Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby sonygoup » January 10th, 2014, 8:25 pm

Dropped again during xbox live -_-

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 10th, 2014, 8:44 pm

Speeds every evening this week are kinda horrible.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1389401058.297524.jpg

Why can I do to rectify? Can changing the DNS help?

Postby M_2NR » January 10th, 2014, 11:03 pm

I'm getting 2mbit currently on servers in the us. But na. According to flow, this seem normal on their end :|

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/701424729

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 10th, 2014, 11:08 pm

Spent about half hour on the phone with them. Same story, POS servers shows good speeds so it good.
MIA servers show dog chit.
Telling me the problem is probably my router.

brickman

Postby brickman » January 10th, 2014, 11:39 pm

My speed went to sh!t after 9 too,most speedtests timing out.Flow speedtest saying 1.53mbps,outside around 2-2.5.Good thing i have nothing data intensive to do tonight smh.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » January 11th, 2014, 9:48 am

PapaC wrote:Speeds every evening this week are kinda horrible.

Why can I do to rectify? Can changing the DNS help?

If there were better options, changing the ISP might help, lol.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 11th, 2014, 4:24 pm

^^the alternatives are definite no goes...

Postby Ted_v2 » January 11th, 2014, 4:58 pm

Barely getting 250k right now. :/

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 11th, 2014, 6:09 pm

I feel sorry for ollour.
Sometimes the problem is with the US server though eh wrt to speedtests.
Last time I had speed/disconnection problems, it lasted about 2 weeks :shock:
And they didn't even say if it was an area problem or just me. But after they resolve it, they said it was the whole street.

Test to Miami

Test to Ft lauderdale

Postby gastly369 » January 11th, 2014, 7:02 pm

meh blink pumpin

Postby 0404040 » January 12th, 2014, 2:10 pm

Haven't upgraded with Blink in years so I get like 0.3mbps(assuming thats the problem). The plan was to upgrade to Flow considering the speeds they offer but its seems they're extremely inconsistent :(
Doesn't seem like the problem's been identified either: Router issue, DNS or just them...

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » January 12th, 2014, 2:23 pm

0404040 wrote:Haven't upgraded with Blink in years so I get like 0.3mbps(assuming thats the problem). The plan was to upgrade to Flow considering the speeds they offer but its seems they're extremely inconsistent :(
Doesn't seem like the problem's been identified either: Router issue, DNS or just them...

I can't remember what speed I used to have on blink - think it was the 1 or 2m plan and I was paying around $170. They were never inconsistent from what I remember. I eventually upgraded to flow's 5m plan for $200 (which was later upgraded to 10m free of charge) and while there might seem to be a lot of complaints here, >95% of the time I get my full bandwidth and maybe once in 2 months I might get no service for at most a day or two (assuming this is a failure or maintenance on their side). For me the value for money is definitely there - but that's just my experience, I don't regret the switch and blink would have to come plenty better with their plans to get me to switch back.

brickman

Postby brickman » January 12th, 2014, 2:45 pm

0404040 wrote:Haven't upgraded with Blink in years so I get like 0.3mbps(assuming thats the problem). The plan was to upgrade to Flow considering the speeds they offer but its seems they're extremely inconsistent :(

I would say its just them,works great almost all of the time but gives trouble now & then like the past 3 nights.Went through daily stress with blink with a high price & service crawling from 5 to 11p.m everyday,never me & blink again.

Postby M_2NR » January 12th, 2014, 3:21 pm

Fwiw flow is always the better option. I might get my random speed dips and tbh I don't even recommend anything more than 10mbit if all you're doing is mail, a few downloads and off and on video calls.

If you're on 0.3mbit right now upgrading to flow 10mbit package will seem like light years in advancement

Postby cinco » January 12th, 2014, 3:45 pm

On a bad day flow doesnt drop less than 3mb for me

Postby 0404040 » January 12th, 2014, 4:36 pm

flipswitch5point wrote:

I can't remember what speed I used to have on blink - think it was the 1 or 2m plan and I was paying around $170. They were never inconsistent from what I remember. I eventually upgraded to flow's 5m plan for $200 (which was later upgraded to 10m free of charge) and while there might seem to be a lot of complaints here, >95% of the time I get my full bandwidth and maybe once in 2 months I might get no service for at most a day or two (assuming this is a failure or maintenance on their side). For me the value for money is definitely there - but that's just my experience, I don't regret the switch and blink would have to come plenty better with their plans to get me to switch back.

