Mountain Biking

Golfist

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Golfist » June 10th, 2010, 8:40 pm

So what trails you guys ride on? I would like to start doing some trails soon.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » June 13th, 2010, 11:46 am

Porn Star wrote:I was looking at both options and finally decided on hard tail because I think most of my riding will be light trails. I'll leave the hardcore stuff for later on.

i see.......
have u made a decision on which one u're getting?

i was looking at this bike some time ago.....its an 08, on sale.........a lot better parts than on the trek.......and Jamis is a proven brand
http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/ ... ke+08.aspx

if i had the time i'd have looked for a sale for my current bike and get this one........lol

i've also noticed that sometimes later model year bikes come with cheaper components, but the overall cost is higher :| :| :|

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » June 13th, 2010, 11:11 pm

AbuStar

Postby AbuStar » June 14th, 2010, 11:36 am

Does anyone be down chaguramas during the week? What day? I sometimes go on Tuesday and Thursday.

aidan

Postby aidan » September 15th, 2010, 12:57 am

Hey guys. Anyone knows where I can get good quality tires. Need some for my bike. My last set of
Michelin wore out :(

Also looking for a good headlight for meh bike locally. If it come to it ill order one. Mostly for after midnight & dawn hours.

I ride between Grande-Valencia along the toco road, and some times up to salibia. But only reall early, before the arses start driving like fewls on those corners.

Aidan.

Postby shogun » September 15th, 2010, 1:04 am

I used to ride after midnight, but had to put a stop to that sh!t after i had a few "incidents" ...be careful and good luck to you though.
What kinda bike btw?

aidan

Postby aidan » September 15th, 2010, 2:54 pm

shogun wrote:I used to ride after midnight, but had to put a stop to that sh!t after i had a few "incidents" ...be careful and good luck to you though.
What kinda bike btw?

Hey man. I agree with you, late night riding is pretty scary, I prefer early mornings like 4am going into dawn. Seeing the sunrise is worth it. Made a ride from Toco light house to sangre grande last year. started at 3:30am, that was my most memorable and best ever. Sunrise over the sea is intense. Had a vehicle with us though a little bit ahead in case of emergency though.

I use a cheapo bike. My parents bought it for me as a gift 12 yrs ago when I entered Secondary School. A 26" Daytona (have no idea who makes it). It has been faithful to me though, replaced the gears with shimano components and put on some aluminum wheels. It was packed down for about 5 years though lol. Only got back into it last year.

But I really need some new tires now and a proper light. Riding with a strap on headlight on my head isnt working out so well lol.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 16th, 2010, 12:00 am

if yur going to use it for the road, there are 26 tires for road use, i have a pair of Maxxis that are 1.75" wide, have reflective stripes on both sides, and almost completely slick.....makes riding on the road with a MTB a lot easier.........bike inn in south has maxxis slick tires for 26", i think they are 1" or 1.5" wide(cant remember the exact width) for $100 each(north prob has them as well), u'll need new tubes to use tires that narrow........u'll have to make sure they can work on the rims you have now..............

aidan

Postby aidan » September 16th, 2010, 12:46 am

cacasplat3 wrote:if yur going to use it for the road, there are 26 tires for road use, i have a pair of Maxxis that are 1.75" wide, have reflective stripes on both sides, and almost completely slick.....makes riding on the road with a MTB a lot easier.........bike inn in south has maxxis slick tires for 26", i think they are 1" or 1.5" wide(cant remember the exact width) for $100 each(north prob has them as well), u'll need new tubes to use tires that narrow........u'll have to make sure they can work on the rims you have now..............

Thanks man. I will check them. 2" fits best on the wheels I have now. The maxxis are very nice, had the trail version i think it was. Looking for a kinda multi use tire, since I ride on gravel trails too.

Postby shogun » September 16th, 2010, 1:06 am

aidan wrote:
shogun wrote:I used to ride after midnight, but had to put a stop to that sh!t after i had a few "incidents" ...be careful and good luck to you though.
What kinda bike btw?

