Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

kyhamil

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby kyhamil » April 16th, 2015, 7:38 pm

Amazon... cant wait to set it up... I have to do a water change weekend... need to organise bout 40 gallons pf salt water

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 17th, 2015, 11:15 am

Hey Honda does the chemiclean mess with your protein skimmer?

And another question... I want to dump 2 bags of bio balls in my sump... good or bad ? I already have a bad and a half in there

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 17th, 2015, 8:54 pm

kyhamil wrote:Hey Honda does the chemiclean mess with your protein skimmer?
You must take of protein skimmer, and remove any charcoal or any other absorbing material. You MUST be running heavy air also.

And another question... I want to dump 2 bags of bio balls in my sump... good or bad ? I already have a bad and a half in there

bioballs is what people used to use in their wet/dry filters whereby The bioballs are not immersed in water and semi-wet so to speak You have a sump which is different. All they do is raise your nitrates............... all you want is live rock

AND I HOPE YOU DIDNT ADD THE CHEMIPURE YET. AFTER THE CYANO IS GONE AND YOU DO THE WATER CHANGE, THEN YOU ADD THE CHEMIPURE.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 17th, 2015, 9:11 pm

No I didn't... I did my research on that 1

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 17th, 2015, 10:29 pm

you added the new live rock yet?
If not, its Better you add it at its earliest because when your tank has already started to become established, adding additional live rock would actually make your tank go through another mini cycle.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 17th, 2015, 10:33 pm

Yeah I did... Im having probs with my protein skimmer these days... they fullinf with water in a blink and its hard to tune...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 17th, 2015, 10:43 pm

Check the depth of the skimmer in the sump.... Because my sump is now deep I had problems tuning it....just needed to raise the skimmer about 4" and tuning was a breeze.

What skimmer are you using?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 12:16 pm

I did a 20% water change, changed over all my filters and added 2 bags of the chemipure elite to the sump in the same chamber as the protein skimmers, raised the skimmers about 2 inches... I vacuumed the sand bed... was a .01 over the salinity from my tank so I added more rodi water to compensate... so my sump running about 3 or 4 inches higher in the return chamber did a test for power outage and still have bout 5 inches to play with...

3rd day there was no sign of the cyano...

And wrt to the protein skimmer question I have 2 berlin air lifter skimmers 1 rated at aeound 60 and 1 at around 100 gallons I know they arent what regular hobbiest would recommend but th ats what I have on the 50 gallon before and I just got another 1 since I was having a gd experience with it... latr this yr id look into getting a reef octopus or sumn
1429459977786.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 19th, 2015, 2:40 pm

At the moment you don't need the both skimmers running cause your bio-load in fish is minimal and you could actually be over skimming. Read up on wet skimming and dry skimming.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 4:09 pm

Ok kool... Id check it out... right now I have 2 kois in my tank I use for quarantine but they would be out soon.... any1 have fish they wanna give away? Lol
Oh im still looking for the tanks to mind my kois in... if any1 knows where

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 19th, 2015, 6:13 pm

You got chance to catch out the damsel yet?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 6:44 pm

No I didn't he found a spot under the main piller of the display... so i have to take out all the rock to catch him... I eh ready for that maintenance schedule yet... 3 more months for...
how often do you filter your sand bed and how do you clean your live rock if you do that at all

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 9:32 pm

Wet skimmate is the thin light green tea-colored solution collected when lots of air and a relatively high water column height is adjusted for in skimmers that are adjustable (MR-2 type skimmers). This removes a lot of seawater and requires that any auto-top-off devices be turned off during such operations. Failure to do so may result in dilution of salinity. As an alternative (especially in sumpless systems), the system may be overfilled with seawater and skimmed down to normal levels.

Dry skimmate is the thick, concentrated skimmate collected when water column height is adjusted to about 3 or 5 cm below the collection neck (may be more or less depending on pump, skimmer brand, and venturi/air injection device) and the air injection is reduced to prevent excessive foam formation. This allows the skimmate to concentrate in the foam formed within the collection riser so that the skimmate collected in the cup is quite concentrated, relatively "drier" than the thin wet skimmate collected with less restrictive adjustments. This is usually the optimum setting for skimmers, as it does not remove large volumes of water while the system is unattended, yet effectively removes large amounts of DOC and particulates from the water column. This conservation of seawater helps to prevent fluctuations in salinity, especially in systems with automatic top off devices in operation.

Wet skimmate allows for better rapid collection of particulates and some organics, but at the cost of collecting extra water (around 2 to 3 gallons every 30 minutes to an hour, depending on the adjustment settings.) This extra water collected can be added to the total for discard from water changes, and acts to clear the water column of suspended detritus. This is especially helpful while performing detritus siphoning/uspension and algal scraping of the glass and when blowing the rock with current to remove detritus. You'll need to keep track of the total amount of seawater removed from the system, and replace that amount with fresh seawater to maintain salinity parameters. If you use auto-top off, make sure to adjust the height of the water in the sump before restarting the auto-top-off to prevent changes in your system's salinityThe quick and dirty on skimmate, hope this helps.

I found this and thought it woukd be helpful to others like me who are new...

