Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2019, 1:14 pm

nemisis wrote:Most of the issues employers want to complain about in their work force is primarily caused at a management level.

Employers are to blame as they hire the wrong people.

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2019, 3:27 pm

Friends, let’s not throw the blame on the employers solely.

You can have the best management, Trinidadian mentality still subsists.

Imagine looking after your workers,
i.e - favorable salaries, commendations, promotions, rewards, bonuses, benefits etc, and Carnival time come around and they buss a sick in yuh mc. Stale drunk, tired and unable to function, more than usual attitude, poor performance. Heck this happen after a typical Friday and Saturday night, or after a holiday. Why?

Come on, Trinidadians always look for EVERY single possible excuse to NOT work efficiently or perform.

The same way how 88sins mentioned that Venes will go back to their home country ways once they settle, its the exact way a Trini will revert to AFTER they are treated properly.

Im not saying Venes are perfect.....unfortunately and currently, they are proving to be better workers than Trinidadians.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2019, 4:32 pm

Surprisingly there are no long lines at the unhcr office near my home since the amnesty ended.

The refugee registration was traditionally used as a trump card since they could not be deported if they claimed refugee status officially at least until their case was heard.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2019, 8:22 pm

Well boy I saw some vene milf pum pum today. Them venes bless.

Postby 88sins » June 28th, 2019, 10:13 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends, let’s not throw the blame on the employers solely.

i.e - favorable salaries, commendations, promotions, rewards, bonuses, benefits etc, and Carnival time come around and they buss a sick in yuh mc. Stale drunk, tired and unable to function, more than usual attitude, poor performance. Heck this happen after a typical Friday and Saturday night, or after a holiday. Why?

Come on, Trinidadians always look for EVERY single possible excuse to NOT work efficiently or perform.

The same way how 88sins mentioned that Venes will go back to their home country ways once they settle, its the exact way a Trini will revert to AFTER they are treated properly.

Im not saying Venes are perfect.....unfortunately and currently, they are proving to be better workers than Trinidadians.

not saying that all employers are guilty of abusing and neglecting their employees, but I will say that most are, and don't like being called out on it. And small money isn't the only problem employees face. Imagine this. You go to work every day for a year, take no s/l or v/l, fully perform the duties assigned to you, work extra hours for zero compensation, and always on time for duty. and a week before you complete your years service you are dismissed without reason, and the sole purpose for your dismissal is for the employer to he able to avoid having to pay you severance if he wants to fire you after that year.
or you work for a security firm, risking life and limb for others safety, and again, you always on time, perform as expected, etc. and you are paid as an hourly rated worker, for $20/he for 40 hrs, and they pay you $500 with no explanation. and you are not even issued a pay slip to show why you were short paid. and if you ask for a pay slip, you have to wait weeks to get it. btw, them giving you a pay slip, (usually with trumped up reasons to try to justify the deductions btw), there's no guarantee that you will ever get back what you earned and were not paid.
Now, just bear in mind that those are only 2 examples of employee abuse I've seen being meted out by employers, that I happen to know for a fact occur in more than a few places as routine practice and standard operating procedure.

Now, I ask you this
If you were subjected to either of those forms of abuse, over and over and over again, moving from one job to another and meeting similar if not the same treatment, would your work ethic change or remain the same as in give them your all? and if it did change, how long would it take before it did?

Yes, some fellas wutless and don't like to work, so they do the bare minimum and try to avoid even that. But they are not the standard. they are the one off bad eggs. If you have them, dispose of them if they not willing or able to get their act together. But it is very wrong to classify all others with those types, simply for an employer to justify a stink attitude and their abusive employer/employee relationship.

I will say this tho.
ppl saying venes will revitalize the construction industry. cool. no problem with that.
my question tho, is that when a vene in the industry gets hurt and cannot work, then what for them? because most of these construction companies do not have workmans comp insurance. so most injured construction sector workers tend to fall back on the NIS for financial relief. And venes won't be paying NIS, so have nothing to get there. so what happens to them?

is plenty lil things ppl not studying at all, that could end up being big problems if we are not careful. And this current batch of well dressed idiots supposedly running things here are carefree and oblivious.

