Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby 88sins » May 24th, 2017, 8:56 am

GeneralHonda wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:For those in the Santa Cruz area who may be interested in attending, there is a meeting carded for 6 pm on Thur. 25 May 2017 in the Church Hall (Mary Immaculate Queen) located on Sun Valley Road, Bourg Mulatresse (Lower Santa Cruz) with government officials regarding the Property Tax. Google map has the location accurately marked if in need of directions.

UPDATE: THIS MEETING HAS BEEN CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

post a link to the notice plz

Postby RedVEVO » May 24th, 2017, 9:00 am

Yes , It maybe a Nazi plan to cancel a protest meeting.

There is NO FAKE NEWS on Tuner .

Again,

Axe The Tax

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 24th, 2017, 10:37 am

20170524_094914.jpeg

Postby adnj » May 24th, 2017, 11:14 am

Either prices or productivity goes up. Welcome to capitalism.

adnj wrote:Real estate taxation, if based on value, is a heavier burden on the rich than on the poor.

absolutely nothing wrong with this, thats the way it supposed to be

adnj wrote:Subsidies on fuel and utilities benefit the heavy users most.

& this is why ppl should pay for what they use, as they use it, at a rate thats appropriate to the purpose of their consumption. ie, rates should be higher for commercial consumers than residential, on both fuel & utilities, nothing wrong with that either.

But we all know what happens the minute a company has any sort of increase in cost of production in T&T, prices skyrocket.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 24th, 2017, 11:38 am

Sundar wrote:20170524_094914

also saw this, what happens if the forms or method of collection needs to be changed to comply with the grounds for the injunction? Everyone who already submitted will have to re-submit?

Postby rspann » May 24th, 2017, 12:01 pm

Duane studying how after all that work he put into the form, he have to do it again.

Postby toyolink » May 24th, 2017, 12:01 pm

The Minister Of Finance just looking for trouble.
If the minister sought an opinion on the court order from their legal team, rather than going to the court for clarification of the prescribed limits of the order, things could become further messed up.
The order as outlined in media reports directs The Commissioner to desist from any further activity which is in furtherance of the execution of the process.
Is a contempt of court possibility becoming apparent?
If the situation is as it seems, I am convinced the Minister is seriously being deliberate (under cover of ineptitude) about frustrating the implementation of the tax provisions.

Postby 88sins » May 24th, 2017, 12:23 pm

adnj wrote:Either prices or productivity goes up. Welcome to capitalism.

In a normal model, thats how it works in theory. not here.

Postby 88sins » May 24th, 2017, 12:38 pm

toyolink wrote:The Minister Of Finance just looking for trouble.
If the minister sought an opinion on the court order from their legal team, rather than going to the court for clarification of the prescribed limits of the order, things could become further messed up.
The order as outlined in media reports directs The Commissioner to desist from any further activity which is in furtherance of the execution of the process.
If the situation is as it seems, I am convinced the Minister is seriously being deliberate (under cover of ineptitude) about frustrating the implementation of the tax provisions.

the minister of fine ants being advised by legal counsel, afaik, can in no way overrule an order handed down by a sitting judge. he eh kno the hole he diggin for himself there

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2017, 12:56 pm

That's the key word there bro MEDIA REPORTS.. If the legal council just interpreted the judge decision based on partisan politics he should be fired on spot and exposed and probably lose his license to practice if that's possible.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » May 24th, 2017, 2:22 pm

GeneralHonda wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:For those in the Santa Cruz area who may be interested in attending, there is a meeting carded for 6 pm on Thur. 25 May 2017 in the Church Hall (Mary Immaculate Queen) located on Sun Valley Road, Bourg Mulatresse (Lower Santa Cruz) with government officials regarding the Property Tax. Google map has the location accurately marked if in need of directions.

UPDATE: THIS MEETING HAS BEEN CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.

post a link to the notice plz

There is no link to a notice. It was a meeting meant for the residents and nearby environs organized by the church. I only extended it to those who may be interested and I was informed by a board member of its cancellation this morning.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 24th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Sundar wrote:20170524_094914

also saw this, what happens if the forms or method of collection needs to be changed to comply with the grounds for the injunction? Everyone who already submitted will have to re-submit?

Possibly unless they're willing to extract info from the already submitted forms. As the days go by we'll see what happens.

