The Religion Discussion

AdamB

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby AdamB » May 3rd, 2013, 11:09 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but what makes you right and Habit7 wrong?

Scroll or click back to almost a year ago...We are going in circles if those who are truly interested partake in giving feedback when discussions are taking place.

For example, the Historicity of the Bible and that of the Quran, what's your take on it given what has been said?

Postby Habit7 » May 3rd, 2013, 11:24 am

that narrows it down :roll:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 11:32 am

the products of science are sheit in the face of God's creation. have a read..

http://www.digitaltrends.com/internatio ... -of-feces/

still want a science burger? lool pun totally intended.

Postby maj. tom » May 3rd, 2013, 11:44 am

So here's an actual credible source to that story above explaining that it was just a joke:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/nadiaarumugam/2011/07/08/meat-made-from-human-feces-hoax-or-japans-best-new-invention/

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 11:59 am

hahahaha ok i had a good laugh at the concept of poop burgers when i first caught the story last year.. never followed it up and remembered it today.. lolol

but it does beg the question.. would u eat a burger synthesized from ur neighbour's sewerage?

Postby DFC » May 3rd, 2013, 12:12 pm

God just tweeted.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 12:19 pm

looool i know this guy. he runs a facebook page with the whole clan.. jesus and the dove of peace. his cartoons are hilarious.. love it when he makes new creatures to name..lol but he's just an atheist troll..

Postby maj. tom » May 3rd, 2013, 12:24 pm

you know God?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 12:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:you know God?

yeah boi dan. he real cool.. lol

Postby MG Man » May 3rd, 2013, 12:52 pm

next time you talk to him, tell him I said he's a dickwad...............wait............he already knows..........
which begs the question: what thefuck is the deal with prayer anyway? Ent he know we in a bad situation and need his help? we hadda effin beg too? and then he may or may not take we on?
effin dickwad

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 12:55 pm

MG Man wrote:next time you talk to him, tell him I said he's a dickwad...............wait............he already knows..........
which begs the question: what thefuck is the deal with prayer anyway? Ent he know we in a bad situation and need his help? we hadda effin beg too? and then he may or may not take we on?
effin dickwad

why u dont cuss him urself.. i mean we talking about a facebook identity here. but seems u taking it seriously. so on that note.. let God know how u really feel. cuss him way to rass why he eh helpin yuh etc etc. if u hide ur true feelings is a deception to God. so be truthful. let it out man. i have. i repent after cuz i love the Lord but i am just a man and at one point a very frustrated man hitting rock bottom and trying my best to follow the word even in that time. nuff temptation.. resisted.. till ithings still bad i had to cuss him wey yeah. aint no shame in that bro. we cant move a mountain by ourselves with physical strength.

and when i say i repent, i dont mean i apologize eh.. cuz i meant every word i said at the time in my prayer to him. but i didnt give up on him is what i mean. i say my peace and i kept on serving the Lord.
Last edited by rocknrolla on May 3rd, 2013, 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » May 3rd, 2013, 1:02 pm

MG Man tell Him when you see Him.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2013, 1:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:So here's an actual credible source to that story above explaining that it was just a joke:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/nadiaarumugam/2011/07/08/meat-made-from-human-feces-hoax-or-japans-best-new-invention/
was just about to post this

but also the matter contained in the earth is more or less fixed. The water you drink today may have been dog pee a month ago. It's the same water molecules just being recycled.
Similarly matter than once made up Beethoven's liver may be in your big toe right now.

It is nothing more than human nature to think we are special.

Postby DFC » May 3rd, 2013, 1:13 pm

turbotusty wrote:
MG Man wrote:next time you talk to him, tell him I said he's a dickwad...............wait............he already knows..........
effin dickwad

why u dont cuss him urself.. i mean we talking about a facebook identity here. but seems u taking it seriously. so on that note.. let God know how u really feel. cuss him way to rass why he eh helpin yuh etc etc. if u hide ur true feelings is a deception to God. so be truthful. let it out man. i have. i repent after cuz i love the Lord but i am just a man and at one point a very frustrated man hitting rock bottom and trying my best to follow the word even in that time. nuff temptation.. resisted.. till ithings still bad i had to cuss him wey yeah. aint no shame in that bro. we cant move a mountain by ourselves with physical strength.

and when i say i repent, i dont mean i apologize eh.. cuz i meant every word i said at the time in my prayer to him. but i didnt give up on him is what i mean. i say my peace and i kept on serving the Lord.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 1:23 pm

boy we cant even make orange juice... u ever squeezed 10 oranges in a glass and sipped on that? now compare to artificially flavoured rubbish sold out there.. pales in comparison in flavour.. but thats not where it fails alone.. it fails in nutrients.. all them softdrink out there.. orange flavour, sorrel flavour.. and ZERO nutrients.. is just sugar, water and colouring.. not even real sugar.. artificial sugar which messes up the metabolic system in the body. man cant do nuthing right bro. i wouldnt trust my health to artificially created food.. there is also the element of the life force within food.. the chi energy that is gathered from fresh food. science still sitting in the back.. waaaay back of the class.. in fact teacher put them to stand outside and write 1000 lines "i will not claim to be greater than my creator" lol

what science is doing to food now will certainly kill u. gmo foods are genetically modified to produce it's own pesticides in plants.. guess what it doing.. killing all the grubs and bees.. nature say.. oh ho so allyuh want to frigg up my equilibrium with this abomination.. and the grubs evolve to be pesticide resistant.. now NO PESTICIDE working. but besides destroying the eco system by killing all the bees.. the gmo (genetically modified food) has been proven to cause tumor growth in lab studies. so if u not eating pure organic, u bound to get sick, if is not cancer from poor food sources, is diabetes from artificial sugar.

i only eat the food of God. i drink lil sweetdrink once in a blue moon etc.. but fresh organic food is the way ive chosen. everything tastes better than the garbage out there. yeah i cost a lil more.. but if u not careful u might be consuming tonnes of flouride and lowering ur iq.

u ever eat pure rich chocolate? u does only have to eat about 2 squares and u feel satisfaction. then go and eat a charles watery cocoa flavour chocolate.. u could never feel satisfied.. u eat a whole bar and u wouldnt mind another one. is the same with all organic food. u dont have to eat alot of good food to feel full and satisfied. but if u eating sheit.. then ur body will always have a craving for something u missing and the hole not getting filled.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2013, 1:44 pm

^ that just sounds like baseless ranting about bad tasting food.

what's your argument against stem cell research, organ transplants, anti-biotics, surgery etc.

Or life expectancy? In the Bronze age people barely lived past 40 with the life expectancy age at birth was 26yrs old. Today that figure at birth is 67yrs old.

200 years ago people were living almost half as long as they do today.

People are living far longer now with better science in agriculture, irrigation, farming, food supply, industry, medicine, research and production methods.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 2:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that just sounds like baseless ranting about bad tasting food.

what's your argument against stem cell research, organ transplants, anti-biotics, surgery etc.

Or life expectancy? In the Bronze age people barely lived past 40 with the life expectancy age at birth was 26yrs old. Today that figure at birth is 67yrs old.

200 years ago people were living almost half as long as they do today.

People are living far longer now with better science in agriculture, irrigation, farming, food supply, industry, medicine, research and production methods.

nope.. like i said b4..i keep abreast of all scientific advancements.. and the food issue has been a concluded study. artificial food is bad for ur health. end of story. before u reject my information.. look it up. u make urself look bad when u comment and make a judgement about something u dont know about.

all who looking for the reason for obesity in this country and diabetes... sweedrink. the sweedrink allyuh so love and paying $5 for but gives u 0, ZERO, nutrients.. read the label boss. when u shopping in the grocery if uve ever done that urself.. read the label.. all artificially flavoured or made products have significantly less nutrients than their organic natural counterparts... that is if they not saying 0

0% vitamun c
0% iron
0% vintamins or nutrients of any kind
0% calcium
0%
0% everything on the list except

36g carbohydrates from artificial sugar. carbonated water, artificial flavour, artificial colour citric acid and sodium benzoate. allyuh dont know what allyuh doin to allyuh body with this trash. long time they used to at least add the vitamins into the sweedrink.. now is 0% in yuh tail.. the price higher and u getting less. but because u dont like to read u gettin shaft and killing urself cuz u stupid (speaking generally). sure u have a sweedrink bottle with u.. watch it now. watch the label on them so called orange juice in the grocery.. orange juice with 0% vitamin c and u dont see anything wrong with that?

that is fruit juice u drinking? u sure?

if i mix mud and water and give u to drink it is healthier than them bottled crap. nuff support for bare fruit juices.. they expensive, but thas what u get when u too lazy to boil the sorrel pack home and make ur own organic juice.

Postby Habit7 » May 3rd, 2013, 2:10 pm

can you all take this outside please?

Postby bluefete » May 3rd, 2013, 2:16 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: Or life expectancy? In the Bronze age people barely lived past 40 with the life expectancy age at birth was 26yrs old. Today that figure at birth is 67yrs old.

200 years ago people were living almost half as long as they do today..

8,000 years ago, people were living 10 times longer than today (600-969 years).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2013, 2:16 pm

turbotusty wrote:i keep abreast of all scientific advancements.
LOL ok

Humans are living longer than ever, a life-span extension that occurred more rapidly than expected and almost solely from environmental improvements as opposed to genetics, researchers said today (Oct. 15).