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2019, 11:16 pm

MaxPower wrote:When allyuh jealous AF suffering Trini boys going to wake up?

De Dragon you still ketchin yuh little kant to put food on the table for yuh children?

Get to work na....Venes outperforming allyuh. Only then will you win our respect.

I usually avoid reaching home on this forum, but you have ill advisedly mentioned my children in your d*ck sucking mouth so I feel compelled to respond.
I not only put food on the table for my children, but on your table for you, via your mom. :wink:

Postby nemisis » June 28th, 2019, 11:55 pm

MaxPower wrote:Friends, let’s not throw the blame on the employers solely.

If you have employee who do what you say then simply fire them however if you have numerous employees doing this then the problem is your HR. And what do you mean by treating your employees nice? You not doing them a favor, all the things you mentioned are what you as an employer did to attract a better quality of employee. Don’t offer promotions a decent salary,benefits and pay minimum wage and see what kind of employee you attract then!

Postby nemisis » June 29th, 2019, 12:06 am

Employers in Trinidad want a plantation. You must be afraid to take a sick leave around carnival because you not sick you going party. Do you have small kids sick, leave doesn’t apply to them. The only funerals you must attend must be your mother and father as if time off for a funeral is a party. Be on work on time everyday but late once and you getting a warning about your punctuality( saw this first hand). You can have lunch but if business occurs during your lunch break stop what you doing. Wait until the end of the work day to have a pressing meeting ( hope you don’t have kids to get home too). Guava season so work unpaid over time. Psychological abuse as well ( keep mentioning how lucky you are to be employed when even banks retrenching workers at every opportunity) saw that happen first hand as well. You made it to vacation get frequent calls about work.

Postby RedVEVO » June 29th, 2019, 3:20 am

MaxPower wrote:I know ALOT of business owners who are actually paying the Venezuelans more than what they would pay a Trini.

Most are very understanding and sympathetic and give a little more.

So allyuh failure trinis jus sit down dumb and jobless and feel that all Venezuelans getting low wages and being treated like sheit. The tables turn.

Verdad mi amigo !

Many Venezuelans are highly qualified.

Met one the other day who had similar qualifications as me and had
her own business .

Yes Sir, we working together .

A "big" job too ..

Funny thing is that 2 "Black Receptionists" did not understand she was the Boss.

And when she send them flying - they ran and hide in shame !

They could not believe this young girl had a Masters in Engineering !!!

Postby 88sins » June 29th, 2019, 6:03 am

nemisis wrote:Employers in Trinidad want a plantation. You must be afraid to take a sick leave around carnival because you not sick you going party. Do you have small kids sick, leave doesn’t apply to them. The only funerals you must attend must be your mother and father as if time off for a funeral is a party. Be on work on time everyday but late once and you getting a warning about your punctuality( saw this first hand). You can have lunch but if business occurs during your lunch break stop what you doing. Wait until the end of the work day to have a pressing meeting ( hope you don’t have kids to get home too). Guava season so work unpaid over time. Psychological abuse as well ( keep mentioning how lucky you are to be employed when even banks retrenching workers at every opportunity) saw that happen first hand as well. You made it to vacation get frequent calls about work.

as you mentioned kids, I had an experience a long time ago with an employer when one of mine was small. But first some insight.
I used to occasionally pick up my employers son from school and drop him off to lessons or home if he asked me and if I had nothing pressing to attend to. and I used to use my own personal vehicle to do this. no compensation necessary. I put a stop to this when the boy was about 14.

Now, I'm something of a workaholic family man. I don't mind skipping lunch if there's important work that needs attention, even do it on a regular basis to this day. Don't take vacay often either, might take a few days every few years. But before any job, I personally put famil first, and anyone that knows me knows this.
so, one day, while in the employ of a particular company for years and after pushing through my lunch hour as per usual, I have to leave at about 2:45 to pick up my 6 yo daughter from school. I let my employer know I going and why and I tell him I'll be back in 30 minutes, maybe less.
when I return, he calls me to his office and proceeds to tell me I not supposed to leave work to go pick up my kid.