And also as I have 2... you think I can do both? One wet skim and 1 dry... I had them both kind of in between before the chemiclean... then they went crazy and sucked up water...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 19th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Nice info there
I usually keep mine on the wet side
1429494635805.jpg

That's what I get weekly...also along the upper neck and the cover thick gunk usually accumulates.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 9:57 pm

Is that a dyi or store bought. .. I usually get something close to that... but its like wasa water right now... slightly not clear...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 19th, 2015, 10:05 pm

That's the cup from my asm g1x. Only when I hold it up to a direct light I can see through it. I used to run it dryer but thought I give the wet skimming a chance. It adds a 2mins to the weekly maintenance but that's small thing

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 19th, 2015, 10:26 pm

Yeah... I need to invest in a chiller... I been losing about 4 gallons in skimming n evaporation

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 28th, 2015, 12:19 am

Wow, 4 gallons a day?????
A chiller helps a lot. I loose about 1/2 / 3/4 gal of water per day but my auto topup handles that. I have seen people with 200gal tanks like me loose 1-2gal per day. And i dont even have a closed top tank. I have no hood and my lights are suspended.
Be careful on too much heavy wet skimming cause it pulls out too much nutrients. kyhamil, Still don't know why you running two skimmers heavy like that especially if your bioload is so small and you hardly feeding. You don't even need all that set of skimming. You are a FOWLR right? Greenlime needs to be running heavy cause of his SPS corals.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » April 28th, 2015, 9:14 pm

No not a day... sorry I just seeing the question... in a week... I top up the tank every other day about a gallon maybe a lil more...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 30th, 2015, 2:19 am

4 gal a week is still good.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 3rd, 2015, 3:31 pm

Anyone have small to medium engineer gobies in their tank?
Want to find out what are their eating habits and have they bothered your shrimp or small fish.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » May 10th, 2015, 9:12 am

Hey is there anyfish or other animal that would clean up diatoms outbreaks? I think I have to change my rodi filters but it go be a while before it ships in and im having a diatom issue... what else can I use? I still only feed once a day just enough so the 3 fish eat it out in under a minute and yes my tank gets sun light its in my garage

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 10th, 2015, 10:00 am

Sometimes even adding something like new sand or a new piece of rock can bring silicates into a system causing a diatom bloom. Many things can cause it.............Low flow, White lights on to long or sun hitting tank, water source (TDS too high), not changing your filters or even not changing your DI resin on time. A DI resin cartridge only lasts me a day........ which only makes about 60-65 gal of water. You ever bought the TDS meter to check your water? and how often you change your DI resin.
with lighting, your tank actually only really needs 6-7hrs of white light and that good. I don't pass 8hrs and I have a reef tank. Corals grow good with that

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » May 10th, 2015, 10:24 am

Yeah I bought it... I have to change my filters... I just havent gotten around to it

I did add the extra live rock about 2-3 weeks ago... but I think I need a clean up team... some snails but im not sure if the damsel will interfare with them

And do yiu think my tank is established enough for the goby?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 10th, 2015, 11:22 am

the extra live rock is what possibly gave you the diatom outbreak. You had a mini cycle. Told you before if you don't get rid of the damsel, not much fish is gonna survive. If you tank was big with lots more rock the new fish will be able to hide his wrath. You still don't even have the required rock per volume of water. I cant tell if your tank is established enough for a mandarin goby. They normally recommend 1 year with lots of live rock. In your case you have some rock that was alive, and you put it back now to get repopulated. You putting that fish in at your own risk. Mandarins eat constantly whole day and you lucky to get one that eats pellets. And if he does, the other fish you have will eat the pellets before he even gets to it. They are slow swimmers. Other than that, mandarins don't have stomachs so they have to eat all the time. They eat lots of live food in the tank which the live rock has (copepods & other types of pods). Now when you place live rock in a tank, lots of the bacteria and other live stuff don't survive the shock of the water change, so they need time to reestablish themselves. So the same copepods might need time to multiply. And you need lots to feed a mandarin which may eat close to a thousand a day. Suppose that's your population at the moment.............. What will he eat then???

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » May 10th, 2015, 11:29 am

Thats why I like askung you guys these questions... education... and man I have to catch him again? Id put hum in the sump lol again... he colour rel bright doh... his blue pops with the black background id miss him in the display... but im not buying new fish for a while... I don't have time for the 3 tanks I have set up atm...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 10th, 2015, 12:54 pm

Well I cant tell you what to do with him............ but 2 types ill never keep in a display tanks ever again is any type of damsel and any type of sand sifting goby.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » May 10th, 2015, 1:08 pm

Whats up with the sand sifting gobys other than they require and established tank and constant feeding?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 10th, 2015, 1:19 pm

Especially the bullet goby and the yellow cheek, They dumped sand all over the tank (rocks and coral) and it just destroyed it. Wont lie, Keeps the sand white as can be, but just could not deal with my 4" sand bed now 7-8" on one side and glass on the next of my 75gal tank. Killed lots of coral back then. They cool in watching them sift the sand through their gills but never again.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » May 10th, 2015, 1:28 pm

Lol they go be perfect for my fish only tank... but honeslty I dont put the same.level of effort into it as when I jist started... right niw I need to do a water change... and I prolonging it