Postby maj. tom » March 18th, 2020, 9:21 pm

he just has a few loose screws.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 18th, 2020, 10:22 pm

Few?

More like a truckload
maj. tom wrote:he just has a few loose screws.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 19th, 2020, 8:28 am

^^^^

You all talking about the man.

Who like to post like this?

Not so?

Postby maj. tom » March 19th, 2020, 8:31 am

Leff the man nah. He does behave he self when he posting on alt accounts.
Redvevo account should be perma-banned and erased like pioneer.

Postby Dave » March 19th, 2020, 8:56 am

maj. tom wrote:

Hmm, now there's an idea!

But wait...

This might be fun.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2020, 8:36 pm

Wife wanted Panna Cotta to go with the beetroot Jam I made a couple weeks ago.

Still setting in fridge. Taste report tomorrow.

I'll take a better pic when I top it with the beet jam. Prob some lime zest and a couple grains of salt to tie it together. Don't have koshering salt else it would've been perfect for this
IMG_20200320_122559_935.jpeg

Postby eliteauto » March 20th, 2020, 9:10 pm

very nice, I also enjoy making panna cotta, whatever I have a lot of in the yard I use as a topping, the pic is with a sorrel reduction, I've also used five finger and most times it's passion fruit
Screen Shot 2020-03-20 at 9.05.55 PM.png

Postby shogun » March 20th, 2020, 10:20 pm

pugboy wrote:i had a giant oyster by Bodow manzanilla
thought the poo bag woulda be bigger and tasteable but was not
so maybe the crabs are similar

E7504292-FE6D-4181-BF5B-A26E214D7CDF.jpeg

To this day I dunno why I fraid to eat oysters and snails dred. Never had them and doubt I will. All other seafood on the menu though.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 20th, 2020, 10:42 pm

eliteauto wrote:very nice, I also enjoy making panna cotta, whatever I have a lot of in the yard I use as a topping, the pic is with a sorrel reduction, I've also used five finger and most times it's passion fruit

nice stuff pallie.

Wanna try some mixed combos. First time, so tomorrow I'll know if it's any good lol

Lemme see if I got my ratios right and next time might be a chai panna cotta with a julie mango and ginger compote. I seeing some flowers on le tree. :)

Postby Gladiator » March 20th, 2020, 11:13 pm

Oysters are a real delicacy, especially how we do it locally with the seasoning and sauce. This I would put on my top 10 list. You should try it at least once. Its not so much of a taste thing but more a texture thing.

I had some last year by the Oyster man in Tacarigua and almost died from a viral infection... I have now decided to abstain. But at least I have the memories.

shogun wrote:
pugboy wrote:i had a giant oyster by Bodow manzanilla
thought the poo bag woulda be bigger and tasteable but was not
so maybe the crabs are similar

E7504292-FE6D-4181-BF5B-A26E214D7CDF.jpeg

To this day I dunno why I fraid to eat oysters and snails dred. Never had them and doubt I will. All other seafood on the menu though.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2020, 11:35 pm

I used to eat oysters quite a bit like once a fortnight. Then about 10 years ago I did a liver function test and some enzyme was higher than normal (I can't remember what specifically). The doctor said this could be as a result of eating oysters. I stopped eating and went on some meds and sure enough the LFT results were good.

So, I thought to start back but then I read on the newspaper that public health inspector did some random samples of oyster vendors and found that a couple of them, including one in Gasparillo, had traces of Hepatitis B. After that I just stopped altogether.

The other day, I stopped to get fish by Bodow and some guys were eating oysters. My mouth watered. I must admit, his preparation was quite clean compared to others I have seen... I was thinking about sampling somewhere, but after reading about your experience there about the oyster in Tacarigua, I think I'll hold off.

Out of curiosity, where is considered safe to eat, or more importantly, how does one know whether an oyster is safe to eat? What to look for to tell what's good or not?

Postby gastly369 » March 21st, 2020, 1:18 am

Had oysters.. Nearly died.. Never again

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2020, 5:47 am

Oysters are indeed a risk to eat for a few reasons

1 - where they are harvested, in the 80's the ministry used to put out warnings about cholera because the swamps behind beetham and consequently towards blue river and the caroni swamp were deemed to be suspect
2 - the handling, most oyster men obtain from another guy who goes in the mangrove and collects, they oysters are usually kept in pigtail buckets and could very well be a day or two old by the time you eat them. Dunno if the oyster men keeping them on ice at home.
3 - the actual handling and prep could be dodgy, my father always used to warn us about them oyster men when we would drive around the savannah, "look how them selling thing with no running water"
and it is quite possible to have a dead oyster days old mixed in the bowl with the rest of them, especially since the oysters are usually small.

