Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Slartibartfast » September 16th, 2016, 1:20 pm

drchaos wrote:
baigan wrote:Tbh our roads are shyt :/
Until we they start making proper roads I think they should leave the limit at 80

Also they should change the whole procedure of obtaining a drivers permit in tnt... it sucks

Back when I got my permit there were about 10 people with me, 3 didn't even do the test (which isn't even difficult and tbh not enough to acquire a permit) cause they passed money...

Correction : Some roads are shyt and others are bess.

The majority of our highways aren't bad at all. The rest of the roads that you are talking about aren't under consideration for a speed limit increase of over 80km/hr so idk what you talking about.

I agree with changing the procedure to get you driver's permit though. Less focus on "makin it hard to pass" especially if you don't grease any hands, and more focus on educating people how to drive on public roads with other vehicles. To many people I see drive in the right lane when not overtaking and others that pull onto the highway without using the acceleration lane.

BTW just an FYI about the speed limit. The safest speed to drive on the road is not at 80km/hr, it is at the rate of the surrounding traffic. It is also safer to drive a little faster than it is to drive a little slower than surrounding traffic. If you drive faster, only you must switch lanes. If you drive slower you are forcing a everyone else to switch lanes thus raising the complexity of traffic patterns on the road and increasing the likelihood of mistakes being made. Driving like a @ss and weaving in and out of traffic is still extremely dangerous though.

Postby wagonrunner » September 16th, 2016, 1:25 pm

BRZ wrote:by your logic then pickups should go 59kmph !

yeah. cause your logic requires a limit to have a variance. which would then become the new limit, and would require another variance.

baigan

Postby baigan » September 16th, 2016, 2:53 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Until we they start making proper roads I think they should leave the limit at 80

Also they should change the whole procedure of obtaining a drivers permit in tnt... it sucks

Back when I got my permit there were about 10 people with me, 3 didn't even do the test (which isn't even difficult and tbh not enough to acquire a permit) cause they passed money...

The majority of our highways aren't bad at all. The rest of the roads that you are talking about aren't under consideration for a speed limit increase of over 80km/hr so idk what you talking about.

I agree with changing the procedure to get you driver's permit though. Less focus on "makin it hard to pass" especially if you don't grease any hands, and more focus on educating people how to drive on public roads with other vehicles. To many people I see drive in the right lane when not overtaking and others that pull onto the highway without using the acceleration lane.

BTW just an FYI about the speed limit. The safest speed to drive on the road is not at 80km/hr, it is at the rate of the surrounding traffic. It is also safer to drive a little faster than it is to drive a little slower than surrounding traffic. If you drive faster, only you must switch lanes. If you drive slower you are forcing a everyone else to switch lanes thus raising the complexity of traffic patterns on the road and increasing the likelihood of mistakes being made. Driving like a @ss and weaving in and out of traffic is still extremely dangerous though.

Yep true, our highways are pretty okay

And yep, agree with you on that last one, makes sense

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 16th, 2016, 11:37 pm

When i take taxi/maxi 90% of the time the drivers are using their cellphones atleast once.

Miguel000

Postby Miguel000 » September 17th, 2016, 8:18 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
drchaos wrote:

samething i was thinking. things were good when i was there excepting during rush hour traffic ?

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2016, 8:57 pm

ppl need to stop flashing lights to warn of the speed traps though.
it's simple, if you were abiding by the law, there's no ticket.
if you choose to break the law, accept you may have to pay the fine.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 17th, 2016, 9:30 pm

wagonrunner wrote:ppl need to stop flashing lights to warn of the speed traps though.

Ignore this! Please Post on Waze when you see speed traps and flash your lights to warn drivers on the other lane.

Postby sMASH » September 17th, 2016, 10:06 pm

wagonrunner wrote:ppl need to stop flashing lights to warn of the speed traps though.

stupid law-is stupid... increase to 120kmph, and then it makes sense.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » September 17th, 2016, 11:26 pm

i will continue to flash my lights. because 65 km for pickup's is to slow.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 18th, 2016, 12:50 am

Speed trap this morning heading south by the nagar site....I was very early for my appointment so I was doing 60 in d slow lane....thAnk goodness.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 19th, 2016, 10:53 pm

How long to pay ticket?

neexis

Postby neexis » September 20th, 2016, 6:07 am

racedriverpro wrote:How long to pay ticket?

Till the date on the ticket

Postby Redman » September 20th, 2016, 7:55 am

racedriverpro wrote:How long to pay ticket?

Having paid one yesterday (on the last day)

The ticket states..

14 days from the date of the notice

and the dates on the ticket are in order of appearance:

1)the date of the Court date if you miss the deadline to pay

2)Date of the offence- (start of the 14 day timeline)
3)Particulars of offence.(same as 2)

So the pay by deadline IS NOT ON THE TICKET.

Nothing on the ticket gives you the date by which you have to pay.
you have to determine that based on the 14 day limit.

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » September 20th, 2016, 8:40 am

As far as I'm aware, you have until 9:00 am on the morning of the court date to pay the ticket

Postby Redman » September 20th, 2016, 8:47 am

rish1108 wrote:As far as I'm aware, you have until 9:00 am on the morning of the court date to pay the ticket

Correct, the signs say at the Magistrates court say so-so I guess its an accommodation to the format of info the ticket.

