"State of Emergency" Thread

Re: "State of Emergency" Thread

Postby eliteauto » September 19th, 2011, 8:45 am

dunno what news allyuh read but the house and it's owners were published in the newspapers

Postby Habit7 » September 19th, 2011, 9:04 am

the first 5 mins of this vid reminds me of Trinidad

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 9:39 am

^^chappelle win there! :lol:

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2011, 9:05 am

so if yuh by d beach after 11pm yuh getting fine $50000 ?

Postby rfari » September 20th, 2011, 12:31 pm

Damien wrote:
Stephon. wrote::rofl: things hard when you need a day or two to find 1000 dollars yes, :lol: :lol:
Probably one of those people that spend money every time they have it in their possession :lol:

you ent see the man homeless :|

yeah jed. stephon yuh heartless hoss. i highlighted those sentences because of the irony meng

Postby rfari » September 20th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Man charged for home-made gun
Story Created: Sep 20, 2011 at 12:51 AM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 20, 2011 at 12:51 AM ECT
A MAN charged with manufacturing a firearm appeared in the Princes Town Magistrates' Court yesterday.
Ronald Gopaul, 38, of St Croix Village, Princes Town, appeared before Magistrate Nalini Singh.
He was not called upon to plead to the charges that he was allegedly manufacturing a firearm and was in possession of a home-made shotgun and three 12-gauge cartridges.
It is alleged that during a police exercise over the weekend Gopaul's home was searched and police found the evidence, including parts for a shotgun. Gopaul was remanded until Thursday.

and dey say trinidad doh manufacture gun smh

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 23rd, 2011, 9:41 am

bluefete wrote:So lemme unnerstan dis:

De popo and customs and coast guard seize $30million or $7million (depending on who you believe) of marijuana from a container and de person de container assigned to still walking around.

And everybordy mekkin excuses as to why dey cyah arrest de consignee.

Do I smell ah big fish???

I suppose if de container was heading for Beetham dey woulda arrest de consignee long, long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a waste of a state of emergency and of our time.

word is they had the owner in custody already......from a previous arrest.......
true or false, i doh know.

Postby Mark! » September 23rd, 2011, 1:08 pm

Hey guys I just need a bit of advice. I need to get a curfew pass for one night to make an airport run. What do I need to provide to the officers at the police station? It was on very short notice, I remember it was discussed before but I cant locate it right now. Thanks

Devourment

Postby Devourment » September 26th, 2011, 11:23 am

cacasplat3 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So lemme unnerstan dis:

De popo and customs and coast guard seize $30million or $7million (depending on who you believe) of marijuana from a container and de person de container assigned to still walking around.

And everybordy mekkin excuses as to why dey cyah arrest de consignee.

Do I smell ah big fish???

I suppose if de container was heading for Beetham dey woulda arrest de consignee long, long time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What a waste of a state of emergency and of our time.

word is they had the owner in custody already......from a previous arrest.......
true or false, i doh know.

No correct word is that some workers on the port ratted out other customs works responsible for these drugs. The owner had nothing to do with it.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 26th, 2011, 1:21 pm

Mark! wrote:Hey guys I just need a bit of advice. I need to get a curfew pass for one night to make an airport run. What do I need to provide to the officers at the police station? It was on very short notice, I remember it was discussed before but I cant locate it right now. Thanks

I can answer your question but there is more than one answer.

I went to Freeport PS...they said I needed a copy of the itinerary, copy of 2 forms of ID, copy of insurance.
On my way home I decided to try another PS...tried Mon Repos.....no questions at all. Just asked me where I needed to go and I was issued the pass within 2 minutes. All I needed to show was a valid DP.

So I guess it depends on which PS you go to.

Postby Chimera » September 26th, 2011, 2:22 pm

freeport PS told me if you can't get a pass (they didn't have any) I could just use the itinerary.

went chaguanas, had to write out a request for a curfew pass and provide copies of the ID pages of the travellers as well as copy of my ID and a copy of the itinerary, the curfew pass had the passport numbers of the travellers written on the back so i only had permission to transport those two people during curfew hours :S

Postby Mark! » September 27th, 2011, 11:02 pm

Yup I guess its different at every station. End up going to Cunupia police station, told them i need to reach in the airport at 2am, they told me to reach in the airport before 11 and wait. I did that and got a pass in the airport when it was time to leave to go back home.

Postby redmanjp » September 28th, 2011, 12:38 am

White CZ4A wrote:I went to Freeport PS...they said I needed a copy of the itinerary, copy of 2 forms of ID, copy of insurance. :?:
On my way home I decided to try another PS...tried Mon Repos.....no questions at all. Just asked me where I needed to go and I was issued the pass within 2 minutes. All I needed to show was a valid DP.

so ah bandit who goin and rob & rape some girl during curfew cud walk een just so and get ah pass? did they do a background check on you when u showed them your dp?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 28th, 2011, 6:27 am

redmanjp wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:I went to Freeport PS...they said I needed a copy of the itinerary, copy of 2 forms of ID, copy of insurance. :?:

so ah bandit who goin and rob & rape some girl during curfew cud walk een just so and get ah pass? did they do a background check on you when u showed them your dp?