That's what's bothering me though..the complaints. Seems like a hit or miss situation. If its like how the few of you are saying then I'd have no problem getting the 20mbps package for HD streams downloads etc. Blink has a new 10mbps package but they didn't state the price. If its not that far from Flows price then Id go for it. Even if I have a ridiculously slow connection now, I've never had a problem with them. Flow is really tempting though :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2014, 5:16 pm

0404040 wrote:
flipswitch5point wrote:

That's what's bothering me though..the complaints. Seems like a hit or miss situation. If its like how the few of you are saying then I'd have no problem getting the 20mbps package for HD streams downloads etc. Blink has a new 10mbps package but they didn't state the price. If its not that far from Flows price then Id go for it. Even if I have a ridiculously slow connection now, I've never had a problem with them. Flow is really tempting though :lol:

Don't hold you breath for that, a bunch of secrecy and they moving at snails pace, take the chance and switch, I'm going to make the switch this year

Postby gastly369 » January 12th, 2014, 5:20 pm

$200 hrrr. 10mbit blink no drops +6 months free 8-)

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » January 12th, 2014, 5:29 pm

^ If that's the price, objectively speaking, it's pretty good. Plus their upload speed is better than flow's. Unfortunately I'd have to re-run a phoneline and pay the standing charge. Got rid of that years ago. And they've always been lagging behind in the internet game. Not enough to make me switch back yet, but if you're already with blink and plan to stay there, that's a good deal.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2014, 5:31 pm

gastly369 wrote:$200 hrrr. 10mbit blink no drops +6 months free 8-)

wha kinda simpsons code is that :lol: ? Is this for the new GPON? $200 vat inc? what area?

desert punk

Postby desert punk » January 12th, 2014, 6:35 pm

@flipswitch5point
whats their current upload speed?

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » January 12th, 2014, 6:39 pm

The 10m package with flow gives you 1m upload, with blink gives you 2m

http://discoverflow.co/trinidad/interne ... d-packages

http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/residential

desert punk

Postby desert punk » January 12th, 2014, 6:44 pm

Ohh nice I more of an uploader so the offer will be tempting I will have to look further into the package blink is offering.

Postby gastly369 » January 12th, 2014, 7:03 pm

nope not the gpon
its a "upgrade" the offer you if you decide to discontinue their service for "another ISP"

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2014, 7:09 pm

gastly369 wrote:nope not the gpon
its a "upgrade" the offer you if you decide to discontinue their service for "another ISP"

I see, been on blink since they switched to adsl wonder what they would offer me

Postby gastly369 » January 12th, 2014, 7:14 pm

not sure friend with them since unlimited dialup and when he called for disconnection they didnt offer :lol: guessing random

Postby M_2NR » January 13th, 2014, 8:07 am

Got this site from a tech.
In my tests it's better than pingtest.net
http://cloudmonitor.ca.com/en/ping.php

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2014, 8:10 am

was getting slow d/l speeds on torrents on a stock linksys router. also streaming hd was sheit.
flashed dd-wrt and all is well now.
just an idea for you guys having probs. could be router.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » January 14th, 2014, 9:26 pm

flipswitch5point wrote:The 10m package with flow gives you 1m upload, with blink gives you 2m

http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/residential

why the pricing is such a secret

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 14th, 2014, 10:32 pm

Had blink for a few years, Called them to disconnect bcz I was switching to flow and I was offered 10 mbps down, 2mbps up for $209 vat inclusive. Told them no thanks bcz I already had switched to the other superior network bcz of value for $ and I was spending ~$150 for 1mb and now i'm getting 10mb for $200

I told her if they really want to keep their customers start offering those prices publicly to the customers and not waiting until they call into disconnect.

CSR was like well have a goodnight :lol: