Building a house in Trinidad

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby rspann » August 2nd, 2018, 5:55 am

CW interiors, cor CRH, El Socorro. There is also a place in Bagna Tr. Chase village. Can't remember the name.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 2nd, 2018, 7:29 am

Check them...
FB_IMG_1533209309505.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2018, 8:07 am

thanks

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 2nd, 2018, 1:29 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Check them...
FB_IMG_1533209309505.jpeg

Yup these guys doing some work for me right now. I’m impressed so far

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2018, 1:51 pm

boy CW is $19k for a single side with door

Kairi say you have to pay 50% up front before they come and do an estimate

something not right about this frameless glass business

Postby rspann » August 3rd, 2018, 7:19 pm

The tempered glass enclosures are not manufactured here . They measure, and send it to be manufactured in the US . When they get it ,it's just to install.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 7th, 2018, 10:58 am

Whats the minimum size breaker for any 230v welding to be done at home?

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2018, 11:00 am

Caribbean glass quote $8k for frameless

rspann wrote:The tempered glass enclosures are not manufactured here . They measure, and send it to be manufactured in the US . When they get it ,it's just to install.

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2018, 11:02 am

Prob 30amp
Depends how much you pushing the welding machine in terms of how thick the material etc
And if machine capable
But for regular rhs stuff 30amps is adequate

eitech wrote:Whats the minimum size breaker for any 230v welding to be done at home?

eitech

Postby eitech » August 7th, 2018, 11:06 am

pugboy wrote:Prob 30amp
Depends how much you pushing the welding machine in terms of how thick the material etc
And if machine capable

eitech wrote:Whats the minimum size breaker for any 230v welding to be done at home?

Yea some minor work to secure a front gate. Might consider installing an 220v outlet for the odd future jobs instead of wiring direct to panel

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2018, 11:09 am

pugboy wrote:looking for a supplier/installer of tempered glass shower enclosure

You checked Delta Glass?
I installed a tub shower and got a pane of glass from them at a fairly good price

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2018, 11:14 am

Delta was hot

pugboy wrote:looking for a supplier/installer of tempered glass shower enclosure

You checked Delta Glass?
I installed a tub shower and got a pane of glass from them at a fairly good price

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2018, 11:16 am

ABC has pre-made frameless enclosures.
Ali’s Hardware in Marabella has too.

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2018, 11:17 am

Thanks will check them also

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ABC has pre-made frameless enclosures.
Ali’s Hardware in Marabella has too.

Postby Rovin » August 7th, 2018, 11:22 am

eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

Yea some minor work to secure a front gate. Might consider installing an 220v outlet for the odd future jobs instead of wiring direct to panel

50A is what is recommended , with double 30 u taking a chance there & besides u cant weld anything thick , go buy a double 50A

when it comes to welding [which i used to do for a living yrsss ago] i doh mix matters nah - safety first ..... & doh do like most welding men who use long ass extension cords made of 4sq wire , go with at least a 6sq preferably rhino [yea it not cheap] so it wont twist up like flat ecc wire .......

eitech

Postby eitech » August 7th, 2018, 12:10 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:
eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

50A is what is recommended , with double 30 u taking a chance there & besides u cant weld anything thick , go buy a double 50A

when it comes to welding [which i used to do for a living yrsss ago] i doh mix matters nah - safety first ..... & doh do like most welding men who use long ass extension cords made of 4sq wire , go with at least a 6sq preferably rhino [yea it not cheap] so it wont twist up like flat ecc wire .......

Yea i was considering the 50A.

eitech

Postby eitech » August 7th, 2018, 1:29 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
eitech wrote:Guys with septic tanks, are there any specific cleaners for toilet bowls?
It usually states on the bottle : "safe for septic systems" or something like that.

Havent seen any stating specifically, guys with septic tanks, what do you all use?

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » August 7th, 2018, 6:25 pm

eitech wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:
eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

You need to install a Double Pole 50Amp breaker with a minimum 10mm sq Rhino or 6mm sq armored Cable

skyline20

Postby skyline20 » August 9th, 2018, 8:07 am

Hi guys, want to know if a ring beam is needed on top of exterior walls. It's non load bearing cuz the roof frame will be resting on rc columns. Wall is 14 block height. If so, what's the reinforcement in the ring beam?

