Petrotrin refinery shut down

novastar1

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby novastar1 » October 3rd, 2018, 4:29 pm

Anyone know what went down in with the industrial court hearing?

Postby Redman » October 3rd, 2018, 5:45 pm

Redman wrote:2 weeks ago..I was told that TECU is stable because their investment portfolio is robust and well diversified,and sufficient in size to meet any call.

The source is a position to know

Fwiw.
Much thanks.

Did some further digging...

Petrotrin employees represent less than 8% of TECU s assets.

So it's more of a pain in the arse than a big issue.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 3rd, 2018, 6:22 pm

novastar1 wrote:Anyone know what went down in with the industrial court hearing?

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... f995e.html

Postby gastly369 » October 3rd, 2018, 7:19 pm

Why TF AG want a say....

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2018, 9:07 pm

gastly369 wrote:Why TF AG want a say....

What else does he have to do?

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » October 3rd, 2018, 9:13 pm

gastly369 wrote:Why TF AG want a say....

What else does he have to do?

play with stuart's little balls

airuma

Postby airuma » October 3rd, 2018, 9:31 pm

Is the McKinsey Report on petrotrin available anywhere?

Postby hydroep » October 4th, 2018, 3:27 am

OWTU injunction hearing adjourned as State asks for AG to be involved
- by Derek Achong

The Government is attempting to intervene in the Oilfield Workers Trade Union (OWTU)'s application for an injunction stopping Petrotrin from starting the process of terminating workers.

Lawyers for the State indicated their intention as the application came up for hearing before a five member panel of the Industrial Court, at the court's headquarters in Port-of-Spain, this morning.

While making brief submissions, Senior Counsel Seenath Jairam, who is leading the Office of Attorney General's legal team, claimed that Government wanted to intervene in the case in order to raise public interest concerns that would arise if the injunctive relief is granted.

"The Government is of the view that for Petrotrin to continue as is, it will be a burden that the country and taxpayers cannot bear," Jairam said.

While Petrotrin's attorney Vanessa Gopaul did not object to the move, it was strongly opposed by Senior Counsel Douglas Mendes, who is leading the OWTU's legal team.

Mendes pointed out that the State had no jurisdiction to enter the case as it does not concern a trade dispute between the parties over the terms and conditions of employment for workers.

He stated that it stems from an industrial relations offence, which his client filed against the company for allegedly failing to engage in collective bargaining negotiations with it.

The offence, which is the only criminal charge under the Industrial Relations Act, carries a maximum fine of $4,000.

If eventually granted, the injunction would block Petrotrin from terminating workers, pending the Industrial Court's determination of the industrial relations offence.

Although he admitted that the alleged offence arose out of an ongoing dispute between the company and the union over the closure of the company, he said that the State could only intervene in the event that that matter reaches the court.

Industrial Court president Deborah Thomas-Felix and her colleagues appeared to agree with Mendes' point, however, Jairam agreed to withdraw the State's application before they could rule on it.

Jairam indicated that the State would now make a formal application to be joined as a party to the proceedings.

The issue of the State's application occupied the court for most of the hearing.

In any event, the injunction application would not have been heard during the hearing as lawyers for the OWTU and Petrotrin had previously agreed that it should be adjourned to tomorrow morning as Petrotrin's lead counsel Reginald Armour, SC, is abroad.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/owtu-injunction-hearing-adjourned-state-asks-ag-be-involved

kstt

Postby kstt » October 4th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Good Morning my people.

PETROTRIN'S CURRENT POSITION AND DIRECTION.

I listened attentively to a question and answer session between Board member Mr. Robert Riley and some workers. From that conversation I thought it fit to sum up what I heard and if possible, give an assessment of the direction.

At present, the board and the company is moving full speed ahead with their plans.Of main concern to most employees will be the way in which they are to be treated. I will list it out to you as I have interpreted. Please do not hold me to it, I'm just repeating what was said.

