from the 2NR world. It's only in the states with the other JDM manuf lapsing, until recently, did Honda and Toyota to a lesser extent make it as big as you claim.

Other than F1 Honda has no real spotlight in the world auto sports. For crying out loud until the last decade they were considered JDM Buicks :lol: ... relatively strong, reliable cars ideal for the elderly folk.

Toyota...now they have my respect.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 11:28 am

Conrad....Indycar is now exclusively powered by Honda. All teams switched to Honda power after I think it was the 2004 or 2005 season when the Honda powered teams totally dominated the season.

Postby buzz » August 14th, 2008, 11:51 am

yes it is tru RASC is a behind the bridge dweller and did attend caripuchima sec

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 14th, 2008, 11:59 am

ek4ever the claim (I don't follow Indy racing so I'm not sure if it is fact) that you bring to the table reinforces my point. Honda has a large majority of its tuning support and market in the USA. As RASC mentioned only relatively recently have Subaru, Mitsu and Nissan make as much of an impact in the US market when looking at JDMs.

No one can deny that Honda makes efficiend, powerful, reliable engines. When mounted in a lightened chassis they do even more "wonders" due to often publicised lower than "usual" torque figures. To blatantly say that all others are way behind Honda is simply short-sighted or selective in your points.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 12:40 pm

Conrad wrote:ek4ever the claim (I don't follow Indy racing so I'm not sure if it is fact) that you bring to the table reinforces my point. Honda has a large majority of its tuning support and market in the USA. As RASC mentioned only relatively recently have Subaru, Mitsu and Nissan make as much of an impact in the US market when looking at JDMs.

No one can deny that Honda makes efficiend, powerful, reliable engines. When mounted in a lightened chassis they do even more "wonders" due to often publicised lower than "usual" torque figures. To blatantly say that all others are way behind Honda is simply short-sighted or selective in your points.

Ummm....when did I say this? But I get your point on the Japan vs US market disparity....but it seems to me that ALL Japan manufacturers participate to the same level in their respective areas....take the JGTC for example. If your talking about tuning, to me it seems like the Japanese are equally fanatic across all the major brands too.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 14th, 2008, 12:44 pm

Wasn't directed towards you meng. Just a general observation from thread.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 1:46 pm

wikipedia:
The opposite approach to variable timing is to produce a camshaft which is better suited to high RPM operation. This approach means that the vehicle will run very poorly at low RPM (where most automobiles spend much of their time) and much better at high RPM. VTEC is the result of an effort to marry high RPM performance with low RPM stability.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YRM_gD_tkQ

^^^since youtube seems to be the end all of it all

fellas, i have no problem with honda eh, i think that they together with toyota make the most reliable cars out of japan, however what i'm saying is that i dont believe that a stock civic can take a stock rx8, no matter what model civic since they usually stay around 200 hp, the high end ones that is.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 1:53 pm

Ghost....one of the best implementations of variable valve timing and lift is the 3D cam design used by Ferrari.....should be on Wiki. Rover also had what was considered one of the most effective system...was highly complex however..using some type of eccentric discs etc.....problem was they couldn't fit it to anything more than 6 cylinders due to space restrictions....and even 6 was an issue....plus the cost to manufacture

Not to be argumentative....but the stock FD2 from Japan has 240hp.
Last edited by ek4ever on August 14th, 2008, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 14th, 2008, 1:54 pm

wikipedia:
Quote:
The opposite approach to variable timing is to produce a camshaft which is better suited to high RPM operation. This approach means that the vehicle will run very poorly at low RPM (where most automobiles spend much of their time) and much better at high RPM. VTEC is the result of an effort to marry high RPM performance with low RPM stability.

that is nothing what you said doctor! you said a higher cam lobe = vtec :lol: :lol: :lol:
ROFL @ google engineer

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 1:58 pm

cam profile is what i said , i never used the word lobe, check again

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 2:00 pm

that FD2 is not limited edition or somn?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 2:00 pm

Conrad wrote:Wasn't directed towards you meng. Just a general observation from thread.

No scene...was going to point that out too. 8-)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 2:03 pm

ghostbusters wrote:that FD2 is not limited edition or somn?

Type R.....can buy it if you have the $$. There's a website exporting them from Japan....a whole bunch of them...the production run like all Type Rs maybe limited though....not sure.

Actually saw 1 yesterday on southbound....tried to keep up with it but no match....get good cut arse :mrgreen:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » August 14th, 2008, 2:05 pm

Good ched. Even better links inside.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=166656

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 14th, 2008, 2:11 pm

BlueIce wrote:
how on earth can a different cam profile count as turbo

so vtec is simply a larger cam profile? So if i install stage 3 BC cams in a L18 i can tell ppl my zx has vtec?

vtec is a cam profile that induces longer durations of 'lift',

really? so then aftermarket cams are all vtec cams!

profile...lobe...who cares
the point is, YOU SO BRILLIANTLY SAID the above!

now compare that to what you found on google :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 2:21 pm

you see, i did not intend for such a simple minded individual to read the post, since you had a civic in your profile picture, i assumed that you knew something of a dual cam system, i was obviously wrong to assume that you had the mental capacity to understand what was written and i now apologize, sorry

Postby honda hoe » August 14th, 2008, 2:22 pm

ek4ever wrote:Not to be argumentative....but the stock FD2 from Japan has 240hp.

incorrect

its 225hp (2 d crank)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 2:24 pm

is it limited edition or production, i saw a Type R runnin down the northbound today as well, looks very fun to drive

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 14th, 2008, 2:29 pm

ghostbusters wrote:you see, i did not intend for such a simple minded individual to read the post, since you had a civic in your profile picture, i assumed that you knew something of a dual cam system, i was obviously wrong to assume that you had the mental capacity to understand what was written and i now apologize, sorry

Appologies accepted , but do not be so quick to speak proper for you will sound like another educated idiot in the end. The car in the picture was a nissan silvia and I know quite alot about vtec even for a nissan lover because I've been around it for longer than you could remember how the milk from your moms tities tasted. VTEC does not work in any way close to what you described, what you did describe was how upgraded cams work and the associated ramifications of such lift!

Now my dear dumb fack ....carry on :D

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 14th, 2008, 2:32 pm

waz dat, u like man?, i not into dat sheit dred, i gone from here yes

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 14th, 2008, 2:40 pm

^^and such are the aftereffects of trying to enlighten a noob

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 14th, 2008, 3:43 pm

BlueIce wrote:^^and such are the aftereffects of trying to enlighten a noob

LOOK AARON 2NR

BWAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHA

O FORQQQQQQQQ

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 14th, 2008, 10:34 pm

honda hoe wrote:
ek4ever wrote:Not to be argumentative....but the stock FD2 from Japan has 240hp.

incorrect

its 225hp (2 d crank)

I stand corrected ...225hp is correct, 240hp is the Mugen RR and the Mugen RR Experimental Spec is 260hp.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » August 15th, 2008, 6:45 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:
BlueIce wrote:^^and such are the aftereffects of trying to enlighten a noob

LOOK AARON 2NR

BWAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHA

O FORQQQQQQQQ

wtf :shock: