Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » June 3rd, 2011, 2:49 pm

nice. didnt know they have the Nexus S

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 6th, 2011, 2:09 pm

so Apple always bitching and suing other companies for "copying" them, but check out their "new" notification system

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 6th, 2011, 2:12 pm

hey Apple, who cooks up ur stats?

?

ComScore: Android grows larger than ever among US subscribers, Apple belittles RIM

The latest ComScore results from the last quarter are in, and the US mobile device wars were hotter than ever as 13% more people reported owning a smartphone. Google conquered most users' territory with Android climbing just over five percent (now totaling 36.4%) and still claiming first for mobile software platforms. Apple's iOS destroyer took second place (at 26%) partially due to RIM's S.S. BlackBerry OS sinking about five percent (now 25.7%) to claim third, while Microsoft and HP / Palm rounded out the bunch struggling to stay in the fight with even lower single-digit scores. In the OEM region Samsung claimed first yet again (although slightly dropping to 24.5%), with LG and Motorola landing in second and third respectively, each keeping its place from the prior quarter. In the last two slots, Apple again bested RIM whose devices barely dropped half of a percent, but enough to let the slight growth of iDevices snatch up 4th. The source link below is waiting to be clicked if you want the full battle statistics.

Engadget

outlaw101

Postby outlaw101 » June 8th, 2011, 3:48 am

anyone having problems with the market?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 8th, 2011, 8:14 am

outlaw101 wrote:anyone having problems with the market?

I was getting some difficulty yesterday, this morning it's fine tho.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » June 8th, 2011, 10:46 am

Captainzaak wrote:You guys see this?

More reason to go Android.

Nice. The prices need to come down though. As a prepaid customer these prices are a bit too hot. Digicel and Flow please give us some options. I want Flow to join this market (mobile internet access) more than Digicel though. Digicel's entry into the market hasn't worked out as I hoped. Look how long it took for bmobile to allow prepaid phones to access the internet when using one sim card :? .

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 8th, 2011, 11:04 am

Captainzaak wrote:
outlaw101 wrote:anyone having problems with the market?

I was getting some difficulty yesterday, this morning it's fine tho.

apparently they started rolling out updates to the additional countries they said would get full Market access in June.

yesterday i was able to update apps that never showed up in the Market before like the Music and Books apps.

no paid apps yet though...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 8th, 2011, 11:10 am

Samsung shows affection to CyanogenMod, gives its devs a free Galaxy S II

Let's see if we're grokking this: Samsung is not only telling the dev community it's okay to place custom ROMs on its flagship device, it's actually encouraging the practice by handing out free phones? Atinm, the developer responsible for prepping CyanogenMod on the Captivate and Vibrant, took to Twitter to praise the manufacturer for sending him a free Galaxy S II. From the looks of it, Samsung sent the phone to a select number of devs intent on building an official release of CM7 for the GSII. Unlocking bootloaders has already become the new fancy with manufacturers like HTC, Motorola, and Sony Ericsson jumping on the bandwagon, but this is the first time we've heard of a company doling out free devices to the custom ROM community. Does this mean that, instead of enforcing TouchWiz with an iron fist, Samsung is looking at how this practice could actually benefit consumers? We doubt this will be the case for all of the company's future Android phones, but wouldn't you love to live in a world where it was?

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 8th, 2011, 4:35 pm

Dolphin Browser got a sweet update! looks jus like a mobile version of Chrome now

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 8th, 2011, 6:11 pm

mitch wrote:Dolphin Browser got a sweet update! looks jus like a mobile version of Chrome now

5.0? i love it as well! best browser for mobile.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 8th, 2011, 7:16 pm

^ yep

achillies

Postby achillies » June 8th, 2011, 7:48 pm

Any of you guys on Twitter?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 8th, 2011, 7:52 pm

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 Limited Edition review

Zoinks! Jumpin' Jehosaphat! Go on and pick your exclamation of choice -- so long as it entails shock, awe, and pure jubilation, it'll fit the bill here. We'll just come right out and say it: the overall chassis of the Galaxy Tab 10.1 is on par with that of the iPad 2, and from a handling standpoint, outclasses Apple's offering. Make no mistake, this marks the first time that we've been able to say that (without reservation) about any non-iOS tablet, and Samsung deserves a whole heaping of laud for doing what no one else seems to be capable of.

Without qualification, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 is the best Honeycomb tablet to date, and this time, it's by a country mile. There's simply not another Android 3.0 tablet on the market today that matches the Tab 10.1's style, placing it a lap ahead of the other, more cumbersome Tegra 2-powered alternatives.

There's just no other way to say it: the iPad 2 finally has a real competitor. If Samsung could somehow undercut Apple by even $25 here, the choice would be obvious, but it's going to have a whale of a time convincing the masses that a Samsung device is superior to one Designed in California when prices are equal. That said, we'd still recommend the Tab 10.1 over the iPad 2 for heavy Gmail users and all-around fans of Android. And hey, at least this thing can take advantage of Music Beta, if you're into it.

Full Review - Engadget

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 8th, 2011, 9:42 pm

^definitely looking to get the wifi version when its out.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 10th, 2011, 10:01 pm

UPDATE:
for all the android users with the gps issues, there is a fix for it...especially captivate owners

http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/how ... and-froyo/

follow this to change the gps' access point to the google servers

then go on android market and update ur google maps

my gps works accuratly to 40meters when im indoors

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 11th, 2011, 2:25 pm

cant wait to see what Ice Cream Sandwich brings...

