Re: *** The official car accident thread***

Postby rspann » January 12th, 2016, 6:50 am

If was a Jetta they still alive.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 12th, 2016, 7:26 am

rspann wrote:If was a Jetta they still alive.

The only way I could agree with this and the Corolla statement is because of the fact that a corolla or a jetta won't end up in a situation like this. Or at least it less likely

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 12th, 2016, 8:44 am

That is why no hatchbacks for me. Hatchbacks cannot take a rear impact like a notchback sedan. Maybe if it was a Tiida Latio sedan it may have been a different result. If it was a Jetta it would not have picked up the skid in the first place thanks to stability control. Even if it did, the electronics will work very hard to stabilize the car but none can defy the laws of physics so it all boils down to observing the speed limit and that area should be 50kmph and less? Another thing easily over-looked is the tyres. With a proliferation of substandard tyres imported from certain countries, this too can be a contributing factor. RIP to the fallen.

Postby MG Man » January 12th, 2016, 9:04 am

acesinghit wrote:That is why no hatchbacks for me. .

depends....my last R50 mini got wood from a truck and survived with no structural damage...replaced the left side rear suspension, fender and bumper, and was back to normal

Anyone saw the new Suzuki SUV thing parked in front Orinces Town police stattion. Looked like its front right struck the front right of a Familia...Suzuki absorbed the force at point of impact,, while the Familia has a bent roof....amazing how well engineered some of these new cars are

Advent

Postby Advent » January 12th, 2016, 9:19 am

acesinghit wrote:With a proliferation of substandard tyres imported from certain countries, this too can be a contributing factor .

This is the biggest factor. i lost control of my car at 160kmph and if it was for the pirelli p zero tires i woulda end up in a ditch. i got back control of the car at 120kmph. i guess calmest amidst the situation would help too

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 12th, 2016, 9:48 am

TriP wrote:2 men died in a car crash in Laventille on Sunday night.

A young girl survived, but was taken to hospital with serious injuries.

According to police, the three were in a Nissan Tiida travelling along Eastern Main Road when in the vicinity of the Success/ Laventille Secondary School the vehicle skidded and crashed into a lightpole.

acesinghit wrote:That is why no hatchbacks for me. Hatchbacks cannot take a rear impact like a notchback sedan. Maybe if it was a Tiida Latio sedan it may have been a different result. If it was a Jetta it would not have picked up the skid in the first place thanks to stability control. Even if it did, the electronics will work very hard to stabilize the car but none can defy the laws of physics so it all boils down to observing the speed limit and that area should be 50kmph and less? Another thing easily over-looked is the tyres. With a proliferation of substandard tyres imported from certain countries, this too can be a contributing factor. RIP to the fallen.

What part of that Tiida is a hatch back you ain't know your cars ,you ain't seeing a trunk lid .

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 12th, 2016, 3:05 pm

MGMan, I actually remember that incident where I think you posted pics but in defense to what you drive, it aint no cheap Jap runabout car! It has BMW engineering in it so that counts for something.

ruffrider, you're correct. I missed that. Then I withdraw my comment on the Tiida Latio sedan being better because if that was actually the hatchback then God alone knows what the body structure would look like after the impact.

Cheers

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2016, 3:26 pm

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » January 12th, 2016, 7:00 pm

This Tiida thing getting out of hand...

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2016, 7:17 pm

R.I.P to the fallen yes

what racerdriver said

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 12th, 2016, 7:17 pm

Anytime its a vehicle vs lamppost/tree...the lampost usually wins
In the meantime the real paper vehicle of tnt roads
1 star
http://rightcar.govt.nz/ancap-test-result.html?q=218

other vehicles
E25 nissan 1 star
http://rightcar.govt.nz/ancap-test-result.html?q=321

http://rightcar.govt.nz/ancap-make-results.html?q=Mitsubishi
http://rightcar.govt.nz/ancap-make-results.html?q=Nissan
http://rightcar.govt.nz/ancap-make-results.html?q=Toyota

Other crash rating groups, also cars may not be same spec as one tested, such as some tiidas have side impact airbags and some do not
http://www.euroncap.com/en
http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings
http://www.latinncap.com/en/

Postby Les Bain » January 12th, 2016, 8:38 pm

The Tiida situation is a result of people car syndrome, plain and simple. If people were more honest with their econobox and drove it within its limits, there would be more safe and well maintained vehicles on the road. The highest number on the speedo isn't an invitation to reach that figure, ffs.

Postby Les Bain » January 12th, 2016, 8:39 pm

Inadvertent double post :(
Last edited by Les Bain on January 13th, 2016, 4:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » January 12th, 2016, 10:08 pm

We heard u once man..no need to reinforce

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2016, 9:12 am

acesinghit wrote:MGMan, I actually remember that incident where I think you posted pics but in defense to what you drive, it aint no cheap Jap runabout car! It has BMW engineering in it so that counts for something.

dunno, after seeing how that PDK Suzuki SUV thingie handled the frontal impact, I think pretty much all reputable carmakers have stepped up their game....cars are much much safer than ten years ago....drivers? not so much :-/

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2016, 9:41 am

the insurance companies down here need to start something like what progressive in the usa have

snapshot

it records your driving habits, speed, hard brakes etc...and they then charge you based on that

want to drive 160 plus all the time in yuh tiida? no insurance for yuh! or 10k a year for 3rd party

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2016, 10:04 am

that a happening^

andres13

Postby andres13 » January 13th, 2016, 10:18 am

roadhog wrote:
killercow wrote:
1452190943848.jpg

Just passed this on Pierre-Chaguanas connector road.

All fiyyahzz. No brakes

+1 ^

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2016, 2:20 pm

A co-worker's car
In December I pointed out the tyre to him. He chuckled, said it was like that for a while, so it's all good..he also reminded me that god is great
That very same evening, He actually skidded on a wet downhill road and hit a wall
He repaired the car and left the tyre as is

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1452709236.050979.jpg

Postby Morpheus » January 13th, 2016, 2:22 pm

:|:|

Postby MG Man » January 13th, 2016, 2:30 pm

mind you, this dunce was dropping home people children after church....dunno what worse, his assness or the parents ignorance
And the man insanely nonchalant about the whole thing

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2016, 2:32 pm

God will keep him safe.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 13th, 2016, 2:38 pm

AYSN wrote:God will keep him safe.

ADONI