Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2018, 5:06 pm

99% fluff talk

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:08 pm

Up till now nobody from the PNM has decided to help the Kelly / St Helena people even though our flooding was as bad as La Horquetta. It is up to private citizens, shame on the PNM for helping only the areas they get votes.

Postby X_Factor » October 21st, 2018, 5:08 pm

smart move
I told my uncle to do the same friday evening

Postby MaxPower » October 21st, 2018, 5:09 pm

Steups shut down DF country.....the only cars that should be on the road is relief cars and affected ppl and their families....the congestion will slow the aid time..smfh

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2018, 5:10 pm

Greenvale ftw

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Up till now nobody from the PNM has decided to help the Kelly / St Helena people even though our flooding was as bad as La Horquetta. It is up to private citizens, shame on the PNM for helping only the areas they get votes.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2018, 5:10 pm

Can you imagine the chaos on the highway tomorrow, if people take on Stuart Young and his garbage talk and try to get to work?

Heaven help them.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2018, 5:11 pm

I have been watching that real closely since Friday night.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Up till now nobody from the PNM has decided to help the Kelly / St Helena people even though our flooding was as bad as La Horquetta. It is up to private citizens, shame on the PNM for helping only the areas they get votes.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2018, 5:13 pm

Just saw a video of a waterspout very close to a rig today.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:16 pm

The PNM doesn't care about people all they care about is the 1% makes their profit, shutting down the country tomorrow would mean that businesses would have to pay the workers for staying home and we can't have that under a PNM regime.

Heaven forbid the rain continues like this and we are forced to go to work, how we reaching home if it floods again?????

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2018, 5:17 pm

Up to now glenda jennings like casper in Grande...

matix

Postby matix » October 21st, 2018, 5:18 pm

The level of stupidity. And then they’re saying that they have it under control

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 5:22 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Up to now glenda jennings like casper in Grande...

odpm silent in this disaster like ministery of labor silent with petrotin.

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 5:23 pm

Looks like the Government doesn't want to "take the blame" for shutting down the country, so they're leaving the decision up to individual citizens to assess their personal situations and move accordingly.

Think about it, if you work in north and decide not to chance it that coming out of your sick or casual days, whereas if the Government shuts down the country the onus is on the employers to pay workers for that day off (and they still have their sick and casual days inside).

It's a stupid decision, but then again what do you expect from a stupid Government...:|
Last edited by hydroep on October 21st, 2018, 5:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2018, 5:24 pm

They have nothing under control. It is out of their control actually. They have a massive amount of work to do and they have to release a massive amount of money for clean up and to help citizens.

But what you want to bet that the majority of that money will now be diverted to the "West".

matix wrote:The level of stupidity. And then they’re saying that they have it under control

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 21st, 2018, 5:25 pm

Its amazing how they are deflcting these questions. It's a shame to here these Minister's speak. Have they not ever seen daily traffic on a normal work day.
Wow sininan doesn't understand basic engineering about how to mitigate flooding.

Postby bluefete » October 21st, 2018, 5:27 pm

They should just shut the hell up.

The more they talk the more clueless they look.

Postby Chimera » October 21st, 2018, 5:29 pm

the senior disaster coordinator for ODPM suddenly died earlier this year, so i doubt they even get anyone good to replace him or know wtf to do in this major situation

he was the man who reach on the scene first and leave last, personally helping as much as he could

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:31 pm

Yeah but how we going to work tomorrow when everybody place is a disaster? you know the kinda cleaning people have to do? lots and lots of people are forced to sleep by their neighbor with high house cause their place is uninhabitable and you telling me this dotish PNM cannot understand this?

For the minimum one day should be given for clean up and precaution especially with this bad weather. If Kamla was in power she would have put citizens lives first.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 5:33 pm

they should close back the highway, to leave it free for emergency vehicles. this is because the rains coming back. and the conditions will go back to being bad. u dont want people getting trapped there.

u dont need to instate national emergency, just manage the critical points.

the areas that are in clean up mode or still vacated, institute a localized state of emergency to regulate traffic to relief efforts and to have army and police to attend to looting or robbery.

if people neeed to go up north or come down south make in mandatory to use ptsc.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:36 pm

hoss PTSC is unreliable their buses are broken down most of the time, you might end up trapped with a PTSC bus when it break down. The only real solution here is to shutdown the country tomorrow and give people a chance to get back on their feet. But the PNM has to take orders from the 1% and they not going to pay nobody to stay home.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » October 21st, 2018, 5:40 pm

Can’t believe ED just said that wrt PTSC offering assistance....smh...Damned if you do, damned if you don’t...

matix

Postby matix » October 21st, 2018, 5:42 pm

But the service isn’t reliable

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 5:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hoss PTSC is unreliable their buses are broken down most of the time, you might end up trapped with a PTSC bus when it break down. The only real solution here is to shutdown the country tomorrow and give people a chance to get back on their feet. But the PNM has to take orders from the 1% and they not going to pay nobody to stay home.

it is their resource, they have to have their faith in it.
u should be able to eat the same food that u cook.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:44 pm

bess almera wrote:Can’t believe ED just said that wrt PTSC offering assistance....smh...Damned if you do, damned if you don’t...

The man say to let everybody leave their cars home and use PTSC

You do realize what that means? PTSC is very unreliable it will be a nightmare if the government force everybody to leave home their vehicles and use PTSC, on a normal day you can't even get a PTSC bus in rush hour and that is with all the maxi working and everybody using their personal vehicles.

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 5:44 pm

Yunno, if there were proper docking facilities at King's Wharf — and it didn't break dong — the Galleon's Passage could have been used to supplement the Water Taxi Service which could have eased up the situation tremendously.
Last edited by hydroep on October 21st, 2018, 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:47 pm

hydroep wrote:Yunno, if there were proper docking facilities at King's Wharf — and it didn't break dong — the Galleon's Passage could have been used to supplement the Water Taxi Service. That could have eased up the situation tremendously.

Now you talking.

But do not forget that taking a taxi is also another major problem, half the time you can't even get a car you have to wait for hours. And when POS flooding out which is a regular thing you will be walking through sh!t water touching your balls.

Anybody who does travel in this country knows what its like to get transport in rush hour.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 21st, 2018, 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 5:47 pm

In the past I use to think Stuart was a skunt.

I know for sure now.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 21st, 2018, 5:51 pm

That "press conference" pretty much proved it , couldn't even watch that for 10 seconds , so much BS . No one should be on that highway unless in an absolute emergency , that water ain't gunna clear up by 2mrw.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 5:53 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bess almera wrote:Can’t believe ED just said that wrt PTSC offering assistance....smh...Damned if you do, damned if you don’t...

The man say to let everybody leave their cars home and use PTSC

You do realize what that means? PTSC is very unreliable it will be a nightmare if the government force everybody to leave home their vehicles and use PTSC, on a normal day you can't even get a PTSC bus in rush hour and that is with all the maxi working and everybody using their personal vehicles.

if u neeeed to go up north. it is intended to reduce the amount of traffic passing through, to only those who deem it so necessary.
i am taking the Oline Purchase Tax approach to reducing the usage of the road,,, if u reallly need to , then u will bear it.
otherwise, stay de france off of the high way, leave it clear. cause more rains coming, and u dont want to have to send more resources to rescue, that already tired since friday night.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 5:53 pm

I dunno what the PNM expecting really, how much businesses will be open tomorrow given the current situation? most of them still have not started to clean out all the mud yet and more rain coming and more flood coming.