1. Termination Letters-

Letters of termination will begin to be issued from October 8th. The effective date of which will be October 14th. This in keeping with the requirement that they serve to The Ministry of Labour and The Union 45 days notice. On the 1st of December, Petrotrin will cease to operate and two new entities will be formed.with mention of a possible third in the near future.

2. Reapplying-

From October 8th, employees and other members of the public should me able to apply for new positions within the entities. This will be advertised by a private recruitment agency. The process will take into consideration your experience, qualifications and attitude. The jobs will be on a permanent basis with a probationary period. Details of which will be announced. In the interim, skeleton crews will be retained as they see fit in order to preserve continuity of operations, especially upstream.

3. Compensation/exit packages
a. Early retirement packages for those over 50.
b. Severance packages for those under 50.Total budgeted figure for this is $1.8BN. If you worked 20 years as a casual but only 5 permanent. Only the permanent years will be taken into consideration
c. Ex-Gratia payments for casual/temporary employees calculated based upon a formula, using actual hours worked.So far M$30. has been budgeted for this.
d. Contract workers will leave empty handed.
e. There was seen no need for any enhancement to your packages. These will be calculated based upon the various agreements, (9) in all.

4. Backpay-

Backpay is to be calculated (Budgeted at M$555) and stated in your exit letters together with accrued holiday benefits (Budgeted at M$203) which are applicable.

5.Pensions-

The pension fund will not be wound up but remain an open/closed fund. This means that persons who are retiring will continue to benefit from it. The actuaries have stated that it's able to meet the requirements. There is still some question as to how those under 50 will be treated with regards to their contributions etc. (One would wonder what's to become of it seeing that no contributions will be coming to it from employees)

6. Medical-

The medical plan will continue to operate as is in the short term. They have not yet decided exactly what's to be done with it. They are still working out the details.

7. Housing subsidy-

The housing subsidy will go through a gestation period which I understand to mean that it will continue for a period. (I think we need further clarity on this as it's a major concern to most employees.)

8. New E&P-

The new E&P structure will be a wholistic one, encompassing both Land and Offshore Operations.

9. Management Structure-

Management structure will be much flatter meaning less managers but more responsibilities.

10. Workers structure-

Though not much was said about this, from my knowledge and experience, I would expect the following strategic technical crews consisting of varying disciplines, being responsible for all aspects of the particular locations.

11. Working hours-

Again here I speculate based upon my opinion.
Some sort of 12 hour arrangement with a 7 or 14 days on/off arrangement might be put in place.

12. Transportation-

They have stated that there will be less reliance on boats which gives credence to my assumption that people will be staying offshore. Boats will continue to be needed in order to access remote wells, risers and other locations though.

13. Farm out/Lease out.

This model will continue.

MY PERSONAL OPINION

From a business stand point, much of what is being said makes a lot of sense. Were I to come up with a plan for running the new entities, it would be similar to what they are saying.

From a labour stand point and as a worker, the situation is heart breaking. Many people are going to be placed on the bread line with little job opportunities in the market. Office staff, more-so, will find it difficult to gain jobs. With you, I sympathise.

In terms of the directions being taken by both parties, let me say this. They at extremes to each other's position. The Union is adamant that the company must not be closed down. They will pursue their legal and other options as they see fit, through the courts and protests etc. The company on the other hand will go ahead with implementing their strategy.

Where does that leave us as employees?

I would prefer to tread cautiously around this issue. What I will say however is that certain statements made by Mr. Riley gave subtle warnings. In saying that the company is close to bankruptcy and indeed insolvency, means that they still have that option available to them.

I won't advise you what to do at this stage. You have your union and your own mind to guide you.

Be safe my people and may the spirits of the ancestors and your gods guide and protect you throughout this ordeal and indeed, your future endeavours.

