COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8511 cases, 146 deaths, 566 active, 7799 recovered in T&T

Postby Redress10 » April 14th, 2021, 3:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The same ppl criticising the no music on the glass bottom boat will be vex when they see the same boat blasting music on No Mans Land and ppl feting and carrying on.

Yea I agree, but honestly the risk of outdoor spread is low. Probably why we got lucky for Carnival.

We did not get lucky for carnival. The virus simply wasn't amongst our population as yet. Had carnival been a week or two later then yeh.

Can't believe you all still don't know how transmissions work. Jeez

BUG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 8511 cases, 146 deaths, 566 active, 7799 recovered in T&T

Postby BUG » April 14th, 2021, 3:43 pm

DMan7 wrote:Man's medical condition isn't because of the vaccine. You all should rest a little bit easier now.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/swrha-completes- ... stigation/

No reasonable person was jumping to conclusions based on heresay from a panicked family rather than waiting for health professionals to release their findings.

Honestly, I can completely understand the family being in an emotional state right now and jumping to conclusions based on nothing, but allyuh people in here with no connection to this person letting your emotions instead of logic control you and jumping to conclusions as a result are acting like mass hysterics.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 14th, 2021, 3:45 pm

BUG wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Man's medical condition isn't because of the vaccine. You all should rest a little bit easier now.

No reasonable person was jumping to conclusions based on heresay from a panicked family rather than waiting for health professionals to release their findings.

Honestly, I can completely understand the family being in an emotional state right now and jumping to conclusions based on nothing, but allyuh people in here with no connection to this person letting your emotions instead of logic control you and jumping to conclusions as a result are acting like mass hysterics.

Not me pally, other people in here yea

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 3:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The same ppl criticising the no music on the glass bottom boat will be vex when they see the same boat blasting music on No Mans Land and ppl feting and carrying on.

Yea I agree, but honestly the risk of outdoor spread is low. Probably why we got lucky for Carnival.

We did not get lucky for carnival. The virus simply wasn't amongst our population as yet. Had carnival been a week or two later then yeh.

I agree partially but you really feel all them plane loads of New Yorkers came down and no one had Covid? Keep dreaming. Testing was poor back then in the US and even poorer in Trinidad.

The summer spike wasn't just venes bringing it in, it was always amongst us just not spreading exponentially.

There's now lots of evidence to show outdoor spread of Covid is miniscule.

Research it yourself.

Combine that and us not really having a vitamin D deficiency and Covid being less virulent in tropical climates made us LUCKY.

BUG

Postby BUG » April 14th, 2021, 3:56 pm

[soundcloud][/soundcloud]
DMan7 wrote:
BUG wrote:

No I wasn't suggesting you were had any part in the hysteria, I would never shoot the messenger! :lol:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 14th, 2021, 4:15 pm

BUG wrote:[soundcloud][/soundcloud]
DMan7 wrote:
BUG wrote:

No I wasn't suggesting you were had any part in the hysteria, I would never shoot the messenger! :lol:

Arite sah! :)

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2021, 4:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I agree partially but you really feel all them plane loads of New Yorkers came down and no one had Covid? Keep dreaming. Testing was poor back then in the US and even poorer in Trinidad.

The summer spike wasn't just venes bringing it in, it was always amongst us just not spreading exponentially.

Research it yourself.

Combine that and us not really having a vitamin D deficiency and Covid being less virulent in tropical climates made us LUCKY.

New Orleans Mardi Gras- unlucky
scores of Brazilian city carnivals (in the middle of Southern summer) - unlucky
Trinidad carnival -lucky

You keep telling yourself that.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 4:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Research it yourself.

New Orleans Mardi Gras- unlucky
scores of Brazilian city carnivals (in the middle of Southern summer) - unlucky
Trinidad carnival -lucky

You keep telling yourself that.

Keep telling yourself MoH testing is consistent with those in Brazil and the USA.

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2021, 4:39 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Keep telling yourself MoH testing is consistent with those in Brazil and the USA.

Well, our testing is better than Brazil and Mardi Gras cause such a spike of covid-19 in New Orleans it overburdened their health system.

But TT has a magical MoH where although we had a carnival, they secretly hid all the cases from the hospitals. They did that just to fuel nonsense conspiracies like yours.

BUG

Postby BUG » April 14th, 2021, 4:43 pm

Today's numbers been released yet?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 4:43 pm

:fist:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Well, our testing is better than Brazil and Mardi Gras cause such a spike of covid-19 in New Orleans it overburdened their health system.

But TT has a magical MoH where although we had a carnival, they secretly hid all the cases from the hospitals. They did that just to fuel nonsense conspiracies like yours.

Jeez habit learn some nuance nah, all I'm saying there are some fairly legit reasons that Carnival didn't cause things to get worse. Also we had a lockdown right after Carnival too, so yes that helped along with MoH testing limitations.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 4:43 pm

BUG wrote:Today's numbers been released yet?