Postby matr1x » May 24th, 2017, 5:00 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
matr1x wrote:Problem is with that's maths, is most homes are built after huge sacrifices and more often than not, home owners have large loans to pay. It's not so much the tax, but the invasive information required. Also, we are seeing our tax dollars being wasted. This tax will be used for what exactly?

Yuh see the rubbish u put outside for the truck to pick up in the morning? U think that's a free service?

Yes , I want it free .

I paid Stamp Duty Tax - Where de f... that going or gone ?

Point well made

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2017, 8:41 pm

matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
matr1x wrote:Problem is with that's maths, is most homes are built after huge sacrifices and more often than not, home owners have large loans to pay. It's not so much the tax, but the invasive information required. Also, we are seeing our tax dollars being wasted. This tax will be used for what exactly?

Yuh see the rubbish u put outside for the truck to pick up in the morning? U think that's a free service?

Yes , I want it free .

Point well made

Stamp Duty is paid to acquire your legal document /deed. Property tax is paid to aquire services around the region in which you bought your property. This is the function of local government in which the partnership has a few corporations well to manage... You want things free then go live................ Hmmmm where would u have to go to have things free? Back to you guys. Educate us.

Postby sMASH » May 24th, 2017, 8:53 pm

so, that money paid for stamp duty, that is the ACTUAL cost of the stamp?
if so, i goin to get into the stamp business...

that come like when an employer gives u a break down the monies u get in a pay slip... basic pay, over time, then u get housing allowance, car up keep, travelling etc.

so, the money an employer may give under the title of 'car upkeep' can only go towards upkeep of ur car, and can never be spent on any thing else.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 24th, 2017, 10:39 pm

There is no stamp bro u are paying for a legal document just as u would pay a lawyer their fees for drafting it. I'm going to assume allyuh men trolling now cause it cannot be that men posting this amount of rum talk without doing minor research.

Postby De Dragon » May 24th, 2017, 11:53 pm

So, Impsy showing he eh care about no stinking court stay. This absolute failure of a human being is the worst example of power corruption ever.

Postby matr1x » May 25th, 2017, 12:02 am

I think the point made is, so many taxes are levied upon us, and there is so little to show for it. And MORE is being requested or demanded and for what exactly?

Postby De Dragon » May 25th, 2017, 12:27 am

matr1x wrote:I think the point made is, so many taxes are levied upon us, and there is so little to show for it. And MORE is being requested or demanded and for what exactly?

For Scarfy and he husband Impsy to show that they have long memories about 2009-2010.

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 1:20 am

It is Contempt of Court.

The VRF has been deemed illegal.

Mr Gov't want your money $$$ via Property Tax so much he turn Bandit.

And Landlords raising rent $$$ for no reason other than they fat, greasy , greedy and do not work .

Similar ting .

Again,

Axe TheTax

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 2:03 am

boxy wrote:
matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:

Yes , I want it free .

Point well made

Stamp Duty is paid to acquire your legal document /deed. Property tax is paid to aquire services around the region in which you bought your property. This is the function of local government in which the partnership has a few corporations well to manage... You want things free then go live................ Hmmmm where would u have to go to have things free? Back to you guys. Educate us.

Stamp Duty is a Tax .

Again 'dim lit' BF of a more prominent high society rubber slipper 'dim lit' ... it is a Tax .

Again Tax, Tax, Tax.

Example: Purchase House $1 M . Stamp Duty $12,000

Where dat money $$$ going ?

W h e r e ?

F ... Damn sure I want "FREE" Garbage pick up
and on Sunday and Public Holidays .

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby The_Honourable » May 25th, 2017, 2:15 am

boxy wrote:
matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:

Yes , I want it free .

Point well made

sMASH wrote:so, that money paid for stamp duty, that is the ACTUAL cost of the stamp?
if so, i goin to get into the stamp business...

boxy wrote:There is no stamp bro u are paying for a legal document just as u would pay a lawyer their fees for drafting it. I'm going to assume allyuh men trolling now cause it cannot be that men posting this amount of rum talk without doing minor research.

According to the chart below, if I pay 2.5 mil for a property, my stamp duty (Stamp Duty - Conveyance) is approx $93,250. Attorneys fees are separate from that cost which we would not dispute.

