Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 4:38 pm

matr1x wrote:Let's hear Redman and dragon explain AL rawi announcing the date and time of an appeal hearing before it was even applied before the courts.

Take your time soldier. :?
Either Lie-Wari collude with the Judiciary to fix the appeal and catch the claimant off guard and lied about it, or the claimant was informed and is also lying.

Postby eliteauto » May 22nd, 2017, 4:39 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone knows the timeline when UNC supporters will start to pretend to like/tolerate others in hope of winning votes? 2019? Or just before elections?

asking for a friend

I wonder if ollour face does be straight and normal when ollour typing this sheit.............

like I asked to early?

Postby RedVEVO » May 22nd, 2017, 5:01 pm

Any political group that reduces tax and allows private sector to flourish .." Good Boys .. "

We should not even have ANY taxes in Trinidad and Tobago .. Again do not be fooled.
Some "dim lits" talk about the Law. Who makes the Law ?

Countries as rich as Trinidad give the people all the incentives and benefits BUT not here .

Every time a Tobago person in "power" is tax, tax, tax . AND WE DO NOT BENEFIT

Why ? Is it their country too small ?

Any body can tell this Forum how VAT was started and Why ?
And by Who ? Educate yourself .

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2017, 5:01 pm

The State's appeal of an injunction effectively stalling the
implementation and collection of the property tax has been deferred to June 6.

Appellate Judges Peter Jamadar, Gregory Smith and Judith Jones were expected to preside over the appeal during a hearing at the Hall of Justice in Port-of-Spain this morning, however, when the case was called around 9 am they indicated that the documents related to the
appeal had just been filed in the registry and that they had not had time to view them.

They agreed to adjourn the case despite pleas for an immediate hearing from attorneys representing the Office of the Attorney General and Commissioner of
Valuations.

They said that the appeal needed to be determined urgently to clear up how to proceed with the collection of valuation return forms.

The attorneys claimed that people were still queuing in front of their offices to submit forms and staff wanted to know if could proceed with processing forms.

Attorneys representing former agriculture minister Devant Maharaj, who filed the claim challenging the enforcement of the tax and obtained the injunction last Friday evening, dismissed the argument for an urgent hearing.

They said that the Government waited eight years after the legislation was passed to implement the tax.

Jamadar agreed as he stated: "Sometimes urgency, as important as it is, can operate to deprive us of fullness of assistance that has the end product of a good result."

The court's decision to adjourn the case to allow the parties to file detailed submissions on the appeal means that Justice Frank Seepersad's injunction stopping the enforcement of a press release requiring property owners to submit their forms and relevant documents by June 5, remains in place.

The deadline was initially May 22, but was extended by Finance Minister Colm Imbert, last week, due to long lines of property owners outside Valuation Division offices.

During the hearing, Maharaj's lead lawyer Anand Ramlogan, SC, sought to raise a query over the procedure used for filing the appeal.

His complaint centered around the fact that shortly after the injunction was granted on Friday, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi informed Parliament that an appeal had been filed and a hearing set for this morning.

However, the Registry of the Supreme Court subsequently denied the claim, until it received notice of the appeal on Saturday afternoon.

While Ramlogan called on the appeal panel to investigate the issue, Jamadar said that was not in the court's control and it was for the court's registrar to answer those questions.

Jamadar said that the panel was one of two scheduled to sit this morning and that he and his colleagues, who had less cases on their list, agreed on Saturday to set appointment before them in the event the appeal documents were filed at 8 am yesterday.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-05- ... y-tax-case

Postby RedVEVO » May 22nd, 2017, 5:12 pm

.... " Jamadar said that the panel was one of two scheduled to sit this morning and that he and his colleagues, who had less cases on their list, agreed on Saturday to set appointment before them in the event the appeal documents were filed at 8 am yesterday "

Orr Horr ...

Judge reading plenty news papers.

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2017, 5:28 pm

Dim witted is when you claim to have plenty education , but can't achieve your aspirations and have to settle for a "similar" and can't give your beautiful wife what she really want's. I now see the definition in the dictionary.

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2017, 5:36 pm

If the judge is in collusion with AL rawi, then the judgment on the election petition should now be questioned.

Postby Redman » May 22nd, 2017, 5:47 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^
Any political group that reduces tax and allows private sector to flourish .." Good Boys .. "

We should not even have ANY taxes in Trinidad and Tobago .. Again do not be fooled.

Countries as rich as Trinidad give the people all the incentives and benefits BUT not here .