Nah late so usual

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 14th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Dohplaydat

All your points are moot. This is not how diseases and viruses spread. Plane loads of people is a moot point as well. Right now there is an ebola outbreak in Guinea. Do you think that disease is just going to magically arrive on our shores? It doesn't work like that. Diseases require people and communities in order to spread.

The trinidad population globally is very small. So is the caribbean population. Our population also tend to live and exists amongst each other. How many caribbean people do you think travelled to Wuhan pre covid? Most of the foreigners who travelled to Wuhan travelled there for commercial and business reasons. That is why the outbreak started to affect frequent fliers first.

Another reason is that the chinese community and caribbean community do not exists closely to each other. We don't marry one another and chinese people in developed nations tend to live within their own communities. Most of the times, a disease such as covid would have been spread via a chinese nanny etc interacting with a white family whilst doing their duties. If that white person is middle class/wealthy then most likely they would interact with other white people on work who would then go home and interact with the nanny who happens to trini/caribbean and she would then take it home to her family and her community.

So chances are the people who were coming to our carnival were coming from places that didn't place them into contact with covid. Remember not that many people come to Tt carnival if you are honest with yourself and most people would have flown in carnival week and the week before. The spread at that time would have been much less. We simply were not exposed to Covid at that time.

Postby zoom rader » April 14th, 2021, 4:58 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
BUG wrote:Today's numbers been released yet?

Nah late so usual
Its been cover up by the red government.

It has been that way for a year.

What a con job from Rowlair

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 14th, 2021, 4:58 pm

Numbers supposed to be between 28-40 today

Postby K74T » April 14th, 2021, 5:00 pm

85 new cases and 2 deaths

Postby The_Honourable » April 14th, 2021, 5:02 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Research it yourself.

If you go back to the first person that died from covid, Mr. Noel from south... he was here since before carnival. After carnival he got sick and then died. More than likely he got it from either a family member who came trini or a stranger while partaking in the celebrations. Government had trouble explaining that away where supporters turned it into a race issue.

Those who ACTUALLY WORK in the medical field such as yours truly knows for a fact that between April and July last year, especially in south that doctors were not getting the authorization for suspected patients to be tested. Low tests low numbers.

Covid was here since carnival. How far the spread was we'll never know due to poor testing but luckily it wasn't exponential enough to crash out health system. As with everything trini, we are VERY lucky... so far.
Last edited by The_Honourable on April 14th, 2021, 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 14th, 2021, 5:03 pm

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2021, 5:14 pm

85! and 2 deaths

this still includes sunday which would be low. tomorrow would include 3 weekdays so we probably looking at >100

as i say Easter lime was good!
Last edited by redmanjp on April 14th, 2021, 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 5:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:85! and 2 deaths

this still includes sunday which would be low. tomorrow would includes 3 weekdays so we probably looking at >100

These are the easter infections that now coming in.

Postby zoom rader » April 14th, 2021, 5:22 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Research it yourself.

If you go back to the first person that died from covid, Mr. Noel from south... he was here since before carnival. After carnival he got sick and then died. More than likely he got it from either a family member who came trini or a stranger while partaking in the celebrations. Government had trouble explaining that away where supporters turned it into a race issue.

Those who ACTUALLY WORK in the medical field such as yours truly knows for a fact that between April and July last year, especially in south that doctors were not getting the authorization for suspected patients to be tested. Low tests low numbers.

Covid was here since carnival. How far the spread was we'll never know due to poor testing but luckily it wasn't exponential enough to crash out health system. As with everything trini, we are VERY lucky... so far.
The red government covered it up in fear of losing elections

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 14th, 2021, 5:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

this still includes sunday which would be low. tomorrow would includes 3 weekdays so we probably looking at >100

Samples taken from Sunday would be low given the fact that health centers aren't open to take samples from patients but only private facilities.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2021, 5:29 pm

and arm wrestling

Dohplaydat wrote:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 5:51 pm

highest portion of cases (not by much though) is in the east, Grande side. What going on dong dey?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 14th, 2021, 6:03 pm

The Honourable

There's no luck with diseases and science. Diseases either spread or they don't. In order to prevent a disease from spreading, you need a barrier method. For stds, they use condoms and for covid we use sanitizer, masks and temperature checks. The whole point of these barrier methods is to keep human contact to a minimum. A virus requires a host in order to transmit. Viruses don't care about luck. They need their host to live long enough in order for them to multiply and find a new host. It really is that simple.

Mr Noel's travel history is only relevant because a recent travel history was necessary in order for him to be classified as a covid risk. Remember before local spread you needed to have a recent travel history or interacted with someone who recently travelled in order to get screened for covid with flu like symptoms. So if he travelled to TT a month before he died that would have figured. That doesn't mean that his travel is relevant to his transmission. Remember this is not an indigenous disease.

All of our cases started to emerge after 12th of march. That right there is a clue pertaining to when covid first arrive. Our first official case was a guy from switzerland via London I believe. His infection may have started 2-5 days before he presented. That basically places everyone who presented after him as contracting the virus after him but not necessarily from him.

Noel's death gives him a different timeline. On average most people who die from covid die within 18 days. If he died on the 26th of March then that places his infection date somewhere around the 8th of March. This based on 18 day survival rate. He cud have died much earlier. By day 15 most patients would suffer kidney and heart failure if they are not going to beat the virus. By day 10-12 people are already beginning to recover. A person is not going to have covid for a month and then present themselves for treatment.

Carnival was the 24th and 25th of February that month. Even if someone got ill on the 25th, they would have started to get ill by the 27th and possibly present themselves by the 29th and be diagnosed positive. All this time they would have been spreading the disease unencumbered.

We would have been seeing our first set of cases around the 4th of March if it was from carnival spread. It would have been tens of people in the first week as well. Carnival is essentially the opposite of social distancing so there would have been unrestricted spread.

Honestly, if you want to know about covid timeline in TT. Focus on the first positive test and the first death to get a better idea. This basically rules out infection before the month of March. I think if carnival was a couple of days later we would be seeing a completely different picture.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 6:15 pm

Redress10,

That all assumes testing was being done well. Many people including myself got a lil sick after carnival and were refused tests due to not having a recent travel history.

Secondly, the IFR of covid is ~0.25% which means there could have been hundreds of cases before someone died.

Anyway, here's our response to covid cases plotted, make whatever you want out of it.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 14th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Has nothing to do with testing. It's about the deaths. We would have been dying.

Testing is irrelevant. A confirmed test doesn't prevent you from dying.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 14th, 2021, 6:36 pm

Is it still the case where primary contacts are not being actively tested?

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2021, 6:40 pm

the times for that case have been studied all how, nobody knows for sure

we could even surmise that he got it here from an asymptomatic person who flew in around the said carnival time
that person even have infected somebody else who was also asymptomatic which could easily spread the timeline to the distance for this case.

asymptomatic cases have proven to be the real spin in this entire covid scene.

Redress10 wrote:The Honourable

There's no luck with diseases and science. Diseases either spread or they don't. In order to prevent a disease from spreading, you need a barrier method. For stds, they use condoms and for covid we use sanitizer, masks and temperature checks. The whole point of these barrier methods is to keep human contact to a minimum. A virus requires a host in order to transmit. Viruses don't care about luck. They need their host to live long enough in order for them to multiply and find a new host. It really is that simple.

Mr Noel's travel history is only relevant because a recent travel history was necessary in order for him to be classified as a covid risk. Remember before local spread you needed to have a recent travel history or interacted with someone who recently travelled in order to get screened for covid with flu like symptoms. So if he travelled to TT a month before he died that would have figured. That doesn't mean that his travel is relevant to his transmission. Remember this is not an indigenous disease.

All of our cases started to emerge after 12th of march. That right there is a clue pertaining to when covid first arrive. Our first official case was a guy from switzerland via London I believe. His infection may have started 2-5 days before he presented. That basically places everyone who presented after him as contracting the virus after him but not necessarily from him.

Noel's death gives him a different timeline. On average most people who die from covid die within 18 days. If he died on the 26th of March then that places his infection date somewhere around the 8th of March. This based on 18 day survival rate. He cud have died much earlier. By day 15 most patients would suffer kidney and heart failure if they are not going to beat the virus. By day 10-12 people are already beginning to recover. A person is not going to have covid for a month and then present themselves for treatment.

Carnival was the 24th and 25th of February that month. Even if someone got ill on the 25th, they would have started to get ill by the 27th and possibly present themselves by the 29th and be diagnosed positive. All this time they would have been spreading the disease unencumbered.

We would have been seeing our first set of cases around the 4th of March if it was from carnival spread. It would have been tens of people in the first week as well. Carnival is essentially the opposite of social distancing so there would have been unrestricted spread.

Honestly, if you want to know about covid timeline in TT. Focus on the first positive test and the first death to get a better idea. This basically rules out infection before the month of March. I think if carnival was a couple of days later we would be seeing a completely different picture.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 14th, 2021, 6:44 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is it still the case where primary contacts are not being actively tested?

Correct, at least in my experience. My brother tested positive privately, he spends a lot of time with my parents and gf, none were asked to come in for testing.

In fact, the contact tracing efforts were ZERO, not sure if it's because he tested privately.

My parents are awaiting results from Mt. Hope since last Tuesday.

I might carry them to get it done privately tomorrow since my pops saying he has been feeling low energy and food lacking taste (unusual coming from him since he's not a fussy eater).