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » September 20th, 2016, 8:49 am

I believe it was an instruction given by the Chief Justice a couple years ago

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 20th, 2016, 6:10 pm

Where do you pay those new speeding tickets

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 20th, 2016, 7:09 pm

the poleese shud target them 4x4 diesel turbo vans like navara,hilux,ranger that does always drive dotish cutting in and out and blocking a man view and half the time the driver cyah even drive the ting good. they cyah even park it. In valpark two days ago one park over two lane. I park so close he cyah even open he door and my old car cud take dent. d fool walking around the mall asking who drive the car. 65kmp /h for all them vans and wait for them on the hiway.

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2016, 7:27 pm

Double cab are bigger vehicles and 4x4 normally don't have tight steering lock
So u gotta bear with us

kamakazi

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby kamakazi » September 20th, 2016, 9:46 pm

screwbash wrote:the poleese shud target them 4x4 diesel turbo vans like navara,hilux,ranger that does always drive dotish cutting in and out and blocking a man view and half the time the driver cyah even drive the ting good. they cyah even park it. In valpark two days ago one park over two lane. I park so close he cyah even open he door and my old car cud take dent. d fool walking around the mall asking who drive the car. 65kmp /h for all them vans and wait for them on the hiway.

One day you will purchase a new/newer vehicle... I would like to observe your actions/attitude then.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » September 20th, 2016, 10:41 pm

kamakazi wrote:
screwbash wrote:the poleese shud target them 4x4 diesel turbo vans like navara,hilux,ranger that does always drive dotish cutting in and out and blocking a man view and half the time the driver cyah even drive the ting good. they cyah even park it. In valpark two days ago one park over two lane. I park so close he cyah even open he door and my old car cud take dent. d fool walking around the mall asking who drive the car. 65kmp /h for all them vans and wait for them on the hiway.

One day you will purchase a new/newer vehicle... I would like to observe your actions/attitude then.

While this is true, as my wife and I are still somewhat adjusting to our SUV, I make sure and check my lines to ensure that I didn't park like a boops..driving a bigger vehicle doesn't give one an excuse to drive and park improperly. As for bobbing and weaving through traffic, a vehicle with a higher center of gravity and greater momentum should be fun to cut in and out of traffic with..barrel rolls are fun too. Btw screwbash, English next time please.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 21st, 2016, 6:34 am

once my ole car wuking gud and the ac wukin the body cud be how ole. I doh hadda worry about dents, worry about teif, worry about poleese. Poleese only stuppin tida,new car tuh make shure it nut teif an tuh make shure the inshurance and ting in order. Man wit new car puttting 5% tint and gettin pull over, dey puttin all kinda fancey lights an chrome tings and hadda install gps, car surch and fullie comprehensive inshurance. Ole car pay $500 ah year, no alarm, no worries, as far as it looking it nut wort tuh teif, but looks can be deceiving under the hood its full synthetic oil in the engine just to name one.

Speed ticket for them 4x4's and all van.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » September 21st, 2016, 6:50 am

^ I think what he meant was,

Once my old car is working and the AC as well, the body could be in any (bad) condition. I don't have to worry about dents, thieves or police.
Police usually stops Tiida, new cars to make sure it isn't stolen and that their insurance is in order.
Owners with new cars, who put 5% tint get pulled over. They put fancy lights, chrome accessories and as a result have to install GPS, CarSearch and fully comprehensive insurance. With this old car, you pay $500 a year, no alarm, no worries; as long as it's looking like its not worth stealing. However, looks can be deceiving. Under the hood, I use full synthetic oil in the engine, just to name one.

All those 4x4s and vans should get speed tickets.

scotty_buttons

Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby scotty_buttons » September 21st, 2016, 6:52 am

screwbash wrote:once my ole car wuking gud and the ac wukin the body cud be how ole. I doh hadda worry about dents, worry about teif, worry about poleese. Poleese only stuppin tida,new car tuh make shure it nut teif an tuh make shure the inshurance and ting in order. Man wit new car puttting 5% tint and gettin pull over, dey puttin all kinda fancey lights an chrome tings and hadda install gps, car surch and fullie comprehensive inshurance. Ole car pay $500 ah year, no alarm, no worries, as far as it looking it nut wort tuh teif, but looks can be deceiving under the hood its full synthetic oil in the engine just to name one.

My dad has the same mentality in his DD. And so far, for the last 35yrs, it works.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 21st, 2016, 7:20 am

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2016, 7:36 am

Who beating up though ?

Postby redmanjp » September 21st, 2016, 9:16 am

so when they going to send ticket in d mail when d speed cameras ketch yuh?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 21st, 2016, 5:47 pm

screwbash wrote:once my ole car wuking gud and the ac wukin the body cud be how ole. I doh hadda worry about dents, worry about teif, worry about poleese. Poleese only stuppin tida,new car tuh make shure it nut teif an tuh make shure the inshurance and ting in order. Man wit new car puttting 5% tint and gettin pull over, dey puttin all kinda fancey lights an chrome tings and hadda install gps, car surch and fullie comprehensive inshurance. Ole car pay $500 ah year, no alarm, no worries, as far as it looking it nut wort tuh teif, but looks can be deceiving under the hood its full synthetic oil in the engine just to name one.

I was that way and then an accident removed my old car from the equation... Cost to bring it back didn't make sense and when you can't find a part and your old car in the shop for weeks. Sooner or later you will get something newer... Just let me know if you are still doing the same things after.

Let me just say I did not suggest weaving in and out of traffic in a vehicle with a higher centre of gravity

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2016, 6:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:so when they going to send ticket in d mail when d speed cameras ketch yuh?

What speed cameras?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2016, 7:12 am

how long Hinds say they reviewing stuff for increasing the limit? the only thing I see increasing is the fine...wait till after lunch we go see what is the scene