Tony Bedassie

Mechanical Technician

Petrotrin, Trinmar Operations

Writer/Poet.

car

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby car » October 4th, 2018, 2:28 pm

So all the talk about enhanced packages. Now is no enhanced package!!!
Temps and casual lucky they still getting something.
Medical will last till the end of the year for laid off workers. So that makes it 1 month extra medical service they get.
Housing will go as soon as everyone exits. They just don’t want to admit it right now. May be they get 1 month extra just as the medical.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 4th, 2018, 3:23 pm

If this was done by the PP Government, there would have been chaos on the south western peninsula.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 4th, 2018, 3:51 pm

Very good summary from Tony Bedassie.

What I am inferring is Petrotrin will be wound up and assets transferred to a new company, this new company would leverage the assets to raise capital through debt/maybe equity financing to pay off all of Petrotrin's old debt.

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2018, 4:37 pm

Passed on the highway earlier and saw them by Charlieville on the northbound, turnout was low. Yuh swear somebody carrying a coffin to the graveyard and only a few come to see the actual burial.

Tewarie blames low turnout to union march on workers' dejection

Caroni Central MP, Dr Bhoe Tewarie believes Petrotrin workers are feeling dejected and this is why most of them failed to join the trade union movement in its three-day march from Pointe-a-Pierre to Port-of-Spain.

Even though over 4,700 workers are set to lose their jobs by November, only a few hundred people turned up for the Trade union's "monster march" in Central Trinidad on Thursday.

Speaking to the Guardian at a post-budget forum held at the Couva/ Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce seminar yesterday,

Tewarie said the low turnout was indicative of the feelings of depression being faced by the Petrotrin workers.

"I believe the low participation is because people feel browbeaten. Workers feel it's a done deal and that the Board is proceeding with its business regardless of how they feel so they think they might as well conserve their energy and think about how they will proceed after retrenchment," Tewarie said.

He added, "There is a promise that everybody will be taken care of financially after the retrenchment. Some workers may feel hopeful that they will be rehired so I suspect there are mixed feelings about whether they should participate in the march."

He added, "I don't know how the issue before the Industrial Court will be resolved but whatever happens it will be according to law and this will have to be taken into account. I think that's where we are at this point."

He also said there was no evidence to suggest that workers or the trade unions were behind any incidents of alleged sabotage.

"We have to verify that it is sabotage. I don't want to cast aspersions on the union and the workers but in situations of frustration things like this happen," Tewarie said.

He added that the Petrotrin Board must ensure there is enough security to ensure that their plans are carried out in an environment of peace.

"I don't think it makes sense to sabotage the country or sabotage Petrotrin. I would never support that kind of thing. I believe you have to argue and fight to assert yourself and your position and influence people into supporting your position. I don’t believe in either sabotage, subversion or violence," Tewarie said.

He added that whatever trials are being faced by Petrotrin workers, he hoped that all parties could move peacefully forward.

On Wednesday, Petrotrin issued a statement saying it uncovered three acts of sabotage at its Central Los Bajos Field on Tuesday night.

The company said a fire was started in a chemical shed at North Palo Seco, Tank Battery No.1 (McLeod Battery) in the Central Los Bajos Field.

Investigators found that a two-inch diameter valve on Tank No. 1 was opened and a bull plug removed from Tank No. 2, causing a quantity of oil and water to flow inside the bunded area.

Four test tanks bleed valves were also opened, but the tanks were empty.

The company said all regulatory agencies, including the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs; the Environmental Management Authority (EMA); and the Occupational Safety and Health Agency (OSHA) were notified.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/tew ... -dejection

Postby gastly369 » October 4th, 2018, 6:29 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Passed on the highway earlier and saw them by Charlieville on the northbound, turnout was low. Yuh swear somebody carrying a coffin to the graveyard and only a few come to see the actual burial.

Tewarie blames low turnout to union march on workers' dejection

Caroni Central MP, Dr Bhoe Tewarie believes Petrotrin workers are feeling dejected and this is why most of them failed to join the trade union movement in its three-day march from Pointe-a-Pierre to Port-of-Spain.

Even though over 4,700 workers are set to lose their jobs by November, only a few hundred people turned up for the Trade union's "monster march" in Central Trinidad on Thursday.