Google may have developed Android rival to BBM, iMessage

Google has at least at one point been developing an equivalent to BlackBerry Messenger and Apple's iMessage, an insider mentioned Thursday. Details of the system were few, but it's implied it would be much more than just the existing Google Talk and other IM apps. The WSJ clue made no mention of whether it was still active or a dead project.

Both the Apple and RIM messaging systems are both meant to be lures to keep users on the platform but are also end-runs around text messaging rates. While it does affect data use, the small size of text makes it cheaper than signing up for a a text messaging plan. On AT&T, that can save at least $10 per month and keeps the price down for those who only expect to chat to other BlackBerry owners on BBM or, in the fall, iPhone users on iMessage.

Google's motivations weren't explained, but it would likely want to have an additional incentive to lure away BlackBerry users. Android for now has mostly had to rely on third-party apps like Kik to provide a direct messaging alternative.

Carriers were reportedly caught unawares by iMessage and may be worried that, between this, BBM, and a possible Google solution, its once lucrative messaging business has been disappearance. Traditional messaging levels have still grown, though the creation of a non-SMS messaging system may be worrying for them in the long term.

Google didn't comment on the plans.

Electronista

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 11th, 2011, 2:58 pm

So i upped to gingerbread 2.3.3 through samsung software...and meh camera ded... :( :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 11th, 2011, 4:02 pm

^d hell? 2.3.4 is available though, try flashing that...

Android 2.3.4 Hits Galaxy S GT-I9000

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 4:39 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:So i upped to gingerbread 2.3.3 through samsung software...and meh camera ded... :( :(

thank God it didnt brick though.

and mitch yuh bitter eh :P

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 11th, 2011, 5:11 pm

*sigh*...so after a hard reset *tear*.. i flashed 2.3.4 and got my camera back. I guess is bye bye Kies from now on lol

NEW problem tho...no data on the phone...wtF!

went into wireless settings and i have no APNs atall.
If i remember...there was one apn named bmobile internet or something like that...
anyone care to post these settings for me please? :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 11th, 2011, 6:09 pm

jus create a new apn and name it "bmobile" or whatever you like and set the APN to "Internet"

btw, did u get GTalk video chat now with the update to 2.3.4?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 11th, 2011, 7:27 pm

^nope. just some slight ui changes.
Im quite surprised this is working so smoothly though considering its made for the i9000 and not the i9000T that i have. Makes me wonder how different the phones really are...if atall. Originally 3 button download and recovery modes would not work in the i9000T, but seems they started working from either 2.2.1 or 2.3.3.

Anybody using custom roms on their phones?

Postby ismithx » June 11th, 2011, 7:30 pm

I hear Google working on a BBM competitor now too, BlackBerry is most certainly doomed. http://venturebeat.com/2011/06/10/google-imessage-bbm/

Postby r3iXmann » June 11th, 2011, 8:17 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^nope. just some slight ui changes.
Im quite surprised this is working so smoothly though considering its made for the i9000 and not the i9000T that i have. Makes me wonder how different the phones really are...if atall. Originally 3 button download and recovery modes would not work in the i9000T, but seems they started working from either 2.2.1 or 2.3.3.

i got phoenix on my captivate..words cant describe how smooth it is 8-)

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 11th, 2011, 10:12 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:^nope. just some slight ui changes.

i got phoenix on my captivate..words cant describe how smooth it is 8-)

I'm using CoreDroid v6.7 on my DHD.
Runs pretty sweet, tho the unlock ring is giving me some problems to pull at certain points of time.

Next week i might try a different ROM, btw, i must say, purchasing Titanium Backup was the best decision ever, i'd recommend you guys use it if you switching custom ROMs often, or even just to make backups.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 12th, 2011, 6:50 am

^yeh i got the free version and it really is a life saver.

But besides being able to keep multiple backups...any other major differences between the free n the paid ver.?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 12th, 2011, 5:17 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^yeh i got the free version and it really is a life saver.

But besides being able to keep multiple backups...any other major differences between the free n the paid ver.?

If you have a lot of apps, like i do, the restore is seemless, unlike the free where you have to allow each app to install, with the Pro it runs straight through with zero prompt for the batch. I actually bought it mainly for this reason, cause with over 150 apps, it's kind of tedious to go through that :lol:

As well you can upload your backups to dropbox from your mobile itself along with minor tweaks that make the program so much more simple and useful. (Encryption, auto-updating etc). Only $4US, more than worth it IMO.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 12th, 2011, 5:59 pm

^^ 150 apps?? :faint:

And here i thought my 30 something was too much and i cut it down with this latest flash...

Still cant get over just how smooth the phone is running now though...not sure if its cuz of the 2.3.4, or the hard reset i did before flashing, but damnn i loving my galaxy s all over again :oops:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 12th, 2011, 9:48 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^^ 150 apps?? :faint:

And here i thought my 30 something was too much and i cut it down with this latest flash...

Still cant get over just how smooth the phone is running now though...not sure if its cuz of the 2.3.4, or the hard reset i did before flashing, but damnn i loving my galaxy s all over again :oops:

Advantage of investing in a 32Gig card 8-)

I'm looking for a more stable ROM, gonna try Android Revolution HD 5.1.9 tomorrow, from what i've heard it's the closest to stock as you can get with some Sense 3.0 features and not as many bugs as others, as well this ROM has HTML support for Exchange ActiveSync :)

I'll post an update when i done :mrgreen: