Tuner Cooking Thread.

carluva

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby carluva » March 14th, 2020, 9:07 pm

Let us know how that came out. You are quite brave as I've never heard of eating crab like that before. How did you kill them? And if they were alive before going bin the pot, how did you scrub them without getting pinched?

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Under the shell contains the delicious crab fat. It's a yellow-white-greenish substance inside crabs and lobsters that we normally wash away. This is the hepatopancreas, an equivalent to our liver and pancreas. And it's super-delicious and creamy, sort of like the sweetbread from a baby cow. Organ meats from animals are the most valuable in terms of nutrition and flavors.

Further reading: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tomalley

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2020, 10:08 pm

Google boss on the scene

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2020, 10:22 pm

nah that is not my pic, that is usain bolt instagram

carluva wrote:Let us know how that came out. You are quite brave as I've never heard of eating crab like that before. How did you kill them? And if they were alive before going bin the pot, how did you scrub them without getting pinched?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 15th, 2020, 12:16 am

Oho. Well colour me dotish.
pugboy wrote:nah that is not my pic, that is usain bolt instagram

carluva wrote:Let us know how that came out. You are quite brave as I've never heard of eating crab like that before. How did you kill them? And if they were alive before going bin the pot, how did you scrub them without getting pinched?

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2020, 2:05 pm

Probably the wrong thread but who say sapodilla. 2 much to eat.
20200315_140519.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » March 15th, 2020, 2:18 pm

Never too much to eat.

If you close to me, I coming for some.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 15th, 2020, 2:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Probably the wrong thread but who say sapodilla. 2 much to eat.
20200315_140519.jpeg
lucky you. I got one tree to ketch in my yard after 5 attempts over some years, first set to bear was this year. not very sweet and three-quarters windball size. Like it fraid to bear plenty too

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2020, 2:23 pm

If allyuh want I giving away yuh know. Yuh hadda come collect it by my store in freeport though

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2020, 2:32 pm

2 trees bearing endlessly
20200315_143237.jpeg
20200315_143223.jpeg
20200315_143221.jpeg
20200315_143203.jpeg
20200315_143152.jpeg

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 15th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Postby shogun » March 15th, 2020, 3:13 pm

:shock: Nice!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Sapodillas seem to bear damn near year round. You have a good tree, out a blue bottle on it before some people here blight it

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2020, 5:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:Kimchi has many variants there's no hard and fast recipe. A quick search online and I'm sure there are easy adaptations based on what's available locally. I'll try it this weekend and give feedback

As promised I tried my hand, used regular local cabbage, carrot, morai, ginger, onion and garlic. sliced the cabbage up and washed it. Then I salted it with coarse sea salt and a little water to soften it via brining, placed a plate and bowl on it to weigh it down. I cut the carrot and morai into strips and added the minced garlic, onion and ginger with some chili pepper flakes and a dash of soy sauce. I also added some kimchi paste that I got at Malabar Farms, funnily I bought that bottle before Carnival at half price not even knowing at the time what kimchi was. After about 20 mins I washed and dried the cabbage ( which had gotten tender) using a salad spinner and leaving to drain for 10 mins. Combined everything and put it into 2 sterilized 16oz bottles which I'll leave on my kitchen counter to ferment for a couple days. had some extra that I put in a small bottle and had some with my lunch a lil while ago, it's delicious even if not authentic
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 15th, 2020, 5:30 pm

^ did you bury it in the ground?

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2020, 5:35 pm

looking good

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ did you bury it in the ground?

with my wife's Pioneer Woman bottles :shock: ? You eh like me at all

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2020, 5:41 pm

Well done!

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 15th, 2020, 7:00 pm

Saw this featured in an Anthony Bourdain No Reservation Korea episode. They used whole Romaine like lettuce, did a mix of raw shrimp and oysters with shredded carrots etc and buried in in clay pots for some weeks.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ did you bury it in the ground?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2020, 7:19 pm

I don't think our climate would be particularly conducive to burying foods in the ground

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 2:27 pm

tru valu lcm have imported napa cabbage today

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2020, 2:40 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody try cooking crab with shell on ?
heard the juice inside tasty

C01DB537-3D6F-4563-B02D-56B34C89A222.jpeg

maj. tom wrote:Under the shell contains the delicious crab fat. It's a yellow-white-greenish substance inside crabs and lobsters that we normally wash away. This is the hepatopancreas, an equivalent to our liver and pancreas. And it's super-delicious and creamy, sort of like the sweetbread from a baby cow. Organ meats from animals are the most valuable in terms of nutrition and flavors.

Further reading: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tomalley

Not me and that toots-I'm sure there are good bits of the crab/lobster/meat we miss out on due to cleaning but would you be happy to boil a whole un-gutted chicken, fish, quack and eat it :skurry:

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 2:42 pm

i had a giant oyster by Bodow manzanilla
thought the poo bag woulda be bigger and tasteable but was not
so maybe the crabs are similar

E7504292-FE6D-4181-BF5B-A26E214D7CDF.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » March 18th, 2020, 2:49 pm

You're mixing up the liver with the intestines.
No, we wouldn't eat a whole boiled chicken, but we clean out the guts and eat the chicken liver and organs though. Don't we? We kill the goat and cow and eat the heart and liver and kidneys. Some people clean the guts for tripe.

Tomalley is not crab guts. And crabs do not have intestines like mammals do.

https://ramdigestivesystem.weebly.com/blue-crab.html

Postby SMc » March 18th, 2020, 3:09 pm

I eat pretty much everything- offal is not an issue and like liver, tripe, feet- whatever is going ill consume. but for them to be edible you have to cook them separate

If you make curry with whole blue crabs-without separating out the internal inedible bits and it still tastes good send me the recipe
Last edited by SMc on March 18th, 2020, 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » March 18th, 2020, 3:10 pm

good info
wanna try the crab head on singaporean style

Postby rspann » March 18th, 2020, 4:53 pm

I swear if pugboy was a puggirl I woulda put him in house.

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2020, 5:05 pm

rspann wrote:I swear if pugboy was a puggirl I woulda put him in house.

careful yuh stalker eah take that as in invitation.... :lol:

Postby rspann » March 18th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Stalker gone Cuba for holidays ,you notice he not posting? Some place name Bantanamo bay.

Postby rollingstock » March 18th, 2020, 6:33 pm

rspann wrote:Stalker gone Cuba for holidays ,you notice he not posting? Some place name Bantanamo bay.

He on another thread posting normal from an alternative account. If you're accustomed to his writing style you'll catch it.