Speaking to the Guardian at a post-budget forum held at the Couva/ Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce seminar yesterday,

Tewarie said the low turnout was indicative of the feelings of depression being faced by the Petrotrin workers.

"I believe the low participation is because people feel browbeaten. Workers feel it's a done deal and that the Board is proceeding with its business regardless of how they feel so they think they might as well conserve their energy and think about how they will proceed after retrenchment," Tewarie said.

He added, "There is a promise that everybody will be taken care of financially after the retrenchment. Some workers may feel hopeful that they will be rehired so I suspect there are mixed feelings about whether they should participate in the march."

He added, "I don't know how the issue before the Industrial Court will be resolved but whatever happens it will be according to law and this will have to be taken into account. I think that's where we are at this point."

He also said there was no evidence to suggest that workers or the trade unions were behind any incidents of alleged sabotage.

"We have to verify that it is sabotage. I don't want to cast aspersions on the union and the workers but in situations of frustration things like this happen," Tewarie said.

He added that the Petrotrin Board must ensure there is enough security to ensure that their plans are carried out in an environment of peace.

"I don't think it makes sense to sabotage the country or sabotage Petrotrin. I would never support that kind of thing. I believe you have to argue and fight to assert yourself and your position and influence people into supporting your position. I don’t believe in either sabotage, subversion or violence," Tewarie said.

He added that whatever trials are being faced by Petrotrin workers, he hoped that all parties could move peacefully forward.

On Wednesday, Petrotrin issued a statement saying it uncovered three acts of sabotage at its Central Los Bajos Field on Tuesday night.

The company said a fire was started in a chemical shed at North Palo Seco, Tank Battery No.1 (McLeod Battery) in the Central Los Bajos Field.

Investigators found that a two-inch diameter valve on Tank No. 1 was opened and a bull plug removed from Tank No. 2, causing a quantity of oil and water to flow inside the bunded area.

Four test tanks bleed valves were also opened, but the tanks were empty.

The company said all regulatory agencies, including the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs; the Environmental Management Authority (EMA); and the Occupational Safety and Health Agency (OSHA) were notified.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/tew ... -dejection
Yesterday and today was who wanted to fall in...tmrw is the real deal

airuma

Postby airuma » October 4th, 2018, 9:25 pm

"You have your union and your own mind to guide you"

I would disagree with this since at this stage, the OWTU is drowning and can offer very little to their members. It should really be "you have your own mind to guide you".
It seems to me that the main problem here is the OWTU rather than the company being unionized. IMHO, the workers should seek their own interest at this stage i.e. try to get re-employed rather than maintain OWTU membership.

Postby hydroep » October 5th, 2018, 1:15 am

Espinet: No plan to decommission Petrotrin refinery

by Rosemarie Sant

Petrotrin chair­man Wil­fred Es­pinet says there is no plan to de­com­mis­sion the Petrotrin re­fin­ery when it ceas­es op­er­a­tions. In­stead, the plant will be moth­balled and pre­served in a way that it can be eas­i­ly restart­ed if some­one wants to buy it. The re­fin­ery is due to cease op­er­a­tions by the end of this month, one month ahead of the No­vem­ber 30 planned clo­sure of the com­pa­ny.

Speak­ing to Guardian Me­dia this evening, Es­pinet said, “There is no plan to­day, as we speak, to de­com­mis­sion the re­fin­ery. The re­fin­ery is be­ing shut down and moth­balled so that if some­body wants it, it will be there.”

Es­pinet said Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley made it clear that “if some­body wants the re­fin­ery there would be a pe­ri­od they would look and see if some­body wants the re­fin­ery and some­body may want it, so the plant would be moth­balled.”