I agree that we don't expect the state endorsement of a deed at the Stamp Duty Section to be done for free but ah mean... $93,250 to certify the deed of a 2.5mil property by stamping and saving the document electronically?

Stamp Duty is a tax. If it wasn't, it would have been a flat rate of a few hundred dollars to a few thousand dollars just to verify, stamp and scan.

Chart source: http://gafarrell.com/useful-information/
Chart.png

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 2:26 am

That is old ass information.

Stamp Duty Tax is more $$$$ now.

Why we have to pay Stamp Duty Tax ?

W h y ?

Again, Mr Govt' up in your business .

Then you pay tax and no benefits . And Mr Gov't want more and more .

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2017, 3:32 am

boxy wrote:Stamp Duty is paid to acquire your legal document /deed. Property tax is paid to aquire services around the region in which you bought your property. This is the function of local government in which the partnership has a few corporations well to manage... You want things free then go live................ Hmmmm where would u have to go to have things free? Back to you guys. Educate us.

Actually, stamp duty on real estate is a form of value-based and is normally applied when administrative infrastructure is not sufficient. It is a carry-over from British colonial government in many countries worldwide.

With the implementation of value-based property taxes, it is reasonable to expect that stamp duty rates should be significantly lowered.

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2017, 3:34 am

You're wrong again. Contempt indicates willful disregard for an order from the bench. I read the order and it speaks to the state requiring the use of the form only.
RedVEVO wrote:

It is Contempt of Court.

And Landlords raising rent $$$ for no reason other than they fat, greasy , greedy and do not work .

Similar ting .

Again,

Axe TheTax

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 25th, 2017, 7:24 am

younno. i to punder on it now. i actually frighten to think bout what they may try to impose on us next if this Tax doh come through for them.

Postby 88sins » May 25th, 2017, 8:04 am

adnj wrote:
With the implementation of value-based property taxes, it is reasonable to expect that stamp duty rates should be significantly lowered.

you can reasonably expect anything you'd like to. Doesn't change the fact that you gonna be disappointed.

Do you really expect the state, to collect lets say $3000 p.a. in property tax alone, & abandon the option of collecting anywhere on average $15000 to $45000 up front, all the while still demanding that same $3000 from you every year thereafter as long as you maintain your residence?

not these local parasites that love to practice poly ticks. brace yourself to have your expectations disregarded & your pockets raped.

Postby 88sins » May 25th, 2017, 8:14 am

Monkey Man wrote:younno. i to punder on it now. i actually frighten to think bout what they may try to impose on us next if this Tax doh come through for them.

thats easy, most likely the will be the removal of more subsidies on fuel & utilities, lower the tax allowance back to 60K, raise VAT back to 15%, increase the PAYE rate to 30%, further cut social programs, etc.

But the thing is, I'm mostly certain that they plan on doing at least 3 of those things anyway, regardless of if the assessment or collection phase of this tax is implemented or not, so you'll be paying more regardless, but without the added burden of this additional fraud of a property tax.

i hope allyuh happy what allyuh choose & still want to "let's do this"

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2017, 8:15 am

I said should not will, bro. Work on protesting a double tax based in colonialism.
adnj wrote:

you can reasonably expect anything you'd like to. Doesn't change the fact that you gonna be disappointed.

Do you really expect the state, to collect lets say $3000 p.a. in property tax alone, & abandon the option of collecting anywhere on average $15000 to $45000 up front, all the while still demanding that same $3000 from you every year thereafter as long as you maintain your residence?

not these local parasites that love to practice poly ticks. brace yourself to have your expectations disregarded & your pockets raped.

Postby toyolink » May 25th, 2017, 8:58 am

adnj wrote:You're wrong again. Contempt indicates willful disregard for an order from the bench. I read the order and it speaks to the state requiring the use of the form only.
RedVEVO wrote:

It is Contempt of Court.

Similar ting .

Again,

Axe TheTax

I reviewed the decision and cannot concur with your pronouncement, in fact article 41 of the decision must be taken in the context prescribed by the previous articles presented in the decision.
The 'VRF' is treated by the judge as not only a form but part of a process which is the subject of the specified judicial review.
My utterances represent the basis of my previous statement and certainly any party to this matter I am sure can seek clarification from the court for appropriate and proper compliance.