The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 3:02 pm

I now seeing on cnc3 Susan Hong, chairman of the Diego Martin corp that she was out there and she's not worried, but on the split screen I seeing raging waters in Maraval and Diego. Is some kind of damage control going on? Nobody could blame anybody for what's happening now. It's just too much water. But why minimise the reports of damage? Deyalsingh do the same thing this morning.

VII

Postby VII » October 21st, 2018, 3:03 pm

toyolink wrote:In all this, the most significant positive is how peoples of Trini are raising their hands and rendering real help.
With what is being witnessed my country is still a place where we can still have hope that things could be better.
Maybe our politicians should take note and facilitate a national momentum of goodwill in preference to governance by divisiveness.

Thank you.

VII

Postby VII » October 21st, 2018, 3:04 pm

rspann wrote:I now seeing on cnc3 Susan Hong, chairman of the Diego Martin corp that she was out there and she's not worried, but on the split screen I seeing raging waters in Maraval and Diego. Is some kind of damage control going on? Nobody could blame anybody for what's happening now. It's just too much water. But why minimise the reports of damage? Deyalsingh do the same thing this morning.

Is Pee n em rain!

Rising sun ftw! lol..
Last edited by VII on October 21st, 2018, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 3:05 pm

toyolink wrote:In all this, the most significant positive is how peoples of Trini are raising their hands and rendering real help.
With what is being witnessed my country is still a place where we can still have hope that things could be better.
Maybe our politicians should take note and facilitate a national momentum of goodwill in preference to governance by divisiveness.

I agree is multiple times for the day that strangers who we don't know people with their cars and 4x4 we never seen just pulling up and opening their doors and bringing out food for us, drinks and all sorts of things. Absolutely amazing how generous so many people out here are with all what is happening in this country with everybody losing their jobs etc

Postby mero » October 21st, 2018, 3:14 pm

Correct, had some youths from la horquetta who were swimming through 5ft + deep flood water in greenvale literally rescuing dozens of ppl from their homes... Dem men real fit too

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2018, 3:22 pm

Parts of South Bound Lane of UBH Remain Impassable

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service wishes to advise that as of 10:15am on Sunday 21st October, 2018, the south bound lane of the Uriah Butler Highway (UBH), south of the Grand Bazaar Interchange remains impassable.

The north bound lane of the UBH is being used as a dual carriageway, you will be directed by uniformed police officers.

Motorists are advised to proceed with extreme caution. The flood waters have not as yet completely subsided. Use the highway only if necessary.

Parts of St. Helena, Kelly Village, Warner Village and Madras still remain under water and are completely impassable at this time.

More updates will sent in due course

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2018, 3:24 pm

rspann wrote:I now seeing on cnc3 Susan Hong, chairman of the Diego Martin corp that she was out there and she's not worried, but on the split screen I seeing raging waters in Maraval and Diego. Is some kind of damage control going on? Nobody could blame anybody for what's happening now. It's just too much water. But why minimise the reports of damage? Deyalsingh do the same thing this morning.

I watching vids and pics that are totally opposite to what she saying...wdmc.....well I tell you...pnm ppl rel chupid

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » October 21st, 2018, 3:24 pm

Ppl should stay off the hi way unless totally necessary. ...hope they emphasize this in there 4:30 govt update .....standstill traffic Munroe Rd as far as u can see

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 21st, 2018, 3:26 pm

Hmm I have work tomorrow, I have to pass through Kelly and Caroni to get there, wonder if it would even be possible?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2018, 3:30 pm

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 3:31 pm

Now might be a good time to declare a national disaster and close schools and workplaces except important services. The situation on the highway might not be favourable to traffic plus the possibility of more rain might cause recurring flooding and isolate north from South again , marooning workers on both sides.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 3:33 pm

wickedtuna wrote:Ppl should stay off the hi way unless totally necessary. ...hope they emphasize this in there 4:30 govt update .....standstill traffic Munroe Rd as far as u can see

should have kept the blasted ting closed, look how much traffic build up on both sides. leave it for emergency services.

if u really need to go to work or check a gyul, use the ptsc service.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 3:34 pm

i noticed cnc3 rolling roving coverage has eased up. it might be the relocating to the north west... hmm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2018, 3:51 pm

Flash flooding in Maraval

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 3:56 pm

Synergy have video. Harvey Boris programme.

sMASH wrote:i noticed cnc3 rolling roving coverage has eased up. it might be the relocating to the north west... hmm

Postby Gladiator » October 21st, 2018, 4:01 pm

Flash flooding in Maraval

Some PNM Hong lady say them Okay... no need to worry.

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 4:02 pm

Looting confirmed...

Looters strike in Greenvale

by
Shaliza Hassanali
less than hour ago

Sun Oct 21 2018

Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Min­is­ter Stu­art Young is warn­ing loot­ers that they will face the full brunt of the law if caught steal­ing items from flood vic­tims.

His com­ments came dur­ing a tour of flood-raved Green­vale, La Hor­quet­ta, hours ago, fol­low­ing com­plaints by scores of res­i­dents hit hard by the flood­ing that loot­ers had cart­ed away their be­long­ings last night while they were re­lo­cat­ed to shel­ters

Young said he has since asked Po­lice Com­mis­sion­er Gary Grif­fith and the De­fence Force to in­crease their man­pow­er in the flood-rav­aged com­mu­ni­ty.

He said be­cause of the flood­ing and size of the com­mu­ni­ty, peo­ple were able to breach the perime­ter and loot aban­doned homes.

This is some­thing Young said the State will not tol­er­ate.

Young toured the area for two hours as res­i­dents re­turned to their homes to un­der­take mop-up op­er­a­tions, on­ly to dis­cov­er the das­tard­ly acts that had been car­ried out overnight.

But he ap­pealed to them to have hope and to be strong.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/looters-strike-in-greenvale-6.2.696360.f8b84d188d

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2018, 4:03 pm

rspann wrote:Synergy have video. Harvey Boris programme.

sMASH wrote:i noticed cnc3 rolling roving coverage has eased up. it might be the relocating to the north west... hmm

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 4:06 pm

I hope they didn't help evacuate the residents so they could loot the vacant homes.

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 4:08 pm

^That same thing crossed my mind...:|

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 4:19 pm

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 21st, 2018, 4:23 pm

Some of them looting as well!!!

Postby rspann » October 21st, 2018, 4:28 pm

TTT has a lot of footage of the PNM ministers and local govt working in their respective constituencies. Coming up at 4.30 is a press conference.

matix

Postby matix » October 21st, 2018, 4:43 pm

Just some pics of what’s still happening on the highway.

Postby hydroep » October 21st, 2018, 4:54 pm

Live press conference:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2018, 4:56 pm

Postby Gladiator » October 21st, 2018, 5:01 pm

rspann wrote:TTT has a lot of footage of the PNM ministers and local govt working in their respective constituencies. Coming up at 4.30 is a press conference.
What exactly is "working"? Or did you mean walking...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 21st, 2018, 5:02 pm

Young have to be the biggest cnut there is...on one hand he telling people doh risk the ubh and other roads and the other hand he telling people there is not going to be a national shutdown so try your best on the ubh and get to work....my fcking lord

matix

Postby matix » October 21st, 2018, 5:06 pm

I can’t believe what I’m hearing from Young. Sad sad times for Trinidad.