The ensuing interaction was very simple and to the point.
Me: So you telling me, I not supposed leave work in PoS to pick up my 6 yo daughter from school in woodbrook with my vehicle after working through my lunch hour and that she has to stay there till you decide it's okay for me to go for her, but it's ok for me to take my vehicle during working hours to leave PoS and go drop your 14 year old son to lessons in west moorings?
Employer: remains silent, realizing he just put his whole leg up to his hip in his own hippocritical mouth.
Me: Is that what you trying to tell me?
Employer: yes
Me: Next time I tell you I going for my daughter, if you don't like it, when I walk outside and get in my car, feel free to stand up in front the car and lewwe see if I either stop or use you as a human speed bump. My family comes before ANYBODY'S net profit margins, any job, and anybody. Period, and that is not subject to negotiation.

After that brief meeting, he never asked me to pick up his son again, and had no further problem with me going for my daughter. Hell, after that, and this is no exaggeration, I could leave at 10 am and come back at 3:30, and he'd not ask a question. Wouldn't even look in my direction.

Moral of the story is easy to understand.
Ppl from time to time need to be put in their place, and they have no problem with riding you like an ass if they feel like they can get away with it,
or screwing you and your family over if it benefits them. And if you don't put them in their place, prepare to be ridden and abused like a proper jackass for the duration of your interactions with them.

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2019, 7:13 am

nemisis wrote:Employers in Trinidad want a plantation. You must be afraid to take a sick leave around carnival because you not sick you going party. Do you have small kids sick, leave doesn’t apply to them. The only funerals you must attend must be your mother and father as if time off for a funeral is a party. Be on work on time everyday but late once and you getting a warning about your punctuality( saw this first hand). You can have lunch but if business occurs during your lunch break stop what you doing. Wait until the end of the work day to have a pressing meeting ( hope you don’t have kids to get home too). Guava season so work unpaid over time. Psychological abuse as well ( keep mentioning how lucky you are to be employed when even banks retrenching workers at every opportunity) saw that happen first hand as well. You made it to vacation get frequent calls about work.

All you said is so true. But most of what you said happens in the service and family run businesses. Working in industry is different.

I spend all my career working in heavy industry. I made sure to be on time and left on time. I took my lunch on time. I never asked the company for any favours and they knew I would never lick their arse so their bullchit never applied to me. I would never work for free or work time in lue. I made sure I took my vacation when I wanted. I played them by their own policy.

As I said Labour laws are primivative and the industrial courts are bullchit as in most cases they favor the employer.

It's all part of the reason why Trinis are angry people, a bad boss or employer can trigger you off and that's why labour laws are a pack of chit. Government just does not care about the well being of people. In this county people dread going to work cause they know they have face bullchit everyday and that puts them in a negative frame of mind.

Bullchit county, bullchit employers, bullchit goverment and bullchit tuners .

On the plus side , I had to do bussines in carion license office yesterday . Them people working, I was amazed their service really improved.

Postby 88sins » June 29th, 2019, 8:05 am

So, now that it's understood that Trini employers are part of the problem, & that they often abuse workers, and that Trini workers eh gonna swallow that abuse dry so & that the effects of said abuse usually is reflected in their performance, I pose this question...

When the Vene worker gets subjected to the same abuse the Trini employer wants to dish out (& this is a safe assumption, assuming the worker is the only thing that changes in the equation & employer slave master mentality remains constant & he eh busy eating Vene culo), what stopping them from robbing the employer, before moving on to a new job? Either at gunpoint, or by other subtle means.
Remember, these ppl have zero loyalty to anyone or anywhere, and can easily disappear.

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2019, 9:24 am

88sins wrote:Now, I ask you this
If you were subjected to either of those forms of abuse, over and over and over again, moving from one job to another and meeting similar if not the same treatment, would your work ethic change or remain the same as in give them your all? and if it did change, how long would it take before it did?

Been there and done that. My work ethic never changed. I am not letting my work standards change due to the actions of others. Its a self respect and I have a reputation to upkeep. I am the worker, when you hear my name, there is absolutely no reason for criticism.