Four generations ago, the average Swede had the same probability of dying as a hunter-gatherer, but improvements in our living conditions through medicine, better sanitation and clean drinking water (considered "environmental" changes) decreased mortality rates to modern levels in just 100 years, researchers found.

http://www.livescience.com/23989-human- ... ntury.html

Daran

Postby Daran » May 3rd, 2013, 2:26 pm

turbotusty you are comparing apples and oranges (no pun intended).

You're arguement as to why God is better than man is because at this point in our technological advancement, we can't better natural creations like juice.......hmm.

So what our cars? they're better than horses? or how about shoes? better than feet?

Brb still waiting for my iphone tree to bear....

36g carbohydrates from artificial sugar? uhm......ok, you do know why artificial sugar was developed right?

I'm pretty sure after 100 more years of scientific development all your arguments will be invalid. Then what?

So, honestly, why do you think we need a God? What benefit does he serve us?

Postby bluefete » May 3rd, 2013, 2:26 pm

We have it really, really good here in T&T. Eid has been a holiday since the 1960's in T&T.!

Muslims in Maryland petition schools to close on Eid, like on Christmas, Yom Kippur
Muslim activists in Maryland’s Montgomery County Public School district want schools to officially close down for two important Islamic holidays--Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha.

By Carol Kuruvilla / NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Thursday, May 2, 2013, 4:48 PM

Muslims around the world spend the two Eids praying, feasting, and visiting friends and family.

Schools are usually closed on Easter Monday and Rosh Hashanah—why not Eid al-Fitr?

That’s the question Mimi Hassanein, a resident of Brinkow, Md., asks herself every time the Eids fall on a school day. The two most important Islamic holidays —Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha —are traditionally spent praying and feasting with family and friends. But Hassanein says that every year, her grandchildren and other Muslim youth in her school district are forced to choose between their religion and their grades.

“Of course it’s hard when they miss a class and have to make up an exam,” the grandmother told the New York Daily News. “But it’s like asking them to go to school on Christmas.”

Hassanein says the debate is an old one in the Montgomery County Public School (MCPS) system. It echoes similar discussions brought up by Muslim activists across America. Public schools need a valid secular reason to institute a new holiday — otherwise, they would appear to be favoring a specific religion. But the fact remains that many American school districts have historically scheduled breaks around religious holidays. Following state mandates, MCPS closes for Christmas, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Yom Kippur, Rosh Hashanah and Passover.

After immigrating to America from Egypt 42 years ago, Hassanein sent three children through the MCPS school system. She now has 15 grandchildren in the school and worries that they are losing their Muslim identities. The grandmother, along with several other Muslim activists in her state, has started an Equality 4 Eid campaign, hoping to add the two Eids to the list of holidays.

Six American school systems with significant Muslim populations do close down for Eid, according to Maryland’s branch of the Council of American-Islamic Relations (CAIR-MD). As Montgomery County’s Muslim population continues to grow, activists at CAIR-MD say the unequal treatment is getting difficult to hide.

The dates for Eid change every year in accordance with the Islamic calendar. Eid- al Fitr, a festival that breaks the month-long Ramadan fast, took place on Aug. 18 last year. Eid al-Adha celebrates the Hajj pilgrimage. In 2012, it fell on Oct. 25.

Saqib Ali, Equality 4 Eid’s co-chair, said he kept his first grade daughter home from school last October. The 38-year-old dad took her to a mosque service and let her spend the rest of the day playing with her younger sister, eating, and visiting friends — all important parts of celebrating the holiday.

But Ali wasn’t happy that she had to miss school. He sees a clear disparity between how his daughter is treated compared with her Christian and Jewish friends in the Montgomery County school district.

“People of other faiths don’t have to make that choice,” Ali told the New York Daily News.

MCPS decided to close school on Jewish high holy days more than 40 years ago. The district confirmed that there are no historical records explaining why or how that decision was made.

The Equality 4 Eid Coalition team points out disparities in school closing policies on its website.

In order to change the policy now, MCPS would need proof that a significant number of students or staff would be absent on Eid.

Dana Tofig, spokeswoman for MCPS said that the district allows for an excused absences on any Eid holiday, with extra time to make up unit tests and quizzes. The state of Maryland doesn’t allow for standardized tests on Eid.

“Teachers are encouraged not to give tests on days that many students will be absent,” Tofig told the New York Daily News. “Students can’t be penalized for observing religion.”

Anhar Karim, 17, has taken advantage of the excused absence. But he says he had to put in a lot of extra work to make up for lost class time.

“I have to go in for extra classes and struggle to study things in time to pass the test,” Karim told the New York Daily News.

As president of Montgomery County’s Muslim Student Association, Karim says he knows several Muslim students who want to stay home and celebrate but go to school to maintain their grades.

“My Christian friends have Christmas off,” said Karim, an Equality 4 Eid co-chair. “This is our holiday, but we have to leave school and miss exams to celebrate it.”

Calendar decisions are made every November by an MCPS’s Board of Education. Last year, the eight-member committee declined to make changes to the calendar to accommodate the Eid holidays.

This year, Eid al-Adha falls on Tuesday, Oct. 15. The Equality 4 Eid team is asking supporters to sign an online petition. They’re also asking members of the community — both Muslim and non-Muslim — to have their students stay home on and celebrate Eid.

Ali says he’s loathe to have his first-grader miss a day of instruction. But he says this is a “civil rights issue,” one that deserves national attention.

“I think it’s hard to argue against treating people equally,” Ali said.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... z2SFsAuc1c

Daran

Postby Daran » May 3rd, 2013, 2:27 pm

bluefete wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: Or life expectancy? In the Bronze age people barely lived past 40 with the life expectancy age at birth was 26yrs old. Today that figure at birth is 67yrs old.

LOL wtf, almost choked laughing, but luckily God stepped in and cleared my oesophagus.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2013, 2:27 pm

bluefete wrote:

there is absolutely no proof of that other than what was written in the religious texts.

all archaeological and even paleontological evidence shows that our ancestors lived considerably shorter lives than we did.

Historical evidence shows this too. If you look at lifespans in recorded history have increased, not decreased in human history.

Infact during the time of Jesus the life expectancy may have been around 25 with people living barely past 40 with maybe only a few people living to 50 or 60.

You can calculate it here
http://mathworld.wolfram.com/LifeExpectancy.html

Daran

Postby Daran » May 3rd, 2013, 2:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, apparently science isn't allowed to disprove their holy text......he probably believes in giants, dinosaurs living among man and that the earth is 6000 years old.

Postby bluefete » May 3rd, 2013, 2:31 pm

Daran wrote:turbotusty

Daran: Oh Great One!!

Is this life all there is? You are born, ketch your nennen for a few years, then die like a dog and either burn or rot and that is it?

Postby bluefete » May 3rd, 2013, 2:36 pm

bluefete wrote:

there is absolutely no proof of that other than what was written in the religious texts.

all archaeological and even paleontological evidence shows that our ancestors lived considerably shorter lives than we did.

Historical evidence shows this too. If you look at lifespans in recorded history have increased, not decreased in human history.

Infact during the time of Jesus the life expectancy may have been around 25 with people living barely past 40 with maybe only a few people living to 50 or 60.

The scientific view is that the earth's environment was never conducive to humans living extremely long lives.

I think scientists are missing a most important point but it is one that will be argued ad infintum.

As long as evolution is used as an excuse for the appearance and continuation of life, the other viewpoint that the earth's environment was at one time so pristine that people lived for well over 500 years, will be ignored by the scientists.

The progression is given for all who want to believe. After the flood, human life expectancy dramatically declined.

Daran

Postby Daran » May 3rd, 2013, 2:37 pm

bluefete wrote:
Daran wrote:turbotusty

Daran: Oh Great One!!

Is this life all there is? You are born, ketch your nennen for a few years, then die like a dog and either burn or rot and that is it?

Yes, it might be so.

But what I prefer to describe it as experiencing all the wonder in the universe, trying to learn and develop things for future generations and living and enjoying your one and only life to the fullest.

Religion (generally) would have you believe, your life is tainted that you must spend an eternity worshiping and devoting your one and only life to an imaginary figure, who if displeased will punish you for eternity. Really, is that all there is to life?

You live life to enjoy an after life that to me seems boring as hell.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 3rd, 2013, 2:37 pm

all that talk real nice and i see u bow out admitting defeat but leaving ur shoes to go in the hills and train. yes science may get really close.. and here's what.. ill give them the benefit of the doubt just for arguement sake that they 'improve' as ur banking on. but boss.. how they going to replicate a human soul. only the soulmaker could do that. have no machine helping u there boss.. the machines cant even detect the soul. yet.. it is there. a conscious lifeforce which can stand independent of the body. if u dont believe that.. just remember.. i told u. lol

we cant create energy.. nor destroy it.. so u know.. whoever created energy.. is a boss. he say:

"with all the ting yuh ting and feel yuh could do.. u see my energy i make.. doh touch that, i make it so u cah touch that. destroy everything else but that u barred from destroying energy with your highest might."

how much years u want to create energy? ill give u 5000.. meh.. ill give u 50000 years.. if u need more just ask.

Daran

Postby Daran » May 3rd, 2013, 2:42 pm

bluefete wrote:

The scientific view is that the earth's environment was never conducive to humans living extremely long lives.

I think scientists are missing a most important point but it is one that will be argued ad infintum.

As long as evolution is used as an excuse for the appearance and continuation of life, the other viewpoint that the earth's environment was at one time so pristine that people lived for well over 500 years, will be ignored by the scientists.

The progression is given for all who want to believe. After the flood, human life expectancy dramatically declined.

What flood? the one last week in port of spain?