Again,

Axe The Tax

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... -or-bad-tt

2006 reduction in Income tax and flattening of the tax

These measures included replacing the then current rates of personal income tax of 25 per cent and 30 per cent with a single rate of 25 per cent and increasing the personal allowance from $25,000 per annum to $60,000 per annum with effect from income year 2006. The immediate impact of increasing the personal tax allowance from $24,000 to $60,000 a year (or from $2,000 to $5,000 a month) and creating a flat tax at 25 per cent was that an estimated 300,000 taxpayers were removed from the income tax net altogether. This means that no one whose income is $5,000 a month or less pays any income tax in this country

vs the UNC proven track record of promising to Axe the Tax then ignoring it once they got the vote.
7 years later the UNC still axing the taxing.....wait for it ...it will happen

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 5:54 pm

Redman wrote:

Again,

Axe The Tax

These measures included replacing the then current rates of personal income tax of 25 per cent and 30 per cent with a single rate of 25 per cent and increasing the personal allowance from $25,000 per annum to $60,000 per annum with effect from income year 2006. The immediate impact of increasing the personal tax allowance from $24,000 to $60,000 a year (or from $2,000 to $5,000 a month) and creating a flat tax at 25 per cent was that an estimated 300,000 taxpayers were removed from the income tax net altogether. This means that no one whose income is $5,000 a month or less pays any income tax in this country

vs the UNC proven track record of promising to Axe the Tax then ignoring it once they got the vote.

Did you pay any Property Tax during that time? I notice that you only refer to PNM tax reductions. Why no mention of VAT on everything? No mention of Green Fund, Business Levy increases? Online purchase taxes? At least appear to be balanced nah man..................

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2017, 6:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:
eliteauto wrote:anyone knows the timeline when UNC supporters will start to pretend to like/tolerate others in hope of winning votes? 2019? Or just before elections?

asking for a friend

I wonder if ollour face does be straight and normal when ollour typing this sheit.............

like I asked to early?

You eh hadda worry, nobody doh even pretend to like you for any reason :wink: Any feeling toward you therefore, should be regarded as genuine.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2017, 6:08 pm

Postby eliteauto » May 22nd, 2017, 6:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:

asking for a friend

like I asked to early?

You eh hadda worry, nobody doh even pretend to like you for any reason :wink: Any feeling toward you therefore, should be regarded as genuine.

oh no worries there De Dragon, I'm not concerned with the opinions of others, as I said it's for a friend, I must admit his intent is not good, he wants to know the timeline so he can use them accordingly while still voting for the PNM :wink:

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2017, 6:19 pm

Redman wrote:
We need to have the Largest single asset class in TnT WELL regulated and transparent.
We need to have the databases cross referenced and usable for law enforcement.

u talking about a passengers of the Calcutta ship, owah...

Postby adnj » May 22nd, 2017, 6:49 pm

rspann wrote:I saw that from the first time he put it, but a dim-wit with education keeps putting it, so I won't correct him. He is directing his comments at me because I said I will pay the tax. I have no problem abiding by the law not because I have money to waste, but because it's the law. I have never raised rent and said I won't pass it on to my tenants. Also I have never had a tenant leave my buildings because of anything related to me or me giving them a hard time. I give them time to pay without late fees or any thing. He seems to have a problem with landlords and thinks they live off tenants sweat. Landlords build their buildings and invest their sweat and time into a business, and also get a lot of problems, to get a return.
Yes I straighten mash up cars,everybody knows that and I'm damn good at it too, what's wrong with that? Yes I bought property ,what's wrong? Somehow I'm doing what every other businessman is doing and He has a problem .Seems like envy or hate for success. He tries to belittle me, I don't have a belly, and wearing slippers is not something to be ashamed of. Whatever is his shortcomings, he has to deal with it , attacking me not going to solve his problems.

I might have to get in touch. I have a car I want repainted.

Postby matr1x » May 22nd, 2017, 9:54 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:
We need to have the Largest single asset class in TnT WELL regulated and transparent.

Or be a passenger of the Clotilda. Wait, the difference is one made something of themselves. The other constantly claims.of being oppressed while waiting in line for boat cruise.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 23rd, 2017, 12:15 am

matr1x wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:

Or be a passenger of the Clotilda. Wait, the difference is one made something of themselves. The other constantly claims.of being oppressed while waiting in line for boat cruise.

You're an idiot.

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2017, 1:26 am

Again, Axe the Tax .. The property tax

We are being taxed at every opportunity - like it is "a free for all" on taxes by Gov't.

Gov't is a school yard bully . They think the TT citizens are foolish and stupid .

So they tax you. And tax you. And tax you some more. It will never end. So protest now !

Again who really benefits ? Do we have a good standard of life in TT for the average or poor man ?

Are good services provided after the Gov't receives these taxes ? Water, Housing, Jobs, Security etc.

No, no, no, no. F*** no !

Trinidad & Tobago people are SUFFERING and in FEAR . They line up to pay tax because
Mr Gov't want to come look inside your house and tax every bedroom . And further bedrooms.

They line up Mr Gov't because of FEAR ! Fear that Mr Gov't sending Police and Army to your house .

The Gov't is a f***ing bully . Everything is being taken away - average man/ poor man life destroyed ..

- homes destroyed , even if its squatters homes - and it is illegal. See the Court actions .
- no transport to Tobago - no money $$$ but Gov't wants to buy a ship - Maybe a $50 Million corruption coming ?
- online tax to stop us from shopping for quality merchandise - and in safety of our home :)
- TT held hostage by the business men in TT at outrageous markups since Adam & Eve days- And Landlords.
- High prices in Supermarket due to the return of VAT on basic items.
- No Forex but Massy & ANSA still going strong - No envy but where is USD$ coming from ?

Then Mr. Gov't wants to come to our homes ! Tax on our home - Our "Castle" so to speak.

Again,

Axe The Tax
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 23rd, 2017, 3:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 23rd, 2017, 2:39 am

"'Dim Lits" maybe are privileged or think they are ! And power to them . Average man / poor man have
a budget. We do not go around living life as if we can sign a blank check. If I cannot afford
something so be it. In time maybe if it that important - but not today.

Greedy fat belly Buddha Landlords will raise poor people rents - regardless . Do not be fooled. They give us a "dim lit" sad priest-like story. Landlords have to pay "extra $$ in tax" - they will collect it back with maybe 1000% profit from the Tenants. And then sail away in a nice boat with Teak finish. Mr Gov't did not raise taxes on "boat people" since he is a "boat people."

So what is this urgency Gov't is claiming to want to take the citizens hard earned money via Property Tax ?

Mr Gov't sees an urgency in taking MY MONEY to waste ! Example : The $255 Million purchase by TSTT
which is basically a Gov't purchase .. How the f*** that helps me daily BUT you using my money and with
urgency ?

Urgency to do what ? To pay the lawyers fees - another $1 M dollars ?

They take tax payer money to fight tax payers for their own money. Well this is brutality .

Again the tax process on property tax is illegal - it is unfair .

Axe the Tax

Then Repeal the Tax .

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2017, 4:59 am

Where are the champions of the PNM to defend this chead.
Eliteauto, RASC, habit7, rafri

Postby matr1x » May 23rd, 2017, 5:17 am

zoom rader wrote:Where are the champions of the PNM to defend this chead.
Eliteauto, RASC, habit7, rafri

Lol, they getting slow in their old age

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2017, 6:19 am

Redman wrote:

Again,

Axe The Tax

Did you pay any Property Tax during that time? I notice that you only refer to PNM tax reductions. Why no mention of VAT on everything? No mention of Green Fund, Business Levy increases? Online purchase taxes? At least appear to be balanced nah man..................

Instead of rushing to defend what you perceive to be a slight against your dear UNC, read the context of the post quoted and the reply.

The point was that tax reductions,or increases, or restructuring are not the remit of one party,race or island.

So his inferences and clear statements are not based on fact.
They clearly demonstrate the base political directives received.

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2017, 6:27 am

OrangeVevo, the boat and the big pappy suv's ( your words) worrying you? All you have to do is use your education and figure out how to achieve your desires. What else your wife need to be happy ( your words) that you not providing? You know that when she happy ,you happy. ( your words ), or she getting "similar"with that too? Hurts to see someone you consider a dim lit doing better than you eh? What that tells you about yourself?
Try to stick to axing the tax and stop the envy, ok Beta?

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2017, 9:16 am

dis ched starting to look like a piggy length measuring contest, where none of d contestants seem to have a measuring device.

stay on topic nah fellas.
dis jam piggy kaka gone on long enough

Postby hydroep » May 23rd, 2017, 9:25 am

Liar! Liar! Pants on Fire!... :|

FISHY SMELL *
Is somebody lying about property tax appeal? Ex-AG calls for probe

THE property tax imbroglio deepened yesterday when it was revealed at the Court of Appeal that contrary to what was previously stated by Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, the State had not filed any appeal in the matter over the weekend.

Instead, this was only done yesterday morning when the court opened for business.

Based on what was previously stated, it was expected the appeals would have proceeded before a three-judge panel yesterday and a ruling possibly given later in the day but this did not take place since the matters were only filed just minutes before the 9 a.m. hearing time.

This resulted in the court having no option but to adjourn the matters to next month to give attorneys the opportunity to peruse and respond to documents that were received by them only yesterday morning.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170522/news/fishy-smell

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2017, 9:35 am

like you expected different/better?

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2017, 9:40 am

Lies.....from a lawyer?
Lies from a politician?

Musbe a UNC plot....

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2017, 9:46 am

more like a fact of life

HSA

Postby HSA » May 23rd, 2017, 10:14 am

The citizens of trini are sheep....the wolves know how to manipulate them and get what they want...pnm and unc both are at fault

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2017, 10:40 am

HSA wrote:The citizens of trini are sheep....the wolves know how to manipulate them and get what they want...pnm and unc both are at fault

Nope, sad to tell you this, but you're wrong.
the one truly at fault for ALL thats's wrong with T&T is the general public.

If the majority of the entire population refused to tolerate corruption, criminal activity, non-performance & mismanagement of public finances, & made it clear to elected officials that they either perform or face the consequences, we'd have an entirely different T&T.

But when you have a nation of idiots, whose sole focus on voting based on hair texture & ethnic origin or religious affiliation, the only result is what we have today.
Blind sheep, too dumb to realize they are being led to slaughter, & too timid/cowardly to do anything about it.

Postby rspann » May 23rd, 2017, 11:55 am

But how do you go about this revolution without disrupting the peaceful society we have. Remember 1990. If you are speaking about elections, what do we do? Every party turns out to be the same ,or worse.