Leaving Trinidad for good...

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby goalpost » December 29th, 2024, 11:30 am

Would so love to buss out of here eh, but it will be so difficult because I have 4 kids, so costs I'm sure would be quadruple.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 5th, 2025, 7:56 pm

goalpost wrote:Would so love to buss out of here eh, but it will be so difficult because I have 4 kids, so costs I'm sure would be quadruple.

How you managing with 4 kids in this economy..

Postby goalpost » January 10th, 2025, 7:53 pm

Fighting up.

Postby 88sins » January 19th, 2025, 10:33 am

goalpost wrote:Would so love to buss out of here eh, but it will be so difficult because I have 4 kids, so costs I'm sure would be quadruple.

Yes, and no.
Airfare would be the biggest initial cost, that and the associated immigration document fees. But if you REALLY want to digs outta t&t, you can save up over time and put things in place to get it done.

The alternatives are either one person go alone, establish themselves and then the rest of the family follow, or just don't migrate.
Sometimes boi, yuh does hadda take some presha now to get all you want later.

Postby paid_influencer » January 19th, 2025, 11:04 am

guyana have oil boom. if you get lucky you could easily support them 4 kids better over there than over here.

(ymmv)

the biggest advantage trinidad have for kids is the education system, imo (compared to other caricom places). good quality public education if you manage to be one of the few to get a prestige school. and then gate and subsidised university. then fly out (caricom have skills certificate for ppl with university graduates, so you could legally migrate them kids after).

Postby zoom rader » January 19th, 2025, 11:21 am

paid_influencer wrote:guyana have oil boom. if you get lucky you could easily support them 4 kids better over there than over here.

(ymmv)

the biggest advantage trinidad have for kids is the education system, imo (compared to other caricom places). good quality public education if you manage to be one of the few to get a prestige school. and then gate and subsidised university. then fly out (caricom have skills certificate for ppl with university graduates, so you could legally migrate them kids after).
Yeah but jobs in Trinidad is based on who knows you and to get government jobs u need to be PNM.

Education means nothing in Trinidad

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 19th, 2025, 11:33 am

Maybe the approach is to set up the birds to fly whilst you tend the nest.

Opportunities open with international scholarships, so if they are performing well academically, or in sports, culture, music etc they can get tickets out of here to build their own life.

You can help by creating the environment and increasing their likelihood to benefit from the opportunities

Postby paid_influencer » January 19th, 2025, 11:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Opportunities open with international scholarships, so if they are performing well academically, or in sports, culture, music etc they can get tickets out of here to build their own life.

You can help by creating the environment and increasing their likelihood to benefit from the opportunities

serious question:
where going to have these opportunities in 5-10 years from now

most of the developed countries have adjusted their immigration laws to let you work there, but will send you back after your employer is done with you.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 19th, 2025, 1:22 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

serious question:

most of the developed countries have adjusted their immigration laws to let you work there, but will send you back after your employer is done with you.

Developing countries, of which there are many that have a better standard of living and lower costs than Trinidad. The only caveat is that you might have to learn another language.

Postby paid_influencer » January 19th, 2025, 1:24 pm

tim, you permanent over there or work visa/h1b type thing?

how hard it is to get there legally, assuming you do high school portugese or soemthhing

pension, education, healthcare, etc available for permanent resident immigrants?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 20th, 2025, 9:09 am

paid_influencer wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

serious question:

Plenty gatekeeping is done with these opportunities and scholarships, but it's there if
(a) you know where to look
(b) you have people who look out for you/the kids and send stuff their way

Working in Higher education means a lot of these opportunities cross my desk and I share it to anyone I think would fit the bill.
I don't randomly crosspost everywhere because then the contributions become meaningless and diluted.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 20th, 2025, 10:16 am

paid_influencer wrote:tim, you permanent over there or work visa/h1b type thing?

how hard it is to get there legally, assuming you do high school portugese or soemthhing

pension, education, healthcare, etc available for permanent resident immigrants?

Permanent resident, in the process of naturalization. Pension wouldn't be available unless you paid into something or naturalized but healthcare/a lot of medicines and education are free to permanent residents. Legal pathways include work, student, digital nomad, investment, retirement and marriage.

I would say the easiest pathway is to purchase a few investment properties and list them for rent. The threshold for investors in the best parts of Brazil (South/Southeast) is 1 million BRL (1120000 TTD). In the North/Northeast which I would not recommend at all, it's 700000 BRL (783000 TTD). With that you get PR and your family can get PR based on that via Family Reunion. That way, you will have paid for your own house and set up an income stream on the side in one move. The most important thing would be to have some Portuguese ability, because English speakers are few and far between, but you can always sign up for classes and practice. People here are very forgiving, because no one really speaks formal Portuguese outside of an academic or business setting.

Postby paid_influencer » March 6th, 2025, 6:25 pm

481663342_1075666804603069_8470413705325447990_n.jpg

lots of int'l schols on MoE fb right now

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2025, 7:26 pm

careful with thailand and those nice looking ads

many have been lured there and end up human trafficked
even a famous chinese actor get ketch with that and cause the current brouha about thailand being a starting point for many human traffickers

Postby alfa » March 6th, 2025, 8:31 pm

Careful of the nice looking ladies too, some are ladyboys. Unless you're into that

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2025, 8:52 pm

lol they don’t hide it though
not hard to tell

alfa wrote:Careful of the nice looking ladies too, some are ladyboys. Unless you're into that

Postby goalpost » June 10th, 2025, 2:29 pm

Thoughts on migration to Panama?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » June 10th, 2025, 2:44 pm

goalpost wrote:Thoughts on migration to Panama?

Too expensive. At that point you might as well look at Montevideo or Buenos Aires or Santiago. Panama doesn't really offer many benefits beyond life in Trinidad. If you end up with a Chilean passport, at least you have Visa free access to the US and Canada.

Postby goalpost » June 11th, 2025, 5:30 am

I was thinking more about when I retire. Panama has a Pensionado visa for retirees where the requirement is you receive a monthly pension of 1000usd.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » June 11th, 2025, 11:11 am

goalpost wrote:I was thinking more about when I retire. Panama has a Pensionado visa for retirees where the requirement is you receive a monthly pension of 1000usd.

Chile is 1000 USD a month too and I'd say that their services, food and nature is better compared to Panama. Even if you want to live in Santiago, it's cheaper than Panama City. However if you can't take the cold, then Panama is probably the right choice for you.

Postby goalpost » June 11th, 2025, 2:46 pm

OK well I've to look into that one.