When opening oysters one should really check them to make sure they are alive and smell them. I have read this in many places and in cooking books. Dead oysters are supposedly very easy to open too.

The better way to eat oysters really is straight from the shell with minimal sauce and the natural sheel juice, the way we do with a whole cup of sauce kinda messes up the natural briny taste.

I'm not vouching for Bodow but he gets giant oysters from nearby and they are just harvested, whilst there I saw the guys walking in with bags of them. I would guess your chances of a dead spoilt one easier to spot with a big oyster.

Couple years ago in Montreal I went to an oyster bar and had a sample platter of 6 different types from all over Canada
there were big differences in the tastes, some sweet, some horrible.

btw the story with the Giant African snails is that an Italian expat living in Alyce Glen was keeping them for his consumption and they got away.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2020, 7:41 am

carluva wrote:
Out of curiosity, where is considered safe to eat, or more importantly, how does one know whether an oyster is safe to eat? What to look for to tell what's good or not?

you will know, shell will open with not much resistance or you may find it open leaking, or just open and dried up.

The real threat is when its almost dead, between opening and sale is when the rotting process starts and the bacterial growth can start quickly.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 21st, 2020, 7:46 am

pugboy wrote:The better way to eat oysters really is straight from the shell with minimal sauce and the natural sheel juice, the way we do with a whole cup of sauce kinda messes up the natural briny taste.

i wont chance that with local oysters.

if you open them yourself, you will actually find dirt in the shell.

American oysters are farmed in baskets in flowing, moving water, so their shells are clean and the fluids inside same way.
Our local wild harvsted oysters are covered with silt and mud most times which by itself is a home for all sorts of micro-flora.

i does feel bad to throw away the "brine" but i wont risk it.

I does even remove the "poo" from big oysters just to play it safe, and i dont drink from roadside vendors. I will buy the oysters from them and sort it at home.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2020, 9:13 am

Kronik, you hadda make a lime and invite some tuners to eat boy (when this pandemic situation ease up ofc).

The amount of nice thing you does cook and talk bout eating does make my mouth dribble sometimes.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 21st, 2020, 9:52 am

maj. tom wrote::lol:

And the account Zoom Rader

Postby rspann » March 21st, 2020, 10:35 am

Wishes do come true. RedVEVO closed his RedVEVO account.

Postby Chimera » March 21st, 2020, 10:40 am

Have a nice lil clip here we could organise a lime. Once allyuh fawkers eh tell me nun when you see me drinking johnnie blue with ice and ginger ale in a styrofoam cup.

Postby maj. tom » March 21st, 2020, 10:45 am

carluva

Postby carluva » March 21st, 2020, 12:39 pm

As long as it's Schweppes ginger ale and sanicup cups, Yuh safe. Nothing else ..

Phone Surgeon wrote:Have a nice lil clip here we could organise a lime. Once allyuh fawkers eh tell me nun when you see me drinking johnnie blue with ice and ginger ale in a styrofoam cup.

Postby rspann » March 21st, 2020, 1:30 pm

I doh drink alco ,but I will come for sapodilla.

abducted

Postby abducted » April 6th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Subscribed to this topic, I figure I will have to learn to cook now

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 3:39 pm

a good one to learn now is frying chicken

abducted wrote:Subscribed to this topic, I figure I will have to learn to cook now

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2020, 5:06 pm

I waiting for the attempts.and memes

pugboy wrote:a good one to learn now is frying chicken

abducted wrote:Subscribed to this topic, I figure I will have to learn to cook now
Ppl too wicked out dey yes
IMG-20200406-WA0136.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2020, 5:18 pm

KRONIK mc...I living grande and doh even get invi for cook...

Ehhh kronik...where in the vicinity of brooklyn selling chickens? Heard they selling pretty good stuff

Postby rspann » April 6th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Brooklyn only have covid patients right now.

Postby redmanjp » April 6th, 2020, 5:36 pm

hmm, is now so allyuh go have to post recipe fuh ppl to cook- no more kay eff see

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2020, 5:38 pm

Ohhh goarrr shakes....
Is not so boi

Chciken hadda be up the hill
Manrick st.

It have a chicken place there does have certain days they plucking, place does be busy, i was told.
I aint sure where it is, buy my cousin dem does buy there
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:KRONIK mc...I living grande and doh even get invi for cook...

Ehhh kronik...where in the vicinity of brooklyn selling chickens? Heard they selling pretty good stuff

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2020, 5:39 pm

Oh goar spannnnn.... doh rub it in nah
rspann wrote:Brooklyn only have covid patients right now.