On Wednes­day, Op­po­si­tion leader Kam­la Per­sad-Bisses­sar called on the En­vi­ron­men­tal Man­age­ment Au­thor­i­ty to in­di­cate whether or not a Cer­tifi­cate of En­vi­ron­men­tal Clear­ance (CEC) had been grant­ed for the de­com­mis­sion­ing and/or clo­sure of the Re­fin­ery. In a let­ter to EMA chair­man Nadra Nathai-Gyan, she warned that with­out sat­is­fy­ing the le­gal re­quire­ments of the EMA, the clo­sure of the re­fin­ery can have “cat­a­stroph­ic and cat­a­clysmic ef­fects on the en­vi­ron­ment which will last well in­to the fu­ture.”

But Es­pinet yes­ter­day said there was no need for a CEC be­cause “we shut­ting down the plant and it will be moth­balled, how that reach de­com­mis­sion­ing? The short an­swer is we not de­com­mis­sion­ing the plant.”

One in­dus­try ex­pert ex­plained that moth­balling is where the plant is ba­si­cal­ly stored in such a way "that when you come back to it, it is not a heap of rust and it can start."

In moth­balling, he said, "You may not re­move all of the hy­dro­car­bons et cetera, but you will fill up en­gines with oil or any­thing to stop rust, cor­ro­sion and degra­da­tion so you are pre­serv­ing it know­ing that in fu­ture you want to start again."

De­com­mis­sion­ing, the ex­pert said, means you have no in­ten­tion to use the plant again and all the hy­dro­car­bons, gas­es and flam­ma­ble ma­te­r­i­al will be re­moved.

Es­pinet said the re­fin­ery will stop pro­duc­tion some­where be­tween the mid­dle and the end of this month.

“It takes some time for it to shut down, it’s not a light switch. There are a num­ber of plants to be shut down, it will be done sys­tem­at­i­cal­ly one af­ter the next. Then they will have to bleed them of all the things they are do­ing, then clean them out and fill them with some kind of chem­i­cal to keep it moth­balled in good con­di­tion.”

He said in the tran­si­tion pe­ri­od there would be a “safe shut­down of the plant and the plant would be put in­to a safe and clean sys­tem so that it will be iso­lat­ed from its run­ning.”

But Es­pinet could not say how long the plant would re­main moth­balled, not­ing that is de­pen­dent on the “fi­nal de­ci­sions made on the plant. That would be de­pen­dent on pro­pos­als and I imag­ine the share­hold­ers will make the de­ter­mi­na­tion.”

He al­so said de­spite the so-called “moth­er of all march­es” be­ing staged by the Oil­field Work­ers' Trade Union from San Fer­nan­do to Port-of-Spain, Petrotrin was still op­er­at­ing as nor­mal.

"Peo­ple are work­ing and every­thing is run­ning, the plant is run­ning,” Es­pinet said.

Es­pinet said it ap­peared that the “union is not in sync with the peo­ple, I am sor­ry to say they are on their own agen­da.” As of yes­ter­day, there had been no dis­cus­sion on the ter­mi­na­tion pack­ages be­cause Es­pinet said the union had made it “abun­dant­ly clear” that they are not dis­cussing the mat­ter.

The OW­TU, which rep­re­sents the ma­jor­i­ty of the work­ers, is seek­ing an in­junc­tion from the In­dus­tri­al Court to try to stop the planned clo­sure of the oil com­pa­ny.

As it now stands, Es­pinet said the com­pa­ny con­tin­ues to work to­wards the No­vem­ber 30 date for the com­pa­ny to cease op­er­a­tions.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/espinet-no-plan-to-decommission-petrotrin-refinery-6.2.683761.583780d8a1

Postby hydroep » October 5th, 2018, 1:20 am

Casualties of war...
Six T&TEC workers suspended
Fallout over ‘day of rest and reflection’...

Anna Ramdass

Six Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) workers have been been handed five-day suspensions without pay for being absent from work on September 7—“the day of rest and reflection”.

Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) executive vice-president Peter Burke said the workers were stopped by police and “locked out” when they arrived at their San ­Fernando office yesterday. He said the workers, whose duties are in the field and in administration, were told they were suspended without pay for “unauthorised absence” in the week of September 7—when the union held its national day of rest and reflection.