Hey man. I agree with you, late night riding is pretty scary, I prefer early mornings like 4am going into dawn. Seeing the sunrise is worth it. Made a ride from Toco light house to sangre grande last year. started at 3:30am, that was my most memorable and best ever. Sunrise over the sea is intense. Had a vehicle with us though a little bit ahead in case of emergency though.

I use a cheapo bike. My parents bought it for me as a gift 12 yrs ago when I entered Secondary School. A 26" Daytona (have no idea who makes it). It has been faithful to me though, replaced the gears with shimano components and put on some aluminum wheels. It was packed down for about 5 years though lol. Only got back into it last year.

But I really need some new tires now and a proper light. Riding with a strap on headlight on my head isnt working out so well lol.

That ride from Toco to Sangre Grande sounds classic. Wish i was part of that one.
I also had a crappy bike until last year, when i finally decided to get a decent bike. I got a Fuji Nevada 2.0 and it's been pretty reliable so far.
As for the light strapped to your head, at least next time i'm making the early Toco run (usually a beach run with friends), i'll know it's you and hail yuh out bro. :lol:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 19th, 2010, 8:49 pm

Fellas I got some extra bike accessories/parts for sale:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=334014

Everything (except tyres) is new.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 5th, 2011, 12:49 am

considering shifting from shimano mechanical disc to shimano hydraulic disc brakes.........anyone here uses hydraulic for trail/XC riding?..........would like to know if its worth it..........
the set i have my eyes on are on sale. i don't need them, but i've always liked the lighter feeling of hydraulic levers.......my current setup still works well, but its becoming a bit notchy and heavy even though i lubed the cables and lubricated the moving parts....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 5th, 2011, 12:44 pm

If the hydraulic lines ever get damaged on a trail, you and the fluid leaks out ... you'll be without brakes.

I need new shifters ..... have to play with the gear wheel shifter to get to the big plate.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » January 5th, 2011, 4:16 pm

sweeks wrote:If the hydraulic lines ever get damaged on a trail, you and the fluid leaks out ... you'll be without brakes.

I need new shifters ..... have to play with the gear wheel shifter to get to the big plate.

i've considered the possibility of loosing the usage of one or both systems, but thats not really a massive issue........the possibility of loosing both systems in one ride is very small......and even if i do loose it, i'll just have to go on foot for the downhill sections until i get out of the trail......

apparently shimano uses mineral oil in their systems, not normal DOT brake fluid, so its a bit tricky getting the fluid here.....i called my skybox ppl this morning and they say, there is a possibility that it will be classed as dangerous goods and need special documents and handling...plus incur an extra cost............i have to look around the local shops and see if they have it and at what cost........

as for the shifters......i was having similar problem....it was hard getting the chain up to the tallest gear at the rear......i tried almost everything......re-adjusting the derailleur limits, adjusting cable tension etc....turned out a lot of muck had built up in the cable housing and then solidified, and causing some cable drag.........i sprayed some kerosene through the housing to free up the gunk and then sprayed in some lube.......everything worked perfectly after.......

if i do decide to go hydraulic, i need to change my shifters, right now i have brakelever/shifter combination controls........i'll need separate shifters since the brake system only has the brake master cylinder..........the current ones may be up for sale together with the mechanical disc brake callipers........i'll post here if i do decide to sell them.........

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » June 26th, 2011, 1:58 am

^The new Shimano hydraulic disc brakes have center lock rotors, so you have to look at getting standard 6-bolt rotors, unless you want to run center lock hubs.
So, additional cost, plus locating the shimano mineral fluid, buying new shifters, etc.
Or you could look at Avid and Magura hydraulic systems instead.

I'm looking at Avid BB7 mechanicals in future, but for now will have to do with the standard Tektro v-brake.