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2018, 8:56 am

good advice,
make sure wires/sockets etc are nice and tight too

a house in hillside petit valley burnt down in june due a welder using poor connections direct to panel
real sad
and he was just doing some minor gate stuff, prob not pulling much current

Rovin's Audio wrote:
eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

Postby Rovin » August 9th, 2018, 11:47 am

^^^ :shock: :shock: :shock:

wow thats extreme & very sad for d home owners .... daz y i say safety 1st but for alot of ppl they doh study dat

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 9th, 2018, 12:26 pm

Imagine, when I start doing DIY welding home. I run a 50amp with a 10sq armour cable to a plug, for the official look. The house is about 35 years old with metal conduit eh, not like the armour cables now, that run between the box and meter. Not too long after a phase burn.... We had to rewire the house cause of that...

Yes Pugboy, them welders does like to attach to the main break and leave it slack after... I have see this a few times and then the connection begins to spark. If I go by anyone to weld, I have a short cable with a 50amp breaker, plus I doh wah damage my machine anyway. Once I went to a main cause the person had screw type breakers...

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 9th, 2018, 12:40 pm

eitech wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:
eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

if you haven't bought the welding machine as yet i would recommend an inverter welding wachine
these can run on 110V and 230 V and the current draw is a lot less.
i bought one and was sure it would have tripped my 110v plug 20A but no issues running beads at 90 amps .

eitech

Postby eitech » August 9th, 2018, 2:38 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
eitech wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:
eitech wrote:
And if machine capable

if you haven't bought the welding machine as yet i would recommend an inverter welding wachine
these can run on 110V and 230 V and the current draw is a lot less.
i bought one and was sure it would have tripped my 110v plug 20A but no issues running beads at 90 amps .

The intent was if anyone comin by me to weld. I was not buying a welding machine but i know bout what you speak of.

Postby Rovin » August 9th, 2018, 5:19 pm

hire a good electrician to put in d double 50A breakers & properly run some wires permanently to a outdoor 220 plug preferably outside ur house walls so welders wont have to come inside ur house to go in ur panel box to hook up wires ....

eitech

Postby eitech » August 9th, 2018, 7:37 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:hire a good electrician to put in d double 50A breakers & properly run some wires permanently to a outdoor 220 plug preferably outside ur house walls so welders wont have to come inside ur house to go in ur panel box to hook up wires ....

No need i can do the installation. Was jus seeking a lil advice

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2018, 9:39 pm

Who have good price on solid indoor wood doors, to be painted

Postby rspann » August 9th, 2018, 9:49 pm

Bhags have pre finished mahogany (imported) . ABC has local hardwood doors, different materials. Crappo, mahogany ,teak etc.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 10th, 2018, 4:12 am

Guys where sells oak to burn for fire by chance? Is that something hard to get in Trinidad?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 10th, 2018, 6:19 am

skyline20 wrote:Hi guys, want to know if a ring beam is needed on top of exterior walls. It's non load bearing cuz the roof frame will be resting on rc columns. Wall is 14 block height. If so, what's the reinforcement in the ring beam?

Once there is a properly engineer designed roof frame and connection between where the roof frame sits on the column and the roof frame itself, then perhaps you won't need the ring beam.

However, if you are leaving this up to the roofing contractor, then best you go with the ring beam.

The minimum dimensions for the ring beam are 200mm deep x 150mm wide (without plaster). The ring beam should be constructed with concrete having a minimum cylindrical compressive strength of 21MPa (3000psi).

The ring beam should be reinforced with, as a minimum, four 12mm diameter high tensile steel (ribbed) reinforcing steel bars (two at the top of the beam and two at the bottom of the beam), and should also have 6mm diameter mild steel (smooth) stirrups spaced at 300mm centres. For simplicity, reinforcing steel bars that have to be lapped, should be lapped at least 480mm. It is important to have continuity of the reinforcing steel through the corners.

Don't forget that the ring beam should be properly connected to the building through the wall stiffeners, and/or shear walls, and/or columns. There should be a clear load path for the uplift forces from the roof to be transmitted through the ring beam down to your foundation.