Maybe he doesn't have a bandit look? Maybem it something to do with pulling up with a Range/GTR/Evo7?

Postby Country_Bookie » September 28th, 2011, 12:22 pm

^Exactly how a bandit does look?

Postby eliteauto » October 3rd, 2011, 12:25 pm

The State of Emergency has proven to be a farce and we were lied to by the Gov't

Postby Habit7 » October 3rd, 2011, 1:37 pm

"it would have made the 1990 Coup, look like a tea party"

It had to be some kinda eminent alien invasion

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 3rd, 2011, 1:39 pm

eliteauto wrote:The State of Emergency has proven to be a farce and we were lied to by the Gov't

I doubt you actually believed them.......hahahha

in other news i just heard on the 1 oclock news that "sandman" and 6 others were released......

1 Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Postby S_2NR » October 3rd, 2011, 4:08 pm

eliteauto wrote:The State of Emergency has proven to be a farce and we were lied to by the Gov't

details? source?

Postby shogun » October 3rd, 2011, 7:21 pm

*pretends to be surprised*

share info nuh eliteauto?

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2011, 7:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:
cacasplat3 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:one thing we can be sure of, the SoE/curfew must finish before Divali

wha u feel this is? a joke? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i think he meant since kamla is a hindu.
and divali is mainly celebrated at night with lighting deyas etc.

so exactly when it is divali? is it Oct. 26th?

Postby S_2NR » October 5th, 2011, 7:02 pm

yes^^

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 6th, 2011, 2:27 pm

another 18 men were released this morning......

1 Baaaaaaaaaa

Postby rfari » October 6th, 2011, 3:49 pm

Any word on eddie phillip?

Postby TRAE » October 7th, 2011, 11:12 am

ALL the achievements by the protective services under the State of Emergency (SoE) could have been done without it and, therefore, it should end, Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds said last night.

In a telephone interview with TV6, Hinds said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar justified the success of the SoE with the seizure of over $700 million in narcotics.

This, he said, was done a couple years ago where officers discovered a similar amount on Monos Island, adding that the Prime Minister "can't link the drug seizure with the State of Emergency".

He said: "There is a serious crime problem in Trinidad and Tobago, and the citizens wanted some relief. What the Government has been doing is linking this relief to the State of Emergency, but...with evidence, we show that nothing that has been done so far, in all of the activities in the last month or so, could not have been done outside of a State of Emergency."

Hinds added that the Opposition was in support of any measures to deal with crime, which was why they supported the anti-gang legislation and the wiretapping legislation.

this is the first time i have ever seen an opposition party get on like lil chirren so... so while under this SoE we have confiscated over 700 million in drugs because police can go and search without warrant making it less likely to leak information to the criminal minds. Hinds dem fail to realize that the state this country is in right now is an emergency...

wouldnt doubt that the DPP getting threats- thats y them people getting released

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2011, 11:44 am

TRAE wrote:wouldnt doubt that the DPP getting threats- thats y them people getting released

Are you for real?

Those charged under the Anti-Gang Act were release because of lack of evidence of gang activity after the proclamation of the Anti-Gang Act. It takes more the a week off because you have dengue to plan an SoE that targets the source of crime. I supported the SoE initially but it is now unraveling into Operation Anaconda with a curfew.

Postby TRAE » October 7th, 2011, 12:46 pm

Habit7 wrote:
TRAE wrote:wouldnt doubt that the DPP getting threats- thats y them people getting released

Are you for real?

Those charged under the Anti-Gang Act were release because of lack of evidence of gang activity after the proclamation of the Anti-Gang Act. It takes more the a week off because you have dengue to plan an SoE that targets the source of crime. I supported the SoE initially but it is now unraveling into Operation Anaconda with a curfew.

the country was going through a path that would cause more much more than we were seeing, the SoE serves it purpose and the curfew should be kept whether or not the SoE is still in progress. The Anti-Gang act is not the problem the problem is that the police are not getting the evidence to convict. however the DPP says what is should be used in cases, did we not set up a group of people to cipher through this before it reaches the DPP? And no i wasnt for real i was just making a comment

Postby eliteauto » October 7th, 2011, 1:41 pm

TRAE wrote:
ALL the achievements by the protective services under the State of Emergency (SoE) could have been done without it and, therefore, it should end, Opposition Senator Fitzgerald Hinds said last night.

In a telephone interview with TV6, Hinds said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar justified the success of the SoE with the seizure of over $700 million in narcotics.

This, he said, was done a couple years ago where officers discovered a similar amount on Monos Island, adding that the Prime Minister "can't link the drug seizure with the State of Emergency".

He said: "There is a serious crime problem in Trinidad and Tobago, and the citizens wanted some relief. What the Government has been doing is linking this relief to the State of Emergency, but...with evidence, we show that nothing that has been done so far, in all of the activities in the last month or so, could not have been done outside of a State of Emergency."