Again i sense too much complaining from Trinidadians. What job does anyone here know of that is perfect? Allyuh want to go to work feeling relaxed and comfortable? Have a sweet heart boss? Nice salary? Flawless work conditions? Rules and regulations that are subjected to leniency?

Talk to ANY successful Trinidadian who were unfortunate to have the inheritance/connections cards. Ask them about their past work experiences. It wasn’t easy. They endured the worst of conditions, kept their head on with some of life’s free gifts - Attitude, Aptitude, Ambition, Determination, Motivation.

Why is it the older generation folks e.g - your grandfather u mentioned always have the best advice?. Do you think he gained all that knowledge by working comfortably his whole life? Im sure as hell he had it rough in his times, i lie? Why cant Trinidadians these days apply a similar work ethic?

Somewhere along the road Trinidadians became complacent and lazy. Working hard has become a problem. How will we learn if we dont experience hard ships? i.e - sheit work, sheit money, sheit conditions with a sheit boss.....sounds like the average job to me. But no one is saying to eat this sheit and suck it all up.....its how allyuh carry about yourselves is the problem.

People ass too happy in this country.

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2019, 9:34 am

88sins wrote:So, now that it's understood that Trini employers are part of the problem, & that they often abuse workers, and that Trini workers eh gonna swallow that abuse dry so & that the effects of said abuse usually is reflected in their performance, I pose this question...

When the Vene worker gets subjected to the same abuse the Trini employer wants to dish out (& this is a safe assumption, assuming the worker is the only thing that changes in the equation & employer slave master mentality remains constant & he eh busy eating Vene culo), what stopping them from robbing the employer, before moving on to a new job? Either at gunpoint, or by other subtle means.
Remember, these ppl have zero loyalty to anyone or anywhere, and can easily disappear.

That's why they had to register and will be given a work permit. Once they move on to another job it easy to trace them. They can disappear but as an employer it's in their best interest to get a former job reference, police cert and or an immigration check before they hire a vene. A bussines owner should know by now a work camm is vital for his operation.

These little steps will help a potential employer to make sure he's hiring good folk venes or locals.

Too much hype over venes , it will take a lil time for them to settle in and blend in to our culture.

These venes are more documented that the caricom trash we have in Beetham and Laventille.

Postby nemisis » June 29th, 2019, 10:10 am

88sins wrote:Now, I ask you this

Been there and done that. My work ethic never changed. I am not letting my work standards change due to the actions of others. Its a self respect and I have a reputation to upkeep. I am the worker, when you hear my name, there is absolutely no reason for criticism.

Again i sense too much complaining from Trinidadians. What job does anyone here know of that is perfect? Allyuh want to go to work feeling relaxed and comfortable? Have a sweet heart boss? Nice salary? Flawless work conditions? Rules and regulations that are subjected to leniency?

Talk to ANY successful Trinidadian who were unfortunate to have the inheritance/connections cards. Ask them about their past work experiences. It wasn’t easy. They endured the worst of conditions, kept their head on with some of life’s free gifts - Attitude, Aptitude, Ambition, Determination, Motivation.

Why is it the older generation folks e.g - your grandfather u mentioned always have the best advice?. Do you think he gained all that knowledge by working comfortably his whole life? Im sure as hell he had it rough in his times, i lie? Why cant Trinidadians these days apply a similar work ethic?

Somewhere along the road Trinidadians became complacent and lazy. Working hard has become a problem. How will we learn if we dont experience hard ships? i.e - sheit work, sheit money, sheit conditions with a sheit boss.....sounds like the average job to me. But no one is saying to eat this sheit and suck it all up.....its how allyuh carry about yourselves is the problem.

People ass too happy in this country.

Working hard to reach no where fast is the reality! The old people ( grandparents as you say) had it easy. EASY. In their time they could have bought house, land, and have 15 children on the salary of one UNEDUCATED bread winner. If you really think the problem is the Trini then you clearly never saw a Trini working in the states. They will work sheit jobs and happily because they getting paid in USD. Them same guntresss who mouth twist up in kfc are one of the most sought after care givers! Why such a difference?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 29th, 2019, 11:11 am

Faris: I cried for migrants

ATTORNEY GENERAL Faris Al-Rawi said he had cried to see individuals protesting against Venezuelan migrants being registered in TT.