And one for the MTB-ers :mrgreen:

Postby eliteauto » June 26th, 2011, 5:35 am

nice vid

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 26th, 2011, 11:30 am

Avids are good brakes... Pads are $US20 a set and last long. Have them on a 8 year old Cannondale F600 and they've never failed. Change rear pads once.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 26th, 2011, 8:32 pm

need some advice from you mtb guys.
i recently (Jan 2011) started riding for fitness and i bought a relatively cheap ($1400) full suspension bike. i wasn't sure if i would continue riding so i went cheap.
i actually enjoy it so i am currently considering an upgrade.
the problem is that i searched extensively about mtb's and it seems as though there is no clear winner with respect to brands (trek, cannondale, fuji, giant, felt etc).
my question to you guys is where can i get a decent bike locally with V-brakes (i think maintenance for discs would be too much for my baby rides. i don't even use brakes much in the cane/ gravel roads). my budget is around $4000 (flexible). i would rather buy from someone who has good after sales service (if that is at all possible in good ole T&T). i was looking at the giant talon @ mikes for $4000. i don't mind spending more for better quality and reliability.
please help!
P.S. when does sports and games have these sales on bikes that i am reading about in this thread? anybody know which location has the F7?

foots

Postby foots » June 27th, 2011, 12:49 am

Check Geronimo's in Woodbrook. They sell mostly Trek but the real winner is that they won't let you leave the store with a bike that doesn't fit you. I'm 6'1 and they tried to squeeze me onto an 18" frame @ mike's bikes. Not me an dem nah. You can get a decent hardtail at Geronimo's for $4000....like a Trek 4300 or something. They have some pretty good used ones too if you want a higher spec'd ride for a low price.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 27th, 2011, 11:03 am

^ will do. that used bike thing sounds interesting.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 27th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Let me put it another way .... A bike consist of the following:
A frame
Two rims and tyres

Trinirider is the Cannondale dealer 6787080. You might get a good deal as the 2012 models are coming out soon.

And a used high end bike is always a good option.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 28th, 2011, 8:19 pm

anybody know the quality of these used bikes?

i have read that full suspension is better than hardtail...
i know a decent full suspension is way out of my budget, so would my cheapo full suspension [well maintained] be better than investing in a better hardtail?
does this make sense?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 28th, 2011, 9:01 pm

Hard tail.... Unless you're going to be extreme.

Less maintenance and more options as well

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 20th, 2011, 12:49 pm

hi guys im getting back into riding after about 10 years i mainly rode bmx park (wood/concrete), dirt (in the summer) and street. But also road a lot of mtb dirt, dh and xc. im going to go and buy the cannondale f6 in sports and games tomorow unless mikes has a better bike for the same price i doubt i will be doing any extreme riding for some time as i am ofcourse much older and fatter and way out of practice. i think i will upgrade the forks to some marzocchi's and the rims to halo combats and then the drivetrain to xt later on, but for now its basic set up seem ok.

could you guys point out some good beginner/intermediate trails to get my skills back i live in santa cruz i know there must be lots of sweet trails here (im english so i have never ridden in trinidad).
Also do any of the bike shops here stock good parts for reasonable prices.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 29th, 2012, 9:02 pm

bought a 2011 Yeti ASR7 frame in team colours......got it at an unbelievable price......
its an Alum frame with a Fox RP23 shock attached via a carbon fiber dogbone .
planning to build it up by the end of the year. looking to get it to around 31lbs max. with a 160mm front fork, tubeless rims and tires and a height adjustable seatpost.
frame has 7" of rear travel and climbs like a goat....something very rare in the MTB world.

definitely will be the last MTB I buy for at least 10 years.

frame looks like this:

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 10th, 2012, 11:30 pm

^ :shock: What components you have in mind? I decide I'm going with a Shimano SLX hydraulic setup, doing the swap myself.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 11th, 2012, 3:09 am

frame showed up and its much much sexier in person....lol

plan is to build it myself.....i've had some bad experiences with some local shop mechanics....

the shop i got the frame from had a few different build kits available for the frame as well, but it was too much additional cost.....
so i compiled my own list of components and asked if they would do a group discount on everything and they said yes......so it turns out that my kit will cost less than their build kit, but will have much better parts.......:-)

i have a set of 2012 mavic crossmax sx tubless wheels, in white, on its way to me at the moment....other than this, nothing else purchased yet.