Hinds added that the Opposition was in support of any measures to deal with crime, which was why they supported the anti-gang legislation and the wiretapping legislation.

this is the first time i have ever seen an opposition party get on like lil chirren so... so while under this SoE we have confiscated over 700 million in drugs because police can go and search without warrant making it less likely to leak information to the criminal minds. Hinds dem fail to realize that the state this country is in right now is an emergency...

wouldnt doubt that the DPP getting threats- thats y them people getting released

clearly you don't remember the UNC's oppose for opposing sake behavior in the past?

the majority of narcotics seized were in eradication exercises in the forest, you needed no warrant anyway, other narcotics were bits and pieces other than the container haul which alos has happened in the past ..NONE of the narcotics found can be attributed to an SOE, ALL could have been seized with normal policing, in fact how much of the narcotics seized is/was cocaine?

Postby Habit7 » October 7th, 2011, 2:16 pm

TRAE wrote:the country was going through a path that would cause more much more than we were seeing, the SoE serves it purpose and the curfew should be kept whether or not the SoE is still in progress.

When I hear ppl like yourself make comments like that it makes me feel sorry for how ppl have lost some of their sanity because of the perceived danger of crime. Ppl are now willing to give up their freedom of movement and privacy for the virtual safety of a police state.

The country was gripped with a murder rate that was considered high in comparison to its past but consistent with the rate of the region. Last year the murder rate had decreased by 7% and this year was seeing a 15% decrease. The PM announced that due to some near and present crisis we have to instate a SoE (Sandy later said it would have made 1990 look like a garden party). The first action as one might perceived to be would be to squash this threat…we saw a raid on Nelson St. to nab alleged gang members. We saw other arrests and drugs and arms seizures (mostly lead by tip offs). We are now hearing that the reason for the SoE is the deal with the criminal element in the country and the curfew is to assist in this.

Now some of you could be comfortable with this but I am not. We don’t have the official monetary figure for how much this SoE is impacting our economy but we all hope that it would be worth it. Whether or not you are a limer, doubles man, Gyro man, bar/club/casino owner, night shift worker or whatever nocturnal proprietor this SoE will affect you. Just as water finds it own level, one sector of the economy suffering flows into other sectors. And in these recessionary times can we further afford to stagnate the economy that is crying out for action?

If we can’t walk and whistle, that is, deal with crime and build our economy we won’t have either. If we can’t deal with crime without killing the economy then how about we enslave Barbados, free labour without the hassle. But seriously wake up, we are the only country to ever use an SoE to deal with crime, and so far the most successful convictions are curfew breakers. Whatever gains we might get it is at a terrible loss in my view.

Postby TRAE » October 7th, 2011, 2:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:
TRAE wrote:the country was going through a path that would cause more much more than we were seeing, the SoE serves it purpose and the curfew should be kept whether or not the SoE is still in progress.

When I hear ppl like yourself make comments like that it makes me feel sorry for how ppl have lost some of their sanity because of the perceived danger of crime. Ppl are now willing to give up their freedom of movement and privacy for the virtual safety of a police state.

The country was gripped with a murder rate that was considered high in comparison to its past but consistent with the rate of the region. Last year the murder rate had decreased by 7% and this year was seeing a 15% decrease. The PM announced that due to some near and present crisis we have to instate a SoE (Sandy later said it would have made 1990 look like a garden party). The first action as one might perceived to be would be to squash this threat…we saw a raid on Nelson St. to nab alleged gang members. We saw other arrests and drugs and arms seizures (mostly lead by tip offs). We are now hearing that the reason for the SoE is the deal with the criminal element in the country and the curfew is to assist in this.

Now some of you could be comfortable with this but I am not. We don’t have the official monetary figure for how much this SoE is impacting our economy but we all hope that it would be worth it. Whether or not you are a limer, doubles man, Gyro man, bar/club/casino owner, night shift worker or whatever nocturnal proprietor this SoE will affect you. Just as water finds it own level, one sector of the economy suffering flows into other sectors. And in these recessionary times can we further afford to stagnate the economy that is crying out for action?

If we can’t walk and whistle, that is, deal with crime and build our economy we won’t have either. If we can’t deal with crime without killing the economy then how about we enslave Barbados, free labour without the hassle. But seriously wake up, we are the only country to ever use an SoE to deal with crime, and so far the most successful convictions are curfew breakers. Whatever gains we might get it is at a terrible loss in my view.

it pains me to believe that you believe that you have a say in the way things go... you gave your right up, when they wanted to put a curfew on Aripita Ave cause of the violence and disturbances people were mad! but these people didnt care that broken bottles were getting into homeowners yard, the residents cant sleep cause of the noise, the kids have to stay inside because of the people out there.

if you dont believe that TnT is actually having a crime issue and think that that is just a number that contributes to the yearly average for the region, i feel sorry for you... and this country, we have to stop this before it gets worst and trust me...things are really really bad right now