“Did we witness on television, protesters outside of the registration centre in Port of Spain crying and screaming, ‘Go back home! Stop registration’?

“I want to say I recognized some of those protesters."
He said they had also protested against the Government outside Parliament, allegedly paid by members of certain political parties. The protest was as xenophobic as the Opposition’s motion calling to annul the migrant registration, he charged.

“Xenophobia is the fear of the outside of foreigners. And, Madam President, I cried a tear from my soul to see people demonstrating against people in distress.”

Al-Rawi said his father’s family had been shattered by life in sanction-hit Iraq.

He said the motion to do undo the registration was a “ridiculous absurdity” that would be “an injustice to our souls.”

The AG rationalised the registration by saying it costs up to $25,000 for TT to house an illegal migrant, who simply wanted the chance to work.

“Forty-six per cent of respondents had tertiary or university-level education, masters (degrees), licensed, or technical certification. Twenty per cent had received job offers in TT.”

However, he added that 53 per cent faced discrimination, 14 per cent were mistreated at their workplace and eight per cent were victims of physical abuse, .

Lamenting the discovery of 19 minors held in sexual slavery, the AG said the registration exercise had let the Government get details of human traffickers, in line with calls in a recent US State Department report that kept had TT at Tier 2 owing to a lack of criminal convictions.

The UNC plan to make the registration null and void would not provide such details.

“How do you know how people came in? Who paid the boatman money? What was the boatman's name? What was the cellphone used to contact you to drop you? Which house were you taken to? Who picked you up?”

The registration has helped tackle trafficking, he said. “We now know all the vessels that brought the people here. We know the telephones numbers of the people that brought them here. We know the cars. We know the homes. We are better able to track the trafficking of little girls and Venezuelan women.”

The AG said the Opposition’s plan was immoral, illogical, unconscionable and costly.

“If we were to negative this (migrant registration), we would have to literally go and lock up 16,000 people immediately; leave them poor, penniless, broken and incarcerated; and eventually find some mechanism to transport 16,000 people out of TT.”

Accusing the Opposition of absurdity, he said the registration process was rational, conscionable, moral and sensible.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/06/28/faris- ... -migrants/

Please stop hurting de man feelings...

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2019, 12:00 pm

Thank you Faris, for your sympathy and understanding in this difficult time for the Venezuelans. All other matters you can hymc.

Postby MaxPower » June 29th, 2019, 1:40 pm

nemisis wrote:Working hard to reach no where fast is the reality! The old people ( grandparents as you say) had it easy. EASY. In their time they could have bought house, land, and have 15 children on the salary of one UNEDUCATED bread winner. If you really think the problem is the Trini then you clearly never saw a Trini working in the states. They will work sheit jobs and happily because they getting paid in USD. Them same guntresss who mouth twist up in kfc are one of the most sought after care givers! Why such a difference?

Hello Nemisis,

False ripe Yankees working sheit jobs in the states and happy cuz its USD money?

Sounds like suffering to me and level ketch ass.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 29th, 2019, 2:34 pm

nemisis wrote:Working hard to reach no where fast is the reality! The old people ( grandparents as you say) had it easy. EASY. In their time they could have bought house, land, and have 15 children on the salary of one UNEDUCATED bread winner. If you really think the problem is the Trini then you clearly never saw a Trini working in the states. They will work sheit jobs and happily because they getting paid in USD. Them same guntresss who mouth twist up in kfc are one of the most sought after care givers! Why such a difference?

Hello Nemisis,

False ripe Yankees working sheit jobs in the states and happy cuz its USD money?

Cuz it's all about consequences and expectations. In trini they could be lazy as no one expects workers to go extra. Other workers aren't often setting the bar high and there isn't a huge risk of being fired for being a shitty employee. And if they do, they could move back with mammy or pappi and get a lil cepep/urp/OJT wuk. Additionally, it always have somebody they know who could get them a small wuk.

In the US for a migrant, it simply isn't so. It's all up to you to pull your weight. Plus trinis get intimidated by the fanciness of it all and are eager to please to be accepted.

This isn't unique to Trinidad migrants

Postby nemisis » June 29th, 2019, 2:44 pm

^^^ other employees not setting a high bar sounds like a work culture for said business, not being fired for being a poor employee seems like management not doing what they should. So essentially you describe a Petri dish the lab technician leaving to fester and vex fungus growing.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 29th, 2019, 2:57 pm

nemisis wrote:^^^ other employees not setting a high bar sounds like a work culture for said business, not being fired for being a poor employee seems like management not doing what they should. So essentially you describe a Petri dish the lab technician leaving to fester and vex fungus growing.

Yes and this is the reality, I'm not blaming the employees, it's the work culture that exists in many places in Trinidad. People will be lazy if they don't face consequences. I'm just explaining why these same lazy trinis will work harder in the US.

Postby 88sins » June 29th, 2019, 5:51 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Hello Nemisis,

Cuz it's all about consequences and expectations. In trini they could be lazy as no one expects workers to go extra. Other workers aren't often setting the bar high and there isn't a huge risk of being fired for being a shitty employee. And if they do, they could move back with mammy or pappi and get a lil cepep/urp/OJT wuk. Additionally, it always have somebody they know who could get them a small wuk.

In the US for a migrant, it simply isn't so. It's all up to you to pull your weight. Plus trinis get intimidated by the fanciness of it all and are eager to please to be accepted.

This isn't unique to Trinidad migrants

son, out dey, as a immigrant, if you eh wuk, you doh eat. simple as dat. THAT is why a trini works 2-3 crappy jobs for small money.
The reason they relatively happy doing it is because even tho the $$ small, you could still actually live a rather comfortable life if you willing to hustle & grind, and even have a lil sumn extra to put aside.

btw, I highly doubt fassness all worries ever cried for anyone throughout the duration of his existence.
over almost 1500 Trinis murdered in the last 4 years, he couldn't spare the fluids to shed a tear for them. but trinis expressing their concerns over immigration issues turns him into a leaky standpipe?
ok

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2019, 5:59 pm

Who father is this?

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 1:28 am

Arse Wari only talking up in he MC. He should tell us of his personal efforts to help these people, like how much of his unethical rent money he's donated to the Catholic School for the migrant children, or how many registered migrants he's hiring to maintain One Alexandra. The only crying Arse Wari doing is when JUHN Scarfy forget the KY.

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2019, 6:21 am

De Dragon wrote:Arse Wari only talking up in he MC. He should tell us of his personal efforts to help these people, like how much of his unethical rent money he's donated to the Catholic School for the migrant children, or how many registered migrants he's hiring to maintain One Alexandra. The only crying Arse Wari doing is when JUHN Scarfy forget the KY.
You cah even get Eleitauto or redman to comment on PNM thesedays.

Dem gone into hidding

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2019, 10:58 pm

De Dragon wrote:Arse Wari only talking up in he MC. He should tell us of his personal efforts to help these people, like how much of his unethical rent money he's donated to the Catholic School for the migrant children, or how many registered migrants he's hiring to maintain One Alexandra. The only crying Arse Wari doing is when JUHN Scarfy forget the KY.

Dem gone into hidding

Unlike Tokesy, dem smart enough to know when to run eeen. Tokesy like he dotish, or he PNM gargling instinct is reflexive.

Postby zoom rader » July 1st, 2019, 10:16 am

Dem gone into hidding

Unlike Tokesy, dem smart enough to know when to run eeen. Tokesy like he dotish, or he PNM gargling instinct is reflexive.
Eleitauto needs to hire better bloggers

Postby Redman » July 1st, 2019, 10:47 am

Dem gone into hidding

why comment on sheit?
you fill that need quite well.

Postby MaxPower » July 1st, 2019, 11:16 am

Sending warmth to all to my Venezuelan brothers and sisters on this rainy day.

Postby De Dragon » July 1st, 2019, 8:55 pm

Redman wrote:

Dem gone into hidding

why comment on sheit?
you fill that need quite well.

The only sheit you should be referencing is the sheit being done by your husbands in the PNM. Then again, we know you're incapable of knowing sheit from shoe polish when it falls on your head from said husbands, so our expectation of you is proportionally low.