PNM in Gov't (2020-2025)

elec2020

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby elec2020 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:18 am

^ oh my bad i swore WTI was still around the $40s. But keep in mind the government proposed a deficit budget so only if energy remain above lets say 20-30 per cent (this is a generous hypothesis btw) above what they proposed then maybe, maybe we might not need to borrow or withdraw from the HSF. also i got $TT 95,578 debt per person. I took gross public sector debt outstanding from the central bank of trinidad and tobago website (it was 133,761,000,000 for 2020) and the UN assumes that Trinidad and Tobago 2020 population is estimated at 1,399,488 people. Idk what time period Dr. Hosein was looking at as well as if he used net public sector debt (which i hate too look at as essentially it is gross debt less any cash and cash-like assets on the government's balance sheet, but their is no guarantee if in a crisis these cash like instruments will still hold their real value/worth)

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:28 am

He was supposed to share his ful presentation which he hasn't as yet afaik.
Took this screen grab b/c at the time I felt it was very compelling. It shows real GDP growth against Oil and Oil equivalent production.

We just were never able to translate our years of wealth into something more.
Capture.JPG

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:31 am

^ due to decades of public sector mismanagement. so in 2021 trinidad and tobago still playing catch up and only has one real sector driving its economic activity in an era where world economies ramping up efforts to move away from that sector. nice

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:47 am

This why I think Trinis need a dose of reality on both sides of the political divide.

I think most Trinis visit the US, Canada and UK and compare us to there but I think a better comparison is with our regional neighbours. In St. Lucia it is better to call a taxi than an ambulance when you sick because ambulances are not free and the ride to the hospital is expensive, even as healthcare is not free either. Guyana has no equivalent to PTSC because the govt cant afford subsidised buses, so if you can't afford to send your kids to school, they walk or they just don't attend. Many Guyanese have never visited the hinterland because they cant afford it, a plane ride the distance of Piarco to Crown Point is about US$200. I remember in Jamaica hearing about parents not having money for school fees, I thought it was for private school. Only to find out that public school is not free and every student must pay for school, even primary. Also, many middle class families have maids (helpers) and I thought that ppl were probably well paid. Only to find out that there are so many poor ppl and electricity was so expensive, it is cheaper to pay someone to hand wash and hang your clothes than to machine wash and dry them.

Jamaica started out richer than T&T when we both got independence in Aug 1962. Their leadership squandered their headstart and landed them at the feet of the IMF. T&T's leadership blossomed our economy to a point where we have gotten too accustomed to freeness. Other countries didn't have oil companies to pay the majority of their taxes so when the country wanted something, they either had to raise taxes or do without. When I hear trinis complaining about them pay too much taxes I laugh to myself. We have some of the lowest taxes in the region.

And now that oil companies are not paying as much as before it is not that we are getting austerity. We are just starting to have a less artificial economy bolstered by oil and gas. We are just going to have cope like everyone else does.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 23rd, 2021, 9:56 am

^ I hired a Jamaican married to a Trini in 2019 and was shocked when she told me that CXC fees are paid for by the parents of kids writing the exams.

But Habit, to play Devil's Advocate T&T also got Independence around the same time as Singapore (1965). Our paths are as divergent as Trinidad's and Jamaica's were. And they started with a GDP in the mid hundreds.

Postby Habit7 » February 23rd, 2021, 10:30 am

Dizzy28 wrote:But Habit, to play Devil's Advocate T&T also got Independence around the same time as Singapore (1965). Our paths are as divergent as Trinidad's and Jamaica's were. And they started with a GDP in the mid hundreds.

Yeah ppl love to make that comparison with us and Singapore but we couldn't be more different. There are several factors:
-We were a British colony among other British colonies. Singapore was chosen by the UK as their version of Hong Kong in South Asia as one of their offshore financial centres.
-They might be a small island but they are at the end of a peninsula with millions of Malaysian ppl who worked in factories and transported it down to Singapore. They had an advantageous spot at the end of the peninsula for a major port that was a major shipping channel for the Indian Ocean to the Pacific kinda like Panama.
-They have the most populated islands in the world to the south of them as Indonesia, providing cheap labour and a market force.
-Their version of Eric Williams ruled with an iron fist and suppressed their Opposition.
-Chinese capitalists with money fleeing the communist revolution took their money to Western friendly Singapore.
-Asian ppl are more willing to endure financial hardships for the benefits of another generation, a Buddist quality in most Asian Tigers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2021, 2:23 pm

WASA conference gonna start....marks might busssss

Postby timelapse » February 23rd, 2021, 2:33 pm

Like their pipes
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:WASA conference gonna start....marks might busssss

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 23rd, 2021, 2:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:WASA conference gonna start....marks might busssss

You have a live link for that?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2021, 2:47 pm

conference sounding like real people going and get send home soon

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 23rd, 2021, 3:42 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:conference sounding like real people going and get send home soon

Inevitable, TSTT & T&TEC next,

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby sMASH » February 25th, 2021, 1:11 pm

2025 can't come fast enough. But wait, we turning around a plant that also would not have enough gas...
Hmmmmm
Screenshot_2021-02-25-13-07-13_1.jpeg