entire drivetrain and brakes including levers and shifters will be XT. going for a 2X10 drivetrain setup with chain guide.
thinking about 8" front and 7" rear rotors. XT is tried and proven, so i'll go this model.
seatpost most likely will be rockshox reverb adjustable....reason for this route is because this bike is meant for both climbing and fast downhills.....so i'll need to drop and lower the seatpost often.....this is a problem i already have on my hardtail, because the terrain i usually ride is a lot of rolling hills with long climbs and descents and it takes effort to stop to lower or raise the post..so this should allow me to adjust without stopping

stem and handlebar: easton.....still have to figure out a stem length
fork: fox 36 float......i'm still undecided about 160mm or 180mm travel.....the 180 does not come with a lockout and a bit heavier so i'm reluctant on that basis, but on the other hand, if i use a 160mm fork, i will have less suspension travel on the front wheel than on the rear.....something not common on MTB's

tires: tubeless 2.35".....maybe maxis, wtb or kenda.

will keep the rear shock on it to see how it copes......may or may not upgrade it later on to a more AM/trail styled shock......

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 12th, 2012, 2:02 am

cacasplat3 wrote:frame showed up and its much much sexier in person....lol

plan is to build it myself.....i've had some bad experiences with some local shop mechanics....

the shop i got the frame from had a few different build kits available for the frame as well, but it was too much additional cost.....
so i compiled my own list of components and asked if they would do a group discount on everything and they said yes......so it turns out that my kit will cost less than their build kit, but will have much better parts.......:-)

i have a set of 2012 mavic crossmax sx tubless wheels, in white, on its way to me at the moment....other than this, nothing else purchased yet.

entire drivetrain and brakes including levers and shifters will be XT. going for a 2X10 drivetrain setup with chain guide.
thinking about 8" front and 7" rear rotors. XT is tried and proven, so i'll go this model.
seatpost most likely will be rockshox reverb adjustable....reason for this route is because this bike is meant for both climbing and fast downhills.....so i'll need to drop and lower the seatpost often.....this is a problem i already have on my hardtail, because the terrain i usually ride is a lot of rolling hills with long climbs and descents and it takes effort to stop to lower or raise the post..so this should allow me to adjust without stopping

stem and handlebar: easton.....still have to figure out a stem length
fork: fox 36 float......i'm still undecided about 160mm or 180mm travel.....the 180 does not come with a lockout and a bit heavier so i'm reluctant on that basis, but on the other hand, if i use a 160mm fork, i will have less suspension travel on the front wheel than on the rear.....something not common on MTB's

tires: tubeless 2.35".....maybe maxis, wtb or kenda.

will keep the rear shock on it to see how it copes......may or may not upgrade it later on to a more AM/trail styled shock......

have you looked at the manitou range of forks? they are offering excellent performance for the cost as soon as im all healed up and able to ride again im buying some manitou minute experts i know fox are the premium but many reviews are rating manitou as close to fox for a fraction of the cost in most cases

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 12th, 2012, 10:34 am

jm3 wrote:have you looked at the manitou range of forks? they are offering excellent performance for the cost as soon as im all healed up and able to ride again im buying some manitou minute experts i know fox are the premium but many reviews are rating manitou as close to fox for a fraction of the cost in most cases

at the min. i need 160mm of travel.....they do not offer anything in that range......
they do have great reviews, and a friend bought a 2nd hand manitou a couple weeks ago and loves it......
for my build most of the forks that carry a 20mm front axle, 160mm travel and have a tapered steer tube are from the more common brands....fox, marz, rockshox etc.
to add to that....most of these forks are quite expensive simply because of the tech and materials.....a lot of ppl think its because of name, but i do not believe that.......if that was the case, then bike manufacturers like trek, specialized, cannondale, yeti, giant etc. would not use them.........

on another note, i did consider an X-Fusion fork to upgrade my hardtail's cheapo RST fork.....they seem to have some nice products for a reasonable price, and they have really good reviews as well.......just wish they didnt make their products to look just like fox's.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » June 2nd, 2012, 8:18 am

How the biking going guys?