Burke added he understands there is a list of 42 workers in one area where action will also be taken. He said the action to suspend the workers was taken without the workers even receiving suspension letters.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/six-t-tec-workers-suspended/article_ec874bda-c83f-11e8-801e-ff1184fedc8c.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2018, 5:11 am

so expect real traffic with the march of all marches today??

Postby SR » October 5th, 2018, 6:17 am

Low turn out means workers losing faith in owtu......reality us they have failed the workers by convincing them of the high demands over the years from since the 80s and now this is the result. But blame is on both sides poor management and malcom jones to a great extent as well

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 5th, 2018, 7:35 am

Imbert said 1st Oct was last supply of imported crude so refinery will be shutdown in 7-10 days since they will run out of crude to refine. I find it hard to believe but seems like Petrotrin board / government outsmart the OWTU.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 5th, 2018, 9:13 am

PERFECT example of what the PSA is SUPPOSED to do!
You want to stay home or protest- SUSPEND yuh MC with NO pay!

TIme for all the freeness and lazy ar5se work ethics to go out the door- you being paid for working then get off yuh blasted phone, show up to work ON TIME, put in a full days work, and then you will get paid, or be DISMISSED!

hydroep wrote:Casualties of war...
Six T&TEC workers suspended
Fallout over ‘day of rest and reflection’...

Anna Ramdass

Six Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) workers have been been handed five-day suspensions without pay for being absent from work on September 7—“the day of rest and reflection”.

Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union (OWTU) executive vice-president Peter Burke said the workers were stopped by police and “locked out” when they arrived at their San ­Fernando office yesterday. He said the workers, whose duties are in the field and in administration, were told they were suspended without pay for “unauthorised absence” in the week of September 7—when the union held its national day of rest and reflection.

Burke added he understands there is a list of 42 workers in one area where action will also be taken. He said the action to suspend the workers was taken without the workers even receiving suspension letters.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/six-t-tec-workers-suspended/article_ec874bda-c83f-11e8-801e-ff1184fedc8c.html

Postby 16 cycles » October 5th, 2018, 9:41 am

we getting 98ron as we buying from foreign?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 5th, 2018, 9:43 am

16 cycles wrote:we getting 98ron as we buying from foreign?

Doubtful of that. The refinery is capable of producing RON 98 so the keep back can’t be related to Petrotrin.

Postby The_Honourable » October 5th, 2018, 11:39 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Imbert said 1st Oct was last supply of imported crude so refinery will be shutdown in 7-10 days since they will run out of crude to refine. I find it hard to believe but seems like Petrotrin board / government outsmart the OWTU.

Did they? I believe the OWTU didn't actually think they would be challenged. Their antagonistic behavior and the threats to strike had parties staying in their crease for decades. Now the Government via the board decide to challenge them head on, they don't know what to do.

Postby tr1ad » October 5th, 2018, 11:55 am

The_Honourable wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:Imbert said 1st Oct was last supply of imported crude so refinery will be shutdown in 7-10 days since they will run out of crude to refine. I find it hard to believe but seems like Petrotrin board / government outsmart the OWTU.

Did they? I believe the OWTU didn't actually think they would be challenged. Their antagonistic behavior and the threats to strike had parties staying in their crease for decades. Now the Government via the board decide to challenge them head on, they don't know what to do.

exactly so

initially was what - OWTU, the refinery is yours if you want it

na na na dai fuh d people

waiting game

OWTU - we have potential investors

just games by the union really

Postby gastly369 » October 5th, 2018, 12:06 pm

Who tf is overwhelmed by a termination letter...this mc place is a joke yes ..speed up de process ic
IMG-20181005-WA0023.jpeg

IMG-20181005-WA0021.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2018, 2:18 pm

7cac64dd-8793-463b-927a-f6f15674139f.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2018, 2:23 pm

OWTU-Independence-Square-2018.jpg