Postby matr1x » February 25th, 2021, 6:03 pm

Habit7 is like on them people who defends rapists after they get ketch raping people. That's what his flaccid defense of the pnm sounds like

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2021, 7:36 pm

It belongs here
IMG-20210225-WA0069.jpg

killercow

Postby killercow » February 25th, 2021, 8:37 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:It belongs here

But ammm....

https://www.facebook.com/1784814918/videos/10215268950315434/

Postby timelapse » February 26th, 2021, 7:53 am

I swear somebody taking ideas from my head .Weyy,they beat me to it

Postby mero » February 26th, 2021, 9:40 am

timelapse wrote:I swear somebody taking ideas from my head .Weyy,they beat me to it
Dis the ideas formulating in allyuh head?

Jeez

Postby timelapse » February 26th, 2021, 10:04 am

Other than that, that pothole not getting any attention.Other options were Wasa Kakahole
mero wrote:
timelapse wrote:I swear somebody taking ideas from my head .Weyy,they beat me to it
Dis the ideas formulating in allyuh head?

Jeez

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2021, 12:06 pm

Failgerald Hinds Under pressure due to Red government bad behaved kids in schools

Akash Samaroo

There was heavy criticism for the Ministry of Education at a Joint Select Committee (JSC) yesterday.

The ministries were brought before the committee to explore methods to combat crime and to circumvent its impact on vulnerable youth.

However, around 42 minutes into the hearing, chairman Fitzgerald Hinds showed the first signs of frustration.

He said, “I just want to say that I’ve listened to the answers to the very pertinent questions asked by the members of this committee and without any untoward implication, I find the answers a bit glib and a bit brisk.”

Acting chief education officer Lisa Henry-David sought to defend the ministry.

“Mr chairman my officers’ answers were from the heart and not glib,” she said.

The Education Ministry said it had 256 guidance officers and 142 school social workers for all the schools in the country.

Hinds believed those numbers aren’t enough to assess the magnitude of the behavioral problems in the education system.

It wasn’t the only time the ministry was accused of not understanding the gravity of an issue.

When questioned about gang activity and gang violence in primary and secondary schools, school work specialist Natalie Robinson-Arnold said the responsibility of making those classifications falls under the remit of the Police Service. It again drew criticism from Hinds.

“I am not sure if the Ministry of Education is appreciating the severity or the magnitude of the tsunami that is coming down on us and has been coming down for some time,” he said.

The Education Ministry did outline plans for a National Family Policy which will go to Cabinet in the next few weeks to be approved for consultation and how the National Child Policy will help in keeping students away from crime. But JSC member Paul Richards did not believe that was enough.

He said, “Without casting any aspersions and understanding the chairman’s seeming frustration, all I am hearing is working closer, strategic policy, finalising policy, engaging partners, stronger collaboration, improving resilience wonderful policy statements, there is absolutely nothing today to test effectiveness, Dr Moonilal asked for data, I asked for data. How will we know if these policies should be amended or changed?”

Yesterday’s JSC was the soxth of its kind exploring National Security matters.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 4th, 2021, 4:07 pm

so all children that behave badly in school are of a certain color? u can't help yourself can u. keep it up. at this rate it won't take long before u end up back in bantanamo

Postby MaxPower » March 4th, 2021, 4:51 pm

elec2020 wrote:so all children that behave badly in school are of a certain color?

Zoom,

Please answer the question.

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2021, 5:37 pm

elec2020 wrote:so all children that behave badly in school are of a certain color? u can't help yourself can u. keep it up. at this rate it won't take long before u end up back in bantanamo
Where did I specify colour lil boy?

Postby zoom rader » March 4th, 2021, 5:38 pm

elec2020 wrote:so all children that behave badly in school are of a certain color?

Zoom,

I want to know what colour elect2020 talking about as I never mentioned any colour.

matix

Postby matix » March 4th, 2021, 5:51 pm

[quote="zoom rader"]Failgerald Hinds Under pressure due to Red government bad behaved kids in schools

This is racist? Elec you need help

Postby pugboy » March 4th, 2021, 5:57 pm

I find rohani missing in action
we aint hear from him in months

in fact many of them real quiet these days

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2021, 6:01 pm

Zoom,

I want to know what colour elect2020 talking about as I never mentioned any colour.

u did; red. u mentioned red

Postby MaxPower » March 4th, 2021, 6:27 pm

Zoom,

As your only friend here, yuh cannot be carrying on this way bro.

Hadda cut out associating a color with Govt and stop coming down so hard on our African brothers and sisters.

I need you on the forums, not in Bantanamo.

rebound

Postby rebound » March 4th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Maybe the new way to spell children is government?...

Postby paid_influencer » March 4th, 2021, 6:36 pm

Zoom is legit the most interesting poster on here. I rather the mods ban me instead of him

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 4th, 2021, 7:25 pm

elec2020 wrote:so all children that behave badly in school are of a certain color? u can't help yourself can u. keep it up. at this rate it won't take long before u end up back in bantanamo
Where did I specify colour lil boy?

U know exactly what u doing