The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby maj. tom » January 26th, 2024, 4:55 pm

TTPOST is the new provider for U.S. Visa courier services
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttpost-is-the-new-provider-for-us-visa-courier-services-6.2.1909495.5127d1a220

With effect from next Monday, January 29, 2024, document courier services for non-immigrant and immigrant visa applicants will be provided by the Trinidad and Tobago Postal Corporation (TTPOST), a release from the U.S. Embassy Port of Spain has confirmed.

The U.S. Embassy assures visa applicants with appointments scheduled in the future that they do not need to take any action, since their delivery selection has been already updated automatically in the visa appointment system.

“Those with already scheduled appointments will receive instructions via email on how to track their delivery and receive their visa documents after their consular interview,” the Embassy says.  “Visa applicants are not required to purchase return envelopes or TrackPaks for passport return delivery.”

In addition, the Embassy says that visa applicants who qualify for the Interview Waiver process will receive updated instructions via email through the visa appointment system on mailing their visa applications, and the authorized TTPOST locations where the visa applications can be dropped off.

For specific inquiries, applicants are encouraged to visit the Consular Navigator on the Port of Spain Visa Unit portion of the U.S. Embassy website at tt.usembassy.gov.

The public is also reminded that general information on the visa application process is available on the Information and Appointment website at http://trinidadandtobago.usvisa-info.com, or by contacting the Visa Call Center at 1-(868)-235-4500, Monday-Friday between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm.

Postby MaxPower » January 26th, 2024, 5:32 pm

Trinis still getting REL blank for U.S visas from what i hear.

Allyuh need to be honest when they ask if you have any relatives over there….who ofcourse were living there illegally in curry stenched basements.

Postby pugboy » January 26th, 2024, 5:34 pm

I visited USA last week for first time with my new visa(last March)

it appears uncle sam is fully utilizing facial recognition now, at least with new visas.

as I approached the counter the officer told me remove my glasses, I had not given my passport to him yet
in the space of time of taking off glasses and then handing him the passport and him just opening the passport
he then told me go ahead no questions, he never scanned or swiped the passport, less than 10seconds.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 26th, 2024, 5:35 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis still getting REL blank for U.S visas from what i hear.

Allyuh need to be honest when they ask if you have any relatives over there….who ofcourse were living there illegally in curry stenched basements.

I have been honest through my previous attempts and I got denied. Clearly stated who those relatives are and their addresses/contact info.

Postby Dave » January 26th, 2024, 8:21 pm

Lack of ties to Trinidad?

Postby MaxPower » January 27th, 2024, 12:51 am

SRASC wrote:I have been honest through my previous attempts and I got denied. Clearly stated who those relatives are and their addresses/contact info.

Sry to hear man, but as far as you know, any of those relatives you think maybe gave you a bad name?

If not, it’s usually ties.

Also before you applied, have you travelled anywhere? I know someone that got denied, and the officer told them to make some trips and get a travel history. The person went Barbados, reapplied and got through.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2024, 5:43 am

i know persons who have many siblings who stayed illegally and still got visas
granted that was long ago before computerization

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 27th, 2024, 6:09 am

SRASC wrote:

I have been honest through my previous attempts and I got denied. Clearly stated who those relatives are and their addresses/contact info.

They know they're going to blank you or you're marginal from before. The form or interview just confirms their information.
Could also be how you act in the interview. Maybe you're shifty and your body language is negative.

They used to give me real stress when I travelled to countries questionable to them on one way tickets when I was transiting even though it was always work related. Could be your travel history.

Postby redmanjp » January 27th, 2024, 3:04 pm

pugboy wrote:i know persons who have many siblings who stayed illegally and still got visas

Decades ago no longer relevant. Anything b4 9/11 also.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2024, 3:27 pm

for sure
i know many persons who became citizens after holding green card for the 5 years or whatever and never lived there
can’t do that now at all

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:i know persons who have many siblings who stayed illegally and still got visas

Decades ago no longer relevant. Anything b4 9/11 also.

matthewb

Postby matthewb » February 4th, 2024, 11:33 am

What is the wait time to get back your passport when renewing your visa and sending via mail?

Postby paid_influencer » February 4th, 2024, 12:16 pm

matthewb wrote:What is the wait time to get back your passport when renewing your visa and sending via mail?

last year it took me about 2 months YMMV

matthewb

Postby matthewb » February 4th, 2024, 6:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matthewb wrote:What is the wait time to get back your passport when renewing your visa and sending via mail?

last year it took me about 2 months YMMV

WOW thats long.....i was hoping this would take under one month......

Postby paid_influencer » February 4th, 2024, 7:15 pm

it might YMMV

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 4th, 2024, 7:22 pm

What ties did you show to get through?

Postby MaxPower » February 4th, 2024, 8:32 pm

Padna apply and get blank.

2 relatives who had his same address in T&T left and never returned some years ago. He was honest when asked but was still denied.

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2024, 8:37 pm

none
but i had visa from long time before and i don’t have any relatives who overstayed

AlphaMan wrote:

What ties did you show to get through?

Postby j.o.e » February 5th, 2024, 11:22 am

MaxPower wrote:Padna apply and get blank.

2 relatives who had his same address in T&T left and never returned some years ago. He was honest when asked but was still denied.

Reasonable. Either he going to meet them or his kind has a propensity to over stay

SRASC

The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2024, 12:16 pm

SRASC wrote:I have been honest through my previous attempts and I got denied. Clearly stated who those relatives are and their addresses/contact info.

Sry to hear man, but as far as you know, any of those relatives you think maybe gave you a bad name?

If not, it’s usually ties.

Also before you applied, have you travelled anywhere? I know someone that got denied, and the officer told them to make some trips and get a travel history. The person went Barbados, reapplied and got through.

As far as the relatives, doubt it. The ones I listed are US citizens forever and a day now. They were the ones I listed on all my applications, which were eventually approved or denied either way.

Well Covid was the one that prevented that any recent travel for the most part. Find it’s kinda unfair that I don’t really travel that much aside from to and from the US & here that that means I suddenly want to stay behind when I had ample opportunity between my last return here in early 2020 to when the Visa was up for renewal in mid 2022.

I now discussing what options. I wasn’t told anything like advice to get a travel history. I have a trip to Tobago planned for May, doubt that counts but it is what it is. I’ll take the advice though. Thanks.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2024, 12:21 pm

Skanky wrote:
SRASC wrote:

They know they're going to blank you or you're marginal from before. The form or interview just confirms their information.
Could also be how you act in the interview. Maybe you're shifty and your body language is negative.

They used to give me real stress when I travelled to countries questionable to them on one way tickets when I was transiting even though it was always work related. Could be your travel history.

I think I was pretty normal. The time I got initially denied back in 2012 I went in with the mindset that it was just like renewing my driver’s license. Normal.

Then when I went back in again, I was nervous to all hell, but again kept composure and answered and that time I got through.

This last time I had that mindset in my mind, but I answered everything normal. But the guy heard what he wanted, never looked at me again, pulled out the generic lack of ties letter, and that was that.

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2024, 2:53 pm

so he actually said “lack of ties”?

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2024, 3:20 pm

SRASC wrote:
Skanky wrote:
SRASC wrote:

I think I was pretty normal. The time I got initially denied back in 2012 I went in with the mindset that it was just like renewing my driver’s license. Normal.

Then when I went back in again, I was nervous to all hell, but again kept composure and answered and that time I got through.

This last time I had that mindset in my mind, but I answered everything normal. But the guy heard what he wanted, never looked at me again, pulled out the generic lack of ties letter, and that was that.

u didnt have any ties? job, house?

Postby j.o.e » February 8th, 2024, 4:14 pm

So you get blank, then GT then get blank ? That must be a rare occurrence, I always thought once you GT and don’t mess up it’s a cake walk after that

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2024, 4:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:
SRASC wrote:
Skanky wrote:
SRASC wrote:

u didnt have any ties? job, house?

Job yea, financial assets etc yea. Got through eventually that first time I was denied only for it to happen again when it came time to renew.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2024, 4:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:So you get blank, then GT then get blank ? That must be a rare occurrence, I always thought once you GT and don’t mess up it’s a cake walk after that

I thought that would have been the case as well. I met the criteria then but now I don’t anymore?

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2024, 4:23 pm

there is actually a visa appeal process
at least i know somebody who dad was rejected but they appealed and got thru

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 8th, 2024, 4:32 pm

I went through that the first time. All over but basically got the same generic response every time.

matthewb

Postby matthewb » February 22nd, 2024, 7:50 am

Anybody sent their visa for renewal thru ttpost? What's the wait time?

Postby redmanjp » February 22nd, 2024, 11:32 am

SRASC wrote:I went through that the first time. All over but basically got the same generic response every time.

u have any family living or recently moved to the US?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 23rd, 2024, 12:07 pm

how likely is it for someone with criminal convictions to get a visa? anyone have experience in same?
Do they actually check it or is it just like an interview thing?